Indian Shores condo rental - Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Indian Shores Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 4

Please scroll down to see the link to comments from our previous guests. They all loved it and you will, too!

Wake up on Indian Shores' intercoastal waterway... view playful dolphins from the comfort of your king-size bed... watch the boats head out to the Gulf... Walk the powdery-white sands... Relax on the private balcony overlooking nesting sea-birds...

• Waterviews, waterviews, waterviews!

• Just steps to beach (approx. 150 yards)

• Washer/Dryer in unit

• Computer with high-speed cable internet and WiFi

• Unlimited long-distance calls (USA and Canada)

• Upgraded digital cable TV package

• Private 1 car garage with 2 remote openers

• much more!

Keywords: Waterfront Condominium

Isabel is from Spain and we met while I lived and worked there for ten years. During our years there we enjoyed traveling throughout Europe and especially staying in the quaint Bed and Breakfasts that are so typical there. We made notes of all of the things we liked and disliked about everywhere we stayed and planned to one day have somewhere unique and cozy of our own to offer to vacationers.

In 2000 work brought us to St. Petersburg, Florida. In 2004 we purchased a condo in Indian Shores, just a few miles from our home. We decorated it with nothing but the best (Isabel is an Interior Decorator and has her own business). As guests began to know us and word began to get around we soon had a steady flow of visitors and a full calendar. Just repeat visitors were nearly keeping the unit booked. In 2008 we decided to buy a second unit, with the exact same floor plan and the same extraordinary views, just a few steps away. We call them our Gulf Retreat 1 and Gulf Retreat 2.

Darryl Glenn purchased this condo in 2004

We love Indian Shores because it is the quietest, most relaxed part of Sand Key, the barrier island that runs along the Gulf shore from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater. It is the narrowest part of the Sand Key, only 150-200 yards across where we are located. That means you can enjoy both the Intracoastal Waterway and the Gulf of Mexico only a few steps apart.

Indian Shores is the last part of the coastline in Pinellas County that preserves a small-town feel. Gulf Blvd. is still just a two-lane road and the speed limit is 35 m.p.h. There's is only one traffic light in Indian Shores. There isn't as much asphalt as you see to the south or north of us, a lot fewer high-rise buildings and none of the tourist traps. While you will find all the restaurants and conveniences you need near-by Indian Shores is still primarily a residential, family-oriented community.

Our view is of the Intracoastal Waterway, the body of water that separates Sand Key from the mainland. We love it because of all the boat traffic - it's fun to watch. The dolphins are always a joy to see, too. They are most active early in the morning or at sunset. Manatee are a little harder to spot, but are always around, too.

When the tide is low there is a sandbar that emerges from the water just off our balcony. The seabirds all come to feed there and it's wonderful entertainment.

And the Intracoastal Waterway is beautiful to behold at night, when the lights from the boats and other properties reflect off the surface. You must see it to appreciate it!

And of course the beach is just across the street. It takes just a couple of minutes to get there walking. It's never crowded and always relaxing. We have beach toys, inflatables, beach chairs, an umbrella, a cooler... everything you need except a good book and suntan lotion! And we even have a handy cart to put everything in and wheel it across the street!

120 Reviews of Property 43893 in Indian Shores, Florida

100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
average rating of 4.96875 based on 120 reviews
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Hershey, Pa
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2006
  • Stayed: Jan 2006
We Have now stayed twice in this beautiful condo,and we just can't say how we enjoy our vacations at Darryl and Isabel's Retreat. The welcome basket is greatly appreciated after a long trip from PA. The view is just great with the birds and dophins in the channel, let's you know your in FLA. The condo comfort and location is what keeps us coming back. The beach just across the road and the resturants just a short drive. Darryl's favorite Salt Rock Grill and Our's Fishbone's were both great for seafood. We come for just R & R with peace and quite with all the convenience of home, this is the place to be. It's always good to know Darryl just a call and a short distance away if needed, thanks Darryl. I doubt if we'll ever spend another week of Fla. vacation in a hotel knowing there's a beautiful condo with terrific hospitality like the Glenns have shown us during our stay. Thanks very much. Loved your Christmas card.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Hershey, Pa
5

Guestbook Comment

We Have now stayed twice in this beautiful condo,and we just can't say how we enjoy our vacations at Darryl and Isabel's Retreat. The welco...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2006
  • Stayed: Jan 2006
We Have now stayed twice in this beautiful condo,and we just can't say how we enjoy our vacations at Darryl and Isabel's Retreat. The welcome basket is greatly appreciated after a long trip from PA. The view is just great with the birds and dophins in the channel, let's you know your in FLA. The condo comfort and location is what keeps us coming back. The beach just across the road and the resturants just a short drive. Darryl's favorite Salt Rock Grill and Our's Fishbone's were both great for seafood. We come for just R & R with peace and quite with all the convenience of home, this is the place to be. It's always good to know Darryl just a call and a short distance away if needed, thanks Darryl. I doubt if we'll ever spend another week of Fla. vacation in a hotel knowing there's a beautiful condo with terrific hospitality like the Glenns have shown us during our stay. Thanks very much. Loved your Christmas card.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Ontario, Canada
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2005
  • Stayed: Dec 2005
The accommodations were excellent, they provided everything you needed. We were lucky enough to see the dolphins off the balcany. The gift basket was a pleasant surprise. The location is perfect with the trolly just outside the condo it was perfect for getting to the restaurants, shopping malls, etc. this condo is well worth money. Also, the fishing was excellent off the private dock for my husband who enjoys fishing. thank you for a beautiful place for us to vaction. We will be back.
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Ontario, Canada
5

Guestbook Comment

The accommodations were excellent, they provided everything you needed. We were lucky enough to see the dolphins off the balcany. The gift basket wa...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2005
  • Stayed: Dec 2005
The accommodations were excellent, they provided everything you needed. We were lucky enough to see the dolphins off the balcany. The gift basket was a pleasant surprise. The location is perfect with the trolly just outside the condo it was perfect for getting to the restaurants, shopping malls, etc. this condo is well worth money. Also, the fishing was excellent off the private dock for my husband who enjoys fishing. thank you for a beautiful place for us to vaction. We will be back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2005
  • Stayed: Nov 2005
Dear Darryl and family,

We had a beautiful time in this well equipped and beautifully decorated condo.
My husband enjoyed the fishing and the gift basket was a pleasant surprise. We
will be back!

Thanks
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2005
  • Stayed: Oct 2005
Dear Darryl & family, Once again our stay in your family condo was a wonderful stay – it feels like home – now that we’ve been here twice. You were more that I expected, understanding of circumstances that were irritating, disturbing from the carpenter next door (something totally out of your control).Your unit is wonderful & again your small touches, such as the “basket of goodies” were appreciated.I will be in touch soon to schedule next years week.Thanks again.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2005
  • Stayed: Oct 2005
Darryl & Isabel, WOW! What a wonderful “retreat” for vacation. We loved your condominium and have had a wonderful time – The best condo we have experienced in all my vacation! Thanks also for the lovely basket – That was so thoughtful of you.Golf has been great and we’ve loved the area.Wishing you a grand 2005!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
BEAR, DELAWARE
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2005
  • Stayed: Aug 2005
August 7th-14th. If you are looking for a condo that has all the charm of home plus so much more this is where you want to be.Our whole family--Mom, Dad, 2 boys ages 8 and 14--had a wonderful time. No detail is forgotten from impeccable cleanliness, lovely furnishing, beautiful views of the intercoastal waterway, and a thoughtful gift basket waiting on your arrival.
The private fishing pier provided many happy hours of fishing, dolphin encounters, and bird watching.
We also encountered dolphins while waverunning. They swim all around you and love to play with you.
We highly reccommend for Italian food CJ'S and for steak and seafood and all around good food try The Salty Rock Grill.
This was our first time to this area of Florida and was truly delighted. There is much to do or do nothing at all and just relax.
A trip to Johns Pass will provide a great day of shopping and all the water sports you could want.
The beaches are not crowded and the condo provides chairs, umbrella, and small children toys.
You will not be sorry if you pick this condo. Darryl,the owner of this fabulous retreat, is so very nice to work with. He will do all he can to make your stay a vacation to remember.
The Whitcombe's
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
BEAR, DELAWARE
5

Guestbook Comment

August 7th-14th. If you are looking for a condo that has all the charm of home plus so much more this is where you want to be.Our whole family--Mom, D...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2005
  • Stayed: Aug 2005
August 7th-14th. If you are looking for a condo that has all the charm of home plus so much more this is where you want to be.Our whole family--Mom, Dad, 2 boys ages 8 and 14--had a wonderful time. No detail is forgotten from impeccable cleanliness, lovely furnishing, beautiful views of the intercoastal waterway, and a thoughtful gift basket waiting on your arrival.
The private fishing pier provided many happy hours of fishing, dolphin encounters, and bird watching.
We also encountered dolphins while waverunning. They swim all around you and love to play with you.
We highly reccommend for Italian food CJ'S and for steak and seafood and all around good food try The Salty Rock Grill.
This was our first time to this area of Florida and was truly delighted. There is much to do or do nothing at all and just relax.
A trip to Johns Pass will provide a great day of shopping and all the water sports you could want.
The beaches are not crowded and the condo provides chairs, umbrella, and small children toys.
You will not be sorry if you pick this condo. Darryl,the owner of this fabulous retreat, is so very nice to work with. He will do all he can to make your stay a vacation to remember.
The Whitcombe's
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2005
  • Stayed: Aug 2005
From: Johnny Boy:Dear Darryl, Yahoo, I’ve been having a blast here. The beds are great!!! Best sleep ever. Great gift basket, a lot of useful things in there. This condo has a great scenery and a great pool!!! Very, very relaxing after swimming in the ocean.Signed, Jonny Boy, Delaware, USAAge 14 (tomorrow)_____________________________________________________As our son said – this condo is more like a home than a vacation place. As soon as you walk through the door the feeling of home and comfort hit you.The boy’s both loved their room and want a mattress like the one on the beds. We all got a great night sleep.The gift basket was so thoughtful as the “little’ amenities you were so thoughtful to provide.What a change to have such clean and beautiful accommodations. We can not say enough wonderful things. It was nice and a pleasure arranging this vacation with you. Would love a return visit.Pat, John, Jonathan & Brandon
Helpful votes: 0/1