Sanibel Island townhome rental - View from Clamshell's large wrap-around deck
View from Clamshell's large wrap-around deck
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Sanibel Island Townhome Rental Photos and Description
- 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 4 max

Clamshell sits directly on the beach, secluded and private amid natural vegetation and palm trees with glorious sea views. We are five minutes from shops, restaurants and golf courses, but you'll never know they are there unless you want them. This quiet, exclusive 6-unit complex of townhouses, with no one above or below you, boasts 300 feet of beach front. Our guests appreciate the luxury and attention to detail which Clamshell has to offer, and that is why they return year after year, (almost 90% of our rental days each year are with repeat renters) even though we routinely appear at the top of the list when you sort Sanibel rentals for 1-4 people by price. Email Carolyn Bachman and Tom Bachman for availability and more details about this light, airy Gulf-front Florida cottage.

20 Reviews of Property 100818 in Sanibel Island, Florida

Clamshell: Charming Beachfront Townhouse - a Sanibel Rarity
average rating of 4.95 based on 20 reviews
business
Clamshell: Charming Beachfront Townhouse - a Sanibel Rarity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Lakeside, CT
5

Elegance on the Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
We have stayed here numerous times over the last 7 years. It has always been a superb experience. The Condo was always in great shape, clean and waiting for us.

The condo is situated almost right on the beach but far enough back that you still have your provacy. You look out over palm trees and beach scrub and then the white sandy beach and the ocean.

Any request for information or problems (if any) are handled quickly and efficeintly by the renatl managers right on the island. They usually check with you to see if your stay is alright.

Sanibel is a quiet island off of Fort Myers. There are some great restaurants and one movie theater. The island is a great place to enjoy your family and bring your children. The island is generally safe for the kids and they can bicycle all over the island in relative safety.

The condo was renovated several years ago and is now a very elegant but beach worthy place to stay.

Come here to relax, read a book, be with your family and enjoy the thrill of just being alive! Leave with regret and anticipation of your next stay at Clamshell E.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Clamshell: Charming Beachfront Townhouse - a Sanibel Rarity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
4

Great Location, Great Time

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
This beautiful townhome is perfectly situated on the Gulf side -- literally steps from the beach on Middle Gulf Drive. Bikes, beach chairs, books -- everything you need to enjoy Sanibel was included in the rental -- which saved us money -- we didn't need to rent a thing. I especially enjoyed opening the WALL of glass to enjoy the ocean breeze in the evening and the morning and enjoyed my coffee on the deck outside the master bedroom. The master bath was unexpected and appreciated with a whirlpool tub, great shower with multiple shower heads and wonderful thick towels. The decor and furnishings were all first rate. The only thing that would make this property perfect would be a pillowtop mattress in the master bedroom as well as feather pillows -- if that's what you like and I do -- so perhaps I'll just ship my own pillows next time. My husband and I would definitely stay here again without hesitation.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Clamshell: Charming Beachfront Townhouse - a Sanibel Rarity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
5

Best Rental Condo on Sanibel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
My husband and I have been vacationing on Sanibel Island at least annually for over 22 years. We have been staying at Clamshell since 1999 and consider it the best condo rental on the island. The decor is comfortable and lovely, the kitchen is fabulous and the master bathroom is "to die for." It is located closer to the beach than most "beach front" condos, is very private and quiet, and has a large 3rd-floor deck with panoramic water views that is perfect for relaxing all day under an umbrella. Other than riding bikes around the island, we have a hard time tearing outselves away from the condo during the 2 weeks that we are there. All you need to bring is your clothing, swimsuit and sunscreen. We absolutely love staying at Clamshell.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Clamshell: Charming Beachfront Townhouse - a Sanibel Rarity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Knoxville, TN
5

Many memories have been made at Clamshell

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We have rented Clamshell E for 6 years and have stayed at other places in Sanibel, and nothing compares. The unit is spacious, up to date, and has a beautiful view of the ocean. We love the privacy and on our most recent stay, we had the pool completely to ourselves. I can't imagine there being a better place on Sanibel, as far as convenience, beauty and peacefulness. The unit easily accommodates 2 adults and 2 others (we have 2 teenagers). You have everything you need in this unit and the owners are super nice, as well as the folks at Island Vacations of Sanibel. Be sure and take the Sanibel Thriller (boat ride) -- it's well worth it -- this summer (09) we were able to get into all restaurants easily -- there were very few crowds anywhere.... so we had another great vacation in Sanibel!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Clamshell: Charming Beachfront Townhouse - a Sanibel Rarity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Minneapolis, MN USA
5

Clamshell E

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
We have been happy renters of Clamshell for 4 years returning year after year. It is a pleasant change from all the condo units along the beach as it is it's own unit with its own access. It's also very quiet and secluded, away from the hustle and bustle and yet is right on the beach. The furnishings are clean, tasteful, up-to-date and feel more like home than a rental unit. The master bedroom is spacious, airy, and has a fantastic view. The master bath is very spacious and has all one would want. The kitchen is fully equipped with appliances and utentils--again these are what I'd expect in a home, not a rental. The deck is off the master bedroom on the upper level which does make for some glorious sunsets. The lanai is part of the living room which makes the whole living room feel like one is outside.
The second bedroom can be a little crowded if people are bringing luggage for an extended stay. The inclusion of a washer and dryer is wonderful for an extended stay.

The beach is just down the boardwalk and has excellent shelling. Morning dolphin watching is always a plus. We've never used the pool, but it looks adequate. Shops, restaurants, beaches, and bike trails are right out the door. What is especially nice is Clamshell has bikes for the occupants to use (I named mine "Rusty")--a big plus on Sanibel. I can bike to the grocery store in the morning for the paper, to the Bean in the afternoon for coffee, to Ding Darling for nature adventures, or just ride around. There are other "toys" such as pails, umbrellas, beach chairs at the unit.

Our experience with the management company has always been very positive. They are always willing to help us in any way they can--accepting and sending faxes, mail.

The photos do represent Clamshell accurately. We have had other family members rent other units in the Clamshell compound because of its excellent location, but none are as nice, clean, modern, or as well maintained as this one. It truly is like having your own home. That's why we return year after year. We've not found anything we like better or that is as special.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Clamshell: Charming Beachfront Townhouse - a Sanibel Rarity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
New Hampshire
5

Paradise Found

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
Review Title:

Clamshell E was everything the photos and descriptions showed, and more. It is so beautifully and comfortably decorated, with every amenity thought of. They have a great selection of books, both fiction and non fiction. I had brought my own shell, flora and fauna identification books, which I did not need to bring! There are Solitudes CDs to uplift the already relaxing ambience to Utopia. Free internet access was appreciated. The master bedroom and bath are gorgeous and very romantic. What a surprise and a treat to wake up every morning, sit up in bed and see the sun rising over the gulf. We loved the townhouse set up, with two floors. The deck outside the master bedroom is actually on the 3rd floor, since the unit is on stilts. What a view! The beach is beautiful. It was such a treat to grab beach chairs, take a short stroll to the sand and watch the amazing sunsets, while sipping champagne.The location is just what we were looking for- quiet, secluded, yet easy to get to the stores and restaurants. Bikes, beach chairs and umbrellas are included. There is no need to rent equipment, as is necessary in many other rentals on Sanibel. The property management company, Island Vacations, was wonderful. In all communications with them, be it via email, on the phone or in person, they were friendly, helpful and responsive. The townhouse was immaculate! A full sized washer and dryer in the unit was handy. The owners were quick to reply to our inquiries and they, too, were very nice, via our email communications.
Once we went over the causeway from the mainland to the island, we were there to stay. There was no reason for us to leave. Between Sanibel and Captiva, there were plenty of restaurants and enough grocery stores to meet our needs.
For a special treat, go to the Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge to watch the sunset. We sat in the area of the observation tower. Watching all the species of birds, group by group, flying overhead as they made their way to their night time roost was magical. What a privilege to have witnessed that amazing natural event.
We greatly recommend Clamshell E to anyone who loves the beach, nature, peace and quiet, and spending time in Paradise.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Clamshell: Charming Beachfront Townhouse - a Sanibel Rarity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Colorado Springs, CO
5

Fabulous Clamshell

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
My wife and I spent a week at Clamshell in May and absolutely fell in love with it! Very private. The condo is well appointed with everything you would need for a great stay. The entire upper level is the master suite with a fantastic lanai off of the bedroom. Easy access to the beach and all of the other highlights of Sanibel. We are planning on a 2 week stay next year!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Clamshell: Charming Beachfront Townhouse - a Sanibel Rarity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Dwight , IL
5

Beautiful view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We celebrated our 30th. wedding anniversary at Clamshell.What a relaxing week. The veiw from the masterbedrooom is breathtaking. Enjoyed breakfast every morning on the balcony.Clamshell is very clean and newly updated with a huge masterbathroom.Plenty to do in the evening...many nice places to eat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Clamshell: Charming Beachfront Townhouse - a Sanibel Rarity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Illinois
5

Perfection in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
Our family has been vacationing on Sanibel now for many years dating back to the mid 1990's. Clearly our most memorable experiences surround our stay's at the Clamshell property. It is, and has always been, a cut above the rest. The peaceful seclusion, cleanliness, furnishings, bikes, lounge chairs, pool, and don't forget the beach and view right out your front door make for a perfect combination. We intend to continue to make Sanibel and the Clamshell our annual vacation retreat for years to come.

BK & DK - Illinois
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Clamshell: Charming Beachfront Townhouse - a Sanibel Rarity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Cambridge,Ma. USA
5

Clamshell a very special retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
This will be our fifth year renting Clamshell.We find it a very special quiet and unique place to refresh our batteries in a beautiful setting and with thoughtful owners through an excellent rental and accommodating Agency-Island Vacations-.We also appreciate the privacy it provides and the internet services that allows us to stay in close touch with our family, friends and ,if need be, our work.Everything in the condo is well maintained and being directly on the beach is wonderful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway