Double Bay estate rental - Private beach in front of Windsong. Just another day in paradise!
Private beach in front of Windsong. Just another day in paradise!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Double Bay Estate Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms

Windsong is an elegant 5-acre estate with 400 feet of private pink-sand beachfront on beautiful Double Bay. Windsong enjoys beach and ocean views from every major room.

Enter Windsong through the Bahama Room, a spacious glass-enclosed sun porch overlooking the gardens and furnished with a sofa, chairs, and a breakfast table. Walk through the Bahama Room into the large living room with its 15 foot ceilings and wall of glass overlooking the grand patio, beach, and ocean. Large sliding doors open to admit the ocean breeze. The grand patio includes a large covered porch with a wicker lounge set and a separate breakfast table. Beyond is a bow-fronted open patio with loungers for sunbathing and enjoying the ocean view. Sand paths lead to the beach from each side of the patio.

Back inside, to the right of the living room is the master bedroom suite with queen bed and French doors opening onto an ocean-view terrace. French doors on both walls open to admit a pleasant cross-breeze. The vast en-suite bathroom features a double-headed walk-in shower, separate tub, and dual sinks with an ocean view. A side door opens to a private outdoor shower.

To the left of the living room is the formal dining room with wall of glass overlooking the beach and ocean. The dining room has seating for 12. Large sliding glass doors can be opened to admit the breeze. Adjacent to the dining room is the modern kitchen done in retro style with gas range, refrigerator, dishwasher, and microwave. This wing of the estate also houses a TV room/office which serves as the second bedroom of the Main House. It’s furnished with a flat-screen satellite TV, desk, day bed, and chairs.

Beside the main house are two charming guest cottages. The first, with a commanding ocean view and a high tray ceiling, has large sliders out to a porch overlooking the ocean. It’s furnished with a king bed. The en-suite bathroom is equipped with a large walk-in shower with dual heads. The second guest cottage is furnished with a king bed plus a day bed and a trundle bed. It’s equipped with a kitchenette (refrigerator, sink, toaster oven, coffee maker) and a full bath. Each guest cottage has a private outdoor shower. IF YOU DON'T USE THE GUESTS HOUSES, WE WILL NOT RENT THEM TO ANYONE ELSE. YOU WILL ALWAYS HAVE THE ESTATE TO YOURSELF.

The beach in front of the house is spectacular: wide, pristine, pink sand, two miles long and usually deserted. The large beachfront palapa, furnished with chairs and loungers, is a perfect spot to gather for a beverage. Or relax in the one of the two hammocks strung in the palm groves. There are coral reefs and a large cay offshore for snorkeling and exploring. The estate comes with two sea kayaks.

Windsong House is fully air conditioned. Indoor amenities include WIFI, satellite TV, DVD player, yoga mats, hand weights, and board games. There is a gas grill and an outdoor dining area for cookouts. Windsong is equipped with everything you need to enjoy its beautiful beach, including beach chairs, boogie boards, kayaks, and snorkeling gear.

Windsong House is just 5 minutes from Palmetto Point which has a general store, a restaurant, and other businesses. 10 minutes beyond is the island’s capital, Governors Harbour. Governors Harbour has a charming collection of 19th century homes and churches overlooking its historic harbor. Buy fresh fish and lobster every afternoon from fisherman at the town dock, or visit the recently restored Haynes Library, which dates from 1897, for the weekly coffee hour for foreign residents and tourists. Governors Harbour has grocery stores, restaurants, liquor stores, two banks with ATMs, a bakery, gift shops, a dive shop, and a medical clinic. Friday Night Fish Fry in Governors Harbour, a street/beach party that brings together all the tourists and locals with food, drink, and dancing in the street, is not to be missed.

Eleuthera is famous for its 100 miles of spectacular, deserted beaches. The island, home to just 8000 residents, is completely safe any time of the day or night. Enjoy the rare experience of picking up hitch-hikers and leaving your keys in the car wherever you go. The snorkeling, diving, and fishing on the island are world class. Boating, surfing, and other water sports are also popular. You can rent power boats, sailboats, sea kayaks, bikes. You can have a charter captain take you out for excursions of various types. There is excellent sightseeing as well. Eleuthera has vast caves, cliffs, a bottomless ocean hole, many unique beaches, historic churches and 19th century homes, and small villages to explore. We hope you will enjoy Windsong House, and experience all our island has to offer.

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 989119 in Double Bay, Bahamas

Grand Beachfront Estate on Five Private Acres w/ Kayaks, Hammocks, Snorkeling
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 7 reviews
business
Grand Beachfront Estate on Five Private Acres w/ Kayaks, Hammocks, Snorkeling
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p989119
+1 239-482-8173
Double Bay Eleuthera
5

Beautiful house and location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Just got back from a wonderful week at Windsong. The house, property and beach were extraordinary. Barely saw anyone else on "our beach" which seemed to go on for miles. The house is very clean and in very good shape. Ideal for a large party. 3 separate buildings allow for privacy while allowing for gatherings on the back veranda overlooking the ocean. Patsy and Sean, the caretakers, were extremely friendly and helpful. They made the trip that much better. Eleuthera is a beautiful island. More remote and less developed than we expected but totally relaxing. Bring lots of books!
business
Grand Beachfront Estate on Five Private Acres w/ Kayaks, Hammocks, Snorkeling
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p989119
+1 239-482-8173
Double Bay Eleuthera
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We absolutely LOVED our stay

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We absolutely LOVED our stay in Eluethra…a wonderful home in the true sense! As soon as we arrived, we felt so welcome. Patsy and Shaun were there to greet us and show us around the property. Shaun showed us how to open coconuts and scoop out the meat for Pina Coladas! Yum! They made sure our visit was trouble free for the whole week and though we had problems with the water pump for a few days, they came as soon as we called to fix it (3 different times!) and brought us bottled water to use in the meantime.
The property is absolutely great! The beach was very safe for our 10 year old to our 18 year old (to us parents as well!). We had fun boogie boarding in the surf, laying out on the deck chairs, catching up on our reading time and even our son was able to do some homework/study time in the thatched beach hut. We did have stronger winds and some surf for most of the visit, so only got out in the kayaks twice. Other things we loved about Windsong were: reading in the hammocks, the outdoor showers, board games in the evening, watching Canada win the gold in hockey (twice!), falling asleep listening to the surf (and waking up to the same!), the beautiful sand pathway to the beach, the gekos, privacy, the cool shaded veranda, the breezes off the ocean, the short drive to 10-bay beach for snorkeling and calmer water…..I can’t say enough. We would come back in a heartbeat.
Other things we did on the island included Fishbone tours for a day out catching Conche (and learning how to make Conche salad), snorkeling, catching starfish, campfire on the beach for lunch, turtle chase….very fun and Captain Julius (Bubba) was very knowledgeable and we all learned a lot about the area. We did however find it to be quite expensive for 5 hours out on a boat @$1200 US.
We went up to Harbor Island and rented golf carts for the day to explore different beaches and shop a little.
We enjoyed eating dinners out (Tippys and the Friday Fish Fry) and the grocery store in GH was great….
The ONLY problem we had was when we took our son to Governor’s harbor airport on Sunday morning @7:15 for the 7:45 flight back to university only to discover the flight had left 35 minutes early and he had missed it!!! We couldn’t believe that they would depart early (very early) without all paying passengers being accounted for! We ended up having to drive him to North El airport to catch a flight with Bahamas air. He luckily made his transfer in Nassua to get back to Hal
business
Grand Beachfront Estate on Five Private Acres w/ Kayaks, Hammocks, Snorkeling
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p989119
+1 239-482-8173
Double Bay Eleuthera
5

paradise in paradise.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The house is beautiful, charming, spacious, and so well taken care of. The location is perfect, the beach is outstanding, the hammocks perfectly placed, the showers are lovely. Everything about this house exceeded all my expectations. You can tell this is a very loved house which makes it easy to fall in love with it yourself. It is completely secluded, the perfect place to truly let go of all your worries and cares. Paradise found. If you get a chance, stay here!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Grand Beachfront Estate on Five Private Acres w/ Kayaks, Hammocks, Snorkeling
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p989119
+1 239-482-8173
Double Bay Eleuthera
5

Paradise Found @ Windsong!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family of 7 had an amazing week at Windsong. Accommodations were great with 1 main house and 2 cottages. The caretaker, Patsy and her husband greeted us at the house on Saturday and throughout the whole week, went above and beyond to assure that our stay at the house and on this beautiful island was perfect. Our family enjoyed snorkeling right off of Double Bay beach. Only saw one other family on this secluded beach while there. With our handy map and tips from Patsy, we toured up and down the 100 mile island throughout the week. Ate at Tippy's and The Cove which had idyllic settings and great food. Went to Harbour Island for scuba diving adventure through Valentine's, ship wreck. This first ocean dive for our girls was a highlight of the trip. All of the Bahamians treated us like royalty. Time flew by way too fast and our 3 teenage girls did not want to leave. After looking for months on Home Away for the perfect island home for our weeklong stay, I am so glad Matthew helped me find Windsong--could not have been better or more memorable! KFL
business
Grand Beachfront Estate on Five Private Acres w/ Kayaks, Hammocks, Snorkeling
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p989119
+1 239-482-8173
Double Bay Eleuthera
5

Heaven on Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had the opportunity to stay at Windsong for a week in March. We travel a fair amount and really gravitate towards the Bahamas. We have been to Eleuthera before and stayed at the Cove. This was our first house rental. We have two teenage boys that love the beach and love to relax. The island is very quiet which is what our family seems to crave for vacation time.

The Windsong was wonderful. It is a very beautiful beach property. It is totally private and totally safe. We never locked the house when leaving for the day and never worried about a thing. The house is a charming but very grand lady - very clean and well maintained. It is not a new property (although one of the guest cabins is very new) but everything is perfect working order and very comfortable. The homeowners have obviously put much love and pride into their "home away from home". We have stayed at various places in Bahamas before and things like water pressure, mildew, etc. can be an issue but not here. I have been home for a month and still think about the shower!! My husband and boys especially loved the outdoor showers.

The sunrises every morning were simply stunning. I am an early riser while my family sleeps in. I enjoyed my cup of coffee down on the beach while the sun rose. The kitchen is very well maintained and one feels right at home. We did not eat suppers in but we did have our breakfasts and sometimes our lunches there. Suppers would have been very easy too.

All of us loved the body surf boards and had a great time playing in the waves just in front of the property. We met a lovely neighbour who lives on the island who supplied us with fresh vegetables for the week. By the way, this was the only individual that we saw all week on "our beach".

We tended to eat at the Beach House and at Tippys most evenings. We did have great pizza few minutes away at Mate and Jenny's and we drove north to the Cove one evening to check out the new renovations. Although the Windsong is close to things, it is important to have a vehicle as the restaurants and grocery stores are too far to walk to.

The property has a television and internet access but too beautiful to be inside!

The caretaker, Patty, and her son were very helpful in making suggestions and providing us with information on the island. Just absolutely lovely people as most are...but who wouldn't have a little better disposition if you called this home? Beautiful property to stay at!!
business
Grand Beachfront Estate on Five Private Acres w/ Kayaks, Hammocks, Snorkeling
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p989119
+1 239-482-8173
Double Bay Eleuthera
4

Great location for a relaxing vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Hello,

we stayed at the Windsong House for one week and it was amazing. The House is big and in a very good condition. It is located right at the beach. You have your prvate beach. So it is perfect for a relaxing vacation.

I can highly recommend it.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Grand Beachfront Estate on Five Private Acres w/ Kayaks, Hammocks, Snorkeling
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p989119
+1 239-482-8173
Double Bay Eleuthera
4

A dreamhouse

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The house is very charming and beautifully located directly on the beach. It is well furbished with anything you may need during your vacation.
The caretakers Patsy and Sean are always available and make sure that small hick-ups are solved quickly before becoming real problems. Their primary goal is that your holiday runs smoothly as silk and they do succeed in this !
The agent Matt is the most professional person you could wish to do business with and a great help in the preparatory phase of your vacation.
Everything was very enjoyable for us and we had a great vacation at Windsong.
Helpful votes: 3/3