Keaau house rental - FRONT OF HOME AND ENTRY
FRONT OF HOME AND ENTRY
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Keaau House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Spectacular Japanese style home with ocean view and pool. Hear the waves break on the lava cliffs just a short walk from the home.

This one-of-a-kind home features two master suites.

Each suite has approximately 600 square ft. and includes sleeping and sitting areas with satellite TV and VCR/DVD.

The main living area features the fully equipped kitchen, formal dining, informal dining, formal living room and large main entry. All rooms are tastefully decorated with Japanese art.

Inside the home is a private garden with tropical plants and flowers which accent the small waterfall, stream and fish pond.

We feature a private pool with a large deck plus covered lanai for BBQ and relaxing. The home is 3000 square ft and is on one fully landscaped acre.

Keywords: VACATION HOME HAWAIIAN PARADISE PARK

My wife and I purchased our home in Hawaii in 2000. We are pleased to offer this unique Japanese living experience to you when we are away.

The Owner purchased this house in 2000

We looked for several years for a home on the Big Island that we would enjoy living in. The unique Japanese design, quality of construction,open living areas, ocean view, private and peaceful setting made this home an easy choice for us.

This is where my wife and I go to get away from it all. It is easy to forget the normal pressures of everyday life in this private and peaceful setting-our Sanctuary in Paradise!

25 Reviews of Property 9925 in Keaau, Hawaii

Japanese Style Home with Pool and Ocean View on One Acre
average rating of 4.56 based on 25 reviews
business
Japanese Style Home with Pool and Ocean View on One Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p9925vbi
Keaau Puna District
4

A wonderful retreat !!!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
An excellent and wonderful retreat at the end of day of adventures. A
very unique house with lots of space and privacy...I don't think the pictures do it full justice, and for the price, you can't ask for anything more. A short drive away from population, yet close to many choices of things to do....Thermal ponds, tidal pools, awesome markets and the Volcano. I would highly recommend the Wednesday evening market in Kalapana. Thank you to the owners who have been great to deal with and offer up ways help and assistance with contact numbers etc. We will be back for sure.
Rob and Lorraine...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Japanese Style Home with Pool and Ocean View on One Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p9925vbi
Keaau Puna District
Santa Cruz, CA
3

Wonderful Home with a Few Glitches

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Spacious house with lovely interior garden and pond. Kitchen and living-spaces are very functional and attractive. Good water accessories: snorkel, mask, and boogie-board.
Shoji doors do not open to allow air into living-room - seem to be stuck. Lots of keys - few work to unlock anything. Large dog across the road likes to bark at every car/truck that passes, which excites the two little dogs next-door - as early as 6:30 AM.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Japanese Style Home with Pool and Ocean View on One Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p9925vbi
Keaau Puna District
Iowa
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This was a great house for our 3 generation vacation. The pictures do not do it justice. It's a perfect combination of togetherness and private space. Our kids loved the pond and the pool; we loved having a grill, kitchen, laundry and the beautiful views. While the sandy beaches are in the Kona side, the Hilo side is definitely the most beautiful. This location was great for exploring the whole island - taking Saddle Road across puts you on the Kona Coast in under 2 hours. Easy access to great food in Pahoa, and only 20-40 minutes (traffic depending) to everything in Hilo.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Japanese Style Home with Pool and Ocean View on One Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p9925vbi
Keaau Puna District
Utah
5

Relaxation at it's B

Relaxation at it's B
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is a very unique and lovely home that is clean and well cared for. I was looking for something quiet and peaceful and we definitely found it here. We loved the garden and pond in the interior courtyard/garden area and being able to open up the shoji doors in the family room or sit on the deck and look out over the beautiful garden, even while it was raining, was so peaceful and relaxing. This home might be challenging for families with very young children if you expect them to sleep in a separate room as there is no indoor hallway and it might be difficult to hear a young child in a different room. Each of the bedrooms and family room are separate and detached from the main part of the house while connected with an outdoor covered walkway/deck which all surround the garden area. However, it is this same feature that makes each bedroom very private as well. It is only about a 20 minute drive to Hilo. Some of the nearby attractions we visited are: The National Volcano Park, Akaka Falls, Rainbow Falls, The Pacific Tsunami Museum, The Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Farm, farmer's markets in both Hilo and Pahoa, Big Island Candies and several beaches where we were able to swim, snorkel and see some sea turtles. We spent a week here during a family reunion and wish we had been able to spend more time just kicking back and enjoying the pool and house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Japanese Style Home with Pool and Ocean View on One Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p9925vbi
Keaau Puna District
4

Great place!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed 3 days in this wonderful house. We loved it. We were 2 couples and we had plenty of space! We loved the litlle garden in the middle of the house with the fish. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
business
Japanese Style Home with Pool and Ocean View on One Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p9925vbi
Keaau Puna District
Evansville, IN
4

Unique and Beautiful Home with Such Character

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We got in late at night, so first impression was a bit off as it was really hot since everything was closed up and looking for lights to switch on to use the keys to open all the doors and windows was frustrating. But then once we woke up and got to enjoy the day, we all fell in love with the place.

Such a unique home with every room like its own sanctuary with the inner garden as a focal point. My 18 year old son had his own area - in the back with a big bedroom and his own bathroom - it was like a large studio apartment (without a kitchen). My 8 year old daughter slept in the den area, which had a pretty comfortable sofa couch. She also very much enjoyed the pool after a day of excursions.

The house is pretty dated, especially in the kitchen, but as long as you are not thinking 4 or 5 star hotels and are ready just to enjoy the beauty of Big Island, especially on the Hilo side which is more laid back and not very tourist-like, it's a wonderful place to call home for your Big Island vacation.

If you decide to stay on the Hilo side and like to snorkel, a must excursion is the Kapoho tide pools. Many beautiful fish and it's free - they just ask for a $3 donation for parking. We visited Maui after our trip to Big Island, and we spent lots of money for a snorkling trip and were disappointed because we saw more variety of fish in clearer water in the tide pools. It was our favorite part of our trip!

Seems produce is a difficult thing to come by on Big Island, which surprised us - if you do find some (and Walmart does have some and there are produce stand), be ready to pay a high price for it.

Thank you for letting us stay in your unique and beautiful home. We even had an intimate ceremony of renewing our vows with our children in your backyard. It was a wonderful setting for it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Japanese Style Home with Pool and Ocean View on One Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p9925vbi
Keaau Puna District
4

Oasis of Healing

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was our 2nd vist to "our oasis of healing". The energy in this home is amazing. Environment is warm, peaceful and is a unique haven in which to rest recuperate and recharge. The thoughtful design of this house is beyond words. We traveled with friends and the 2 master suites offer privacy and at the same time gave us a great place to share wonderful times together. The pool area is a great place to cool off, relax and enjoy the beautiful sounds, sights and natural beauty of Hawaii. The house could use some TLC but it will always remain very high on our list of places to stay in Hawaii and we highly recommend to others. The owners are very accommodating and a pleasure to work with. The tide pools in Kapoho are amazing and our favorite place to visit. Stop by "The Hot Dog Guy" (on the way) for some awesome and unusual sausages. Be sure to visit the quaint town of Pahoa and recommend eating at Kaleos' , Luquin's (good mexican) and the BYOB italian restautant Paolo's. Writing this review makes us miss our home away from home even more. Already talking about our plans for our next stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Japanese Style Home with Pool and Ocean View on One Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p9925vbi
Keaau Puna District
Missouri
4

Japanese Style home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The character, design, and space at this property is unique. The main master bedroom has a comfortable bed and ample space, plus a walk down Japanese style tub/shower that is fun. The decor is beautiful and relaxing. We were amazed at all the art work in the home, The house was in neat order and clean.

We did use the jacuzzi in the other bathroom and it was a little hard to start, but worked fine once I figured out the technique to use. The pool has a large pool deck. It was pretty cool and rainy so we weren't able to use the pool too much, but it was enjoyable. This is a great place if you have 2 couples traveling together or a family with older children.

We enjoyed the Sirius stations on satellite tv in the 2 bedrooms. It would be nice if the tv in the lanai was also hooked up to the satellite.

The ocean is about 3-4 blocks away and is cliff type ocean side, not a beach. It was beauftiful to see. We were able to hear the waves crashing on the cliffs at night, we weren't able to see the ocean from the house, but the sounds were relaxing. There are no real beaches on this side of the island.
Expect to get your sun beside the nice pool.

Some items in the kitchen do need replacing, including the non-stick fry pans and the toaster as mentioned in the previous review. A working grill would be very nice.

You do need to plan to bring in drinking water. If you buy about 4 gallon jugs of water at Walmart ($1.08 each) for your first night and day you can refill them easily for free at a station nearby. It took us a little while to figure out where the station was, but it was easy once we did.

This is a nice quiet side of the island, but rainy, giving you lots of lush vegetation. We loved the wild orchids along the roadside near the house and the glorious drive through the "rain forest". You may have to give up some outside time due to the rain, or add time to your schedule to go to the dry side of the island.

It is near Hilo and within 45 minutes of Volcanoes National Park.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we come to the Big Island,
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Japanese Style Home with Pool and Ocean View on One Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p9925vbi
Keaau Puna District
Southern Alberta, Canada
2

Older, needs some upgrades

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The property was very clean and presentable and has quite an interesting Japanese design. Some minor upgrades in the kitchen would make the stay a lot more enjoyable. For example the toaster continuously burns toast on one side, it needs replacing. Non-stick frying pans need replacing as everything sticks to them. Cordless phone is absolutely horrendous, you cannot carry on a conversation there is so much static, we had to use the old rotary dial telephone in the master bathroom.

Yes, the ocean is only two blocks away, and it is nice to hear the ocean waves crashing against the shore at night, but access to the ocean is very difficult and misleading as it is all privately owned land along the shoreline.

We really enjoyed watching the fish and the frogs in the pond, and greatly enjoyed sitting on the patio in sunny and rainy weather. It was also quite memorable going to sleep listening to all the frogs.

Ceiling fan in master bedroom and kitchen were extremely scary as you turn it on full you are worried it is going to fly off as it is rocking back and forth erratically. Outdoor barbecue is very old and rusted.

Tried using the jetted tub at 8:00 p.m. but couldn't get them to work after repeated tries, but then the jets did come on at 2:00 a.m. when it woke us up in our sleep. Very unique and amazing that the entire house runs on rain water, but it is good to know this ahead of time as it is recommended that tourists bring bottled water and don't drink the rain water. Modem needs to be reset periodically but wireless internet works around most of the house except the back suite. TVs and satellite work good, but some newer TV screens would be nice. Interesting that there is a car in the garage and it was nice that there are bicycles available for use in the garage, but found it rather disturbing that previous renters leftover groceries were also sitting in the garage. Also many of the fruit trees in the back yard have died, so there was one bread fruit and one coconut, but the fruit trees weren't as plentiful as we were led to believe. The pool was nice, and it was nice that a maintenance man did come by and vacuum the pool and check the chemicals and PH level while we were there, but it does rain a lot on this part of the island, so you may not use the pool as much as you were planning. A net by the pool could be useful though for cleaning the debris out of the pool from nearby trees in between the visits of the pool maintenance man.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response and ideas for improvements.
We've since replaced some of the items listed in your review.
In the kitchen, we’ve replaced the toaster, coffee maker, pots, pans, and the blender.
In the home, we’ve replaced the cordless phone, and have purchased a new TV and DVD player.
Depending on the time of year you go, different fruit trees will bear fruit. In August 2013 I picked coconuts, star fruit, lychee, and breadfruit.
Thank you. Rachel Willis
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Japanese Style Home with Pool and Ocean View on One Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p9925vbi
Keaau Puna District
Pittsburgh, PA USA
5

Gorgeous, unique home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I've never stayed anyplace like this amazing home-- we loved the inner courtyard and the shoji doors that could be opened. It was very isolated and quiet yet a convenient base to visit Hilo, Mauna Kea, and Volcano National Park.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1