Boston condo rental - Living Room with Sitting and Dining Areas
Living Room with Sitting and Dining Areas
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Boston Condo Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Full Bathroom, Sleeps 2-4

Period-decorated apartment in a handsome Jamaica Plain Victorian. This renovated space consists of a cozy master bedroom, den/study with Queen-sized sofa bed, galley kitchen with stainless steel dishwasher, refrigerator, microwave and stove. Washer and dryer in basement. Living room bay window provides a perfect spot for dining. Bathroom includes claw-foot tub/shower and linen closet. Southern exposure and multiple windows add up to a sunny, warm and inviting space. On-street parking. Steps from JP’s finest restaurants, markets, bakeries, shops, Arnold Arboretum, Jamaica Pond, and public transportation. Near Longwood Medical area and Museum of Fine Arts. High ceilings and gleaming hardwood floors contribute to a homey environment. A true sanctuary, a relaxing respite in the heart of the city and just 4.5 miles, 20-25 minutes from downtown Boston’s Copley Square by car or the “T.” Space and location suits one or two adults who appreciate the finer qualities of life. No smoking. No pets.

17 Reviews of Property 995699 in Boston, Massachusetts

The Arbor Side - Cozy And Central - Near Arnold Arboretum, Subway and JP Center
average rating of 4.470588 based on 17 reviews
business
The Arbor Side - Cozy And Central - Near Arnold Arboretum, Subway and JP Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995699
+1 6175226049
Boston Greater Boston
5

Wonderful Apartment and Perfect Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Safety, cleanliness and location are always my first concerns when renting through VRBO or HomeAway. This apartment was immaculate. It was a short walk to the T and we never felt unsafe when walking home in the evening after a full day in Boston. The Samuel Adams Brewery (tour) is a short walk away. We took their free trolley to Doyles, a local landmark. We had so much fun!
Easy walking distance to many restaurants and markets. The bathroom is tiny and the bed is high! But it was just part of the fun! I would definitely recommend this apartment.
Owner's Response: As this guest states, the location of The Arbor Side to so many amenities (e.g., restaurants, markets, bakery, subway, etc.) and attractions, like the Sam Adams Brewery (e.g., galleries, The Arnold Arboretum, etc.) make it an attractive home base from which to explore Jamaica Plain and Boston. In addition, this guest also points out the comfortable and unique aspects of the apartment, too. It is definitely a home away from home.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Arbor Side - Cozy And Central - Near Arnold Arboretum, Subway and JP Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995699
+1 6175226049
Boston Greater Boston
5

The Arbor Side

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Arbor Side is a truly charming property – the photos do not do it justice – the owner has a true flair for color and design. We loved the convenient kitchen and the cozy lounge. The washer/dryer was a bonus. There are quite a few good restaurants in the area as well as food shops. We particularly liked James Gate for their excellent but reasonably priced food together with a marvelous selection of beer. The walk to the MTA was level and pleasant and the trains were frequent. It was particularly good to have off road parking for our rental car but I would not advise driving into the center of Boston. We would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The Arbor Side provides a comfortable respite for the busy traveler. Two sitting areas - the den with television and stereo and the living room with ample seating and lots of light (sunlight by day and indoor lighting by night) - provide guests with the space to spread out while at home. The living room gives folks a quiet place to study or read while the den allows those who want to watch TV a separate spot to hang out and watch their favorite programs. There are speakers for the stereo in the den, "in-wall" speakers in the kitchen, and speakers in the living room, too, with options to isolate the sound to either the kitchen and den or just the living room or all three at once.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Arbor Side - Cozy And Central - Near Arnold Arboretum, Subway and JP Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995699
+1 6175226049
Boston Greater Boston
Sarasota, FL
5

Great little place in a great location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Everything was just as advertised and the owner did a good job explaining all the necessary logistics prior to our arrival. We had seen one review expressing some concern about the neighborhood; we thought it was great. We will be back I'm sure.
Owner's Response: In order to make guests' visits as comfortable and effortless as possible, I make a sincere effort to communicate as much information about both the apartment and Jamaica Plain itself with both an email that contains all the information needed to locate the property and access the apartment. In addition, I email a PDF version of the hard copy version found in the apartment of The Arbor Side Guide with information about the amenities in the apartment and details about Jamaica Plain, too.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Arbor Side - Cozy And Central - Near Arnold Arboretum, Subway and JP Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995699
+1 6175226049
Boston Greater Boston
Grass Valley, CA
5

Home away from Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We were pleasantly surprised as we opened the door and immediately felt at home and comfortable. Every detail has been carefully thought out from the wonderfully equipped kitchen with all the pans, tools and appliances top of the line, to the linens for the bath and bedroom (which were all top of the line)Every thing was clean and tidy.
We enjoyed the location....the street was quiet and the short walk to shopping was convenient and pleasant.
We took the MTA to Boston every day..an easy and quick trip.
I would certainly recommend the Arbor View to friends and relatives.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Arbor Side - Cozy And Central - Near Arnold Arboretum, Subway and JP Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995699
+1 6175226049
Boston Greater Boston
Grass Valley, CA
4

Better Than Expected!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We were so unexpectedly surprised and delighted at the comfort and charm of "The Arbor Side". All of the details of a charming little home are there from the beautifully equipped kitchen to the luxurious, fluffy white towels in the bath. The decor is tasteful with an eye for detail. We loved Jamaica Plain....some described as Berkeley East. We were able to find anything we needed with a 5 minute walk. We shopped at the local "Food Co-Op for our meals. It is close, convenient and well stocked. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to others.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
The Arbor Side - Cozy And Central - Near Arnold Arboretum, Subway and JP Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995699
+1 6175226049
Boston Greater Boston
Katy TX
5

Great place in Jamaica Plains!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Really beautiful property and location. Easy walking distance to T/thus access to everywhere. Close to great restaurants and shopping. We loved Jamaica Plains. Would quickly recommend this rental. Cozy home. All the amenities needed. We loved all the albums!!!! Listened to great music during our stay which added to the overall experience! Really great place to stay!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Arbor Side - Cozy And Central - Near Arnold Arboretum, Subway and JP Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995699
+1 6175226049
Boston Greater Boston
3

The Arbor Side in Jamaica Plains - the finer points.........

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We recently stayed at the Arbor Side in JP during a trip to the NE.
Every trip has it's ups and downs and the devil's in the details.
This apartment was very nicely furnished; I believe the owner is a designer and it shows.
When traveling with our son, we like to find rentals with 2 bedrooms or a sitting room just to give everyone a little breathing room during long trips and this rental certainly has that with separate bedrooms and a spacious living room. The cost for this in Boston would be astronomical.
There were a few negatives for us though. This location was a good 25-30 minutes to Copley Square and an hour to Harvard via car, bus or train (we did it all). It is a short walk to either the bus stop and a few blocks to the train station although I would not want to walk from the train stop at night.
I would not recommend this apartment for large people. The master bed is a double and my husband and I filled it; we are 5'8"/5'9" and 135 and 160 lbs.
The bathroom is very narrow at approximately 4' wide including the tub width. FYI - soap/shampoo was not provided; I did not see a hair dryer.
It was nice to have access to a washer/dryer but it is in the basement and the stairway is tight and steep - only for the sure footed and short in stature.
We did enjoy the local bakery only a few blocks away and the restaurant on the corner, James Gate.
The neighborhood itself was a bit sketchy with a commercial/residential mix. I would say this house was one of the nicest on the block.
This is definitely urban living and many of the other homes were not well maintained.
Pros: Lots of well decorated room for the price; good bakery, small grocery, restaurant and public transportation in walking distance.
Cons: Distance into the city; neighborhood a little sketchy and out of my comfort zone; tight spaces in bathroom and bedroom but doable for medium size persons.
Owner's Response: First, I would like to thank this reviewer for mentioning the finer points of both the apartment, The Arbor Side, and the neighborhood where it is located. The Arbor Side is a first floor apartment configured from an 1890s Victorian, single-family home. Yes, the bathroom is narrow, but well appointed and quite functional. It apparently was "taken" from the inside end of the original dining room (now den) when running water was first made available to the neighborhood. Also, it has been my experience that guests prefer their own personal items such as soap, shampoo, and hair dryers. The stairs to the basement are also narrow, but sturdy and stable. The bed is a carved, antique "rope" bed likely from the West Indies. It was originally designed to hold a straw mattress. It has been converted to hold a full-size box spring and mattress. And as an interior designer, what I often say about full-size beds is that they are perfect for two people who really like each other. Also, if a larger bed is needed, there is a comfortable Queen-size mattress on the sofa bed in the den.

The reviewer acknowledges that her stay in such an urban neighborhood is outside of her comfort zone. As you'll read in other reviews, many guests have enjoyed the diversity the immediate neighborhood and all of Jamaica Plain offers. I am proud to call the people in my neighborhood good friends, caring neighbors, and hardworking citizens. As for the distances to other neighborhoods of Boston, they are common for an old New England city and considered reasonable by most of the people who traverse them for work or pleasure.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
The Arbor Side - Cozy And Central - Near Arnold Arboretum, Subway and JP Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995699
+1 6175226049
Boston Greater Boston
5

Very nice!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Property was very clean and comfortable. All the details for getting the key, parking, etc were given to us in advance and were spot-on. Owner was very helpful in all aspects of the stay. We always cook when we travel and it was very nuce to have such a well-stocked kitchen when it came to utensil, pots, pans, etc. We would definitely stay here again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Arbor Side - Cozy And Central - Near Arnold Arboretum, Subway and JP Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995699
+1 6175226049
Boston Greater Boston
Flagstaff, AZ
3

Nice decor, not to far from town, like staying at a friends house

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Location was good, lots to do near by the house, and easy access to public transportation to Boston. The house itself is very tastefully decorated with antiques and books. Even with the nice décor, we had a couple issues with the house. First one being the limited places to put clothing (only available dresser was in the living room). Second, there were personal belongings in every closet and every drawer. We felt like we were staying at a friends house while they were out of town. The place over-all was comfortable, and if you like the feeling of staying at a friends house, this would be rated EXCELLENT. The owner was very kind, helpful and great to work with. Thank you for letting us use the place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: I had to smile when I read this review, since I did have a great rapport with the guest. We corresponded several times during his stay, and he let me know he enjoyed perusing my grandparents’ hymnals.

The review states: "...there were personal belongings in every closet and every drawer." The hanging space in two closets, one in the master bedroom and one in the den, is available for guests’ use. While the bedroom closet does contain the owner's bureau, I have provided a large bureau located just inside the living room for guests to use. Also, since this guest's departure, four drawers in the den's wall unit have been emptied for guests' use.

The Arbor Side is a unique and comfortable home away from home with a welcoming ambiance close to public transportation. Having made a few friends throughout the HomeAway process has been rewarding, too. My home is your home. Enjoy!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Arbor Side - Cozy And Central - Near Arnold Arboretum, Subway and JP Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995699
+1 6175226049
Boston Greater Boston
5

Lovely place to stay near Boston

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The Arbor is an ideal spot to rest, recoup and regenerate ones energy. It is in Jamaica Plains a lovely residential neighborhood @20 min downtown Boston. Actually it's half a block to the main walking area with restaurants and shops. The apartment was immaculate, towels thick and fluffy, appliances new and sparkling...and the decor calming and restful. I enjoyed my few days there and my sister and husband visited and it was a perfect size. The bathroom was cozy. Altogether this was a lovely place to stay and I may be back when i visit my grandson.
Owner's Response: The Arbor Side certainly provides a relaxing atmosphere after a day of sightseeing, work, attending a conference, etc. I especially want to thank the guest for mentioning the proximity to Jamaica Plain's main streets: South and Centre Streets. As stated, the apartment is just a half-block away from everything from a bus stop to a restaurant and whole foods market to bicycle rentals.
Helpful votes: 2/2