Grand Cayman condo rental - Imagine yourself here!!
Imagine yourself here!!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Grand Cayman Condo Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, sleeps 2-4

Please read our reviews! Fully licensed by the Cayman Islands Dept. of Tourism meeting strict standards of safety and cleanliness. Gorgeous white sand beach right outside the plantation doors of Sea Lodge #14, continuously updated and redecorated by meticulous owners. This is olde-time Cayman beach living. Unwind and de-stress in our unique and comfortably furnished oceanfront haven at Rum Point on Grand Cayman Island. Listen to the surf and watch the sunrise from the California king bed. Lie on the quiet beach enjoy swimming, snorkeling our 'back yard ocean' & scuba diving. We are designated a protected marine park right outside the door, so the fish and the reef are amazing. Many books and DVD's in our library. Relax on the two screened porches. Porch rockers on back sunset lanai. Washer/ dryer and free wi-fi. Cooled by the trade winds through plantation shutters and three ceiling fans; no air conditioning.

SOUL-LIFTING VIEWS - EVERYTHING YOU NEED INSIDE:: All rooms view the Caribbean, tastefully furnished and decorated, bedroom with COMFORTABLE CALIFORNIA KING SIZE BED WITH EXCELLENT MATTRESS by french doors opening to Caribbean view, waves on reef and trade wind breezes lull you to sleep, overhead fans in each room, nice kitchen with new granite counter tops, microwave, stove, refrigerator, blender, 1 very clean bathroom with combination tub/shower, new queen sleeper sofa in living room, wireless internet for your laptop, washer and dryer, iron and ironing board, good linens and towels provided, discerning reader's dream beach-reading library, 2 screened lanais, beach chairs and patio furniture, beach towels, stereo CD system with i-pod connection, television with large DVD collection, optional maid service and grocery service.

STUFF TO DO!!!!: Lots to do besides bronze on the beach with your book!

Plenty of local events: Pirate's Week in February, marathons, Pedro's Castle, horseback riding, pirate's caves.

George Town: Lots of duty free sales, the harbor, restaurants and night spots.

Explore the community: Visit the Saturday morning Farmer's Market.

Walk to Rum Point: A short quarter mile walk down the beach (10 minutes) or drive (two minutes)! Enjoy watersports, and take the boat out to Stingray City. Eat your lunch at the colorful picnic tables - reasonable food prices - Visit the Shipwreck Beach Bar, get an ice cream, have your hair braided, enjoy the shade in your beach lounge or hammock. Kids love the shallow waters there.

Schedule a dive with Ocean Frontiers - reliable, professional, reasonable, and the best dive operation on Cayman: Located on the East End, a 15 minute drive.

Queen's Botanic Park: See beautiful tropical gardens and hopefully, a Blue Iguana!. On Frank Sound Road.

MORE TO DO!!!: Visit Black Pearl Skate and Surf Park next to Hurley's Grand Harbour. At 62,000 sq. ft. it is the largest concrete skate park in the world. Lessons and rentals available. The Waveloch Surf Machine produces an 11 foot wave! It is also one of it's kind in the world. Take the little ones to the Turtle Farm in West End. Everyone likes to visit 'Hell' - if only to get the T-shirt. Buy the Tortuga Rum Cake and eat it with whipped cream. Take an Atlantis Submarine excursion. Take a bioluminescence kayak tour at night. Go kite boarding or wind surfing on the East End at Morritt's Resort; the calm water inside the reef and strong trade winds make it a truly perfect and unique venue. Considered one of the top 10 wind surfing sites in the world. Go on a Cayman Island Helicopter tour. Walk the amazing and famous 7-mile Beach. Dine, dine, dine. Grand Cayman is home to some of the finest restaurants in the Caribbean. Walk the Mastic Trail into Cayman's wild and undisturbed interior.

More Details
Hide Details

My wife Dawn and I started coming to Grand Cayman in 2000 to scuba dive with our 2 children. We fell in love with the gentle people, perfect climate, and beautiful unspoiled sea. We finally purchased a piece of this paradise in 2010. It is a dream come true. Our cottage is one of 16 that were built as a dive resort in the 1960s on what was the very remote north shore. It has miraculously survived all the developers and is continuously preserved and improved by the very passionate individual owners. There is nothing like it left on Grand Cayman. We love to share it with our guests and receive lots of very positive reviews. We are blessed to have a local Caymanian couple, Miss Barbara and her husband Linsford care for our cottage and guests. They are like family to us! Contact us anytime. We love to discuss this very special place with anyone interested!

Brian or Dawn Steeland purchased this condo in 2010

32 Reviews of Property 135009 in Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Charming Oceanfront Sea Lodge in Delightful Cayman Kai
average rating of 4.428571 based on 32 reviews
business
Charming Oceanfront Sea Lodge in Delightful Cayman Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135009
+1 3138857431
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We love your lodge!!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Hi Brian,
Your place is precious, fantastic in every way! Someone has quite a flair for decorating. We are so very happy to be here and are already regretting our move to Seven Mile Beach. I’d like to stay right here! Oh, well…next year perhaps.
We snorkeled this afternoon after we arrived. Heavenly!
Sorry Cayman is so far from my home and yours. Sure would be grand to be able to make it here easier and more often!
Thanks for renting to us. SO cozy…just perfect for my daughter and me.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Oceanfront Sea Lodge in Delightful Cayman Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135009
+1 3138857431
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Thank You!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Hi Brian,
We just wanted to Thank You so much for a wonderful place! We loved the unit and we loved the entire area of Cayman Kai! We took a short visit to Seven Mile (which is beautiful too), but made us really appreciate the "low key" beauty of your area on the island.
We enjoyed the beach and snorkeling out front, we came to discover it was one of the best places on the island! We loved Rum Point and enjoyed the long walks in the water!
The open air of the sea lodge was just great, and yes there were breezes! Everything was decorated so nicely and we just felt right at home when we got there!
We hope to return again!!
Thanks so much,
Kim and Chad
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Oceanfront Sea Lodge in Delightful Cayman Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135009
+1 3138857431
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

Most relaxing vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Can't describe how thrilled my husband and I were when we arrived at this little piece of heaven on earth. The accommodations were very comfortable and inviting, beautifully decorated and super clean. The unit offers everything you can possibly need for rest and rejuvenation; ocean views, sounds of the surf and easy access to incredible snorkeling. The coral reef and its occupants were phenomenal! The lanai is perfect for meals, relaxing, reading, and looking at the moon and stars. The unit provides all the necessities to eat in. Some excellent restaurants are very close should you want a change of scenery but it's difficult to leave with the best views right out your back door.

Can't describe how very sad my husband and I were to leave this wonderful place. Hoping to go back again next year. But just a warning! A week is not enough!

Many thanks to Brian and Dawn for sharing their wonderful place and for all the helpful information, which made this our most, relaxing vacation ever.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Charming Oceanfront Sea Lodge in Delightful Cayman Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135009
+1 3138857431
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Relaxing time at the Sea Lodges

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Brian,

I wanted to send you a note to let you know how much my husband thoroughly enjoyed every minute in staying in your unit at the Sea Lodges. Everything was perfect, it was fully stocked with all cooking necessities, and the upgrades you have done there made it feel like home. In any case, my husband immediately relaxed and had a wonderful time. We spent most of our time on the lanai, snorkeling out front, and relaxing on the beautiful beach. We will definitely be back. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Oceanfront Sea Lodge in Delightful Cayman Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135009
+1 3138857431
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Orange, CA
4

It's the little things that matter

It's the little things that matter
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This place and its owners are AMAZING!!!!!! Before booking our 10 night stay at the Sea Lodge we inundated Brian with questions, requested pictures and frankly can only imagine what a pain in the fanny we were. Brian was amazing! He was extremely patient with us and allowed us to get comfortable with the decision to rent his home. He provided an abundance of great and relevant information which helped make our decision that much easier. We found the place to be better than what the ad displays and the information Brian provided us to be accurate. Brian also gave us contact information for Ms Barbara who takes care of his place on the island. My husband contacted Ms. Barbara prior to our arrival to arrange a flower delivery to be made the day before we arrived. Ms. Barbara was exceptionally helpful and the delivery when off without a hitch.

When we arrived at the Sea Lodge the blinds were open and there was a blissful breeze flowing through. The place was furnished nicely and was clean to our liking. Throughout our stay we found many things to make us realize how the little details matter so much in places we stay. The bath towels were plush and super soft (DKNY), the toilet paper was of good quality – not some single ply paper that is horrible, the bedding was of good quality and comfortable, the iPod hook up to the stereo was easy and appreciated, there was an abundance of movies to choose from, the internet worked perfectly for us, the screen room was PERFECT for drying scuba gear and made a nice setting for our Christmas dinner, there was also a front screen room to provide privacy and seclusion from the outside elements, the place is made of concrete which keeps it a bit cooler and we could NOT hear the neighbors, the place has beautiful granite countertops and most importantly we could wake up to the ocean breeze and the sound of waves crashing on the shore.

We have been to the island nine times and bay far the Sea Lodge gives great value for what you get.

Thank you Brian and Ms. Barbara for assisting in yet another spectacular vacation in paradise.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Oceanfront Sea Lodge in Delightful Cayman Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135009
+1 3138857431
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
4

Lovely retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Just got back from a wonderful 11 night stay at the Sea Lodge. We took our 3 month old and we were comfortable and felt very safe.
Wish we could afford to return every year! In fact, we recommended the complex to my parents, who will be renting an air conditioned unit. The only reason to give this place 4 stars instead of 5 is because the wi-fi wasn't working most of the time we were there, and an AC unit would have helped for the super-muggy nights we had occassionally. Most of the time we just left all the doors open and let the lovely breeze blow through!
The white-sand beach rarely had more than two or three familes/couples on it and it was very private and remote, with good shade under the thatched poles. We brought along a little tent for the baby. The snorkelling was amazing, we went every day, and saw parrotfishes, angelfishes, stingrays, a lionfish and even a barracuda. We stayed a respectable distance and enjoyed the undisturbed beauty of the coral reef. Wear flippers or water shoes to protect your feet!
The unit is well decorated with everything you need. And the north side of Grand Cayman is very chill but still a resonable distance to all your amenities. Rent a car, tour the island, have a great time!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Oceanfront Sea Lodge in Delightful Cayman Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135009
+1 3138857431
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
1

Think twice about this unit

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My husband, toddler son, and I were scheduled to stay at this unit from 11/28/12-12/5/12 however we left after two nights. The condo was as described and decorated nicely however the photos of the beach were largely misrepresented. The majority of the beach has large, sharp rocks and the rest of the beach has what we were told is turtle grass. The desription stated that there is an "easy, rock free entrance at the east end of the beach" but it doesn't state the large amount of turtle grass. We contacted the owner as this was not reported to us and he responded by quoting the review of the previous occupant, which I see was submitted by the owner himself. He also stated that "it's nature, not Disneyland" after we requested half of our money back since the condition of the beach was not accurate from what we saw in the pictures and how it was described. We are from northern Michigan and are used to swimming in lakes and rivers with some rocks and vegetation but this is excessive especially for kids. Again, the condo is nicely furnished however we didn't travel all that way to admire the decor of the condo. We saved for a long time for this trip and were very disappointed with the beach. We relied on the description since there is no pool and no air conditioning. We felt it was fair to have half of our money back and the owner has refused and stated that he will make sure future occupants are aware of the beach. The island is a wonderful place and there are several other locations that offer nicers beaches and, at the very least, a pool. It was very windy while we were there. Not sure if that's typical or not. Despite the windy conditions, the unit was very stuffy the second (last) night we were there so the fact that there was no air conditioning was an issue. We traveled during the colder season too. A nice beach was close by (about 1 mile) but was more crowded than we anticipated since the cruise ships brought people out there. It's no secret that it's not cheap to travel here and for accomodations so think twice about renting this unit. There are plenty of nicer places in the same price range. We don't want to have another family experience what we did and lose their money like we did.
Owner's Response: The north shore of Grand Cayman is considered remote and naturally beautiful. Ironshore rock is common along the entire coast and is a dramatic and breathtaking feature. The beach at the Sea Lodges is considered the second best beach on the north shore, only surpassed by Rum Point. (rated as a top ten island beach in the world by Islands magazine) The 16 Sea Lodges provide a unique and authentic Cayman beach house experience. For nearly 50 years, thousands of families have enjoyed this peaceful special place and return year after year. It provides an opportunity to reconnect with nature, those you love, and yourself.

The pictures on the listing, and the 20 additional photos I sent to this guest, very clearly depict some ironshore on the beach. It is very easy to enter the turquoise sea for swimming and snorkeling at multiple points on the beach. After 2 nights at our Sea Lodge, this guest wanted a full refund because of the rocks. Our refund policy is included in the contract our guests sign.

We are passionate about protecting and preserving the Sea Lodges, as nothing like it remains on Cayman. We make a very sincere and honest effort to inform all potential guests about the realities of the Sea Lodge experience. Please review the listing and all reviews carefully, and contact us anytime if you have further questions.

Sincerely,

Brian and Dawn (owners)
Helpful votes: 4/7
business
Charming Oceanfront Sea Lodge in Delightful Cayman Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135009
+1 3138857431
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Better than the pics!!

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Hi Brian,

We had a WONDERFUL time. Thank you so much for sharing your paradise with us. We would like to make it an annual event! The best part was lying in bed with the doors wide open to the lanai, looking @ the stars, hearing the pounding of the sea and the rustling of the palms. . . . need I say more?

Your place looks even better in person than in the pix you sent. We loved it!

Sincerely,
Terry
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Oceanfront Sea Lodge in Delightful Cayman Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135009
+1 3138857431
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Coming back again!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Brian,

We had a wonderful time! The condo was beautiful, nicely decorated and well stocked with everything we needed! Looking forward to coming back again next year!
Thanks,
Kevin & Fran
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Oceanfront Sea Lodge in Delightful Cayman Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135009
+1 3138857431
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Loved the snorkeling!

  • Submitted: May 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Hey Brian -

We did Stingray City on Tuesday (my 31st birthday) and only had 6 other people on our boat (3 of which didn't get in the water) went out. It was like we had a private charter with Captain Jimmy!! We swam, held and fed the sting ray .... We loved every second of the week at your place!! Cannot thank you enough ..... We snorkelled the reef in front of the condo many times, and then snorkelled it all around the way down around the point and into rum point .... Saw sea turtles, an eel, squid, so many fish, the 4 foot barracuda you told us about ..... So many stories to tell you guys!! Loved every second of it ..... great place you have ..... I think Carolyn emailed you the second we got off the plane last night !!
Helpful votes: 5/7