Fort Payne cabin rental - early morning on the deck with the smokey mists in the mountain valleys below
early morning on the deck with the smokey mists in the mountain valleys below
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Fort Payne Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Two-story cabin, wood floors/w, great room, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 8-10)

Secluded, beautiful wooden home on Lookout Mountain bluff overlooking Shinbone Valley and the north Georgia mountains; the panoramic view from the deck; cool summer breezes that whisper through the trees that surround the house; undisturbed quiet!!; cicadas singing in the trees at night; coyotes barking for a meal after you grill at nite; the stars without city lites; the blaze of color in the oaks and hickory trees in the fall; the peace of the mountain in the snow; hiking down the steep canyon edge to take a cool dip in one of the many pools in Little River in the summer; the huge number of outdoor adventures so close by (rappelling, spelunking, kayaking, hiking, rock-climbing, white-water rafting, hang-gliding, etc.;); Chickamauga Civil War Battlefield (45 minutes); Mentone Arts and Crafts; Cloudmont Ski and Golf resort (15 minutes)

15 Reviews of Property 992647 in Fort Payne, Alabama

Beautiful secluded cabin with breathtaking view
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Beautiful secluded cabin with breathtaking view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992647
251-455-5533
Fort Payne Alabama Mountains
Mobile
5

Forest Retreat with Stunning Mountain Vista, American Art and Chic Amenities.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My wife and I spent a four day weekend in this breath-taking place. It was an idyllic retreat tucked on a Lookout Mountain side. We watched the sunrise over the Georgia Mountains - smoke-filled valleys between three successive ranges. The smoke didn't lift untill almost noon. Liitle river canyon was a short car ride away where we hiked during the day on the side of the spectaculary wooded gorge and witnessed a gorgeous sunset dappling the wooded cliffs. Day trips to Mentone and Lake Weiss were fun outings. Mostly we walked in the woods, read books on the breath-taking deck and enjoyed the art and artifacts decorating this lovely chalet. The cabin is beautiful and well built. One of the owner couple is an artist whose nature paintings fit the setting perfectly. Native Cherokee artifacts, natural wood interiors and a massive stone fireplace add to the authenticity. We grilled supper on the deck, built evening fires in the fireplace and even watched college footbal on the big screen TV. The TV was not used otherwise because the setting absolutely drew you into the natural surroundings. The owners bent over backwards to make us feel at home. They provided great advise regarding travel and local landmarks. Their property is pristine and lovingly maintained. Our absolute highest recomendations.! We plan to return with our children because the cabin is big enough and because the setting is so spectacular.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful secluded cabin with breathtaking view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992647
251-455-5533
Fort Payne Alabama Mountains
Austin
5

Relaxing and comfortable meets adventure and scenic view overload!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The owners were incredibly accommodating and helpful. We had never been to the area before, and they made it easy for us to find fun things to do, adventures to have, places to shop and eat while staying at the clean, comfortable and well-appointed chalet over-looking beautiful elevated natural setting. We loved hiking through Little River Canyon, DeSoto Falls, Cherokee Rock Village, kayaking on Weiss Lake, lunch & shopping in Mentone, and just relaxing and grilling out at the house.

While we thought the photos were obviously compelling enough to choose this place to stay, in our opinion, they did not do the place justice. The views from the home, the inside amenities and the surrounding landscape were far prettier and more scenic than depicted. Always a nice surprise!

Based on the road getting to the house, which is almost an adventure in itself, a truck or SUV is advised. And if you and your family (including dogs) enjoy being outdoors in the woods and seeing some of the best sunrises ever, this is the place.

Thank you for allowing us to stay!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Beautiful secluded cabin with breathtaking view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992647
251-455-5533
Fort Payne Alabama Mountains
Bessemer, AL
5

THE PERFECT PLACE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The Eagles Nest was the perfect place for our family. My dad suffered a stroke in December and has a few physical limitations. This property offered him every convenience that he required. The views were spectacular. The accommodations were absolutely amazing and the owners treated you less like guest and more like family. My daughter and grandchildren occupied the upstairs and we had the downstairs. Everyone had more than enough room. More time was spent on the deck than in the house. The owners provided us with a binder of information. Places to see, trails to hike, swimming holes and places to eat. The first day there we started making plans for next year. We used to be beach goers, but this will be our vacation home from now on. If you are looking for the perfect place, The Eagles Nest is it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful secluded cabin with breathtaking view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992647
251-455-5533
Fort Payne Alabama Mountains
Port Gibson, MS
5

Highly Recommend for Relaxing Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We celebrated my parent's 50th wedding anniversary. The cabin was great... even better than the pictures show. The owner is very friendly and helpful regarding recommendations. We enjoyed sight-seeing at the Little River Canyon park: hiking, wading and seeing beautiful waterfalls. We ate most of our meals at the cabin. It is equipped with everything you will need. There is a 2 mile stretch of bumpy gravel road; it does take about 15 minutes to travel, but once your at the cabin you don't care because just hanging out and enjoying the incredible view is wonderful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful secluded cabin with breathtaking view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992647
251-455-5533
Fort Payne Alabama Mountains
Palm Beach Gardens, Fl
5

More Than We Expected!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This home was even better in person! It was very comfortable and the views were spectacular. We loved sitting out on the porch area and cooking on the grill, very peaceful and relaxing!!! One of the highlights was watching the hummingbirds feed. Definitely a great place for a large group.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: I am glad that you enjoyed our cabin as much as we do. Glad to hear that the hummingbirds are back. Gina
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful secluded cabin with breathtaking view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992647
251-455-5533
Fort Payne Alabama Mountains
Chattanooga
5

Close and Cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My wife and I live in Chattanooga and were looking for a close, dog friendly cabin. Additionally, we needed a place to stay with four other family members to see in the new year. This cabin greatly exceeded our needs and expectations. There is a large fenced area that has a gate to allow access onto the porch, which also has a railing and a gate to contain the dogs. The cabin is secluded; no other cabins were visible or audible. The inside was cozy. We really enjoyed the indoor wood burning fireplace. There is also a nice fire pit outside. The kitchen and outdoor grill are great. The bedrooms are large, nice and comfortable. The view is excellent; the sunrises were amazing. Close by there is a beautiful waterfall and plenty of hiking trails. This cabin was the perfect setting to relax and enjoy each other's company. I highly recommend it and hope to stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful secluded cabin with breathtaking view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992647
251-455-5533
Fort Payne Alabama Mountains
Chattanooga, TN
5

Beautiful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had such a great time staying in your gorgeous mountain cabin! Everything was stocked and the property was so nice and clean. We loved waking up and looking out over the bluff at the wonderful view! We stayed during the cold weather so the indoor and outdoor fire places were a nice touch! We would love to stay there again very soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Allie,

I am glad you had a wonderful time. Please call me if you would like to
stay again.

Thanks, Gina McGee
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful secluded cabin with breathtaking view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992647
251-455-5533
Fort Payne Alabama Mountains
Chattanooga, TN
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I live in Chattanooga and this was the perfect location for a weekend getaway. The cabin has lots of space for your family and friends, nice and neat and anything and everything you will need for a weekend or longer stay. The views are amazing!!! We loved the fire pit and havent seen stars like that in a very long, long time. Already planning our next trip back. We had a great time and would highly recommend staying here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful secluded cabin with breathtaking view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992647
251-455-5533
Fort Payne Alabama Mountains
Chattanooga
5

Outstanding exclusive vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This cabin was more wonderful than I expected. The beautiful large windows presented an amazing sunrise each morning where you can sit inside and watch next to a nice warm fire. There was plenty of space with 4 large bed rooms and plenty of bathrooms so you don't fight for it. This place made my vacation a stress free get away, and with it only being an hour away from Chattanooga it is a place I will go to again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful secluded cabin with breathtaking view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p992647
251-455-5533
Fort Payne Alabama Mountains
Andalusia, AL
5

Wonderful!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We chose your mountain home for our annual family vacation and were not disappointed! The cabin was a perfect "fit" for our family and the views were spectacular! I cannot say thank you enough for a perfect weekend. We can't wait to go back!!! And the people in Fort Payne are sooo nice! Everywhere we went they greeted us just like home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1