Indian Shores condo rental - Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Indian Shores Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 4

Please scroll down to see the link to comments from our previous guests. They all loved it and you will, too!

Wake up on Indian Shores' intercoastal waterway... view playful dolphins from the comfort of your king-size bed... watch the boats head out to the Gulf... Walk the powdery-white sands... Relax on the private balcony overlooking nesting sea-birds...

• Waterviews, waterviews, waterviews!

• Just steps to beach (approx. 150 yards)

• Washer/Dryer in unit

• Computer with high-speed cable internet and WiFi

• Unlimited long-distance calls (USA and Canada)

• Upgraded digital cable TV package

• Private 1 car garage with 2 remote openers

• much more!

Keywords: Waterfront Condominium

Isabel is from Spain and we met while I lived and worked there for ten years. During our years there we enjoyed traveling throughout Europe and especially staying in the quaint Bed and Breakfasts that are so typical there. We made notes of all of the things we liked and disliked about everywhere we stayed and planned to one day have somewhere unique and cozy of our own to offer to vacationers.

In 2000 work brought us to St. Petersburg, Florida. In 2004 we purchased a condo in Indian Shores, just a few miles from our home. We decorated it with nothing but the best (Isabel is an Interior Decorator and has her own business). As guests began to know us and word began to get around we soon had a steady flow of visitors and a full calendar. Just repeat visitors were nearly keeping the unit booked. In 2008 we decided to buy a second unit, with the exact same floor plan and the same extraordinary views, just a few steps away. We call them our Gulf Retreat 1 and Gulf Retreat 2.

Darryl Glenn purchased this condo in 2004

We love Indian Shores because it is the quietest, most relaxed part of Sand Key, the barrier island that runs along the Gulf shore from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater. It is the narrowest part of the Sand Key, only 150-200 yards across where we are located. That means you can enjoy both the Intracoastal Waterway and the Gulf of Mexico only a few steps apart.

Indian Shores is the last part of the coastline in Pinellas County that preserves a small-town feel. Gulf Blvd. is still just a two-lane road and the speed limit is 35 m.p.h. There's is only one traffic light in Indian Shores. There isn't as much asphalt as you see to the south or north of us, a lot fewer high-rise buildings and none of the tourist traps. While you will find all the restaurants and conveniences you need near-by Indian Shores is still primarily a residential, family-oriented community.

Our view is of the Intracoastal Waterway, the body of water that separates Sand Key from the mainland. We love it because of all the boat traffic - it's fun to watch. The dolphins are always a joy to see, too. They are most active early in the morning or at sunset. Manatee are a little harder to spot, but are always around, too.

When the tide is low there is a sandbar that emerges from the water just off our balcony. The seabirds all come to feed there and it's wonderful entertainment.

And the Intracoastal Waterway is beautiful to behold at night, when the lights from the boats and other properties reflect off the surface. You must see it to appreciate it!

And of course the beach is just across the street. It takes just a couple of minutes to get there walking. It's never crowded and always relaxing. We have beach toys, inflatables, beach chairs, an umbrella, a cooler... everything you need except a good book and suntan lotion! And we even have a handy cart to put everything in and wheel it across the street!

122 Reviews of Property 43893 in Indian Shores, Florida

100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
average rating of 4.9693875 based on 122 reviews
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
BEAR, DELAWARE
5

Guestbook Comment

August 7th-14th. If you are looking for a condo that has all the charm of home plus so much more this is where you want to be.Our whole family--Mom, D...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2005
  • Stayed: Aug 2005
August 7th-14th. If you are looking for a condo that has all the charm of home plus so much more this is where you want to be.Our whole family--Mom, Dad, 2 boys ages 8 and 14--had a wonderful time. No detail is forgotten from impeccable cleanliness, lovely furnishing, beautiful views of the intercoastal waterway, and a thoughtful gift basket waiting on your arrival.
The private fishing pier provided many happy hours of fishing, dolphin encounters, and bird watching.
We also encountered dolphins while waverunning. They swim all around you and love to play with you.
We highly reccommend for Italian food CJ'S and for steak and seafood and all around good food try The Salty Rock Grill.
This was our first time to this area of Florida and was truly delighted. There is much to do or do nothing at all and just relax.
A trip to Johns Pass will provide a great day of shopping and all the water sports you could want.
The beaches are not crowded and the condo provides chairs, umbrella, and small children toys.
You will not be sorry if you pick this condo. Darryl,the owner of this fabulous retreat, is so very nice to work with. He will do all he can to make your stay a vacation to remember.
The Whitcombe's
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2005
  • Stayed: Aug 2005
From: Johnny Boy:Dear Darryl, Yahoo, I’ve been having a blast here. The beds are great!!! Best sleep ever. Great gift basket, a lot of useful things in there. This condo has a great scenery and a great pool!!! Very, very relaxing after swimming in the ocean.Signed, Jonny Boy, Delaware, USAAge 14 (tomorrow)_____________________________________________________As our son said – this condo is more like a home than a vacation place. As soon as you walk through the door the feeling of home and comfort hit you.The boy’s both loved their room and want a mattress like the one on the beds. We all got a great night sleep.The gift basket was so thoughtful as the “little’ amenities you were so thoughtful to provide.What a change to have such clean and beautiful accommodations. We can not say enough wonderful things. It was nice and a pleasure arranging this vacation with you. Would love a return visit.Pat, John, Jonathan & Brandon
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
La Porte, IN
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2005
  • Stayed: Jul 2005
You could not possibly be disappointed with this condo. It is an absolutely beautiful property with stunning views of the intercoastal. We could not believe our good fortune to find such a wonderful vacation home. Lovely furnishings, immaculate housekeeping and attention to the smallest detail created an atmosphere of pure pampering. We vacation frequently and have stayed in tremendous places, but this condo ranks right at the top. The owners were friendly, honest and readily available to answer any question or meet any need. We highly recommend this condo and feel we received a great value for our money. We look forward to returning to this hidden treasure. This is a place you must see to believe.
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
La Porte, IN
5

Guestbook Comment

You could not possibly be disappointed with this condo. It is an absolutely beautiful property with stunning views of the intercoastal. We could not...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2005
  • Stayed: Jul 2005
You could not possibly be disappointed with this condo. It is an absolutely beautiful property with stunning views of the intercoastal. We could not believe our good fortune to find such a wonderful vacation home. Lovely furnishings, immaculate housekeeping and attention to the smallest detail created an atmosphere of pure pampering. We vacation frequently and have stayed in tremendous places, but this condo ranks right at the top. The owners were friendly, honest and readily available to answer any question or meet any need. We highly recommend this condo and feel we received a great value for our money. We look forward to returning to this hidden treasure. This is a place you must see to believe.
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2005
  • Stayed: Jul 2005
Du 23.7.05 au 6.8.05Bonjour Darryl, Votre condo était parfait pour notre petite famille!Nous avons très apprècìé notre sêjour au Mariner’s Pointe, on s’est senti chez-nous mais avec la mer tout près!!!... Les enfants ont beaucoup apprècìé la piscine! Merci aussi pour tes prècìeux conseils! Le petit mot et le panier d’accuveil furent trés apprècìé! À la prochaine!...Sonia, Marc, Valerie, ThierryDe St Jêrôme, Québec, Canada.Translation … hahaha!!...Your condo was perfect for our family!We appreciated our stay at Mariners Pointe (Gulf Retreat), we just felt like home with the sea nearby. Our children also appreciated the pool. Thanks for your hints! The gift basket and the welcoming note were a nice touch!See you soon!
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2005
  • Stayed: Jul 2005
Dear Darryl and Isabel,

The welcome basket was very nice. It made us feel very welcome. You have
made us feel like we were at home. We enjoyed it a lot. The two weeks went by
fast.

We hope to come back to Florida again. Thank you very much.
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2005
  • Stayed: Jul 2005
Darryl & Isabel, We had a great vacation!Your condo is the best place we‘ve stayed while traveling (20 yrs.).It is beautiful and well equipped. The view was awesome, we loved it. We hope to come back during spring break and will recommed it to our friends. The gift basket was a nice touch – Thank you.
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2005
  • Stayed: Jun 2005
Dear Darryl & family, We absolutely love this condo!As we walked in, we could not believe how beautifully this home is decorated. Impeccable attention to detail and needs of guests was evident in every room. Our only problem was that we never wanted to leave!Thanks too for the welcome basket. What a wonderfully friendly and thoughtful act of kindness. We won’t hesitate to recommend you highly.
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2005
  • Stayed: Jun 2005
Dear Darryl and Family, What a wonderful “home” away from home. Your condo is beautiful and we enjoyed staying here so much. Thank you for the great “ welcome” basket. That was so thoughtful of you! Megan loved the pool – nice and private. Jon and I loved to sit on the balcony and relax. Hope we can return for another visit in the future.Thanks again.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2005
  • Stayed: Apr 2005
Dear Darryl and Isabel,

We had a great time in your wonderful condo. The condo has a beautiful view
and it is equipped and decorated very well. Our son enjoyed it also very much
and said it was better than our home.

Thank you very much for allowing us to stay here and also for the wonderful
welcoming basket.
Helpful votes: 0/1