Balboa Island house rental - 1/2 block from S. Bay Front Waterfront on Grand Canal Relax, dine on front patio
1/2 block from S. Bay Front Waterfront on Grand Canal Relax, dine on front patio
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Balboa Island House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 7 (one on sleeper sofa)

This charming waterfront cottage resides on Balboa Island's Grand Canal. We have recently added 2 kayaks and 2 paddle boards for renters use, which you can do right off our dock. With 3 bedrooms and 2 baths, this home is perfect for a family of 6 or 7. Wireless internet, books, games and cable TV are included. There is a well supplied kitchen with a new gas range for the cook. We provide great linens and towels - beach towels too! All sheets, blankets and mattress pads are fresh and clean after each rental.

The front bedroom has a new king bed that can also be converted into 2 twins. Middle bedroom has 2 twin beds and the back bedroom has a queen bed with its own bath, dressing area and private entrance. All the mattresses are in excellent to new condition.

Enjoy the dock for sun-bathing, swimming, kayaking and fishing. The front patio is perfect for barbecuing, meals and relaxing. There is parking for one car in the garage, remote included. Our home is steps to Marine Avenue's shops, restaurants, Balboa Bars and a local grocery store.

A 10 minute walk to the ferry takes you to the Peninsula; where the 'Fun Zone' and the beautiful Newport Beach coastline await you! This is a great location from which to visit Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Catalina Island, Laguna Beach, etc. It is a wonderful place to unwind. We also have property #383299. Read our reviews!

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 989999 in Balboa Island, California

Waterfront 3 bedroom 2 Bath. 2 PaddleBoards/2 Kayaks for renters use!
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
Waterfront 3 bedroom 2 Bath. 2 PaddleBoards/2 Kayaks for renters use!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p989999
+1 3104137877
Balboa Island Newport Beach and Balboa Island Area
California
5

Sit back, relax, watch the world go by

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Want to feel uptight, painstakingly hand wash the crystal wine glasses and sit upright so as not to dent the couch cushions? Then this place isn't for you. Want to actually let go of the world you left behind and sink into your bones? Then rent this cottage. Overlooking the channel, with cozy bedrooms tucked away so your family can hibernate, paddle boards and kayaks so your family can ring the island, a patio table and BBQ so you can eat meals al fresco in the warm breezes, this cottage is exactly the prescription for family VAKAY. The furniture is comfy, not designer. The beds are comfy and cozy and the sheets are cotton. There are towels galore for the bath or the beach. The kitchen is outfitted with every kitchen gadget you can think of. There isn't a dishwasher, but how do spell "Kids laughing and telling stories over soapsuds"? Sue Ellen was helpful, considerate, and the cottage is clean neat and tidy. Our whole family of 6 adults loved our stay and wonder how soon we can return.
business
Waterfront 3 bedroom 2 Bath. 2 PaddleBoards/2 Kayaks for renters use!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p989999
+1 3104137877
Balboa Island Newport Beach and Balboa Island Area
4

Home away from home!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This cottage was the most perfect place for our last week of a very hectic holiday. My parents, 2 children and ourselves had plenty of space and privacy. Its location allowed us to do as little or as much as we wanted with easy access to main roads that had us arrive at places such as Disnelyand in no time at all.

We were greeted by the owner who was at the cottage waiting for the arrival of canoes and paddle boards that turned out to be for our use. Many hours of fun were enjoyed. A few days later a followup call was made to ensure that we had everything we needed, now that is customer service.

The rooms, layout and cleanliness 10/10. The quaintest of shopping street just around the corner, with a picturesque stroll along a jetty lined pathway lead us to a ferry. This gave us easy access to yet even more activities and restaurants, as well as adventure, take the car on the ferry!

We most definitely would stay at this classic cottage again and would most certainly recommend to family and friends.
business
Waterfront 3 bedroom 2 Bath. 2 PaddleBoards/2 Kayaks for renters use!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p989999
+1 3104137877
Balboa Island Newport Beach and Balboa Island Area
5

Our home away from home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We are a family of five; my husband and I, two teenagers and a six year old. This beautiful Balboa Island cottage was perfect for us! Full of vintage charm and cosy comfort. Everything was so clean and fresh.The owner is lovely and there if you need help. By the end of our two week stay we felt like we were home! We will definitely be back. Thank you.
business
Waterfront 3 bedroom 2 Bath. 2 PaddleBoards/2 Kayaks for renters use!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p989999
+1 3104137877
Balboa Island Newport Beach and Balboa Island Area
5

This property is a bargain, relatively speaking.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We have stayed at two other properties on Balboa Island in the last 4 years. This property is a good bargain inasmuch as it is located on the Grand Canal and close to Marine Drive for shopping, coffee stops and dining. It is older than some, but has been well-maintained and is clean. There are a few things that could be done to enhance a stay, but they are not very consequential. The Owners are very cordial and open to correcting problems (light above the kitchen sink did not work. It was fixed the following day). The tenant on the second floor could be heard at times, but did not interfere with sleeping at night.

It will be hard to beat this property in this price range.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront 3 bedroom 2 Bath. 2 PaddleBoards/2 Kayaks for renters use!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p989999
+1 3104137877
Balboa Island Newport Beach and Balboa Island Area
5

Our Family Loved It!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is a great cottage in a fantastic location. It's right on the canal, very close to shops and restaurants, and within easy walking distance to the ferry. We walked to some great restaurants and had frozen bananas and Balboa bars every night. There is a small market right down the street. It's also in a great location if you want to drive over the bridge to a super market or go to Fashion Island. My family enjoyed fishing and paddle boarding right off the small dock. There were nice neighbors and the owners were wonderful to deal with. If you are looking for a relaxing spot to enjoy Balboa Island with your family, I would recommend this property to you.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront 3 bedroom 2 Bath. 2 PaddleBoards/2 Kayaks for renters use!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p989999
+1 3104137877
Balboa Island Newport Beach and Balboa Island Area
United States
5

Wonderful and Charming House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of 6 stayed at this house a few weeks ago and LOVED it! It is incredibly clean and quaint, has all of the needed amenities, and is conveniently located on the Grand Canal and only a few steps to Marine Avenue where the shops are located. I would give the location a 10 out of 10 on Balboa Island! We have rented from the owners before and they are very responsive if you need anything or have any questions. We really enjoyed the large TV for movies and the back porch has a wonderful sitting area. The washer and dryer always come in handy and we really enjoyed having a COVERED garage to use! I highly recommend this rental and we hope to be back again soon!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront 3 bedroom 2 Bath. 2 PaddleBoards/2 Kayaks for renters use!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p989999
+1 3104137877
Balboa Island Newport Beach and Balboa Island Area
Bakersfield, CA
5

We Love this House and BI!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This is my 3rd stay at a vacation home owned by this wonderful family! They are all so sweet and funny and very easy to work with. This house is very warm and cozy and will remind you of your grandma's house. Also very clean and comfortable. The living room is spacious and the beds and linens were especially comfortable.

We loved having coffee on the patio and taking walks around the island. The house is also close to the shopping district, but not so close that we heard any noise. Regarding a previous review, we never saw or heard the tenant upstairs.

We brought our bikes and took the ferry to the peninsula and rode the bike path and sat on the beach. Balboa Island is a magical place and our favorite vacation spot. My kids and I are coming back to this house in late May and we can't wait!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront 3 bedroom 2 Bath. 2 PaddleBoards/2 Kayaks for renters use!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p989999
+1 3104137877
Balboa Island Newport Beach and Balboa Island Area
5

Family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a wonderful time on Balboa Island. The owner was very nice accommodating all the emails we sent her concerning any questions we had. The home was sweet, charming and very clean. We enjoyed walking in the small town, having mexican food one night and pizza our last night. We took the ferry off the island and rented beach cruiser bicycles for $10 a day. We rode our bikes along the coast looking at all the beautiful homes… unbelievable!! The pier was a fun place to fish and have breakfast and lunch at Ruby's cafe. We enjoyed the beach full of sunbathers and people body surfing and skin boarding. We rode our bikes to the ferry and paid $1 per person and .25 a bike, what a bargain!! Once back on the island we rode up and down all the streets, taking in all the magnificent homes on the island, never one alike. This was all done our last three days because the first four days we went to Universal Studios, had a treasure hunt for famous places and went to Disneyland three days! The traffic was incredibly smooth to and from Disneyland, about 30 minutes each way. The only downside to our vacation; we chose August and it was miserably hot so we missed not having an air conditioner in the house. We, the parents, stayed in the back bedroom because it has a private bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, but if you're a light sleeper like me, you can hear the tenant above walking around late (11:30- 12 a.m.) Luckily, I brought earplugs and Voila!...Silence. My husband was not bothered by the noise above.
Helpful votes: 3/3