Spruce Head house rental - Water view from front porch. 100 feet to water and wharf.
Water view from front porch. 100 feet to water and wharf.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Spruce Head House Rental Photos and Description
Four bedrooms, sleeps 8, one bathroom

Charming, warm, direct waterfront house with covered front porch. Next to working wharf for moorings with recreational boats. Watch comings and goings from your front porch. Moor your boat in front of house while renting house (additional fee for mooring).

Three bedrooms have a queen bed each, one bedroom has twin beds. Perfect for large family or two small ones, or couples. Comfortably appointed, flat screen HDTV's in living room and downstairs bedroom with DISH TV. CD, I POD, MP3 player. Gas grill for outdoor grilling, washer and dryer. Enjoy sitting and sunning on the rocks or kayak from the property. Books and games for a rainy day. Each room with individual thermostat, propane 'wood' stove in living room for chilly nights.

The area is beautiful and diverse and there is so much to do. Nearby Rockland and Camden offer the best in dining, from four star restaurants to the freshest seafood available, or cook in our nicely furnished full kitchen or on the gas grill on the porch.

This is not a remote, isolated cottage. There will be ocassional activity on the adajacent private wharf with folks coming and going to their receational boats moored in the harbor. They load and unload at the wharf as they come and go to the near-by off-shore islands. It is generally quiet and peaceful, and there is no wharf activity evenings and nights. There is no commercial activity or public access to the wharf.

More Details
Hide Details

6 Reviews of Property 996615 in Spruce Head, Maine

Cozy Waterfront Cottage, Comfortably Appointed, Great Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Cozy Waterfront Cottage, Comfortably Appointed, Great Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p996615
+1 203 3144737
Spruce Head MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Nicely Close to It All While Wonderfully Far Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This tidy cottage on a working dock was an idyllic retreat. The cottage is charmingly laid out and neatly laid out like a ship, just as the lobsterman who built it planned. Our whole family thoroughly enjoyed the gentle hum of activity on the dock, as Skip (the master engineer and lobsterman manning the magical crane) swiftly settled in as the friend we all wanted to be like. My kids enjoyed exploring the plant and animal life on the island, including the tidal inlet, and jumping off the dock into the chilly waters. Just sitting on the porch, we were able to enjoy 4th of July fireworks from several nearby towns. Finally, Spruce Head Island was conveniently located close to Rockland for short shopping trips but far enough away that all our city-problems melted away. We look forward to returning -- we all want to catch up on Skip's wisdom, humor and news.
business
Cozy Waterfront Cottage, Comfortably Appointed, Great Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p996615
+1 203 3144737
Spruce Head MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Houston, TX
5

Certainly the way life should be!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was our third visit to this property over the past 7 years and it will always be our first choice. The home is very clean and very comfortable. While it is centrally located mid-coast, we found it most relaxing to sit on the porch and watch the world go by and the tide rise and fall. Very relaxing!

Thanks to the Atwood family for making this special property available so that folks from "away" can visit and at least for a week or so imagine it to be theirs!

My bride and I will return, so it was with much appreciation that we said goodbye for this season, and anticipate our next time to visit Spruce Head Island!
business
Cozy Waterfront Cottage, Comfortably Appointed, Great Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p996615
+1 203 3144737
Spruce Head MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

ONE OF THE BEST

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was one of the best Maine vacations we have ever taken. The view was great. Leslie and Gordon were most accommodating - we were able to take a lobster boat ride - fresh lobsters from boat to table. Sitting on the porch and watching the sun come up and boats leave for the day was excellent. S'mores over an open fire pit. Just doing nothing. Was able to cook if we wanted. There was a washer and dryer available, so we brought back clean clothes. Plenty to do in the local area, Rockland, Camden, etc. Just an overall great and relaxing stay. Would recommend it to anyone looking to get away on a quiet vacation.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy Waterfront Cottage, Comfortably Appointed, Great Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p996615
+1 203 3144737
Spruce Head MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Best ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We have rented for the past three years on Spruce Head Island, however, this is far and away our best rental. The house was perfect for 7 people, beds were very comfortable, plenty of towels and all the amenities one would want. The views were breathtaking and even though we had two rainy days, we couldn't have had a better time. So much activity to watch from the dock with all of us making SMores around the fire pit. We hardly left the went into town, as we had more fun around the house. We even went swimming at the beach, brrrrr, but refreshing. Hope to come back next year.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cozy Waterfront Cottage, Comfortably Appointed, Great Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p996615
+1 203 3144737
Spruce Head MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Relaxed, restored, rejuvenated !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had such a great time staying in the cottage we did not want to come home! We can't imagine how beautiful it must be in the spring/summer and are definitely looking forward to finding out in the future! The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed. The gas fireplace was the perfect ending to our days exploring and just what we needed to unwind and relax and forget about life for awhile. Thanks for making our stay so special and allowing us to call it home for a week! We feel relaxed, restored and rejuvenated.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Cozy Waterfront Cottage, Comfortably Appointed, Great Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p996615
+1 203 3144737
Spruce Head MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Just what we wanted

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Watching the sunrise sitting on the pier while having my morning coffee, beautiful sunsets reflected on the water, lobster boats going out, sea fog rolling in. What a wonderful vacation! The house is exactly as pictured and just what we wanted. We were planning on the going to Portland and Bar Harbor for day trips, but found we just wanted to relax in the local area. The visitors center in Rockland gave us plenty of info on the area. The view from Mount Batte was spectacular. For boat rides we went to Port Clyde. Owl's Head transportation museum was more than we expected for such a rural area. We spent several hours looking at antique cars, airplanes, and motorcycles. The local people were very friendly, and we learned a great deal about the lobster industry, and we heard stories we will never forget! Night time around the camp fire was the main entertainment in the area. We have already recommended this to a friend, and they did book a week. I never go to the same area twice, but this house I may just have to go back to!
Helpful votes: 5/5