Southwest Harbor cottage rental - Newly constructed private porch area. Perfect for grilling or chilling!
Newly constructed private porch area. Perfect for grilling or chilling!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Southwest Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom plus convertible sofa, 1 bath (sleeps 2 - 4)

RECENTLY RENOVATED! Located on Main Street, this adorable barn cottage will be a welcome respite after a day of hiking or biking in Acadia National Park. Located within walking distance of quaint shops, restaurants, golf, tennis, playground, laundromat, boating excursions from Great Harbor Marina, to name just a few activities. After exploring the Quietside towns of Southwest Harbor and Tremont, hop aboard the free Island Explorer buses that will take you to the many other scenic and historic Mount Desert Island Villages.

Recent renovations include a cute front porch, expanded kitchen including new appliances, expanded bathroom with stackable washer and dryer.

Adjoining building contains offices and spaces that are available for daily or hourly rental if you need a private space to get some work done while on vacation. Also new within the adjacent building is Tanya's Off the Grid foods. A gourmet soup and sandwich shop serving breakfast and lunch focusing on healthy food to go. The perfect place to have a picnic lunch packed for your adventures around Acadia National Park.

8 Reviews of Property 996189 in Southwest Harbor, Maine

Charming Farmhouse Cottage - Maine appeal with an in-town location
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 8 reviews
business
Charming Farmhouse Cottage - Maine appeal with an in-town location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p996189
+1 2072668713
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Truly a cozy home away from home !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We based our stay on the review of the property and area.....we were not disappointed. This cozy farmhouse was perfect for us. I loved that all we needed to bring were our clothes, toiletries & food. Loved having the washer/dryer and great water pressure in shower.
We loved the location and closeness to all we wanted to do. Of course, we scouted it out online before coming. Even though the park & trails were closed, we got to see so much. We did get to walk some of the carriage roads and walk a few of the harbor trails. It was a shame to miss Cadillac Mt & Jordon Pond and Sieur de Monts Spring.Thuya Gardens,The Wonderland Trail & Pretty Marsh are highly recommended,as well as a nature cruise on the Sea Princess.We ate lunch & supper at different places around MDI but came into Quietside Cafe for dessert where we had the most amazing blueberry pie and apple pie to match-key lime was pretty good too ! Tara's had awesome muffins & scones - perfect for morning coffee on the porch.
We know where to stay our next visit ! Definately will recommend to family & friends.

We know where to stay our next visit !
We could write a book about our amazing stay
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Farmhouse Cottage - Maine appeal with an in-town location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p996189
+1 2072668713
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
4

clean, quiet, and comfortable

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This cottage was clean, quiet, and comfortable. It had basically everything that is needed to make your stay enjoyable. Close to some shops in Southwest Harbor. Not too far from Bar Harbor and Acadia park (its 10-15 miles to main areas). I would have liked to take advantage of the free shuttle but I did not find information about where to get the bus and times, etc until our short stay was over. I would recommend this cottage for couples and anyone looking for a full kitchen. I am a tea drinker and enjoyed having the tea kettle available. Please note there is light housekeeping required (if you will call it that), the owner would like you to strip the bed and start the towels in the washer on the day you check out as to speed up the process to prepare for the next guests. I did not mind doing this but wondered why the owner just didn't keep 2 sets of linens to swap out in-between guests. This would make it easy for them as well as the guests since we almost forgot to do this. Even so, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend for anyone looking for comforts of home and nice location.
business
Charming Farmhouse Cottage - Maine appeal with an in-town location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p996189
+1 2072668713
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Long island
5

Beautiful cottage beyond expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My girlfriend and I stayed in this beautiful cottage. It went well beyond any expectations we had upon arrival. Had everything we wanted plus more. Even right down to our own little porch to enjoy morning tea on as well as gaze up to the gorgeous starry night sky. Nothing like what we see on Long Island. The owner Charlie is such a warm, friendly man who truly makes you feel welcomed. The renovations they did are a beautiful addition to the place. Right next door, Tarah's is a cute little place to enjoy morning breakfast or lunch. Location wise, the cottage is perfect because my girlfriend and I enjoy hiking so having many different trails around was pretty sweet, not to mention the amazing breathtaking views throughout the day, but especially at sunset. I can go on an on about how much we loved our stay in Maine, but I definitely do know one thing is for sure, we will totally without a doubt be back to stay in this warm, homey, beautiful, well equipped cottage again. Thank you Charlie as well as your daughter Christina for all your help. This was an extremely memorable vacation to remember.
Owner's Response: thank youvery much. Look forward to seeing you next year
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Farmhouse Cottage - Maine appeal with an in-town location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p996189
+1 2072668713
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Doylestown, Pa.
5

"Quietside" Farmhouse Cottage in Southwest Harbor

"Quietside" Farmhouse Cottage in Southwest Harbor
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We loved visiting and staying on the "Quietside" of Mt. Desert Island. We had visited Acadia many years before and wanted to get acquainted with the Southwest Harbor area. We thoroughly enjoyed the Farmhouse during our three day stay. This cottage has a warm ambiance. The old wooden beams and flooring fit the history of the cottage. It is very clean with new appliances, a large bathroom and a comfortable bed. We revisited the amazing rocky coastline of Mt. Desert Island and Cadillac Mt. We cruised from Bass Harbor on a small vessel to Frenchboro on a small lobster island. We walked the incredible rocky shoreline of Shroodic Point, another less known part of Acadia. The owner of this property was extremely helpful with any questions or needs that we had. We would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Farmhouse Cottage - Maine appeal with an in-town location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p996189
+1 2072668713
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Farm House Cottage (Hand written note)

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
"We are glad we decided to stay in Southwest Harbor. The place is within walking distance of the main street and had easy access to food, galleries and the town library. I would recommend Southwest Harbor to anyone who wants a layback place to stay. The layout of the cottage made great use of the place. The property was clean and just like the photos (actually the owner was in the process of making some upgrades in terms of decorations and landscaping). We would stay here again."
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Farmhouse Cottage - Maine appeal with an in-town location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p996189
+1 2072668713
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Handwritten thank you note left in cottage

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We loved our stay in Southwest Harbor Cottage! Everything we could possibly need was there from the muffin pans in the kitchen to the Quietside Cafe down the road. My son particularly loved the swing in the backyard and the field to run in. During our stay we were fortunate to see the Flamingo Festival Parade! What an adorable tradition!! Mt. Desert Island is the place all New England towns are trying to be! This little cottage on the South West side is the perfect place to call home while you explore Acadia. Thanks for everything!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Farmhouse Cottage - Maine appeal with an in-town location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p996189
+1 2072668713
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Philadelphia, PA
5

Excellent vacation in Maine at the Farmhouse!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My boyfriend and I traveled to Maine from Philadelphia to spend four days at Acadia National Park! We were looking for a place that was within 30 minutes to the park and Bar Harbor, was cute and clean, and reasonably priced. This property satisfied all those items! The property had great charm, nice exposed wooden beams, a comfortable bed, and new bathroom. We spent all day every day at Acadia, hiking both on the Southwest Harbor side and the Park Loop Road area. The house is close enough to easily get to all those sites. It was a great place to come back to each night, make dinner, and relax on the deck of the main house at front. There was a brand new grill outside the house as well! Definitely enough room for two people but may be a little tight for more than that. Also it did not have a full sized fridge but we used a cooler to supplement that space. Four burner gas stove was a nice surprise. We would have liked some updated kitchen pots and equipment (needs a lobster pot!!). Overall, a great stay and would stay again.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the space on the covered porch - one of my favorite features! I will definitely take your suggestion and provide a lobster pot for future. Thank you for staying!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Farmhouse Cottage - Maine appeal with an in-town location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p996189
+1 2072668713
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Manchester, Connecticut
4

Farmhouse Cottage Stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
As advertised, located very close to the village. Well equipped. More conveniences than we used. Very clean. Shower water pressure was excellent. Quaint, quiet, comfortable and well located. We walked Eagle Lake, visited Bass Harbor Lighthouse and Cadillac Mountain and Bar Harbor. Ate at the Quietside, Seafood Ketch, Jay Dubs and got muffins from Quietside Muffin Company. Saw two bald eagles, a deer, a rabbit that had no fear of us, and more. Good time from beginning to end.
Owner's Response: Thank you for being my very first guest in Farmhouse Cottage! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed and had a good time. I hope to see you again in the future!
Helpful votes: 3/3