Mesa Verde cabin rental - Unbelievable views and privacy, yet only 10 minutes away from town
Unbelievable views and privacy, yet only 10 minutes away from town
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Mesa Verde Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 BR, 2 BA, Sleeps 8 Max.

Hi-speed internet.This cozy log home is located on 80 acres of pristine private land with fantastic views of the Southwest Rocky Mountains and the sacred Sleeping Ute Mountain! This property is only 25 minutes from Mesa Verde and only 90 minutes from the Telluride Ski Area! It is only 50 minutes from Durango!

The great room has floor to ceiling windows facing south with nothing but trees and rolling canyons as far as the eye can see! The kitchen is fully equipped for your cooking needs, or you can barbeque on the east covered porch with the gas grill. Downstairs there are two cozy bedrooms with double antique beds and a full bath. Located upstairs is the large private master bedroom, which has a king-size bed upon a custom log frame. Connected to the master bedroom is the master bath with a beautiful tiled shower and antique claw foot bathtub. Central air conditioning and heating will keep you comfortable during any season.

After a day of exploring the ancient cliff dwellings at Mesa Verde (only 25 min away), relax in the six person Olympia Caldera hot tub. If you look hard enough you will find pottery shards, arrowheads, possible kiva sites and other scattered remnants of this ancient culture on the 80 private acres the home sits on. Please do not remove or disturb any of these artifacts.

If you long for peace and quiet, this is the place. The fall weather is gorgeous, the winters are mild and snow country is only a short distance away. The home rests on the edge of a series of tree covered canyons leading up to a spectacular view of the sacred Sleeping Ute Mountain. Not one other human made structure can be seen from the south deck of the cabin to the Sleeping Ute in the distance.

More Details
Hide Details

44 Reviews of Property 112572 in Mesa Verde, Colorado

Log Home on 80 Acres, MesaVerde, Hot Tub, Incredible Views, Privacy, HS Internet
average rating of 4.857143 based on 44 reviews
business
Log Home on 80 Acres, MesaVerde, Hot Tub, Incredible Views, Privacy, HS Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p112572
970 799-2582
Mesa Verde Southwestern Colorado
Peoria, Arizona
5

wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We spent our Thanksgiving holiday at the log house and it was everything we hoped for and more. We visited the local ruins at Mesa Verde, Lowery and Hovenweep. All worth the drive. The house and hot tub were great to come home to. I could repeat all that others have written and it all would be true. Suffice to say we think the house and location were wonderful and would certainly return again...except now we want to try out Lana's farm house in Durango first:)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Home on 80 Acres, MesaVerde, Hot Tub, Incredible Views, Privacy, HS Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p112572
970 799-2582
Mesa Verde Southwestern Colorado
Albuquerque, NM
5

Cortez Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had a fantastic time at the cabin in Cortez. It was great to have some solitude and you could "hear" the silence. It was nice to have great cell and internet reception just in case we wanted to connect with the outside world!

We took 2 day trips -- one to Moab Utah and the other to Telluride -- each took about 2 hours one way. There is so much do do in the area -- the choices are endless.

It is a beautiful home -- the home was much more than we expected -- everything was so nice and comfortable -- the full size kitchen, upstairs bedroon with king bed and the walk in shower was terrific. We enjoyed the grill, hot tub, eating out on the deck and hiking around the property.

It is so nice to be able to travel with our dog and be able to stay in such nice accomodations.

Thank you again for the service you provide -- we feel blessed to have discovered you and your properties!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Home on 80 Acres, MesaVerde, Hot Tub, Incredible Views, Privacy, HS Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p112572
970 799-2582
Mesa Verde Southwestern Colorado
Denver
5

Fabulous Vacation Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We LOVED our stay here! The house is clean, welcoming and the views are simply amazing. The kitchen is well stocked with cooking supplies & we enjoyed using the BBQ almost every night. The hummingbirds are a delight & our daughter was enchanted by them. We "made" food for them following the recipe in the guest book in the house. We stayed for a week and hiked/explored all over the area but one additional simple pleasure our 6 year old daughter especially enjoyed on a crazy hot day was the public pool in Cortez for an afternoon of swimming (cheap, big slide & diving board plus very clean). Overall, this was a fantastic family vacation; one of our favorites & staying in this home helped make the vacation perfect. The house, if anything, is BETTER than described as the pictures can not do the majestic views justice. We hope to return again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review on the Cabin! It truly is a very special place....hope you'll come back and stay with us again sometime. We have five other homes in Durango as well. All the best, Lana
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Home on 80 Acres, MesaVerde, Hot Tub, Incredible Views, Privacy, HS Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p112572
970 799-2582
Mesa Verde Southwestern Colorado
Wilmette, Illinois
5

A terrific private getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This home was beautiful and in an incredibly private setting. The hot tub and views to the Sleeping Ute mountain range were gorgeous. The home was comfortable, clean, and well-organized. Everything that we needed was there ( except WiFi). It feels like you are miles from civilization because there are no other homes in clear sight, but yet it was an easy drive to Mesa Verde and the town of Cortez. A truly wonderful experience. Would return in a heartbeat.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the excellent review Mary! Hope to have you back real soon. Happy Spring! Lana
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Home on 80 Acres, MesaVerde, Hot Tub, Incredible Views, Privacy, HS Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p112572
970 799-2582
Mesa Verde Southwestern Colorado
5

Great place to visit!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Wow! What a great place to visit! If you are planning on going to the Four Corners area of Colorado I definitely recommend staying here. This house makes you really feel like you are home. Virtually everything you need for an extended stay is provided. Spectacular views create a very relaxing environment that allows you to truly enjoy your stay. While in the area my family and I visited many of the local attractions. Mesa Verde, Four Corners, Valley of the Ancients, and Monument Valley were our main trips. Take the time to visit Monument Valley if you are a Western Movie buff, you will not regret it. Don't forget Goulding's!

While the home is remote in feeling, it is only a ten minute drive to Cortez where you can find everything you need to cook up a big bowl of chili with fresh cornbread. Be sure to find the local peppers at the roadside vendors, they will make your Sunday football games special.

While you are at the home, be sure to fill up the hummingbird feeder and you will not be disappointed. My personal favorite was filling the bird feeder just off the deck. Make sure you fill that, and even put some extra water on the rocks, and flocks of birds will make their presence known.

I highly recommend this home for families. You will not be disappointed with your stay.

George
Owner's Response: Hi George,

Thanks for the incredible review on our home. Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay and were able to see and do alot of the local attractions. The Cabin makes a great base camp for day trips in the Four Corners area. I'm sure you didn't get to see everything, so please come back and try our five other homes in Durango as well!!

Thanks again and have a wonderful Fall season!

Best regards,

Lana
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Home on 80 Acres, MesaVerde, Hot Tub, Incredible Views, Privacy, HS Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p112572
970 799-2582
Mesa Verde Southwestern Colorado
Pequea, PA
5

A Perfect Vacation Home!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Thank you for welcoming us into your beautiful home! We landed in Phoenix, AZ – it hit 120 degrees and we asked ourselves “what were we thinking?” Then we stopped at the Chapel of the Holy Cross in Sedona and the Grand Canyon and knew we were headed in the right direction. We arrived at the cabin when it was dark so had to wait until morning to see the amazing view of Ute Mountain; however, we were able to enjoy the stars and Milky Way right from your deck. The inside of the cabin was more than we anticipated and we settled right in. Your place is so clean and the beds were very comfotrable - two of my top priorities when renting. My favorite place was on the deck with my camera and binoculars where I saw so many black-chinned and rufous hummingbirds. Before I forget, here is the EASY recipe for sugar water for the hummingbird feeder:
HUMMINGBIRD FOOD:
Fill the 4-cup glass measuring container with 1 cup of sugar.
Add 2 cups BOILING water and stir until dissolved.
Add ice cubes until you are above the 4-cup line and stir until the water cools.
Rinse the hummingbird feeder with warm water before adding fresh mixture. You can refrigerate this mixture for up to 2 weeks, but please be sure to change the water two times a week when the temperatures are high. The feeder will probably be empty by that time anyway because you will be amazed at how many hummingbirds you see at one time (usually 6 or more). Also if you add water to the birdbath located in front of the deck, you will see Mountain Bluebirds and many other birds drinking and bathing in the morning and throughout the day. We also enjoyed watching the storms from the deck…the lightening was amazing! We loved Mesa Verde National Park (be sure to see Cliff Palace, Balcony House and Spruce House). Take a breathtaking day trip to Telluride and be sure to ride the FREE gondola. We even enjoyed our non-planned stop in the small town of Rico (had to stop there on the way back due to an “incident” with a crazy man and explosives) but the people in that town were so friendly and there was no way to take a detour with a rental car. I promise you that you will love this cabin. Once you get there, sit back and enjoy the wonderful surroundings and if you venture out, enjoy the friendly people in this area.
Thanks again, Lana!
Glenda and Scott – Pequea, PA
Maggie and Kevin – Baltimore, MD
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Home on 80 Acres, MesaVerde, Hot Tub, Incredible Views, Privacy, HS Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p112572
970 799-2582
Mesa Verde Southwestern Colorado
Los Angeles
5

WONDERFUL!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My fiance and I stayed here a few weeks ago and it was wonderful! The house is lovely, clean, warm and the view is incredible! You can not go wrong renting this house!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Kevin & Lindsay,

Thanks for the wonderful review you submitted on the cabin. I'm was thrilled to find out the two of you got engaged in our home.....how romantic! Hope to see you again in the near future.

Have a long and happy new life together!

Lana
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Home on 80 Acres, MesaVerde, Hot Tub, Incredible Views, Privacy, HS Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p112572
970 799-2582
Mesa Verde Southwestern Colorado
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Thanks for a wonderful stay. Your home was just perfect! We loved the solutide at the end of the day. Your hot tub was perfect at the end of a day of hiking. My grand daughter can not wait to get back and tell their friends. We had a perfect vacation.
business
Log Home on 80 Acres, MesaVerde, Hot Tub, Incredible Views, Privacy, HS Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p112572
970 799-2582
Mesa Verde Southwestern Colorado
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
What a wonderful month-beautiful house-beautiful view. Everyone who came to stay with us loved it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Home on 80 Acres, MesaVerde, Hot Tub, Incredible Views, Privacy, HS Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p112572
970 799-2582
Mesa Verde Southwestern Colorado
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2010
Thanks for the great stay. The cabin was so clean. We loved the hot tub. My kids loved hiking! We also enjoyed the crow migration every evening at sunset.
Helpful votes: 1/1