Harlem studio rental - Your own brownstone in the city.
Your own brownstone in the city.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Harlem Studio Rental Photos and Description
1 room, sleeps 2, 1 full private bathroom

Your own private Harlem hideaway. A quiet dreamy oasis for your busy New York trip. Enjoy life in an 1895 brownstone in one of the city's most charming historic neighborhoods.

Enter from the front stoop through the ornate carved wood entry arch and you will feel like you have just stepped back 100 years in time. All original oak details which show the charm of gently worn history. Go straight ahead up the carpeted stairs to the top floor to your own private huge room.

The Guest Room is located on the top (3rd) floor of the building. There are no other bedrooms on that floor. It is the only unit rented as a room, rather than a separate apartment. However, many guests prefer this room over the others, as it has its own attributes which makes it special. Its charming retro feel will definitely make your stay in New York special.

The Guest Room is entered by a separate private entrance from the main hall. It is large (18’X18’) and has 3 south-facing windows which have their own original shutters for privacy or to darken the room. It faces the street down below and a clear view of the sky and treetops straight ahead.

Although the Guest Room does not have a formal kitchen, it does have a small refrigerator/freezer, toaster oven, microwave, and coffee maker, along with cups glass, dishes and utensils. These are all neatly hidden in the large armoire between the decorative fireplace and the closet.

The Guest Room has a high definition LED flat screen TV and wifi, as well as a radio/iPod player with an equipped iPod with a Harlem Hideaway playlist of blues and jazz. The queen size bed has a memory foam mattress. It has an antique desk and dresser, a bookcase with unique books and two relaxing woven chairs next to the vertical magazine rack containing vintage magazines and comics. It has an adjustable ceiling fan and lights with dimmer switches. During the summer it has an air conditioning unit.

The graffiti wall is the entire west wall. It contains thousands of signatures of bygone friends and guests (some very famous). A marking pen awaits your own addition to the wall.

The all white bathroom is five steps down the private internal hall. It is not shared and is dedicated only to the guests in the Guest Room. It has a skylight and claw foot tub and fan. The lights even dim to suit your mood. A hairdryer and outlet is provided, as well as a magnifying mirror and special gifts in the medicine cabinet for the ladies. Monogrammed bathrobes, soap and shampoo are also provided.

For an additional $25/night you have total access to the outside terrace on the same floor. You are up in the trees and it is a peaceful and relaxing way to have a cup of coffee, glass of wine, or eat a meal.

Harlem Hideaway has two other options you may want to consider as well: Harlem Hideaway Parlor Apartment sleeps 3 (Home Away # 982545). Harlem Hideaway Studio Apartment sleeps two (Home Away #982538). Garden Apartment (Home Away 3634519). All are full apartments, not guest rooms.

More Details
Hide Details

An enthusiastic New York and Harlem resident, always ready to give the inside scoop and recommendations on Harlem or NYC. Very involved in the neighborhood. A product, landscape and interior designer with numerous awards and items in national museums. In fact, the building has also been published in several magazines.

A world traveller, as I flew for Pan Am for over 7 years.

Dennis Decker purchased this studio in 2000

Harlem is the soul of New York City. It is not just about the incredible architecture. This is the friendliest neighborhood I have ever lived in- the best area in Harlem.

The quiet friendly tree-lined street, proximity to express subway- only 4 stops to Times Square, closeness to neighborhood coffee shop and historic park, as well as the 125 St. corridor and Central Park.

I actually love sitting on the front stoop while having a coffee or a glass of wine. I love seeing the relaxed street life going by, and being a part of it. Since my block is dominated by private brownstones, rather than apartment buildings, it has a friendlier, small town feeling than most other neighborhoods.

33 Reviews of Property 993020 in Harlem, New York

Harlem Hideaway Guest Room. Quiet Oasis in Historic Brownstone
average rating of 4.736842 based on 33 reviews
business
Harlem Hideaway Guest Room. Quiet Oasis in Historic Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p993020
+1 9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
4

Great guest room in Harlem

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Good location close to subway. Denis was easy to contact (cell and email) and gave us some great ideas on what to try in the area. We would recommend to a friend. Red Rooster (dinning) and amateur night at the Apollo a must!
business
Harlem Hideaway Guest Room. Quiet Oasis in Historic Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p993020
+1 9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
4

Hot shot!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This guestroom is a hot spot. Good access to metro, restaurants, supermarket. Very friendly and clean surrounding. The room itself is warm and cosy. Big space. And, yes: The warmth give us most the feeling of relaxing and feeling homey. No complaint at all. Dennis tuned us in instantly, so we were orientated at once. Now we are back home again, longing for harlem hideaway. Greetings!
business
Harlem Hideaway Guest Room. Quiet Oasis in Historic Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p993020
+1 9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
5

Very good great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Great stay, less than 5 MINS from Times square on the tube, location is great, all the people where kind and polite, no trouble at all. Dennis is a great, nothing is to much trouble. Accommodation is very clean and tidy, breakfast round the corner,tube two blocks, a two min walk. Go upto 125th for some bargain buy,s before you buy in Time. Square at twice the price..... Overall a great visit, great accom, great location, would stay again without doubt thanks again Dennis.....
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Harlem Hideaway Guest Room. Quiet Oasis in Historic Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p993020
+1 9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
5

The Host with the most

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The apartment is lovely, a real break from the norm. Harlem is great, as you feel like you might be getting a real taste of New York rather than Times Square etc. Cafe Latte at the end of the street is perfect for breakfast and 116th St Subway is conveniently located.

Dennis is a great host, full of useful info and good tips. Our plane was delayed 24 hours and unfortunately Dennis couldn't accommodate us a further night, but he went out his way to organise us a room close by. Allowing us to have a stress free final day.

Many Thanks Dennis, hopefully see you again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Harlem Hideaway Guest Room. Quiet Oasis in Historic Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p993020
+1 9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
5

Back to "the old good time"

Back to "the old good time"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We really enjoyed our stay even if it was very short. Dennis is a great host and he has a great taste in decoration and design. The building is full of charm with its wood stairs, floors, doors and windows... You feel like in the 50's but with all the modern comfort and amenities. It was really different from every place we stayed before ; an unforgettable experience. Moreover the area is really quiet, nice and safe but a few steps away from the 125th Street (busy with shops...) and the subway to downtown... We really recommend "Harlem Hideaway", and we are sure you'll love it :-)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Harlem Hideaway Guest Room. Quiet Oasis in Historic Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p993020
+1 9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
5

Hideaway in Harlem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Dennis provided us with a wonderful home for our stay in New York. Harlem is an amazing neighbourhood, with a mix of it's cultural roots combined with a modern twist. The Harlem Hideaway is a beautiful house with a fully equiped room only 5 minutes from the subway and the rest of NYC. Dennis is a great host both informative and relaxed allowing you to enjoy your time without any difficulties. We wandered around Harlem at night feeling completely safe and secure. We will definately return to The Harlem Hideaway as soon as possible.
business
Harlem Hideaway Guest Room. Quiet Oasis in Historic Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p993020
+1 9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
4

The apartment was truly a home away from home.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The building was beautifully restored with all the amenities of home. Our efficiency was beautiful with warm woods & shutters to let in all of the sun & outside air. We had a small refrigerator & microwave & coffee maker. The neighborhood was lovely with big trees & flowers. Dennis was a wonderful host who gave us ideas of places to eat & see but gave us privacy also. Would love to go back.
business
Harlem Hideaway Guest Room. Quiet Oasis in Historic Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p993020
+1 9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
Ottawa, Canada
5

Should be called Harlem Sanctuary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We loved this place. The pictures don't do it justice - spacious, spotless, designed with flair and with consideration to creature comforts. Dennis brought us up to the room filled with cool jazz and low lighting. He made sure we knew how everything worked and gave us fun recommendations for the area. We'd never stayed in Harlem before but soon realized we were in a very cool neighborhood. We'll be back.
business
Harlem Hideaway Guest Room. Quiet Oasis in Historic Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p993020
+1 9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
4

Great and very hospitable stay!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Dennis truly was the perfect host. Very personable and warm he helped us through understanding the neighbourhood and sites in New York. He is very helpful which was such a blessing to us. The room was very comfortable and beautiful! Definitely recommend if you want a good feel of Harlem, New York. Dennis definitely has created a perfect hideaway.
business
Harlem Hideaway Guest Room. Quiet Oasis in Historic Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p993020
+1 9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
5

comfortable, well appointed, relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The listing description was detailed and accurate and the location was excellent--lovely, quiet, tree lined street but close to main streets. The property was immaculately clean and well maintained with a subtle retro vibe. Everything was as described, good wifi, tv, ceiling fan and aircon, very comfortable bed, good wall lights for reading in bed, and we slept comfortably even in a heatwave. Dennis was kind, helpful, and accessible for advice. We loved our stay here. We'd previously spent 10 days in Cobble Hill,Brooklyn in a similar brownstone building and spent a lot of time sitting on the stoop there too, a great way to watch the world go by and relax on a warm summers night.Very different neighbourhoods, both interesting and enjoyable in their own individual ways. If you love music don't miss amateur night at the Apollo, Paris Blues and even church if you're this inclined. Dennis lives in a real neighbourhood, not a tourist centre, which suited us well, and he's connected with Harlem Shake, an old time american diner, which we liked even as non meat eaters. They do a truly excellent vegie burger. Overall, an excellent choice. Thanks Dennis for a great stay, Linda and Steve.
Helpful votes: 2/2