Caution if you are considering staying here
"We just came back from a week long stay at this Hyanis property. The house is as described - spacious and well taken care of. However, there are four major problems with this property:
1) It does not have an air conditioner, and while the owner claimed that it is "never a problem", she did not mention the fact that windows must be closed during the night to protect parquet floors from occasional rain. We were there during a relatively hot week, and felt extremely uncomfortable at night to the point where none of us got any rest.
2) The house is situated right next to a swamp and we've been eaten alive by mosquitoes.
3) Beach has a lot of seaweed and is quite dirty overall.
4) The owner is not kid/family friendly. We were traveling with two toddlers who left a few washable crayola marks on the parquet floor (these spots literally come off in seconds, as we use them in our own home). The owner claimed that it took the cleaning lady longer to clean the house and withheld $100 from our security deposit, which we found completely unreasonable and appalling.
Owner's Response: Truthfully, I personally can't believe that this renter is complaining. He never mentioned any of those posted complaints to us . We withheld a $100 and gave it to our cleaning lady because every pot and pan from the night before was left for her to scrub in the morning. This took her more time and she was late for her other clients. We are talking $50.00 each for 2 couples to pay an honest and hard working cleaning lady whom we have never before had a problem. with. We are "kid friendly although he never informed us about the 2 toddlers until they were due to arrive. The children wrote with magic markers on the grout and it took her a long time to scrub it all out. They told us they had a wonderful time and loved the house. No mention of being hot and uncomfortable. No mention of the "swamp and mosquitoes". It is not a swamp it's a small salt water pond and the tide goes in and out. Never had a complaint from any other renters. There are 3 beaches to choose from 1 minute from the house. To quote the cleaning lady. She said "The house was trashed and she has photos". I'm sorry he feels this way. We have never had a negative review. I just don't feel that I should pay for the extra cleaning.
Did you find this review helpful?