New Orleans townhome rental - Street View of the Cottage
Street View of the Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

New Orleans Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

**Note-We do NOT advertise on Craigslist***

The Marigny Cottage was recently featured on a Disney network TV show called 'Sweet Retreats' which profiles luxury vacation rentals, and the show's hosts chose the Cottage for their vacation!

The Marigny Cottage is a classic Eastlake Victorian townhouse that was constructed in the early 20th century in New Orleans' Faubourg Marigny neighborhood, which is adjacent to and within walking distance of the French Quarter. The Cottage has recently undergone a major renovation that brings out the charm of an early 20th century residence, updated with all of the modern amenities. The owner recently purchased the Cottage so all furnishings are brand new!

The Cottage, which offers almost 1,500 square feet of living area, has 2 private bedrooms (each with a queen bed) and 1.5 baths, a large formal dining room, a living room, and a spacious eat-in kitchen that opens onto a private courtyard with a Jacuzzi, gas grill and outdoor furniture. The Cottage has 12-foot ceilings, polished hardwood floors, 3 decorative fireplaces and large windows throughout which give the home a light, airy feel. The Cottage has central heating and cooling, and most rooms are equipped with a ceiling fan that takes the edge off of those days when the mercury is running high.

Guests enter the home through a formal entryway characteristic of traditional sidehall cottages. Adjacent to the entryway is a formal dining room featuring an exposed brick fireplace with a decorative mantle and two floor-to-ceiling windows that flood the room in sunlight. This room is furnished with a large farmhouse dining table that seats up to six people and is perfect for those evenings when you just want to order in or have our house manager Sidney prepare you a feast in our fabulous kitchen.

The spacious, light-filled living room has an exposed brick decorative fireplace, a queen sleeper sofa, a loveseat, coffee tables and a lounge chair. The living room also features a 40-inch flat screen HDTV, along with a DVD/CD player and an iPod dock. Wireless high speed internet is available throughout the Cottage.

When you are on vacation nothing is more important than getting a good night's rest. So, we have furnished each bedroom with a new, high-quality pillow top mattress, a down comforter, chenille throws and 600-thread count sheets that we guarantee will make it difficult to get out of bed each morning. Each bedroom has a closet, a dresser, nightstand, an iPod dock/alarm clock, plus the master bedroom has a 26-inch HDTV with DVD player. The master bedroom also has an exposed brick decorative fireplace.

The full bathroom is classic old New Orleans (but in a renovated way) with a pedestal sink and a clawfoot tub with a shower enclosure. The Cottage also has a renovated half-bathroom off of the living room and a large washer and dryer located in the kitchen area. Each bathroom is supplied with high-quality Egyptian cotton towels and bath sheets.

Our large, modern eat-in kitchen is delightfully bathed in sunlight with three sets of windows and a set of French doors that lead to the courtyard. Indeed, our kitchen is uncharacteristically large and airy for historic homes in the Marigny neighborhood. The kitchen features custom cabinetry, stainless steel appliances and is well-equipped with a complete supply of cookware, dishes and cutlery. Small appliances include a toaster oven, a microwave and a blender. We believe that coffee is one of life's great pleasures (and it's taken pretty seriously in NOLA), so we have provided our coffee-loving guests with three options for their morning brew - an espresso maker, a French press and a traditional coffee maker. After you have brewed your morning coffee, simply take a stroll through the French doors into the courtyard to sip your coffee and listen to the sounds of morning in N'Awlins, which might include the horn of a paddlewheeler making its way down the Mississippi a few blocks away!

And while you are in the courtyard, you might as well enjoy all of the amenities offered - soak in the Jacuzzi, throw some Louisiana shrimp on the grill or just relax on the outdoor furniture - the Cottage on Port is so comfortable that you might not want to leave!

Our local house managers - Merri and Sidney Roussell - are native New Orleanians who can be a resource to our guests during their stay. Sidney owns a catering business and is available to prepare in-home meals for our guests at their request. Sidney is also available by appointment to provide guests with black car service during their stay. Please inquire when booking the property.

Keywords: Newly Renovated Luxury Cottage, townhouse, hip, stylish, contemporary

More Details
Hide Details

We are native New Orleanians who currently live in both New orleans and New York. One of us is a writer and part-time designer, while the other is involved in commercial real estate and hospitality.

Owner purchased this townhome in 2011

We bought the Cottage because we were looking for a uniquely New Orleans home in a uniquely New Orleans neighborhood. As we work in New Orleans part-time, this place is our home when we are there.

After those New Orleans nights, which frequently run late, involve lots of food and a 'few' cocktails, I love to crawl into the super-comfortable beds and fall into a deep slumber. Also, evenings in the courtyard and Jacuzzi are great because you can sip on a glass of wine, fire up the grill and watch the sun set behind the church steeples in the distance.

38 Reviews of Property 401219 in New Orleans, Louisiana

Impeccably Renovated Luxury Cottage with Courtyard & Jacuzzi
average rating of 4.8157897 based on 38 reviews
business
Impeccably Renovated Luxury Cottage with Courtyard & Jacuzzi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p401219vb
+1 917-780-2602
New Orleans Louisiana
Wisconsin
5

Great neighborhood for walking

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Stayed here with my daughter, son-in-law and year old grandson. We were in town for my youngest daughter's wedding on Frenchmen St. (about 11 blocks away 15-20 min walk.) Very nice location within walking distance to French Market and Bourbon St. (15-20 min.) and many neighborhood restaurants, bars and co-op grocery. We walked day and night and felt very safe. The house was very clean, well maintained and equipped. Cooling A/C worked great. Great house for adults and children older than 7 or 8. (drawbacks: it is near train tracks and train horns blow at all hours of the day and night. This might bother light sleepers. The backyard and front porch are not toddler/small child friendly...the front porch has no railing and the backyard slab is cracked and broken.) Both areas are fine for adults wanting to get a breeze and equipped with table and chairs. We used United Taxi and White Taxi services.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Impeccably Renovated Luxury Cottage with Courtyard & Jacuzzi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p401219vb
+1 917-780-2602
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Great cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Great, the best, fantastic, what more would you want. Hot tub was a great asset. Enjoyed coming home to a wonderful, peaceful, place. We were there for just four days and would love to go back for a longer visit. The cottage was so well furnished that the only thing we were missing was a cheese grater. So, I bought one an it ended up in my luggage, some how back home. Sorry Must do Elizabeth's restaurant, the best gumbo and food in the Quarter is the Old coffee pot restaurant, Louisiana bistro is another favorite we go to always, and if your going to be there on a Thursday check out Tracey's up in the Magazine st area. As you can tell we are foodies, but loved coming home to a great place. Highly suggest you give it a try
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Impeccably Renovated Luxury Cottage with Courtyard & Jacuzzi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p401219vb
+1 917-780-2602
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Bestie's 40th Birthday Celebration

Bestie's 40th Birthday Celebration
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This house is incredible and we instantly loved it as soon as we stepped into the dining area from the foyer. It is well kept and fully equipped with all of your possible needs. The beds are so comfortable and that is saying a lot since I rarely sleep through the night when I am away from home. We all slept like babies. Also, we went to 4 of the nearby restaurants and cafes close by that were recommended by the owner and we couldn't have been happier. The food was fantastic at all of them. We went to Satsuma Cafe, Elizabeth's, The Joint & Killer Po'boys. We ate at many other places outside of those four because New Orleans is a city full of amazing food. The house was perfectly situated because it was close to all the major attractions. We mostly walked everywhere which was good because we ate a lot. LOL! We walked to through exploring the Bywater/Marigny neighborhood where we stayed to Frenchman street which has great music, bars, and food as well. We went over to the French Market, explored all of the French Quarter, and walked down past Canal Street. We did this daily. The only time we did not walk from the house was when we went to Magazine Street to do more shopping, eat at Dooky Chase's Restaurant, and to have brunch at Lil' Dizzy's but those place were a short, inexpensive cab ride away. Those places are also a must see and visit, too. We had blast on our short trip to NOLA and at the house although we did not use the beautiful kitchen except to make coffee. That was mainly because out of the four of us, two of us had never been to New Orleans, so we spent a lot of time out. We will definitely stay here again when we visit New Orleans and make it a longer trip. And before I end, please let me tell you that the people of New Orleans are some of the nicest people I have ever encountered. Everyone and I mean everyone said "Hello" and "Good Morning" when you passed them no matter what they or you were doing. That meant a lot to four girls from the city of Chicago. Be Well.
business
Impeccably Renovated Luxury Cottage with Courtyard & Jacuzzi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p401219vb
+1 917-780-2602
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Great property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The house was recently remodeled and incredibly clean with a complete kitchen. The hot tub was fairly new and well maintained. It was such an added bonus since I ran the rock and roll 1/2 marathon while I was there. I loved the area and the street life and restaurants. I would try to stay at this property during future trips to N.O.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Impeccably Renovated Luxury Cottage with Courtyard & Jacuzzi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p401219vb
+1 917-780-2602
New Orleans Louisiana
Where do you live?
5

Christmas 2013 in NoLa!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We are four adults 60+, seasoned party animals. We had a great time. This is a cozy and spacious place for two couples. Put a kid or two on the sleeper sofa in the living room if you need to. The cottage has been recently updated and is in great shape. The location is great. It is a 10 block walk to Frenchman St. where the best music clubs are, and just a little further to the French Quarter. Several good restaurants and coffee shops are also a short walk away. A week before our arrival the owner emailed a nice "manual", with house instructions and local points of interest.

The kitchen is modern and well equipped. You can cook full meals at home. There is a good grocery store 4 blocks away. I recommend taking stock of what is in the pantry before shopping. Many non-perishable staples like condiments, cooking oils and cereals were there already, all with good "use by" dates. I sense that the caretaker closley manages the leftovers. I recommend the Rouse's grocery on Baronne if you're a foodie and have a car. We very much enjoyed taking a cooking class at Langlois, another easy walk.

We had a car because it was December and rainy, and we're old and can afford it. The weather also made the hot tub all the more enjoyable! You could stay here without a car in good weather. You can catch a couple major city bus lines right on the corner and/or a couple blocks away. Buy an unlimited 3 day city bus pass for $9 at the nearby Walgreens.

I would not advise anyone to walk alone late at night in any major city, but we felt safe walking here in a group. Local people smiled and said hello from their stoops and doorways. There is a mix of houses that need work, and many that have been fully restored. We always had a place to park right in front of the cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Impeccably Renovated Luxury Cottage with Courtyard & Jacuzzi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p401219vb
+1 917-780-2602
New Orleans Louisiana
4

Nice property in authentic NOLA neighborhood.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband, brother, sister-in-law and I rented this house for my husband's 50th & Thanksgiving for a week in late November. Its a unique and very nice property with high ceilings, wood floors, lovely kitchen, cute backyard with hot tub (that we made use of a few times) and nice dining-living room with large HDTV (a 2nd one is in one of the bedrooms). We loved the artwork, large windows in front, well-stocked kitchen, large dining table and comfortable beds with nice bedding. We cooked and ate Thanksgiving dinner in-house.

The neighborhood is great; its about 10 blocks outside the French Quarter but during the daytime its about a 25 min walk--we walked down Royal Street which we enjoyed doing one day. The Co-op and Mardi Gras Zone (open 24/7) are close by for both groceries and food (not a fan of the pizza however). We loved taking photos of the colorful houses in Marigny and visiting Lost Love Lounge a few blocks away. It was cold and rainy a few days and we were happy to have a car for those days but parking in the French Quarter is expensive. Cab rides were reasonable.

There were a couple downsides however during our stay: there were plumbing issues that the manager did try to address but it took 2x to resolve water leakage from both toliets. (It may have been a sewer issue??) I loved the clawfoot tub for baths but the others didn't like the fact that there isn't a regular dedicated shower. The shower head was out of reach for adjustment for us all except my 6'4" husband. Perhaps adding another-2nd-lower showerhead with hose would help? It was unusually cold during our stay and the house became somewhat cold/drafty at times especially the floors (we didn't bring slippers!) The thermostat was a bit tricky. The addition of a portable heater or 2 would have been nice (vs 2 ionizers which we thought were heaters initially.)

The living room was nice and rather modern but not a big fan of the couch which sometimes opened up a bit (its a sofa bed) while sitting on it. Perhaps a few pillows would've been nice? The 2nd bedroom's a little small with very contemporary furniture but comfortable. We'd definitely consider staying there again but probably not in cold weather. The owner was very accommodating and flexible regarding payment which we appreciated. The manager was responsive as well. Overall 4-4.5 stars. Without the few issues, it would've been a 5! Thanks much for providing a nice place for our 4rth visit to NOLA!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Daina -

I am glad you all had a good stay. As you mentioned, we had been dealing with a plumbing issue that was related to the city sewerage system. We had the plumber come out immediately and clear the lines and also had the city come out. The issue is now resolved and it's too bad that it happened during your stay.

We will consider getting a space heater for cold days, but to be clear, we have a modern, central heating/cooling system that works quite well, along with a state-of-the-art NEST thermostat. If you turn the heat up, the house gets quite warm and stays warm when the heat is on. It is a traditional NOLA raised house so there is no insulation under the floors. We have considered getting more rugs, but find that they gather dust and detract from the "clean" feeling of polished hardwood floors.

We have a traditional, yet renovated bathroom with a claw foot tub/shower. We are pretty clear about that in our description. The shower head is probably higher than in a new bathroom, but my wife, who is 5'7 has no issues reaching it and adjusting it, nor has any other guest complained about the height of the shower head. It sort of sounds like you would have preferred a modern bathroom, which is fine. Our bathroom, while renovated, is very traditional to houses of the period, which is kind of the point.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Impeccably Renovated Luxury Cottage with Courtyard & Jacuzzi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p401219vb
+1 917-780-2602
New Orleans Louisiana
Cherry Hill, NJ, USA
5

At Home in the Marigny

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
There is nothing more wonderful than getting away with my family and New Orleans is one of our favorite places in the world. We love to stay in homes that feel as if we are a part of the neighborhood and this home did just that. Though we frequently stay in The Quarter when we visit, my daughter convinced us the Marigny was the place to be. The amenities, the artwork, the attention to detail throughout the home made us feel special. The home is impeccably decorated, and was totally comfortable for the five of us. We walked the Marigny and to the French Quarter and Frenchmans Street. We loved everything about it, we just wished we had more time. Next time we will stay in one night and have Sidney Cook us a meal.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Impeccably Renovated Luxury Cottage with Courtyard & Jacuzzi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p401219vb
+1 917-780-2602
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Great Stay, Great Fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was a great rental for our 4 night stay in New Orleans. The home was just as described on the VRBO site and very comfortable for 4 adults. The home is stylish and welcoming and the kitchen is well-equipped, a key factor on our rental wish list. We found the neighborhood to be charming, safe and friendly.

We had a rental car but chose to walk nearly everywhere, to the French Quarter, the French Market area, Frenchman’s Street, etc. We even felt comfortable walking later at night but that an individual decision. The owner’s detailed information about the neighborhood, walking routes, distances to key locations and other recommendations were invaluable and accurate.

During our stay, there was a significant plumbing issue that occurred, but it was quickly addressed and resolved by the owner, who was both accessible and very responsive to our concern. Having been long time VRBO renters, we know these issues can arise, and can affect one’s stay. We were very appreciative of the responsiveness and quick resolution. We highly recommend this rental. It was probably the best vacation home we have rented on VRBO and thought the rental fees were very reasonable for a premium property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Impeccably Renovated Luxury Cottage with Courtyard & Jacuzzi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p401219vb
+1 917-780-2602
New Orleans Louisiana
Brooklyn
5

Adventurous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We set out to be adventurous and that is what we got. Without a car we walked everywhere without complaint, having beautiful weather for the week. During our walks we were able to view the renovations of the neighborhood as well as discovering hidden restaurants and markets. My favorite thing was finding the many vibrantly painted homes in Marigny or the Bywater. While I encourage walking during the day we didn't feel as safe walking at night and called cabs from United Cabs Inc. which was very prompt and reasonable. The house was immaculate and had a fun collection of wall hangings. The bed was high quality, super comfortable and added the finishing touch to our adventurous days.

We took a horse drawn carriage town/cemetery tour which I would recommend. We ate at Elizabeth's for breakfast and dinner at Snug Harbor and our favorite 3 Muses on Frenchman Street with its awesome food and great Jazz. Our daily afternoon snack was at the Orange Couch while we were headed back to the cottage after a long day. We found an interesting wine & cheese place with live music that we made a night out of and continued on for dinner...Bacchanal 600 Poland Ave. Must order the corn on the cob with grated parmigiana cheese...nice surprise. We adventured into The French Quarter and was not thrilled with Bourbon Street but liked sitting by the Mississippi River eating a muffaletta which everyone must do. Shopped in the French Market and had coffee and beignets at Cafe du Monde which reminded me of Cappacino and Zeppoli's
This is a definite choice for someone looking for a less "touristy" way to see New Orleans.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Impeccably Renovated Luxury Cottage with Courtyard & Jacuzzi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p401219vb
+1 917-780-2602
New Orleans Louisiana
4

Fun Stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Great rental for a girls trip! 5 of us fit very comfortably and had so much fun! Glad that we rented a car, because the neighborhood didn't feel as safe as we had expected for walking, but everything was very close and accessible. And we did feel very safe in the home. The French Quarter was less than a 5 minute drive (probably only a 20 minute walk). Very convenient and I would stay here again. Thanks for having us!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: Virginia - I am glad you guys had a great stay and would gladly return! However, it's really too bad that you didn't feel comfortable exploring the neighborhood on foot because you missed the essence of one of the best neighborhoods in town that is at the heart of New Orleans' revival. What the neighborhood isn't is a "Disneyfied" version of New Orleans that you will find in the French Quarter or in many parts of the Garden District; but it is an eclectic mix of pristine houses, weathered creole cottages, hipsters, old timers, artists, bohemians and wayfarers. Indeed, it is an eclectic neighborhood that has had a diverse population since being established in the early 1800s, welcoming immigrants from Germany, Ireland and Italy, as well as free persons of color - a diversity that still exists. It is a great neighborhood where people freely ride bikes, walk dogs and sit on their porches chatting with their neighbors. What you missed by not walking around are some of the best new restaurants in town including Maurepas, Booty's and Mariza.

While we of course welcome all guests, perhaps those who will enjoy the house most, are those who are prepared to engage and to explore and who want to see different perspectives of New Orleans; for those who want the balconies, the beads and the caricature that much of the city has become, you might do better staying in the French Quarter, but missing out on one of the true treasures of New Orleans.
Helpful votes: 2/2