Camden cottage rental - Located directly on the ledges of beautiful Camden Harbor
Located directly on the ledges of beautiful Camden Harbor
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Camden Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2+ bedrooms, 11/2 baths, sleeps 5, washer,dryer, internet, cable

Unparalleled and unobstructed views of both the inner and outer harbor in beautiful Camden, Maine. Perched on the ledges directly on the harbor, 'The Shop' is the perfect location to enjoy everything that a vacation on the water provides. Sit on the deck and enjoy the active harbor views with constant activity directly in front of you. Easy walking distance to downtown Camden, with all it's restaurants and quaint shops. Also easy walking to the town beach. The views from inside and from on the deck can not be compared with any others in Camden. As one previous guest has stated 'this is the most beautiful spot in the world.' Sorry, but pets and smoking are not allowed in 'The Shop'.

This property has been in our family since the 1940's. For many years it served as the workshop for my grandfather who was a lobsterman. In 1990 my parents rebuilt 'the shop' and made it 3 floors of living space to be used as a summer rental. My mother still lives in the house directly across the street.

Douglas Young purchased this cottage in 1940

10 Reviews of Property 991448 in Camden, Maine

'The Shop' With Views of Camden Harbor like none other. Directly on the ledges
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
'The Shop' With Views of Camden Harbor like none other. Directly on the ledges
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p991448
+1 603 387-8165
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
marshfield,mo usa
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
If you are thinking about renting this property do not hesitate! It was spotless, and everything was there that we needed and more. The owners were great!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'The Shop' With Views of Camden Harbor like none other. Directly on the ledges
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p991448
+1 603 387-8165
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Charming cottage - fantastic views.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Exceptionally clean, well managed vacation rental. Very convenient to town. Beautiful views of the harbor. Accurately described in the listing. Had a wonderful time and hope to return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'The Shop' With Views of Camden Harbor like none other. Directly on the ledges
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p991448
+1 603 387-8165
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

No place better on Camden Harbor.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I and my family and friends have been visiting "The Shop" on Camden Harbor whenever possible for at least 15 or so years. Besides the fantastic view and workings of the harbor the cottage itself is one of the most welcoming vacation accommodations I have been in----extremely clean and well maintained and supplied with all of the comforts of home and gadgets you could possibly need during the length of your stay. It is within easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants of downtown Camden. My perfect place for a week or more in Maine.

M. Wagner, Westchester, NY
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'The Shop' With Views of Camden Harbor like none other. Directly on the ledges
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p991448
+1 603 387-8165
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Titusville, Pennsylvania
5

BEST PLACE IN CAMDEN

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We have been coming to Camden for 10 years and "The Shop" is the best place we have stayed. It is perfectly located near the picturesque downtown area, library, Laite Beach and all the likes of Camden. We walked wherever we needed to go because we were so close. All the amenities we needed were provided with a well stocked kitchen. The views from the deck are tremendous. Our children enjoyed watching the ducks and the seal who frequents the bay. The owners are very sweet and thoughtful. We had such a great time and we are returning in July.
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
'The Shop' With Views of Camden Harbor like none other. Directly on the ledges
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p991448
+1 603 387-8165
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

The Shop at Camden Harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I stay at The Shop every year and have been doing so for many many years. There is no place like it in the world. It cantilevers over Camden Harbor so you can spend your days gazing at the water birds, the yachts and boats arriving and leaving the harbor, the colors of the water as the sun moves across the sky, and the changing colors of the trees on Mount Battie. You don't really need transportation because everything you need is within walking distance...grocery store, restaurants, coffee shop, video store and lots of fun shopping. There are some wonderful walks along the coast that take you to see a beautiful cemetery, belted galloways grazing in a pasture, a children's chapel, and the adjoining town of Rockport. You must spend time in the Camden library which is my home away from home. The owners go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The Shop has everything you will need and is quite roomy and comfortable with views from every room.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'The Shop' With Views of Camden Harbor like none other. Directly on the ledges
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p991448
+1 603 387-8165
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Amazing harbour views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Location could not be better. Stunning views across the harbour and the bay. Camden is also well placed if you like hiking or sailing with plenty of restaurants for a great end of the day. "the Shop" works really well for two, but is more than adequate for four. All amenities you need including a great washer/dryer for folks like us who'd been on the road for a while. The selection of fresh fish at Hannoford's was great and cooking was easy with a well equpped kitchen. Don't miss visiting the Tower on the top of Mount Battie, the view is truly stunning.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'The Shop' With Views of Camden Harbor like none other. Directly on the ledges
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p991448
+1 603 387-8165
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Wonderful Camden Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I had such a wonderful vacation at The Shop. The view completely spoiled us for staying anywhere else in Camden. We loved to sit and look out the big picture window at the comings and goings in the harbor. The yacht club cannon report every morning is a notable timekeeping event, and we enjoyed watching the young sailors learning to control their little boats right outside the window. The stroll to town is short and sweet, as it goes by an ice cream shop. We enjoyed walking down in the evening for a cone.
The Shop is immaculately maintained and very conveniently sized for 2 people, and we were comfortable having 3 guests for part of the week.
I cannot say enough good about staying at The Shop in Camden. Thank you, Youngs, for a delightful vacation!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'The Shop' With Views of Camden Harbor like none other. Directly on the ledges
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p991448
+1 603 387-8165
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

"Alittle bit of Heaven"

"Alittle bit of Heaven"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I stayed here for our 50th wedding anniversary. This is a "little bit of heaven" with spectacular views of Camden Harbor,(along with a harbor seal that kept us entertained).

The shops as well as the restaurants along the waterfront are some of the best in Maine. I recommend the Waterfront with dining outside to view all the boats in the harbor.

If you are looking for a quiet relaxing place to read, stroll along the pier, take a boat ride on one of the Windjammers, view the Harbor from Mt. Battie, just to mention a few things, then this is the place for you.

The property is top notch, being very clean and well maintained. We would highly recommend this place for anyone who loves to be by the water.
.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'The Shop' With Views of Camden Harbor like none other. Directly on the ledges
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p991448
+1 603 387-8165
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Salisbury, MD
5

Mesmerizing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I spent three weeks at "The Shop" in late June and early July. We had not gotten a chance to see the inside before we rented and I was a bit concerned about the size. Would we feel too cramped?

Yes, the house is small, but well equipped, and all the windows and deck make it feel so much bigger. The view is truly mesmerizing. I spent hours watching the traffic flow between the inner and outer harbor. The schooners and yachts were always impressive, of course, but the work boats, sea kayaks and occasional paddle boards were also interesting to watch. We especially loved watching the activity of the kids in the sailing school while they learned to maneuver their little boats. Several evenings we spotted seals in the harbor directly in front of the house and enjoyed watching them dive for fish.

This was one of the most enjoyable vacations we have spent. The harbor view and the close proximity to town and local sites made us feel connected to the Camden Hills community in a way that is rarely duplicated in other vacation rentals. While small (again, the "feel" is of a much bigger place), the house was well equipped. We entertained guests during our stay and felt comfortable accommodating everyone. I recommend the shop highly and we are looking forward to coming back for future visits!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'The Shop' With Views of Camden Harbor like none other. Directly on the ledges
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p991448
+1 603 387-8165
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

I have stayed here several times!!! PERFECT

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I have vacationed here many times over the past several years, most recently last summer. The positives for this rental are numerous. The cottage is family owned and not part of some realty conglomerate. Attentiveness to detail is evident everywhere in the cottage. Upon arrival the house is meticulously clean and ready for occupancy.
If quiet is what you want than the location is ideal. It sits on a side road that is little traveled by towns' people or tourists. And yet is close enough to town that a 15 minute walk will put you in the center of Camden among the shops, restaurants, pubs and the town docks.
You can catch up on all your reading. You can sit on the deck and watch the local lobstermen or day tripper sailboats taking out passengers for a two hour sail, or watch visiting yachtsmen from around the globe glide in and out of the harbor. They have binocolars, be sure to use them as the wildlife is amazing. If you're lucky you can spot a harbor seal or two and watch osprey and eagles soar overhead hunting their next meal.
I strongly recommend you do this for yourself. You will come away rested and anxious to return
Helpful votes: 10/10