Putnam Valley house rental - Ginger bread lake house!
Ginger bread lake house!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Putnam Valley House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms / Reading Room with sofa bed / Sleeps 5 comfortably / 1.5 bathroom

Capture the spirit of the lake!

Private lake home on beautiful Lake Peekskill, located 1 hr from NYC!

100' private landing with stone steps that lead to shallow water. Enjoy swimming, sitting on the covered porch or large slate patio, sip wine, watch the fish jump and hummingbirds feed. Surrounded by old trees and stunning views until the sun goes down over the mountain across the lake. Magical and peaceful, the Perfect Place to retreat and refresh yourself.

Furnished porch and large slate patio overlook the lake with breathtaking views. 2 bedrooms/ queen beds, 1 reading room with double sofa bed. Renovated gourmet kitchen. A/C. Cable TV, Wi-Fi internet access, DVD, CD/Stereo. Fully furnished. New Weber outdoor gas grill. Large living room with dining table over looking lake. Row boat on site for use.

Come see for yourself!

Monthly/Weekly/Weekend rentals available.

Please note that we have a six adult overnight maximum. Our 2014 rental rates listed below.

Minutes to shopping and amenities. Drive or metro north Hudson line, then cab to house.

20 min to many local highlights....Cold Spring, Boscobel House and Gardens, Bear Mountain, Chuang-yen Monastery: a Chinese Pure Land Buddhist temple, Peekskill's fine restaurants and live music scene.

All season activities.

Arrival/Departure:

Arrival time check-in: 3PM

Departure time check-out: 11AM

Earlier arrival/check-in times and later departure/check-out times can be conveniently arranged. However, the above times will be strictly enforced if other arrangements are not made.

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 995194 in Putnam Valley, New York

Spirit of the Lake! Private Lake Front on Lake Peekskill!
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
business
Spirit of the Lake! Private Lake Front on Lake Peekskill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995194
Putnam Valley Hudson Valley
5

Super!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This lake house was everything we thought it would be. Relaxing, quaint, great view and super attentive hosts! Booking process was so easy. From Grand Central to nature in 1.5 hours. We will be back. Thanks, Nora!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spirit of the Lake! Private Lake Front on Lake Peekskill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995194
Putnam Valley Hudson Valley
5

A slice of heaven - we will be back !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We loved every minute of our stay and we miss it already. We spent a few days there and came back recharged like we had been gone a few weeks.

The house is so charming and meticulous and sits on the best spot on the lake. The scenery is eye candy during the day and the stars are amazing at night. We jumped in and out of the water, really fun.

The house was super easy to get to the house from NYC. We picked up a Metro North train from Grand Central and arrived about 40 minutes later. We might drive next time to see what we like better. We hope to return each season.

The house owner named Nora was totally helpful, sweet and responsive.

Highly recommended for a wonderful (and easy) escape. We plan to become regulars : )
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spirit of the Lake! Private Lake Front on Lake Peekskill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995194
Putnam Valley Hudson Valley
4

Enchanting Weekend

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My boyfriend (now fiance) had a truly magical weekend at the lake. The house is clean, relaxing and cozy and the lake is absolutely beautiful. What a romantic getaway from NYC....we even got engaged there!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spirit of the Lake! Private Lake Front on Lake Peekskill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995194
Putnam Valley Hudson Valley
5

Great lake house!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We just returned from a great weekend at Spirit of the Lake. This home has everything you need to make you feel right at home, and the views are spectacular!!! We really enjoyed the serenity and our coffee on the patio in the morning. It was nice to just relax and grill outside for dinner while listening to your great selection of music from the stereo. We are looking foward to a return visit very soon. Thanks Nora.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spirit of the Lake! Private Lake Front on Lake Peekskill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995194
Putnam Valley Hudson Valley
Brooklyn, NY
5

Perfect NYC weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We are happy to add our accolades to the crowd here, having just returned from a perfect weekend anniversary celebration at this gem of an adorable cottage in the charming little lakeside community of Lake Peekskill. The house was outfitted with every possible amenity you could want (rowboat, ample comfy seating inside and out, floaties aplenty, toys for young kids, etc) for relaxing on the quiet and peaceful waterfront. For hikers and outdoor lovers, the proximity to tons of great hiking in the area is amazing, and it was fun to come back for a post-hike swim. Nora could not have been more pleasant, responsive, and accommodating throughout the process -we highly recommend, and look forward to return visits!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spirit of the Lake! Private Lake Front on Lake Peekskill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995194
Putnam Valley Hudson Valley
5

Quiet and Peaceful Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a perfect weekend at this lake house! It was so quiet which was a wonderful change from the noise of NYC. The lake views were serene and sunset was gorgeous. The kids had fun on the noodles and rafts while I could row around the lake and just take it all in. Nora provided everything one could ask for or need during our stay. We are looking forward to another stay here.
business
Spirit of the Lake! Private Lake Front on Lake Peekskill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995194
Putnam Valley Hudson Valley
5

Excellent Weekend Escape from NYC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Whoever would have guessed that there was such a quiet and peaceful lake house less than an hour's drive from NYC. I had never booked a private house before and was a little nervous, but the owner made the process easy and was very accommodating and helpful is making my stay perfect. Upon arriving, you walk down a few steps and enter a peaceful oasis looking down the well kept yard and across the lake. The house truly is storybook, surrounded with flowers, beautiful trees and an amazing patio on the lakefront. We stayed for a long weekend and did not want to leave... waking up every morning to nothing but the quiet sounds of nature rather than the honking and sirens we normally hear in NYC. I highly recommend this beautiful weekend escape from NYC.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spirit of the Lake! Private Lake Front on Lake Peekskill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995194
Putnam Valley Hudson Valley
5

Anniversary weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I stayed at this cozy and comfortable lake house with our newborn and toddler. It made for the perfect family getaway. It made for the perfect family weekend in a very picturesque setting.

We had a nice, relaxing time dipping our feet in the lake (right at the bottom of the house) and playing on the private beach (manned by 3 lifeguards!).

The house is very clean and well organised with homely touches such as knit blankets and lots of candles. It is fully equipped to accomodate kids with toys, books and a toddler bed. The cupboards are also childlocked (if needed).

We would love to stay here again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spirit of the Lake! Private Lake Front on Lake Peekskill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995194
Putnam Valley Hudson Valley
5

Spirit of the Lake is right!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We had folks driving in from Cincinnatti and DC to meet us (ours was an easy train rIde from NYC) and it was more than worth it. We really rested! We really enjoyed the boat left for our use on the beautiful, quiet lake. We grilled our meals and simply enjoyed this cozy and CLEAN homey home. The setting was beautiful. We felt really welcome,comfortable and safe. The home was fully equipped with anything you need to cook,relax and have fun. You know you rented the right house when even if it rains you are content. There are plenty of great restaurants with music in town which is very close. We look forward to renting this house again and would highly recommend it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spirit of the Lake! Private Lake Front on Lake Peekskill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p995194
Putnam Valley Hudson Valley
5

Perfect Getaway!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This lake house is a beautiful peaceful place that is the perfect getaway from city life. My family enjoyed a lovely sunny weekend outdoors to rest and recharge. The home is very cozy, comfortable, and well-organized. There are many spaces to just sit and enjoy the lake and nature. We were also able to spend time in nearby Peekskill and visit Boscobel. Our hostess was very helpful and accommodating before, during, and after our stay. I highly recommend this home as a wonderful retreat.
Helpful votes: 2/2