Austin house rental - .
.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom, queen size sleeper sofa, 1 bathroom, sleeps 6

The Nelson house was built in the early 1870’s and was a farmhouse with several out buildings. It was built before the streets were put in so it sits crooked to the street and was sited for the least amount of heat gain from the sun in the summer. The two cottages were added in the 1920’s. The home passed from the Nelson family to several owners and the present owners bought it in 1980 and remodeled it into a preschool that served this neighborhood for 20 years. In 1999 it was remodeled again into the home and rental units it is today.

see www.personplaces.com for more info!

The Nelson house is located in the Old West Austin/Greater Clarksville neighborhood. Located just a mile from the Capital, Congress Ave, and the heart of downtown, this neighborhood has a varied and lively history. Originally farms, after the Civil War part of this area was turned into a black neighborhood to house the former slaves that chose to stay on and work on the farms for pay. The black foreman in charge of parceling out the lots was named Clark – hence Clarksville. Over the next hundred years the farms were slowly developed into middle and upper middle class white neighborhoods. In the 1950’s and 60’s the area, under threat of being demolished for a freeway that was never built, fell into disrepair and became a popular place for UT students to find cheap rent close to campus. About 1970 the neighborhood began a renaissance and gentrification that continues today. It has become one of the most desirable neighborhoods in town, particularly for professionals and young families, with its good public schools, great restaurants and retail within walking distance and a location that lets its residents avoid many of the city’s traffic problems. Although some of the houses (including the main Nelson House) date to the 19th century, the predominant architecture is 20th century cottages and bungalows, with a scattering of modern homes added recently.

see www.personplaces.com for more info!

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 995577 in Austin, Texas

Charming home in desirable neighborhood in the heart of downtown
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Charming home in desirable neighborhood in the heart of downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995577
+1 5127030334
Austin Austin area
5

Charming Rental in Austin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What a find! Ideally located within walking distance to 6th St, Whole Foods, Book People, and a whole lot of other stuff. All the character and none of the discomforts of an older house, with a well-equipped kitchen. The owners were helpful and unobtrusive, and we would love to stay again.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Kristin!
We really enjoyed having you stay at the Nelson! You are always welcome in our home :)

-Amanda Elmore
business
Charming home in desirable neighborhood in the heart of downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995577
+1 5127030334
Austin Austin area
5

Fantastic Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This flat was beautifully furnished, had a killer AC system (which saved me in the sweltering Austin heat), and extremely convenient to Whole Foods and Downtown Austin. It was a nice bonus to have a washer/dryer and plenty of shampoo, conditioner, soap, cable tv (in BOTH the bedroom and the living room), and internet.

I also experienced such great service from the property manager as well. She was extremely hospitable and attentive.

I'd highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Austin. The price is competitive and actually slightly cheaper than hotels around the area.
business
Charming home in desirable neighborhood in the heart of downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995577
+1 5127030334
Austin Austin area
5

Exemplary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This a wonderful place to stay which does justice to a terrific town. Nelson House is typified by style and quality throughout even down to the cutlery and crockery. The house has such character and charm, and felt very spacious. The house lives up to the very attractive photos we found on the internet. It is really well situated in the heart of old West Austin; handsome houses set in tree lines streets. You really can walk into town, we did daily, and it is so handy for what we have called the world's best supermarket: Wholefoods on 6th and Lamar. Choose your produce and wine, and have the food cooked in front of you; and there is no mark up on the drinks. Austin is often called the live music capital of the world, and for good reason, there is so much going on. The town has a real vibrant feel about it with so many young go ahead people moving in. And to cap it all the customer service via Amanda was superb. We are retired now and have travelled widely, yet this has been one of our favourite holidays. We live 5000 miles away but we want to make the journey again. Gerard / Linda. Yorkshire. England
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming home in desirable neighborhood in the heart of downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995577
+1 5127030334
Austin Austin area
5

Christmas in Austin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I stayed in the Nelson house for a week over Christmas of 2012 and can't wait to come back. The house is charming and Lee and Jim were very accomodating and thoughtful. They even brought a bouquet of roses for Christmas dinner. I love to cook and the kitchen is great, we had a few family dinners there. The location is wonderful, within walking distance to Cafe Medici and Cipollina, a delicious restaurant. I would certainly recommend the Nelson house to everyone. I am so glad I found Home Away.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Patti, we really enjoyed your visit and do hope you will come again!
business
Charming home in desirable neighborhood in the heart of downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995577
+1 5127030334
Austin Austin area
5

Christmas in Austin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I stayed in the Nelson house for a week over Christmas of 2012 and can't wait to come back. The house is charming and Lee and Jim were very accomodating and thoughtful. They even brought a bouquet of roses for Christmas dinner. I love to cook and the kitchen is great, we had a few family dinners there. The location is wonderful, within walking distance to Cafe Medici and Cipollina, a delicious restaurant. I would certainly recommend the Nelson house to everyone. I am so glad I found Home Away.
business
Charming home in desirable neighborhood in the heart of downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995577
+1 5127030334
Austin Austin area
Silver Spring, Maryland
5

Amazing weekend in an amazing location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We decided to have a girls weekend in Austin, TX to celebrate friendship, engagements, and new babies! The Nelson House was so much better than staying in an expensive hotel (especially so close to the Formula 1 race). The bed and pillows were cozy, plus we used the sleeper sofa (Crate and Barrel!) which was SO COMFORTABLE. Everything in the home was very nice without being flashy - which we loved. The decor was full of antique pieces picked up from all corners of the city, the furniture was simple and lovely, and having the kitchen was so wonderful to cook breakfast in and have some wine and cheese snacks. Nelson House does share a wall with an office upstairs. In addition, you can hear the office staff's chairs from the living room. But if you are out for the day or there for the weekend, no need to worry. The staff was quiet and respectful while we were there. Overall, the place has the character of an old home while being comfortable, convenient, and gorgeous.

We were within walking distance of the amazing Whole Foods on Lamar St., cute restaurants, shops, and a bakery. And so close to downtown! It couldn't have been more perfect. Plenty of street parking for the car and a fun, safe, and walkable neighborhood.

The homeowner Lydia was so sweet and knowledgeable about the area. Her recommendations were very helpful. And Amanda at Person Places was able to answer all of our questions about the home and make registration easy.

I'd love to stay here again! I can't wait to plan my next trip!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Kate! We loved having you and are so happy that you were able to appreciate and enjoy this wonderful neighborhood... Bring the girls back any time! Also, we have moved our office... the Nelson now is a comfortable 2 bedroom with total privacy :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming home in desirable neighborhood in the heart of downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995577
+1 5127030334
Austin Austin area
5

Charming + Central

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Nestled in Oak and Pecan trees, just a hint of Texas tradition with white-washed wood walls and ceilings, get a taste of laid back Austin living in one of the city's nicest old neighborhoods, in walking distance of good restaurants, cafes and old Austin institutions like Nau's Enfield Drug. Tons of space, great porches, super nice owners. It was all so easy and comfortable, we didn't even feel like we were visiting. Highly recommended.
Owner's Response: Many thanks, you were great guests, please come see us again!
business
Charming home in desirable neighborhood in the heart of downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995577
+1 5127030334
Austin Austin area
5

Lovely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Just fantastic. Clean, well-appointed, and super close to downtown shops, restaurants, etc...but without being noisy. The kitchen is excellent and well-equipped, the porches (both of them) make for a great place to enjoy coffee or a glass of wine. Owners are friendly, thoughtful folks who take a lot of pride in keeping the house in excellent shape.
Owner's Response: We thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming home in desirable neighborhood in the heart of downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995577
+1 5127030334
Austin Austin area
5

Beautiful home in a terrific location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This is a perfect home for anyone visiting Austin or looking for a great alternative for putting up family and friends. The home is lovely, open and airy, quiet, and private. There is plenty of space to spread out and relax, cook a great meal, and enjoy it in the dining room or on one of the two decks. It was very clean, lovingly maintained, with amenities ranging from a full cook's kitchen to internet and cable. This home is in one of the best neighborhoods in Austin and only a quick walk to everything downtown has to offer -- music, restaurants, shopping, Whole Foods, running trails, the lake, and easy access to UT. The home is a real gem, and I certainly plan to stay again the next time I return to Austin!!!
Owner's Response: thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Helpful votes: 2/2