Mystic house rental - Riverview Cottage along with its boathouse and barn.
Riverview Cottage along with its boathouse and barn.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Mystic House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 3.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Riverview Cottage is one of Mystic's finest waterfront locations. The house, boathouse, and barn are perched directly on the Mystic River. It includes 1.25 acres of quiet land with mature trees and is completely air conditioned. It is an ideal location for families who want a quiet refuge of kayaking and canoeing in close proximity to Mystic Seaport Museum, Mystic Aquarium, historic downtown Mystic, and the neighboring beaches of Rhode Island and the Mystic area. Riverview Cottage has a long, waterfront porch furnished with comfortable wicker and rockers as well as an even larger balcony above and a terrace adjoining the lower porch. The house is situated on a large tidal cove populated by osprey, herons, egrets, swans and ducks. A fragrant border of honeysuckle runs along the waterfront sometimes attracting hummingbirds when in bloom. It includes a full kitichen, well-stocked library and a comfortable studio-apartment over the detached garage. The property includes a large boathouse the owners use for storage.

Keywords: Waterfront, water sports, kayak, canoe, boat, bird watching.

More Details
Hide Details

The house belongs to a local family that raised four children there. The family spent many years living and playing in this tranquil park-like setting.

Paul Moukawsher Owner/Manager purchased this house in 1996

Mystic is between New York and Boston and an easy trip to Providence, Hartford and New Haven yet it offers superb access to beaches, boating, local seafood and world class museums and entertainment.

In addition to canoeing, kayaking and birdwatching, the location is a favorite because it is on a scenic road near nature trails just above downtown Mystic and located near the Mystic Aquarium, and Mystic Seaport. This is a historic home.

23 Reviews of Property 360360 in Mystic, Connecticut

Riverview Cottage, Mystic: Large Waterfront Home on Quiet Cove
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
business
Riverview Cottage, Mystic: Large Waterfront Home on Quiet Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360360vb
Mystic Connecticut Shore
Owensboro, Ky
5

Great Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Really enjoyed our stay. Thank you Paul for guiding us in our activities. We took your advice and had a blast! Beautiful mornings on the deck with coffee. Great location for activities. Close to town. We would highly recommend this home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Riverview Cottage, Mystic: Large Waterfront Home on Quiet Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360360vb
Mystic Connecticut Shore
Nashua, NH
5

A beautiful home that will always be a great memory for us!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We decided to rent this home and have our wedding ceremony here. We were looking for a home on the water and this surpassed our expectations. We had 11 adults and 3 children. From the moment we arrived we fell in love with the home. It is absolutely beautiful. It is large enough where you always felt like you had enough room. The views are amazing from the porch below to the porch above. My husband and I got married on the patio with a view of the water in the background. It was breathtaking! Our family spent the weekend kayaking and canoeing. We woke up to a beautiful sunrise and saw many swans on the river. We couldn't have asked for a more picturesque location. Riverview Cottage will always hold a special place in our heart. We look forward to spending future years here celebrating our anniversary with our family. Thank you to Whitney for always being available to answer any questions we had prior to arriving. I recommend this rental to anyone looking to have that nice peaceful getaway weekend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Riverview Cottage, Mystic: Large Waterfront Home on Quiet Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360360vb
Mystic Connecticut Shore
New York, NY
5

Great Weekend in Mystic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I rented this house for a long weekend with a bunch of girlfriends and it was absolutely perfect. The house couldn't be in a more picturesque spot. The kitchen was great for cooking and hanging and the dining table fit everyone around it comfortably. The house sleeps a large group very well, and the 2 girls who slept on pull-out couches remarked that they were even more comfortable than their beds at home! Between being outside on the lawn or the beautiful porches and enjoying walking around the town of Mystic, the weekend couldn't have been better. Hoping to come back for a long weekend in the summer sometime!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Riverview Cottage, Mystic: Large Waterfront Home on Quiet Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360360vb
Mystic Connecticut Shore
5

Beautiful home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
About 20 minutes after arriving, we contacted the owners to see if we could book another weekend stay a few months later. The views of and access to the river are breathtaking, the house is large, clean, and very nice. There was plenty of room for two families, each with two kids. We'll certainly return.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Riverview Cottage, Mystic: Large Waterfront Home on Quiet Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360360vb
Mystic Connecticut Shore
5

Beautiful home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
About 20 minutes after arriving, we contacted the owners to see if we could book another weekend stay a few months later. The views of and access to the river are breathtaking, the house is large, clean, and very nice. There was plenty of room for two families, each with two kids. We'll certainly return.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Riverview Cottage, Mystic: Large Waterfront Home on Quiet Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360360vb
Mystic Connecticut Shore
California
5

Beautiful. Nice Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
PLEASE read the review title. We had a WONDERFUL time here, and it was a spectacular home.

The rest of this is more "FYI" for people that intend to stay here:

* Contact the Owner about 2-3 weeks before arrival. We were NOT contacted in advance, until WE reached out. But everything worked out fine, after a bit of a panic the day before we all left our homes for a stay.
* there are NO GAMES for kids here... if you need to entertain kids... bring your own or iPads, or something for teens
* there is ONE television... see "NO GAMES" above... and it is in a smallish area. Not sure why you'd watch too much TV here... but if you want a "movie night" and you have filled the house to capacity, be prepared to have some people sit on the floor/be cramped

Overall, no issues. in fact, it was one of the best times / locations we have stayed at for our (all adult) family reunion. ENJOY, and DO NOT hesitate.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Frank! Thanks for your response. I always appreciate the feedback and want to take the time to apologize for any miscommunication we had leading up to your stay.

I always let my guests know that I will be in touch about a week before their stay but understand that some people would like information before that. If any questions arrise, or you would like information sooner than 1 week in advance, I encourage you to just send me a quick email and I'll get right back to you.
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Riverview Cottage, Mystic: Large Waterfront Home on Quiet Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360360vb
Mystic Connecticut Shore
Cape Cod, MA
5

Stag

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This is a lovely property in a really wonderful spot. The river is right in front of the porch. It gleams in the morning sun and hosts wondeful bird life - especially the Great Blue Herons. The rooms are tastefully decorated, the bathrooms are updated and clean, and there was plenty of space for our large group to spread out. The kitchen facilities are exceptional. The owner was very nice to work with as we planned out stay. I am absolutely planning to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Riverview Cottage, Mystic: Large Waterfront Home on Quiet Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360360vb
Mystic Connecticut Shore
Orillia, ON, Canada
5

Soooo relaxing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our family with friends enjoyed this wonderful home recently. Pictures do not do it justice! Our favorite spot was the verandah with a coffee in the morning! Close to many activities, kept our days full but was a welcome retreat to return to to rest and enjoy good friends and family. We had 12 people, 5 couples and 2 teens, there was something for everyone and lots of space for being together. House was well maintained and as listed. Close enough to enjoy the beaches in Rhode Island, sunset sails, boutique shopping and outlet shopping. For a great breakfast check out "Somewhere in Time" not 2 minutes from the driveway! We love this area and feel very fortunate to have stumbled on this jewel of a home! We brought our bikes from home and loved biking the river road into Mystic, 15 min bike ride. Highly recommend this listing. Perfect location!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Riverview Cottage, Mystic: Large Waterfront Home on Quiet Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360360vb
Mystic Connecticut Shore
chaplin, ct usa
5

Family of eight

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We all had such a relaxing fun time at the Riverview Cottage. Just sitting on the porch watching the bird life was very rewarding. Got to see ospreys, herons, egrets, ducks, geese and jumping fish. Our grand-daughter got to catch over 50 crab and being able to go out on the kayaks & canoe made the experience even more exciting. Thanks so much for letting us share in the Riverview Cottage expereince!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Riverview Cottage, Mystic: Large Waterfront Home on Quiet Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360360vb
Mystic Connecticut Shore
Northeast Connecticut
5

Great place for the family of the bride and groom!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I just got married this past weekend. We stayed with our families at the Riverview cottage. It was absolutely perfect! There is an apartment over the garage that my husband and I stayed in and both our families were able to fit comfortably in the house. The house is beautiful and really made the weekend!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4