Jefferson cabin rental - Incredible sunsets across the pond
Incredible sunsets across the pond
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Jefferson Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Sleeping loft (2 twin and l Queen bed), double futon in living room, 1 bath

If romance and privacy are what you desire, or a private place for you and your family to take a vacation, then look no more! We have a charming post and beam cabin with breathtaking views from every window and a wonderful screened porch to enjoy during the summer months. The cabin sits on almost 10 acres with an acre and a half, spring fed swimming pond which is 25 ft. deep. During the summer there is a raft and pedal boat on the pond and swimming is magnificent!

We also have a mountain stream that flows the length of our property.

We can see our neighbors' homes from our cabin, but they are not close. You will have all of the privacy you desire!

The sunsets and sunrises are AMAZING!

Leaf peeping in late September, early October is breath taking! There are several places for the kids to enjoy . Close by is Santa's Village, Six Gun City, and about 45 min. away is Story Land and Clark's Trained Bears.

We are located in the Great North Woods surrounded by the White Mountains. There is a 4,000+ foot mountain practically in our back yard.

Logan Airport is approx 3 hours away. There are smaller airports close by (Burlington, Vt. Manchester, N.H)

We have snowshoes for use.

There is no tub, only a large shower in the bathroom. Leading to the loft is a library ladder where there are 2 twin beds and one queen bed. In the living room is a very comfortable double futon.

The main source of heat is a wood stove. There is a gas stove in the basement used to keep the cabin at 50 degrees when the cabin is not in use.

There is NO dishwasher. The kitchen is well equipped with spices, pots, pans, microwave, crock pot.

We have linens and anything else that you might need, along with a washer and dryer.

We are NOT connected to the internet and do NOT have cable TV. There is a library in town for internet. We have a TV and DVD's.

There is a patio with a barbecue grill and a short distance from the cabin is a fire pit for bon fires.

SMOKING IS NOT ALLOWED!

PETS ARE NOT ALLOWED! IFYOU ARE ALLERGIC TO DOGS, THIS IS NOT THE RENTAL FOR YOU. WE OWN A DOG!

More Details
Hide Details

We are both retired school teachers who designed the cabin ourselves and had the cabin built in 2007.

The cabin is a romantic place no matter what season you visit! Bring a good book, relaxing clothes, kick back and enjoy the peace and tranquility that abounds. It is the perfect place for a couple, or for a small family.

If you are an early riser, the sunrises are beautiful! The evening sunsets can also be breathtaking!

9 Reviews of Property 990290 in Jefferson, New Hampshire

Nirvana awaits you in this charming post and beam in Lancaster,NH, USA
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Nirvana awaits you in this charming post and beam in Lancaster,NH, USA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p990290
+1 860 533-7199
Jefferson White Mountains
5

Amazing, cozy cabin - gorgeous property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We just spent 3 days over Thanksgiving at this cabin with our three children and it was amazing! We were looking to “get away from it all” and it was the perfect setting. We spent our time playing games and doing puzzles by the fire, drinking hot chocolate, and taking lots of walks around the pond. We saw lots of wild turkeys and some deer. It snowed the first night and the view of the pond in the sun was incredible – so sparkly! The cabin had everything we needed, including what was necessary to make Thanksgiving dinner. There were enough beds for all 5 of us and they were SO comfortable! Jim and Elaine were very accommodating and have truly created a little piece of heaven - we felt like we were staying in a winter wonderland, and while it was a great family getaway, my husband and I both agreed that it would also be a perfect place to go w/o kids!! One day we walked down the road to a farm and visited the horses and sheep, and we also spent one day at Santa’s Village (5 min. away). I’m sure this cabin is wonderful in the summer also, but we found it to be an incredible winter treasure!
business
Nirvana awaits you in this charming post and beam in Lancaster,NH, USA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p990290
+1 860 533-7199
Jefferson White Mountains
5

Great family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We loved everything about this place. We are a family of three with one six year old boy, and the exploration around the site was enough to keep him occupied alone. Add to that the fact that this location is super close to Santa's Village and other area attractions and it was just a total hit. It's clean, very well appointed, with comfy beds, and had everything we needed. Usually with home away properties, I bring sponges, toilet paper, paper towels, soap, etc. I didn't have to worry about any of that and boy, is that ever appreciated. It was like staying at a friend's house who had anticipated every need. The owner was very pleasant to interact with...gosh, I felt like she WAS a friend by the end of the trip! The pedal boat was SUPER fun, the cows at a farm nearby and the peaceful sound of their bells rattling as you're cleaning up from the day, the sun setting...it's wonderful. Suffice to say this place was totally super. I will make this one comment though as a consideration: the ladder to the loft is steep and one has to be somewhat agile to get up there, and have a strong bladder as it isn't something you'd want to tackle in the middle of the night. This was not an issue for us, but figured I'd mention it. Overall an awesome rental property. Probably the best we've ever done, and we've done a lot on this site. Thanks.
Owner's Response: Thank you for coming to the cabin and for your lovely review. We especially loved your son's comment in our guest book, "I love this place!" We hope the library ladder did not cause an issue for you. When we have guests, we usually let them stay on the futon so they are next to the bathroom. But...you are right, it is a consideration for a lot of people.
business
Nirvana awaits you in this charming post and beam in Lancaster,NH, USA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p990290
+1 860 533-7199
Jefferson White Mountains
5

Couldn't ask for more!

Couldn't ask for more!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The place was everything we envisioned and more.

First off, communication with Elaine was easy and she was very responsive to any questions we had before arrival. Due to our uncertainty of arrival time, being able to access the house without physically meeting anyone was very convenient.

Upon arrival, the house and yard was completely cleaned and well-manicured. The interior of the house was well laid out, and well furnished. It had all the modern conveniences without losing the backwoods feeling of the cabin’s location. Every day we used the kitchen and outside propane grill to cook breakfast and dinner. We had just completed 3 days of hiking in the Presidential Range, and being able to do laundry at the house was a much appreciated feature. Elaine left out take-out menus for the local restaurants, and we took up her recommendation of JL Sullivans Irish Pub, which was the best food we had during our vacation.

We spent almost every waking hour at the cabin within the screened-in porch. We ate all our meals in the porch, took in some sun, and played board games (which were stocked in the cabin). Outside at night the bugs were sometime brutal when near the water (which was expected), so the porch was where we enjoyed most the sunsets and late nights.

The fire pit was well stocked with dry wood, and was another great spot to watch sunsets while treating ourselves to s’mores.

The cabin is VERY private, which is exactly what we wanted. Located off a dirt road, you rarely heard a passing car, and trees lining the property prevented you from seeing any traffic. The neighbor’s house can barely be seen from the cabin, and the pond is set at a lower elevation and is completely private. We enjoyed taking the paddle boat out, swimming in the pond, and lounging on the dock in the middle of the pond. We counted 11 turtles that sunned themselves on the rocks every day. We also saw a Great Blue Heron by a pond.

AMAZING views from every window the house. Every night we were treated to some of the greatest sunsets we ever saw. Took too many photos to count.

Upon leaving, we were already talking about coming back. The pictures of this place do not do it any justice, it needs to be experienced. It’s such a beautiful piece of property, and our short hiatus at the cabin was a breath of fresh air.
Owner's Response: Kyle and Kat,
Thank you so much for staying at our cabin. We are so thrilled that you loved it and that it exceeded your expectations. You really described the privacy of the pond very well for people reading the reviews. I'd love to see some of the pictures that you took! I never get tired of looking at pictures of the cabin! Wishing you well! Elaine
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nirvana awaits you in this charming post and beam in Lancaster,NH, USA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p990290
+1 860 533-7199
Jefferson White Mountains
5

Charming peaceful cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family and I cannot wait to go back and visit this cabin! We felt so comfortable and so welcome! The owners Elaine and Jim put a lot of pride and care into their property and they definitely made us feel like part of their family. The views from the cabin are amazing and my boys loved the swimming and fishing. We also loved the privacy. --Nicole W.
Owner's Response: Thank you for spending your family vacation at the cabin. We are so glad that your boys loved swimming and fishing in our pond and agree that the views and privacy make staying at the cabin a very magical visit.
business
Nirvana awaits you in this charming post and beam in Lancaster,NH, USA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p990290
+1 860 533-7199
Jefferson White Mountains
5

Absolutely stunning!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I stayed at Elaine's cabin in Lancaster, NH for a week. What a beautiful cabin! It is abundantly clear that Elaine very much loves the property, which is meticulously and expertly maintained. The condition of the cabin is new/excellent. The pictures and description of the property are accurate.

The views are breath taking in every direction. There are so many things to do and see at the cabin that we didn't mind when it rained briefly during our stay. We took advantage of the kitchen (which is very well stocked with appliances and cooking utensils), the boat, the dock, the fire pit, and the screened-in patio while we were there.

The cabin itself is very secluded and the wildlife in the surrounding area is abundant! We saw wild turkeys, groundhogs, frogs, snakes, and turtles. We also had one beaver sighting, three bear sightings, and a moose sighting, all from the cabin! We feel very fortunate to have spotted a moose, which, according to Elaine, has become more rare since the winters have been warmer.

Lancaster was by far our favorite town we visited while in NH. Elaine made some great recommendations, including where to find great steaks in a local convenience store. There is also a Shaws and RiteAid conveniently located in the heart of the town. The selection of restaurants in Lancaster was the largest we saw in the area. We went to the three main restaurants in town (at least that we found walking down Rt 2/3) including Scorpio's Pizzeria, Moonbeam Café (closed Monday and Tuesday), and JL Sullivans Irish Pub, all of which were tasty. Moonbeam Café is on the more expensive side, especially for Dinner, but still very reasonable.

While you likely could find hikes close by, we found ourselves driving a lot to the white mountains as well as up at the CT lakes in northern NH. There are many hiking books available at the cabin that we used. Next time we visit we plan on doing more research regarding hiking trails close to town to cut down on driving time.

Elaine was very accommodating and easy to get in touch with. We overall had a wonderful experience! The location is perfect and the house is very comfortable. If you are looking for a quite relaxing getaway, this is the place for you! We will definitely be returning in the future! HIGHLY recommended!
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at our cabin, our little slice of heaven. We are so excited that you saw the variety of wild animals while inside the cabin. It is amazing that you saw them all in one week. You were very fortunate! If you didn't get to Arethusa Falls, hopefully you will be able to hike it next time. It is quite a beautiful hike especially the day after a rain.
I can't express how happy I am that you enjoyed yourselves as much as you did. This is what renting the cabin and visiting it is all about. Thank you again!
Elaine
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nirvana awaits you in this charming post and beam in Lancaster,NH, USA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p990290
+1 860 533-7199
Jefferson White Mountains
Boston, MA
5

Peaceful, Secluded, Cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I rented Elaine's cabin for a weekend in February.

The cabin is lovely! Well appointed, clean, comfortable. It is certainly cozy, but when I think of cabins I think of smaller, cozy spaces, so it fit the bill perfectly for me.

As for the neighborhood/town, it is very quaint, we loved it. We went shopping at the Shaw's for groceries (15 minutes) and also my dad made friends with the locals at a nearby country store. This was exactly what we were looking for.

There are stunning vistas from both the front and back of the cabin. Whoever designed it placed the windows thoughtfully, as there is a view from every window in the house!

I would love to revisit in the summer to take advantage of the small pond and nearby hiking trails. We were hoping for a winter wonderland type of visit, but it was unusually not-snowy for the time of year. The locals were calling it a "tragedy".

Elaine was very informative, communicated well during the entire process and was very thoughtful; she had her friend there plow and salt for us as the drive was a bit icy.

I would certainly visit again and recommend to family or friends!
business
Nirvana awaits you in this charming post and beam in Lancaster,NH, USA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p990290
+1 860 533-7199
Jefferson White Mountains
5

Quiet Get away with beautiful views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The house is very charming with views of pond and mountains from comfort of couch looking out picture window and bedroom loft for sunrises. Very private and quiet street. 20-45 minutes to most destinations, but no heavy tourist traffic near cabin. There is a nice drive or walk up Prospect mountain with beautiful views of Washington valley, stone fire tower, a house and carriage house just off RT 3. This is the mountain you view out the cabin picture window and with binoculars you can see buildings. Elaine was a very gracious host to talk too with any questions we may have had. Would definitely do it again. Thank You for the most relaxing time we have had in a long time.
business
Nirvana awaits you in this charming post and beam in Lancaster,NH, USA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p990290
+1 860 533-7199
Jefferson White Mountains
5

A fantasy come true!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
All we can say is WOW!!! My wife and I were planning a trip to NH for a wedding and wanted to make an extended vacation out of it. We were hoping to find a secluded place for a romantic getaway with good access to hiking and all the natural beauty of the White Mountains. We were thrilled when we found this place on the HomeAway website. It was exactly what we were looking for and was unlike any other property we saw. Did it live up to all our expectations? The answer is an absolute YES!!!

Both the cabin and the setting are stunning. We enjoyed using the large pond in the daytime and were happy to share it with the beavers that swam it every night at sunset while we watched them in cozy comfort from the picture window of the cabin.

The interior of the cabin is just as inviting as the outside. What a great place to read, play a game or just relax. We loved its high ceiling and lofted sleeping area. We cooked all our meals using the lovely, well stocked kitchen and the provided gas grill outside. The cabin has a great screened porch and all the amenities we needed (including a super-size washer/dryer). Shopping was easy. There are two small stores nearby and a full sized grocery store located in Lancaster which is about 15 minutes away.

The cabin has great access to hiking in the Mt. Washington area and we used a hiking guide on the bookshelf to select the two hikes we made (Mt Avalon & Arethusa Falls). We also tried the Bretton Woods Canopy Zip-Line Tour (highly recommended).

We didn’t meet the owner directly but interacted with her several times by phone, text and email. She could not have been more helpful and her genuine concern that we enjoy her place as much as she does was greatly appreciated.

Our stay in the cabin was a fantasy come true. If we were looking for a getaway place of our own my wife and I both agree we’d want one just like this.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Nirvana awaits you in this charming post and beam in Lancaster,NH, USA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p990290
+1 860 533-7199
Jefferson White Mountains
5

Family Fun in the Mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family of four has enjoyed staying at this cabin for the past few years. We have two small children and rent for a full week in the summertime. This cabin getaway is the perfect place for us to reconnect with nature and visit some beautiful nearby attractions. This is much more affordable than staying at an average family motel in the area for the same amount of time. With a full kitchen and outdoor grill, we ate most of our meals here! At the cabin, our children love to catch frogs and go fishing. They have so much fun swimming in the cool brook and pond. The peddle boat is a great way to travel to the dock. The kids love jumping off! The wildlife is all around us. We have seen small black bear cub, Kingfisher family of birds, many frogs, turtles, great blue heron, and other beautiful birds. We enjoy exploring the brook and having campfires. The cabin is fun for our kids and very family friendly. They love climbing the ladder to the sleeping loft! The sunrise wakes us each morning and the bullfrogs put us to sleep each night. There are many wonderful family activities within a short drive of the cabin. We visit Santa's Village (a few miles away), go to Mt. Washington, visit Littleton's famous candy store- Chutter's, hiking beautiful falls and trails, just to name a few of our favorite family outings.
Owner's Response: We are honored that our cabin will forever be a part of your family's vacation memories!
Helpful votes: 5/5