Mission Hills house rental - Large outdoor deck perfect for dining. Grill not shown.
Large outdoor deck perfect for dining. Grill not shown.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Mission Hills House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Make your vacation unforgettable by staying in a spacious, newly remodeled historic Carriage House located in the most desirable area of San Diego, the historic Mission Hills District.

Originally built in 1913 as a building for the horse carriage and caretakers family, this wonderfully inviting home was remodeled by a local architect/design team to include the finest of luxury modern living while capturing the artistic detail using period antiques and custom artwork. This spacious one bedroom/one bath home is perfect for artists, writers, world travelers or anyone who appreciates a home that is itself a living work of art. All of the amenities have been carefully planned and selected for your comfort. Features in this home include a king sized signature HEAVENLY BED and HEAVENLY PILLOWS purchased directly from the Westin, hardwood floors, exquisite linens, gorgeous raised mahogany wood beam ceilings, French doors, restored antique decorative doors, soothing water feature, custom lighting imported from Morocco, flat screen TVs, mood lighting, WIFI, Internet Ready Blue Ray player which allows you to access your personal HuluPlus or Netflix account, IPOD docking station, custom walk-in closet, an additional sitting room with incredibly comfortable chairs for reading or watching TV, separate laundry area with washer/dryer, central heat/air conditioning, and professionally designed landscaping including organic herbs for cooking. The kitchen is set-up for anyone who loves to cook including heavy-duty cooper pots and pans, basic spices, gas stove, microwave, and dishwasher. The large outdoor deck is completely private and has lighting on timers with an outdoor gas BBQ grill, accentuating it as a wonderful space for outdoor dining all year round.

But the best part of all is, the owners of The Carriage House are passionate about helping horses and believe in respecting the circle of life for the horses that once lived on the property therefore 10% of all proceeds will be donated to non-profit horse rescues.

THINGS TO DO:

Choose from some of the best restaurants in town, less than one mile away.

Walk three blocks to The Mission Hills Nursery, the oldest plant nursery in San Diego established in 1910.

Take a five-minute cab ride to Old Town for authentic Mexican food.

Stay in and read or watch TV in bed to the peaceful sound of the water feature or the silence of the majestic old trees.

Join the famous Mission Hills Garden Walk and meet new people while getting a first hand tour of this architecturally unique and affluent neighborhood.

Open the numerous windows and doors in the sunroom to create a feeling of being outdoors yet inside reading or watching TV.

Enjoy a glass of wine or beer at the English pub table or dine outdoors on the spacious deck under the stars.

Venture just four miles away to the famous downtown Gaslamp district where you will find entertainment, theater, live music, movies, shopping, and internationally acclaimed restaurants

Walk just a few block for morning coffee at the local bakery/coffee shop and stop to shop for gifts, get a massage, take a yoga class or pick up some food items at the neighborhood market on your way home.

Throw the beach towels in the car (supplied) and drive ten miles to the beach. At the end of the day you get to come home to a spotlessly clean quite house away from the crowds.

And of course, don’t miss the opportunity for food, music, and local produce at the Mission Hills Farmer’s Market every Wednesday. Experience local San Diego.

Keywords: Private House, Retreat, Charming, Boutique, Horses, Mission Hills, Hillcrest, San Diego, University Heights, Del Mar

More Details
Hide Details

We feel so blessed to be the owners of The Carriage House. Originally we set out with a goal of buying a vacation home to create a reliable stream of revenue for horse rescues. We couldn't believe it when we found an actual Carriage House. Most of these homes that used to hold the horse carriage and caretakers family have been torn down. Despite our full time, sometimes hectic jobs, we love meeting guests who stay at The Carriage House and have made lifelong friends. We feel like its not just us giving back to the horses but all of our guests who are part of this team. For those interested, we send letters with follow up stories on all the horses helped through donations of The Carriage House. What could be better than staying in an amazing place and helping rescue animals.

The Carriage House is influenced by our extensive travel and experience staying in boutique hotels. Being in Mission Hills, the most prominent area of San Diego, was a bonus for us when we found the property. We take walks when we are on vacation and loved the fact that our guests can stroll along under hundred year old trees. For us, the place we stay on vacation is part of the experience therefore no detail can be too small. Artistically, the Carriage House decor is focused on a modern worldly feel so that guests from all over the world will feel comfortable. This property is an important part of our goal in creating a reliable source of revenue for the purpose of saving horses. Your stay in The Carriage House directly benefits the lives of horses by providing hay, shelter, and medications. The fact that this home was originally a Carriage House, which held the carriage and was a living area for the caretakers makes it even more special to us. Our hope is that our guests return home from their vacation with their own Carriage House story to tell.

What we love about this place is how centrally located it is. It is literally close to everything. At the same time though, you get to get away from the hustle to your own oasis in a quite neighborhood. Walk to the local shops and have coffee. You'll find great restaurants less than one mile away. Actually our favorite restaurant in San Diego is called the Red Door and is so close you hardly need the car. Looking back, we used to sit at this restaurant and, over a few glasses of wine, discuss how we could start a business to fund horse rescues. I guess this house right around the corner was listening!!!!

34 Reviews of Property 412455 in Mission Hills, California

Luxurious, Artistic, Designer Carriage House - 5 Min to Gaslamp, 10 Min to Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 34 reviews
business
Luxurious, Artistic, Designer Carriage House - 5 Min to Gaslamp, 10 Min to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412455vb
619-851-8884
Mission Hills San Diego County
5

This one's a WINNER!!

This one's a WINNER!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We were excited about our stay at The Carriage House for weeks before our arrival! We grew up in this lovely neighborhood some 50+ years ago and were anticipating a wonderful 2 week walk down memory lane. Our stay at this EXCEPTIONAL cottage was absolutely the icing on a fabulous trip. The owners have thought of EVERYTHING you might need - from the little touches (chilled mugs in the freezer, dimmer switches on lights) to the big touches (super comfortable bed and furniture). The cottage is spotless, charming, spacious, beautifully decorated, and fully equipped. Everything we'd known growing up was within easy reach - beaches, Coronado, zoo, parks, downtown - and what a wonderful haven to return to when activities were over. We had the privilege of meeting with one of the owners - what a delight!! We feel as if we made a new friend. The fact that this cottage supports horse rescue is just another indication that these owners have hearts and souls. Finally, all we can say is that if you have the opportunity to stay here, you will never forget your experience and you will NOT want to leave!!!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your awesome review!! We so appreciate having wonderful guests, such as yourselves, makes our Carriage House even more special. Love it when our guests notice and truly appreciate our attention to detail. Thank you for taking such a interest in our program to save horses, our love that shines though the Carriage house.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious, Artistic, Designer Carriage House - 5 Min to Gaslamp, 10 Min to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412455vb
619-851-8884
Mission Hills San Diego County
5

Great get away in a terrific San Diego neighborhood.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The hosts provided everything you need to have a relaxing and comfortable stay. Good amenities in the neighborhood and quiet neighbors.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
business
Luxurious, Artistic, Designer Carriage House - 5 Min to Gaslamp, 10 Min to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412455vb
619-851-8884
Mission Hills San Diego County
5

Heavenly Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The carriage house is one of my favorite places I have ever stayed. I travel for work and have stayed in a variety of places, but the carriage house is special in it's beauty, charm, and tranquility. The place was extremely clean and has everything you could possibly want. The bed is to die for and I could have stayed in it all day. Susanne has gone above and beyond in creating a unique space that instantly makes you feel comfortable and calm. The pictures don't do the place justice! The neighborhood is beautiful and it's nice to walk around and look at all the pretty homes. As a wanderer at heart, I don't often feel the need to revisit places, but I could definitely come back to this special place.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your awesome review, we look forward to you enjoying our Carriage House again. Safe Travels Susanne
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious, Artistic, Designer Carriage House - 5 Min to Gaslamp, 10 Min to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412455vb
619-851-8884
Mission Hills San Diego County
Occidental Ca Sonoma County USA
5

DON'T MISS THIS ONE!!!!!!!!!!

DON'T MISS THIS ONE!!!!!!!!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I have rented a lot of vacation rentals.
This one is up there at the top.
Everything that is stated is true and more so.
You will enjoy your stay here.
See San Diego at it's best with the best accommodations.
To top it off is the horse feature.
A sure bet.
Bill& Jim
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Love having wonderful guests like yourselves! Thank you for a great review, appreciate you mentioning the horses.

See you again,

Susanne
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious, Artistic, Designer Carriage House - 5 Min to Gaslamp, 10 Min to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412455vb
619-851-8884
Mission Hills San Diego County
fort lauderdale
5

Absolutely Gorgeous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Immaculate Stay! Amazing interior Decor and detail. Quiet neighborhood. Great place to relax and close proximity with a car to everything. The owner was extremely kind. This was perfect for my wife and I. Can;t wait to go back!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious, Artistic, Designer Carriage House - 5 Min to Gaslamp, 10 Min to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412455vb
619-851-8884
Mission Hills San Diego County
Door County, Wisconsin
5

Beyond our expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We have stayed in several VRBO properties, and this one was the icing on the cake! Tastefully done little cottage in the heart of a peaceful Mission Hills neighborhood truly made us feel like we were back home (we used to live in San Diego.) The owner, Susanne, was remarkable from the initial booking, and always made sure we were well-informed and welcome. She made an effort to meet us while we were there and we had a lovely conversation. The fact that a percentage of the income from this property goes to protecting horses is just another fantastic part of this whole experience. The carriage house is well maintained and extremely comfortable. The bed and bedding was to die for...slept like a baby! We have already recommended this wonderful place to several of our friends and family for their next visits to San Diego, and we will definitely try to book our next trip around its availability!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Awesome review, Thank you, Thank you!! So great to meet you both, look forward to your next stay.
business
Luxurious, Artistic, Designer Carriage House - 5 Min to Gaslamp, 10 Min to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412455vb
619-851-8884
Mission Hills San Diego County
5

Perfect place for baby and us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Traveling with our three month old was such a pleasure because of our stay at the Carriage House. Susanne and Elizabeth provided the most comfortable and convenient environment I could have imagined for baby and us. It was so nice to have the playpen and baby bath products waiting when we arrived. Having the parking right outside the door, full kitchen, dishwasher, washer and dryer, and a separate, quiet room to which we could retire after putting the baby down to sleep just met every need that could have arisen. Plus we were minutes away from shops, dining, downtown, parks, and the beach We enjoyed watching our shows and movies on Hulu and Netflix on the TV, playing the baby's white noise sounds on the iPod docking station speaker, and just taking in the beauty of the house - with all it's decorative details - and the quiet neighborhood. It was also great to know we were helping support horses. We truly felt we were at our home away from home. We definitely hope to return soon!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It's such a joy for us to offer a home that the whole family can enjoy! Thank you for your wonderful review. Pleasure meeting your family. We look forward to next stay with us.
business
Luxurious, Artistic, Designer Carriage House - 5 Min to Gaslamp, 10 Min to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412455vb
619-851-8884
Mission Hills San Diego County
5

A little piece of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Dear Suzanne,
We had one of the most wonderful week vacation. This included a wedding and our 25 yr. anniversary.
The Carriage House was better than the pictures, so immaculate and all the amenities were perfect.
We loved walking the neighborhood, having coffee and sweets near by and our anniversary meal at the Red Door was fabulous.

We will be back soon. We loved the bed!!!
Joanne and Jim
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Pleasure meeting you both! Thank you for spending your 25th wedding anniversary at our Carriage House! We appreciate your review very much. Safe Travels, see you soon!
business
Luxurious, Artistic, Designer Carriage House - 5 Min to Gaslamp, 10 Min to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412455vb
619-851-8884
Mission Hills San Diego County
Ferndale WA
5

Family visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
A beautiful small house, very tastefully decorated in a quiet neighborhood. Susanne, one of the owners, was wonderful to work with. My husband and I had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this home to stay in. If available, we would definitely stay here again when in San Diego.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxurious, Artistic, Designer Carriage House - 5 Min to Gaslamp, 10 Min to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412455vb
619-851-8884
Mission Hills San Diego County
Prairie Village, Ks
5

Perfect vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was our first trip to San Diego! We loved the city! I have to say a huge part of our great vacation was based off our wonderful stay at The Carriage House. The moment we drove up to the house my husband and I just looked at each other with a big smile! We walked in and immediately felt relaxed. The owners are nothing short of spectacular and go out of their way to host your stay there. The attention. To detail shines everywhere you look! We took pride in staying there and loved the Mission Hills neighborhood. We can't wait to get back there! Life is just easier in the sunshine! We would tell anyone who is looking for an incredible place to stay to contribute to a great San Diego getaway this is hands down the place. There is nothing quite as special as the warmth you feel from the owners and the home. Let's not forget we get to contribute to a great project with helping the horses and other animals through the owners by staying here! Thank you Elizabeth & Susanne for making this place a beautiful and special retreat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Great meeting your family! Thank you so much for your wonderful review! See you soon! Safe Travels.