Tenants Harbor cottage rental - Cottage in afternoon light
Cottage in afternoon light
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Tenants Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 full bath, front porch, screened porch, limited harbor views

Sunny, immaculate well-equipped cottage 150 yards from harbor. Furnished front porch. Limited harbor views. Shady back deck with screened porch with a dining table and comfortable wicker chairs. Large living/dining room, galley kitchen well supplied with cooking utensils and a lobster pot. Bath with tub and shower. One bedroom has twin beds, the other a double bed and child's cot. Bedroom ceiling height 6 1/2 feet sloping to 4 1/2 feet. The bedrooms are accessed by an open staircase with handrail, as shown in the 'Dining Area' photo.

Gas stove with fireplace opening; perfect for cool June & September evenings. Cable TV & DVD; Wi-Fi. Scenic 1/2 mile walk on quiet harbor road to charming village. Screened porch; Webber charcoal grill. Beaches, lighthouse, museum, art galleries, kayak rentals, restaurants in Port Clyde and boat to Monhegan. Many cultural activities, including the Farnsworth Museum's multi-generational Wyeth collection in Rockland, art galleries, theaters, many restaurants and golf in Camden, Rockport and Rockland.

Sheets & towels to be supplied by renters. No smoking. No cats; dog with owner's permission.

See, too, Rockport listing 24285, which has a country setting, fully-equipped cook's kitchen, spacious living rooms, gardens, including a vegetable garden for your picking, and is a lovely walk to Rockport Harbor or to Beechnut Hill with panoramic views of harbor.

Tenants Harbor amenities: Tenants Harbor has a well-stocked grocery store, post-office, and several restaurants, including Cod End on its own pier (chowders, clam, shrimp, and fish baskets, steamed lobsters and lobster rolls, home-made pies, and more) and a full-service inn with pub. It also has an excellent library, a town pier/boat ramp, and a little beach when the tide is down between Cod End and the town pier.

More Details
Hide Details

25 Reviews of Property 104767 in Tenants Harbor, Maine

Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
average rating of 4.631579 based on 25 reviews
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Brooklyn
5

A lovely cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Since The summer of 2008 we have been coming here every year for two weeks. We fell in love with it the first time.
It is small and cozy and tastefully decorated.
The kitchen is well equipped for a small cottage and it is a pleasure to cook the local fish and vegetables or the wild mushrooms that we pick.
My ten year old daughter loves spending days at the Blueberry Cove camp or the Herring Gut learning center where they have great activities for kids, marine activities, sailing programs and farm animals.
The region is impressively beautiful. We go swimming nearly everyday, take the boat to Monhegan Island, hike in the state park near Camden... Just the walk to the general store from the cottage is a pleasure.
We'll be back next year...
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your detailed review, including the descriptions of the activities for children and adults. We are happy that you enjoy the cottage and the area as much as you do and are delighted to have you return.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Stoughton
5

Enhance your vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This vintage style cottage with its authentic and honest rustic charm enhances the experience of vacationing in Tenants Harbor. It has all the necessary comforts one needs for a laid-back, relaxed vacation and you're surrounded by sea and woodland. Enjoy breakfast on the front deck with views of pine studded islands, glimpses of the morning light shimmering on the water, the tinge of salt in the air and the distant drones of lobster boats.

Enjoy a pleasant stroll after dinner to the village center and to the town wharf to experience the dramatic light on the harbor, hosting a variety of sail craft along with native lobster boats.

The location is especially convenient. It's a delightful drive to Port Clyde and Marshall Point where it's a perfect destination for a stunning sunset. Take a day trip to Monhegan Island that will bring you to a place years gone by. Experience the renewed vigor of Rockland with it's many cafes and restaurants. Treat yourself to a visit to the Farnsworth museum with it's vast collection of paintings by famous artists, especially the outstanding works of the Wyeth family. Visit Owls Head lighthouse with its commanding and breath taking views of Penobscot Bay. Or bring your kayak, as I have, and paddle to the spectacular islands that surround Tenants Harbor.

This area is nearly magical and staying at this simple, yet most comfortable cottage only adds to the feeling.

I have chosen to stay at this charm of a cottage repeatedly over the course of several years and the joys of experiencing a vacation on the coast of Maine are multiplied by staying at this gem of a place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Joe,

Thank you for posting this review. It gives us great pleasure to have our renters enjoy our cottage and the charms of Tenants Harbor. You have truly captured the spirit of Tenants Harbor and the surrounding communities and islands. Thank you for your many return visits.

Suzy and Joe Kane
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Old Lyme, CT
5

The nicest week in Maine - August 2009

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We had a wonderful experience at this lovely little cottage. It was perfect for our family of four with two boys under five. It was small, clean, tidy, and yet had every amenity that we could need.

I would have loved a washer and/or dryer, although old school washing in the tub and drying on the line out back was great. The upstairs bedrooms were comfortable as it was a hot week in Maine! I did hit my head a few times as the roof slants, so if you are tall beware!! If you have small children you need to be careful with the stairs. We shut the door at night and it worked out fine. During the day we blocked it with a chair so they would not go up and down. The TV has Disney Channel if necessary - it was for us!

This Tenant's Harbor location was a wonderful location to take in not only all Tenant's Harbor offers (little bookstore, Cod End, Library, little beach/tidal basin) but also to take day trips to Camden, Rockport, Port Clyde (Puffin Cruise), Rockland, Wicassett and Bath (all less than an hour drive!)

My husband was able to also cycle everyday and could go for about 10-15 miles around the area. Good biking!

The owners are knowledgeable and responded very quickly to all of your requests and questions - this was very important to us. The local neighbors were great to talk to as well! We booked rather late in the season and were so excited that our week was still available!

I would recommend this property to anyone on a budget with a small family and for those that want to kick back, relax and take in the slow pace of life in beautiful coastal Maine.

We wished we could have stayed longer and we are thinking if coming back next year!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We're very pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and its location in Tenants Harbor and that it worked well for your family.

Thanks, too, for pointing out the convenient location for taking day trips. One of our favorites is the short (10-minute) drive to Port Clyde and the Marshall Point Lighthouse.

We were happy to respond to your requests and questions. We often rent self-catering accommodations when traveling and know how important a responsive landlord is.

We look forward to your returning in the future!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Auburndale & London
5

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
A friend from London and I spent a lovely week at the Kanes' cottage at the end of July. Our main goals were to visit antique shops, eat, visit the Farnsworth Museum and relax. We accomplished all of these. Highlights were the multi-dealer antique shops in Rockland, Warren and Camden. Cod's End and the Thomaston Diner for food. (There is also a great farm stand at the gas station on Route 131 on the way up to Route 1). The Farnsworth Museum and the Olson House for the Wyeth experience (the cottage is conveniently situated between the two). We took the ferry over to Monhegan Island and despite the fog had a wonderful time, seeing harbour porpoises and seals on the way out. The staff at the ferry are very friendly and helpful.

We found the cottage exactly as advertised. It was clean and well maintained. The kitchen was very well equipped - we especially appreciated the tea pot and the salad spinner! Suzy was very friendly and helpful, even calling us to check that all was going smoothly. She has thoughtfully put together a notebook with all the information guests need which we referenced quite often.

We can highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, AW and KP, for posting this review. We are always very pleased to learn that guests have enjoyed the cottage and the area. I appreciate your detailed comments. I'm sure they'll be useful to potential renters as they are to me, too. (I'm going to try out the Thomaston Diner and that farm stand on Rt. 131.)

We hope you'll come again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Lakeland, GA
5

Cute and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
You are close enough to a large town to have access to anything that you may need (Rockland). The cottage itself is very cute and charming. It is in a very quite area and you would have no problems resting, enjoying your stay, and just getting away from it all. The area and cottage is well kept and clean. Even with the fact that there are several working wharfs in the area, there is not a large amount of traffic and what little there is you would not know that they just drove by. The owners are very nice and very accommodating. We enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. Cods End that is located in the wharf is somewhere that you will need to visit while you are there. The lobster is out of this world. There is also a little place called Doug's on the way to Port Clyde. They have some of the best Haddock I have ever tasted. There is also Captain Jack's Lobster boat. It is located on the Mid wharf in Rockland. This is one of the things that we felt was well worth the money to do. Captain Jack is an awesome person and all ages will enjoy his tour. Of course, there are the lighthouses. There are several within less than an hour drive from you. We went to 7 that were within the area. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone staying in the area. However, there are a few exceptions. The stairs in the cottage to the second floor are somewhat steep. If you have bad legs or a disability, I could not recommend this cottage to you. In other words, my parents, I could not recommend this cottage to them. My sister and her husband, they would be crazy not to stay there! Families with young children, I would recommend this cottage with this warning. The bathroom is downstairs and again the stairs are steep. I would recommend a gate at the top of the stairs. There is also a door that would cover the opening at the top of the stairs that could be closed, but I would still put a gate in place with small children. Overall though for my stay on a scale of 0-10, 10 being the highest, it was definitely a 10.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to meet Bob and his wife on the day of their departure and to learn about how they spent their time on their first visit to Maine. We rarely have this opportunity because we live 80 miles south of Tenants Harbor. I'm so pleased to learn more about their stay through this review, including their visits to 7 lighthouses. Most of all, I'm delighted they enjoyed their Maine vacation because I don't think they saw the sun once. It was a most unusual weather pattern for June that extended into the beginning of July.

I appreciate the suggestion for a gate at the top of the staircase and all the details you provided for future guests.

We hope you'll return and experience how beautiful Maine is in the sunshine!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

August 2008

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Your cute cottage was the perfect retreat spot to enjoy St. George. The arts community is fabulous - perfect timing this week to take in the open studios of St. George! What a happy accident. I leave with fond memories and 4 new paintings.

Many blessings.
JT '08
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Amesbury,MA
5

Tranquil, Serene Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Thank you so much for a wonderful week! What a peaceful, beautiful location. This was the perfect getaway with our dog. We are sad to be leaving this place of natural beauty that is Tenants Harbor.

Thanks again.
Scott & Joni
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
PA and VA
5

Great escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2005
This charming cottage is a wonderful place to get away from the cares of the world, It is peaceful and quiet. I love taking my coffee to the front deck in the morning to watch the sun gradually creep across the deck lighting up the containers of petunias and geraniums. The deck feels like my private place in the world surrounded by blueberry shrubs and spruce trees.

After coffee we frequently walk to the village for the paper and blueberry muffins--a must in Maine! The village itself has many places to explore: quaint cottages, Cod's End (fish to take home to grill on the back deck), the East Wind (a must for dinner out), The Lobster Lane Book Store, the library, a small grocery store and many small eateries.

One of my favorite activities is watching the sailboats come into the harbor from the bay. We frequently see sailors from large sailboats row a dingy to the dock at Cod's End to pick up dinner for that evening, and we even see the fishermen bringing their catch to dock.

I also enjoy the many gardens in the area; the colors against the white cottages and deep blue sky are images to store away for the bleak days of February. Walking back from the village there may be flowers, plants books or lobsters for sale from the locals.

My husband and I have been coming to this cottage since 1988. We have always found it to be neat, clean, and above all, the plumbing works! It is a great place to be.

I hope you will enjoy it as much as we do.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Charming Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2006
We enjoyed our stay at this charming little cottage. Four us us found it to be very comfortable with all the amenities of home. The description in the listing was very accurate and we were very pleased that it exceeded our expectations.
The location was quiet and serene but convenient to many great spots. We brought our bikes and took a great ride down to the end of the peninsula to the light house at Port Clyde (not a ride for little children). The other highlight was the lobster festival Rockland.
We recommend the cottage very highly.
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2001
  • Stayed: Oct 2001
We loved your cozy cottage. The snug bed upstairs kept us quite warm with all the blankets, and although Bob and I had to bend over a bit (Bob is 6 ft. tall), we managed just fine. Thanks for letting us come in so late in the season. The wood stove kept us very warm. And we enjoyed Tenants Harbor immensely. It was so quiet and serence, and the harbor was lovely this time of year. What skys! We enjoyed the little Baptist Church on Sunday, and we loved eating lunch at the Port Clyde general store. Our time went too fast.