Harbert cottage rental - Enjoy a beautiful fire in the woods outside the home. Nothing better.
Enjoy a beautiful fire in the woods outside the home. Nothing better.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Harbert Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 8 In the woods & near Lake Michigan.

This rustic cottage is located on a beautiful wooded ravine with privacy that you dream of. Listen to the birds sing in the morning while having coffee on the back deck or food and drinks at night by the fire pit under the stars. Lighting up lifts the trees at night to give you a feeling of bringing the outdoors alive at night.This cottage will take you back in time and will give you a relaxing time from a busy life style. Also keep connected with wifi through out the home & on patios.On cool evening enjoy a glass of wine by the fire place in the living room, it will relax you like no other place.

My favorite thing at the house is at night with all the lighting in the trees. I feel like I am in a different world as it is very wooded. A fire in the woods, wine and good company. No other place like this. The sound of the owles at night are amazing.

Tim Applegate purchased this cottage in 1991

A retreat from my busy life in Chicago.

It's very wooded and the way it makes me relax is a wonderful feeling. Takes away from my busy life.

5 Reviews of Property 991260 in Harbert, Michigan

Hidden Treasure
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews
business
Hidden Treasure
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p991260
+1 8887318223
Harbert Southwest Michigan
4

Cozy!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a great time at this cottage it was the perfect distance to get out of Chicago, short drive but felt like you were farther away. We went for an anniversary and enjoyed the beautiful outdoors of this place. The view from the back deck is very peaceful. Built a fire every night! We had to get a little creative in making kindling for the fire as it rained and the wood got wet, but we made it work just fine. We also enjoyed reading the old books and encyclopedia's in the house. The cottage is very cute and cozy. If you are looking to go to a plush hotel or some upscale place, this is not for you. But if you want a great getaway very close to Chicago with a fire, grill, and beautiful outdoors then it's for you. The home is older and has that older in the woods type of feel and smell. Suited us just fine. It had all the amenities needed for cooking. Another visitor mentioned the unleveled stove, one burner was a little tilted but who cares, you could still cook just fine. Light and fan on stove worked fine. The larger room when you walk in had a little musty smell, looks as if it was remodeled into a room from a garage, and maybe that is why but again cottage in the woods, not a hotel. You can't beat the price for this place! We drove into a few little towns in the area, found an amazing meat/butcher shop and got two ribeye steaks to grill for dinner. Grill is new and works great.

Theresa
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hidden Treasure
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p991260
+1 8887318223
Harbert Southwest Michigan
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We really enjoyed nice decor and relaxing atmosphere at the Hidden Treasure as well as its beautiful surroundings and the lake. The house was simple but original. It also had a good selection of films.

Overall, it has a nice ambience and is a good place to chill and relax.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hidden Treasure
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p991260
+1 8887318223
Harbert Southwest Michigan
4

Lovely little cottage for your peaceful getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Quiet, clean, out-of-the-way but still close enough to everything you need. In the time I was there, I grilled all my meals on the back porch. The new firepit is a fantastic addition. Great fireplace with plenty of firewood. Perfect for a group or just a solitary getaway from the hustle and bustle of big-city living. Definitely going back!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Hidden Treasure
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p991260
+1 8887318223
Harbert Southwest Michigan
5

A Beautiful Cottage.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I cannot say enough wonderful things about my family vacation at this cottage. It was in the most beautiful setting of woods. The house was very clean and cozy. The kids loved the yard and fire pit outside and was very romantic with outside lighting at night in the trees. We cooked out every night and thought we would spend more time at the beach but did not want to leave the home. Was great for our dog also as we could leave the living room sliders open and she could go in and out and the back deck is secure. Will be back again this year and can see this becoming a regular get away. I am actually looking forward to a winter stay also as the fireplace makes the home so very cozy. I would recommend this home to any couple or family.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Hidden Treasure
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p991260
+1 8887318223
Harbert Southwest Michigan
1

Dirty, rundown, unsafe

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This cottage is not in a condition to be rented. Exposed outdoor extension cords, overloaded outlets, TV shorted out because of outdoor floodlights. Severed extension cord running under window into house. Dog hair on sheets, mothball smell thruout, Stove not leveled, rocked when used, burner not level, hood vent & light not functional. Windows needed sticks to prop open,dirty doors, walls, cupboards. Spider webs & eggs in cupboards, pantry, behind chairs. No bulbs in 2 ceiling fans. Porch door didn't lock. Screen door won't close. Damaged, unsafe teflon pans, food-spattered kitchen walls, warped unusable outdoor table, front entry littered with sticks. Mildewed indoor chaise. Rusted wallpaper.
Our vacation was ruined.
Owner's Response: I was very sorry for this couple being so very unhappy. The house pictures are all up to date and it is listed as a cottage, not a condo or upscale home, this is the reason the price is the lowest in the area. The lighting had all been pulled up from the renters but we had our handy man put every thing back in place as the outdoor lighting is from Home Depot and meant for outside lighting to add to the beauty of the home at night as the lights shine up into the trees at night to bring the outdoor in. Also, I was very sorry they found a dog hairs, but we do accept pets as they are part of the family and it is almost impossible to remove every hair from the home. This is a beautiful romantic home in the woods and is rustic, but very home friendly and pet friendly. We have a new large screen tv in living room to make sure every one is happy with the tv now. I feel if you want a peaceful, relaxing week in the country this is the home, it is magical and I have always had people have wonderful words in regards to the property.
Helpful votes: 8/13