Hilo house rental - Backyard Bay View
Backyard Bay View
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Hilo House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 6

Hilo Bay Haven is your own private home on Hilo Bay. It has beautiful views of Hilo Bay and of the upsloping Mauna Kea volcano across the bay. This charming home is located a convenient five minutes from the Hilo airport, restaurants, shopping and historic Downtown Hilo. Great beaches for swimming and snorkeling are a mere three minutes away.

HI TAT #: W89304904-01

10 Reviews of Property 99473 in Hilo, Hawaii

Wonderful Views of Hilo Bay from This Charming Bayfront Home
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
business
Wonderful Views of Hilo Bay from This Charming Bayfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99473vb
+1 (209) 723-1931
Hilo Hilo District
Honolulu, HI
5

The essence of Hilo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
So close to the venue we attended. The pictures just did not do this home justice as we arrived...we stood in awe of it's beauty. No complaints, better staying in the 'drabby' hotels that Hilo offers. And big enough for 6 women to live under the same roof...LOL! Thank you Lucy for sharing your wonderful gem.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wonderful Views of Hilo Bay from This Charming Bayfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99473vb
+1 (209) 723-1931
Hilo Hilo District
Maui
5

Hula Girls (Maui)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We were in Hilo last week for the Merrie Monarch Festival.
This vacation rental house as the BEST! We had everything we need,
and it has literary in “Hilo Heaven” vacation home! We had breakfast at the dining table with beautiful ocean view every morning, and it is only a few minutes away from the main places in Hilo. We loved it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Wonderful Views of Hilo Bay from This Charming Bayfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99473vb
+1 (209) 723-1931
Hilo Hilo District
Port Hueneme, California
5

All that it appears to be!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
The house is minutes from airport, great for even a large group (there were 8 of us) and extremely clean. Two of the bedrooms and 1 bath are on a lower step-down level so gives impression of being even more spacious. The bay is feet from the front room/dining/room views and lanai. Loads of towels in the large master bath and nice to have plenty of shampoo & conditioner provided. Keep your open food/fruits
put away. It is a tropical location and ants etc. will come for a picnic if you let them. Not only would I come back, I will recommend this property to my travel agent friend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wonderful Views of Hilo Bay from This Charming Bayfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99473vb
+1 (209) 723-1931
Hilo Hilo District
Guam
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
My husband rented this for his guys attending UofH for five weeks. They loved it! They came home each night to a beautiful view and studied on the deck. Great place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wonderful Views of Hilo Bay from This Charming Bayfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99473vb
+1 (209) 723-1931
Hilo Hilo District
Coogee, NSW, Australia
4

Hilo chill out time

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
The pictures perhaps show the place a little more modern and lighter than it actually is (the light was a factor for our visually impaired traveller). However, the place was exactly what we needed - 3 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities (although we couldn't find a clothes line), only the dryer.

The house is literally right on the bay, with the waves lapping at the end of the backyard. Lovely to sit on the balcony of a morning having breakfast watching the cruise ship sail in.

We had to replace a few light bulbs for the lamps when we arrived, but they were in supply.

Not an area that we chose to walk around in at night, but literally just minutes drive to downtown, airport, supermarket etc.

We had trouble finding the place (mainly due to 'mis-instructions' by a "helpful" local). A call to the contact person for assitance was never returned. In the end we found the house.

Free internet worked fine and free local calls was useful for bookings of local activities.

2 great places we ate:
- Cafe Pesto (near the waterfront strip) - casual, friendly staff, good food, went back a few times (once for take-away pizza).
- Hilo Bay Cafe; more like restaurant food. Awful location (in a shopping centre), but worthy of reviews in regard to the food and service. One of the nicest meals we had in Hawaii.

This part of our holiday was more of a'recharge' the batteries after a busy few days prior. However, we still enjoyed wandering the local town, driving along the scenic drive (towards the botanical gardens), we had an afternoon/early evenning at the volcano national park (about 40 minutes drive), did a helicopter ride over the park (handy being close to the airport).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wonderful Views of Hilo Bay from This Charming Bayfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99473vb
+1 (209) 723-1931
Hilo Hilo District
6060 Columbia Street
5

Hilo in January....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
The listing photos were perfect and gave the exact detail we wanted to know about the property. The property was clean, attractive, and very funtctional for our needs. I would recommend this property to everyone and have done so many times. The museum downtown and the volcanoe observations were most interesting to us. We had some good food at an Italian and Chinese restaurant downtown .......we drove across the Island and had fun swimming at the beach on the other side of the Island. The weather was perfect and we were there in January! The solitude and viewing of the water at the property and all around it were special to us. We would love to go back again and hope to in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wonderful Views of Hilo Bay from This Charming Bayfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99473vb
+1 (209) 723-1931
Hilo Hilo District
Cheyenne, Wy
5

USAF Airman

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
I enjoyed my stay at this vacation home. Staying in this vacation home was alot more accomodating than staying at a hotel. Family was able to visit us and we were able to BBQ and did not have to worry about making too much noise like you do in a hotel. The house was equipped with everything we needed. The only thing is we didn't know what to do with the trash it's a good thing we are from Hilo so the family took care of it for us. I would recommend this vacation home to all families visiting Hilo.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wonderful Views of Hilo Bay from This Charming Bayfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99473vb
+1 (209) 723-1931
Hilo Hilo District
Fort Collins, Colorado
5

Incredible vacation getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
This was the perfect vacation rental! The house is lovely, completely furnished for comfort, close to town, on the bay. I loved the sound of the waves and watching the ships as we dined, or just relaxing in the living room. We could tour the Island, and there is so much to see, and then come home to our home away from home. Great for a family or a get-to-gether with friends and relatives.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Wonderful Views of Hilo Bay from This Charming Bayfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99473vb
+1 (209) 723-1931
Hilo Hilo District
Boston, MA USA
5

Wonderful Hilo Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
We just returned from our Hawaiian vacation! We loved this home because of its great location and stunning views from the dining and living room windows. It was comfortable, clean, and relaxing. We loved watching the cruise ships go in and out while enjoying a glass of wine. The proximity to town and the rest of the island cannot be beat! We enjoyed sightseeing around the island before coming back to our home away from home for a fun evening with family.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wonderful Views of Hilo Bay from This Charming Bayfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99473vb
+1 (209) 723-1931
Hilo Hilo District
Moraga Ca
4

A real nice vacation.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2008
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
This house was real nice, my children enjoyed having their own rooms. The location made it nice leaving the Hilo Airport. But, there was some noise from plains landing and taking off. There was a musty smell we noticed upon entering the house, we thought it could of been just closed for a while or with the rain outside there might be a mold problem. The dinning area was incredible and made for a comfortable place where my wife and I could talk. The only bad thing I could say about the property was we killed four roaches. We had to take a good look at our luggage upon returning home. I sure don't want to bring bugs home with us. Would I return? If perhaps the placed was sprayed for roaches. YES!!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: To our guest: Thank you for taking the time to write that you enjoyed Hilo Bay Haven. Just a few comments regarding concerns of the musty smell upon entering and the encounter with a few cockroaches; this home is on Hilo Bay in the tropics of Hilo, HI. The air and breezes do carry moisture, which when windows are closed as they are inbetween visitors, can create a musty smell. Opening windows and lanai sliders upon arrival allows the ocean breeze in and does clear the air immediately.
Unfortunately, the warm, wet climate is also conducive to cockroaches. We strive to keep the house very clean, bleaching surfaces frequently, airing beds/pillows etc. We also, have a pest control service which should be taking care of insect problems. It appears they are not doing their job, or service needs to be more frequent and we will follow-up on this immediately.
We want our visitors to enjoy their experience at Hilo Bay Haven as much as we do. We appreciate when we are notified right away of problems or concerns during your stay, so that we may alleviate them. We have many guests who return to Hilo Bay Haven annually, due to it's unique location, incredible views, and comfortable furnishings. We hope to see you back soon...
Mahalo, Lucy & Chris
Helpful votes: 8/10