Bass Harbor apartment rental - Mother-in-law apartment over garage
Mother-in-law apartment over garage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Bass Harbor Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, kitchenette, sleeps 2

A secluded 'mother-in-law' apartment adjoining a new construction private home situated 95 feet from mean high water. Breathtaking views and sunsets...

The serene five acre wooded property enjoys 300 feet of rocky beachfront and abuts Acadia National Park and the famous Bass Harbor Head Lighthouse. Bar Harbor and other sections of the Park are a short drive.

The tastefully decorated apartment has one bedroom with a queen-size bed, bathroom with shower, kitchenette and living/dining area overlooking the water. Private phone and satellite TV with VCR, etc. There is a private entrance and parking in the finished garage below, which also features a washer and dryer and full-size refrigerator. His and her single speed bikes provided.

Outside; enjoy the quiet serenity of oceanfront estate living and lovely gardens. From the deck, (@ 50 paces walk outside) adirondak chairs or hammock; listen to offshore bell buoys, smell the salt air, look for shells, watch a harbor seal glide by or an eagle pass overhead.

No smoking nor pets. Maximum two adults.

Keywords: 'Mother-in-law' apartment

More Details
Hide Details

Andrew retired from the Navy in 1994, and we moved back to Maine to enjoy a quiet lifestyle. We designed and built our dream house, including the 'Mother-in-law' apartment for Dianne's Mom. (Hence a lot of privacy was designed in). Andrew is a 747 Captain flying freight literally all over the world. Dianne is a retired nurse and avid gardener.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 1994

Mount Desert Island has been a destination summer resort for centuries due to it's majestic natural beauty. Acadia National Park is the second most visited Park in the U.S.

Quiet, vewy, vewy quiet! Fantastic sunsets!!! The famous Bass Harbor Head Lighthouse is our only neighbor to the south. Several picturesque ocean trails of Acadia National Park are within walking distance.

The majority of ANP is about a 25 minute drive.

30 Reviews of Property 85130 in Bass Harbor, Maine

Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 30 reviews
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Seminole, FL
5

It doesn't get better than this!

It doesn't get better than this!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
An absolutely wonderful vacation spot! The apt is better than described, the grounds are secluded, peaceful, beautiful. If you never left the grounds you would have a fantastic time, but Acadia Park is all around you. Dianne and Andrew are very gracious hosts who go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Bass Harbor and Southwest Harbor are close by, both quiet fishing villages with great eating spots and opportunities for boating, kayaking, and more. Even got to see lobster races on July 3 at the Seafood Festival! Best vacation ever! Hope to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Buellton, CA
5

Lovely relaxing holiday in bass harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Simple the best location, right on the water. Beautiful views of bass harbor and islands. Your hosts could not of been any nicer or helpful. Plently of wonderful places to dine, some lovely walks close by. Diffinetly the quite side of the island which we perferred. Not a lot of shopping if thats what your into, but a half hour drive to bar harbor where all the tourists shops are. Our favorite activity; a byplane around the island and outer islands, well worth the cost.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Vermont
5

Breathtaking Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Dianne and Andrew have created a beautiful apartment for a romantic getaway. The sunsets are breathtaking. There also is an array of wildlife, including birds, deer - even a tiny little fawn - that fly over or meander across the property. And every day you can watch local lobstermen piloting their boats in front of the house, stopping and checking their traps. We missed a seal that ventured close to shore our last day. It is the perfect spot to retreat to after a day in Acadia National Park or Bar Harbor. Andrew and Dianne are very good hosts and strive to ensure everyone has a good time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Northbrook IL
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
W had the most enjoyable stay at Harbor Reach Farm. A very comfortable, well-appointed and immaculate apartment, a breath-taking view, a great location and very nice and helpful hosts. Bass Harbor is secluded enough for relaxation, yet central enough to allow easy access to all of the area's sights and locations. The McMullens are extremely gracious and knowledgeable hosts, and we found we had many things in common. Definitely a 10!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
LaSalle, QC
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
First, let us say that if you like to be active during your vacation the Mount Desert Island is an excellent place to stay (hiking, biking, kayaking, tennis and eating lobster (not so active)). Second, both Andrew and Dianne are perfect hosts, helpfull, never in your way but very very nice (and some french speaking!). Their property is beautiful and the appartment they rent is perfect: very clean, confortable and with stunning sunsets. And for those who could worry about it, no problem with the deposit. Thanks again to both of Dianne and Andrew.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
This is as nice as it gets - probably the best vacation place we've stayed in anywhere. The apartment is gorgeous, the yard and beach are both huge, the McMullans are friendly and helpful. It's probably nicer than the pictures show. It's isolated - no neighbors, no surrounding development, just a private beach surrounded by forest.
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Newark, Ohio
5

Highly Recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
The property was exactly as advertised and was clean, well-maintained, and fully equipped. The owners were very frienly and helpful and made excellent suggestions about what to see and do, and recommended several fine dining establishments. The area has numerous and varied activities that should appeal to all ages: hiking, whale-watching, shopping, half-day cruises, and a free bus system will take you just about anywhere you want to go. I would highly recommend this area, and specifically this property, to all travelers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2007
  • Stayed: Jun 2007
I also wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed staying at the apartment. It was really comfortable and suited us wonderfully. We did enjoy being on the "quiet" side of the island this time. On the last morning there were two young deer "cavorting" in your back garden.
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Lawrence KS
5

Guestbook Comment

We enjoyed our vacation so much. The apartment was spotless and we had everything we needed plus. It was so quiet and restfull. We would recommend ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2006
  • Stayed: Oct 2006
We enjoyed our vacation so much. The apartment was spotless and we had everything we needed plus. It was so quiet and restfull. We would recommend any couple wanting to
"get away" to check this out. Thanks again for a lovely time. Phil and LeAnne
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
-
5

Guestbook Comment

We had a wonderful vacation exploring Acadia National Park. The McMullan's home and rental apartment is extremely convenient to all of Mount Dese...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2006
  • Stayed: Aug 2006
We had a wonderful vacation exploring Acadia National Park. The McMullan's home and rental apartment is extremely convenient to all of Mount Desert Island. In addition, we loved the views and sunsets (as promised). One of the best perks of this rental was having our very own tour consultant. We told Andrew our interests, and he suggested where to go and what to do in conjunction with those interests. It was a huge help and enabled us to spend our time enjoying ourselves rather than trying to take a crash course in what to do and what not to do with our time. Thanks for making an unforgetable vacation even better!
Helpful votes: 1/1