Dirty, rundown, unsafe
This cottage is not in a condition to be rented. Exposed outdoor extension cords, overloaded outlets, TV shorted out because of outdoor floodlights. Severed extension cord running under window into house. Dog hair on sheets, mothball smell thruout, Stove not leveled, rocked when used, burner not level, hood vent & light not functional. Windows needed sticks to prop open,dirty doors, walls, cupboards. Spider webs & eggs in cupboards, pantry, behind chairs. No bulbs in 2 ceiling fans. Porch door didn't lock. Screen door won't close. Damaged, unsafe teflon pans, food-spattered kitchen walls, warped unusable outdoor table, front entry littered with sticks. Mildewed indoor chaise. Rusted wallpaper.
Our vacation was ruined.
Owner's Response: I was very sorry for this couple being so very unhappy. The house pictures are all up to date and it is listed as a cottage, not a condo or upscale home, this is the reason the price is the lowest in the area. The lighting had all been pulled up from the renters but we had our handy man put every thing back in place as the outdoor lighting is from Home Depot and meant for outside lighting to add to the beauty of the home at night as the lights shine up into the trees at night to bring the outdoor in. Also, I was very sorry they found a dog hairs, but we do accept pets as they are part of the family and it is almost impossible to remove every hair from the home. This is a beautiful romantic home in the woods and is rustic, but very home friendly and pet friendly. We have a new large screen tv in living room to make sure every one is happy with the tv now. I feel if you want a peaceful, relaxing week in the country this is the home, it is magical and I have always had people have wonderful words in regards to the property.
Helpful votes: 7/11
Did you find this review helpful?