Tom Nevers house rental - Hydrangeas abound in every garden
Hydrangeas abound in every garden
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Tom Nevers House Rental Photos and Description
House, 6 Bedrooms, 4.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Exclusive colonial home and guest 1 bedroom apartment with expansive outdoor decks, gardens and entertainment areas on nearly 3 acres. Perfect for two families or extended families (six bedrooms and two kitchens). Close to Sconset, bike paths and a short distance from Tom Nevers and Madequecham beaches. Privacy and plenty of room will make your Nantucket vacation just right.

House is in new condition and was recently outfitted with new furniture, linens, and kitchenware and an outdoor shower. Both the main and guest homes have washer/dryers.

We have vacationed on Nantucket for over 25 years and have equipped our home with amenities to make your beach vacation as effortless as possible: coolers, plenty of beach chairs, towels, boogie boards and a gas grill.

Keywords: Beach House, Rental Home, Tom Nevers, Summer Home, Family Home, Two-Family Home, Rental Property, Summer Beach House

Relax on the deck with your coffee and muffins after taking a bike ride to Sconset. Then head out to swim or fish at any of the numerous private beaches only a few minutes drive away. Return to watch the sunset from the upstairs porch and enjoy a relaxed dinner outside on the patio. Life is good.

23 Reviews of Property 257976 in Tom Nevers, Massachusetts

Elegant Family Home and Guest House in Private Setting
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
business
Elegant Family Home and Guest House in Private Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257976vb
(860) 690-3262 (Connecticut, USA)
Tom Nevers Nantucket
5

Beyond Expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The pictures do not do this house justice! The grounds, the main house, and the carriage house were all so well planned, executed decorated, and maintained. The owners truly thought of everything.

My wife and I got married on the island in September. Although the ceremony and reception were all in town, the house served as a home base for many of our guests. The large living room, dining room and kitchen accommodated our family and friends throughout the extended weekend. The expansive deck and numerous seating areas throughout the grounds were well suited for the type and size gathering that we held.

The deck and grounds were really large. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the well landscaped lawn and grounds. The deck had ample seating, and the fire pit and other seating areas were great. The grill was large enough to cook enough hot dogs and hamburgers for 10 people at one time.

The carriage house was ideal for our needs, and was such an excellent benefit of the property. While my wife and I were quietly away in our own separate apartment, the main house comfortably slept 8 of our guests. Even with a full house, the house never seemed crowed. There were enough bathrooms and hot water to accommodate our family staying in the house and our other guests that stopped by. The linens and towels were all fresh. The owner’s cleaning service did an excellent job making sure the main house and carriage house were all very clean.

The kitchen is absolutely fantastic. We held a dinner for 25 people on the property. The large kitchen had every possible pot, pan, knife, tool, and gadget to cook the entire meal. The large refrigerator and stand alone freeze, along with the food processor, mixer, and blender allowed us to accommodate all of our guests. With a large center island, the kitchen became the main gathering place during our 5 day visit.

The owners were great throughout the entire process. They promptly answered any questions. They were very helpful and accommodating. They even offered to help with any last minute wedding details.

The location might be the only drawback. The property is tucked away, and is not on the beach. However, the Wave stop is close by, and our guests became very familiar with its schedule.

The house has all of the amenities and features to make the property an ideal place to stay for a family or group gathering. We would happily and highly recommend this property to anyone, and we look forwa
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Elegant Family Home and Guest House in Private Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257976vb
(860) 690-3262 (Connecticut, USA)
Tom Nevers Nantucket
Massachusetts
5

Fantastic living inside and out.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
A most memorable vacation in a very well equipped home with extraordinary landscaping and outdoor living. The house and carriage house were immaculately kept and maintained. My family enjoyed the private setting while being close to the beach and bike paths. The owners went out of their way to welcome us and to make sure everything was perfect. It was pleasurable in every way. I would highly recommend this property to any family, you will not be disappointed in any way and it is likely to surpass all expectations.
business
Elegant Family Home and Guest House in Private Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257976vb
(860) 690-3262 (Connecticut, USA)
Tom Nevers Nantucket
North Reading, MA
5

Spectacular Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Everyone's day should start here on the back deck with a cup of coffee and the sound of birds chirping.

The gardens are full of beautiful plantings, paths and little places to sit. Every corner both inside and outside is well thought out with delightful details. The artwork makes the home colorful and happy.

We loved the large kitchen which is a pleasure to cook and to clean in with plenty of space for the kids to stay with us. The pantry has everything from beach coolers to an ice cream maker. We all found something to interest us in the library, the laundry is conveniently located, the bathrooms are bright and cheery and the dining room fit us all comfortably. Every bedroom is comfortable and inviting with beautiful bedding that made going to sleep at night and waking up in the morning a pleasure.

The beaches are a quick drive but we rode our rented bikes to the beach as well. The activity in the center of town is close enough but not too close.

We had a large family with 6 teenagers on this vacation. No one disappeared behind a closed door. I cannot wait to visit again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Elegant Family Home and Guest House in Private Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257976vb
(860) 690-3262 (Connecticut, USA)
Tom Nevers Nantucket
5

Idyllic Oasis full of charm and comfort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We found the house to be everything promised and more! The gardens and walkways enchanting, the house warm, cheerful, and tastefully decorated, and so comfortable. The beds, linens, and towels, clean and high quality for a blissful night's sleep. The kitchen, a cooks dream. Nothing overlooked for cooking for a large family (we were 8 adults and 4 young children), including kitchen supplies and tools. The butler's pantry stocked with every imaginable need for entertaining and meal preparation.
The gardens were gorgeous, the air scented with California privet hedges blooming and abundant hydrangeas with many flowering annuals and perennials everywhere. The herb garden helped ensure the fish we caught were perfectly seasoned! There were many secret gardens to find, quiet places to relax, read, play, explore and sunbathe. The property is lovingly cared for. Inside, every living area is well planned for the utmost comfort and charm.

Town was a short drive or good bike-ride away and adorable Sconset was even closer. The public golf course was just down the road and made for a fun afternoon for several in our group. The beaches are everywhere and fun to explore – everything you need to go (umbrella, chairs, cooler) is in the house, so not to worry!

We, as a family have rented numerous vacation homes over the past 36 years and never found one so quintessentially perfect. On top of it all, the owners were above and beyond helpful in both getting us there and making sure we were all comfortable once we got there - top notch all the way!

This home is a magical place, once you have been there you will start to plan your return! We can't wait to go back! We didn't want to leave!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Elegant Family Home and Guest House in Private Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257976vb
(860) 690-3262 (Connecticut, USA)
Tom Nevers Nantucket
Newton MA
5

girls' getaway

girls' getaway
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The house and grounds were beautiful and very private - no other houses can be seen. Access to the main road, bicycle trail, 'Sconset, and a large nature area with wide vistas and walks were very close by. The house was furnished beautifully and comfortably, kitchen well appointed, beds and bed linens were luxurious. The outdoor shower was wonderful and completely private. Everything was so clean and fresh looking. The owners were very helpful - this property is well cared for and cared about. I recommend it highly.
Note there is no bedroom and only a half-bath on the main floor so this is not a handicap accessible property for those with mobility problems.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Elegant Family Home and Guest House in Private Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257976vb
(860) 690-3262 (Connecticut, USA)
Tom Nevers Nantucket
-
5

Peaceful and comfortable!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We needed a place to stay while attending a wedding in Tom Nevers. We chose to stay in this cozy guest apartment which ended up being an ideal home base both for exploring the island and for joining in the wedding festivities. The apartment is perfect for a couple- has all the amenities you need including air conditioning, flat screen TV, washer/dryer and fully equipped kitchen. The home is set at the end of a private lane and is quiet but not isolated. We only used the guest apartment, but the house was set off separately and was landscaped beautifully. Everything went smoothly during our stay and we hope we can return!
business
Elegant Family Home and Guest House in Private Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257976vb
(860) 690-3262 (Connecticut, USA)
Tom Nevers Nantucket
Atlanta
5

More than we expected!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our family travels quite a bit and we like to stay in places that make us feel at home. This was why we chose this particular house for our vacation.

This trip was particularly special for us because our family members were getting together to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary. We had a group of twelve people with ages ranging from 2 to 77. This house (and the owner) made our first trip to Nantucket an absolutely picture-perfect event.

The house sits on a beautiful property and driving up to it makes you feel like you are in your own private world. The three acre lot is peacefully tucked away and the grounds are exquisitely manicured. The house is very spacious, elegantly decorated, and equipped with any and every kind of modern amenity. Everyone loved the house for their own reasons. The kids loved to roam and explore the gardens and wide-open yards. The cooks enjoyed the expansive modern kitchen and outdoor grill. The outdoor enthusiasts enjoyed the nearby jogging and biking trails. Everyone savored the beautiful, expansive backyard to relax, read and catch up with family members. Probably the most popular feeling was how everyone felt they each had their own comfortable space and place to retreat when the time came. The apartment over the garage was a particular bonus.

Staying in Tom Nevers was relaxing. The beaches on the south shore were beautiful and secluded. We were a short drive to anywhere on the island and only a short bike ride to the charming town of Sconset.

What also made our stay so pleasant was the owner of the house. She was extremely helpful and was always there to give us great suggestions for restaurants, beaches and places of interest.

We highly recommend staying here. It was everything we had hoped for and more. We look forward to staying here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Reema and Kris,
We are so thrilled you enjoyed our home and all of its unique features.
We hope to see you again in 2013!
Sharon and Steve
business
Elegant Family Home and Guest House in Private Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257976vb
(860) 690-3262 (Connecticut, USA)
Tom Nevers Nantucket
5

This is your home on Nantucket!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My son was married on Nantucket this past weekend. We needed a home that would accommodate my husband, myself, my son and his bride-to-be, my other son, my mother-in-law (89) and father-in-law (92), and my mom (79). We needed a home where our older relatives could be comfortable. We needed a home to entertain our out-of-town guests. This home exceeded all our expectations!

The photos are an accurate representation of the rooms, but there is no way that a camera could do this lovely home justice! It is decorated with impeccable taste. Everyone who came to visit us here was blown away. It's like a little villa in Tom Nevers! It is clean, well maintained, and extremely well appointed. There were two minor maintenance issues (neither of which impacted us) that we let the owners know about, and the caretaker was there that day. Both the owner and caretaker are easily reached if needed.

We entertained here all week. We had groups of 10-15 people that were easily seated outside on the very large deck, or in the dining room and kitchen. Speaking of the kitchen, I was in my glory! I love to cook and this gourmet kitchen was amazing! Any cooking, baking, or serving utensile you need is there. There is even an herb garden which I used frequently during our stay. The outdoor grill is gas and easily handled food for 15.

No words could properly describe the outside design of little seating areas and beautifully manicured gardens. It is an oasis!

My son and his new bride used the apartment as there own private place. It is also well equipped with a bedroom, full bath, and greatroom with kitchen. They even had there own washer and dryer.

There are plenty of beach chairs, towels, and coolers. There is a beach umbrella and other beach equipment all made available to us.

We rented bicycles from a company in town. They delivered them and picked them up. We had an easy ride into Siasconset, the Sankaty Light, and Tom Nevers Beach. The house is a short walk from the bus stop on Tom Nevers Road. So some of my relatives used the bus to come in from town.

The owner was more than wonderful this whole year as we prepared for our stay. She helped us secure a reservation for our car on the ferry, and sent us information about Nantucket.

Most of all, the owners allowed this to be our home on Nantucket. There were no locked up cabinets or do not use rules. We were entrusted with a beautiful home and we felt honored to be there!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Elegant Family Home and Guest House in Private Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257976vb
(860) 690-3262 (Connecticut, USA)
Tom Nevers Nantucket
Westfield, New Jersey
5

Gorgeous, comfortable home for those who value privacy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My friends and I recently spent a pre-season, long weekend here. This is the ideal vacation rental if you’re looking for an elegant, private setting and a luxuriously equipped and well-decorated home. The bedrooms are lovely and comfortable, and the two floors of bedrooms and a separate apartment offered each of us privacy. The dining room and living room comfortably accommodate a group of 8-10. Open to the dining room, the charming, well-equipped kitchen is ideal for multiple chefs as its centerpiece is a huge island with a separate sink. Everything about this home was attractive, practical and in pristine condition.
There are several outdoor seating options and multiple private garden areas with beautiful landscaping. I like the home’s location both for the serenity and privacy as well as the easy access to the bike path which we rode both to beaches and town. Although the weather was brisk, we managed to enjoy a couple of meals outdoors at the long table on the large deck. The owner is very helpful and the rental process went smoothly. I am looking forward to returning for a week with my family this summer.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Elegant Family Home and Guest House in Private Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257976vb
(860) 690-3262 (Connecticut, USA)
Tom Nevers Nantucket
Annapolis, MD
5

Gracious and Well-Equipped Extended Family Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I have rented through VRBO many times in the past, but this property far-exceeded my expectations for a beautifully decorated home with every type of equipment, utensil, basket, pan, etc. that you could need to entertain extended family for a week. My husband and I celebrated our 40th anniversary with a lobster feast for our extended family, ranging in age from my 80 year old mother to our 2 year old granddaughter. The extensive decking and grounds made it a perfect setting. The private location made a wonderful backdrop to enjoy and catch up with family members. Part of our group - our son, wife and young daughters were easily accommodated in the carriage house with its own kitchen and washer/dryer, making kid meals and laundry needs easy for them. It was easy to communicate with the owener and ask her questions about the property and the island. I would very strongly recommend this home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2