Lake Leelanau cottage rental - Sharon Ashley's Painting of the Narrows
Sharon Ashley's Painting of the Narrows
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps16
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Lake Leelanau Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 6 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-12)

In the heart of Leelanau county in downtown Lake Leelanau, The Leelanau Boat Club was formed when the Leelanau Lumber company changed hands. The water way, lovingly referred to as the ' Narrows' has been protected with the assistance of the Leelanau Conservancy and the Lake Leelanau Lake Association. That means that the Boat Club is surrounded by natural area and is a unique property for couples, small groups and single families.

Cottages include a boat slip and there are many quiet activities to embrace and room to roam on the 10 acres that encompasses the Club.

This six bedroom 2.5 bath lumberbarron's home has been renovated and is ready for your stay. We have your cottage here 'Up North'!

Privacy and Nature are the key amenities here. Call us or email us to determine the best location here at the Leelanau Boat Club. Private extended memberships available from 2-5 weeks annually with savings from 20-50% off weekly rates.

A Pontoon Boat is here to rent and weekly guests have access to two Kayak's, a paddle boat and a row boat. Bring your own boat for the week or your extended stay and we have your slip!

Many fantastic beaches on Lake Michigan and West Bay are just around the corner. Leelanau County is home to the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lake Shore, voted as the 2011 Most Beautiful Place In The Country by Good Morning America.

Relax on the dock and watch the boats go by or listen to the birds and relish in the sounds of nature. The Mosier House at the Boat Club will accommodate up to fifteen people. Ten adults/ 5 couples or 8 adults and 6 children. Five Couples will be very comfortable or Six Singles. If you need more space- we have another smaller cottage to compliment this listing.

Food lovers will delight in the organic produce, local fish and cherries this area is known for and are prevalent in the many restaurants and food establishments regionally. Take a day trip to South Manitou Island out of Leland and take a step back in time! There is plenty to do here in Leelanau County and the Leelanau Boat Club sits in the center of fun!

Call today to arrange for your special getaway. We are open all year. Seasonal Discounts are available.

The hot tub is toasty and ready for your special time up north.

If we can assist you in making your time 'UP NORTH' perfect, we are your local concierge!

Please call or email for availability.

Keywords: Private, on the water, Large 5 bedroom home, Central Location, Wine Tasting Mecca, Pristine Beaches, Aqua blue water-In the heart of Leelanau County close to Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park, 4.5 miles from Leland and 4.5 miles from Suttons Bay, surrounded by beaches in all directions, you'll find a unique property called the Leelanau Boat Club. This ten acre retreat and nature preserve is located within the Village of Lake Leelanau. Walking distance to all the local amenities. This home is perfect for couples traveling together, small groups, and families seeking privacy, nature, fishing, boating, hiking, birding, painting and general relaxation. Our guests find this location to be perfect for accessing all that is Leelanau - in the Land of Delight!

More Details
Hide Details

We LOVE Lake Leelanau and Leelanau County. We enjoy the sites and sounds and lack there- of here in the North Woods. Egan is a Trikke Trainer and spends any free time teaching others and selling Trikkes. She is also active on the boards of Department of Human Services in Leelanau- the Leelanau County Family Coordinating Council and Samaritan's Closet. The Leelanau Laundry Program that serves low income families' is also a focus of Egan's time when she is not tending to boat club activities!

Egan McGlynn purchased this cottage in 2010

We live right next door on six acres. The Leelanau Boat Club was formed because the property initially was to be developed into Condominiums and when the Condo development was in jeopardy, the property came up for sale. We worked with the Conservancy and the Lake Association to protect the waterfront. Docks do however still exist and so we share the boardwalk that we use to the water with our guests at the Leelanau Boat Club. Coming in 2014- the Boat House will be restored along with the addition of 4 slips to the boat house complex. This property is unique because it is within the village of Lake Leelanau but consist of ten acres of wooded splendor. Walk through the enchanted forest and listen to the sound of nature and within minutes you can reach the post office or grocery store on foot. Hot tub out your door and privacy Galore

The privacy and spaciousness of this area is what is unique to the Leelanau Boat Club. Activities that we enjoy: The Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park was just voted the Most beautiful place in the country. The beaches are fantastic both on Lake Michigan and West Bay as well as on the many small inland lakes.

Boating/Relaxing on Lake Leelanau

Trips to the Tiki Bar at Perrin's Landing by boat.

Riding bikes 16 miles around the north end of Lake Leelanau.

Stopping at Pedaling Beans Coffee shop to grab a Latte or an ice cream,

Walking the Lake Michigan Shoreline at Good Harbor or Van's Beach.

Trikke riding at the Leelanau trail or Biking

the trail out of Suttons Bay.

Wine tasting and Cider tasting

Catching a film at the Traverse City Film Fest

Watching the sunset over Lake Michigan are favorites. There is so much to do here and the LBC is located in the heart of all the cool activities! North and South Manitou excursions can be arranged through Manitou Transit in Leland, five miles north of us. We can help you arrange a fishing excursion out of Leland Harbor with any number of expert guides. We're happy to help you make this time special. Please ask if you have any questions or special needs.

9 Reviews of Property 352137 in Lake Leelanau, Michigan

May BirdFest Specials.. stay 3 nights get the 4th night FREE
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
May BirdFest Specials.. stay 3 nights get the 4th night FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352137vb
888-419-2774
Lake Leelanau Northern Michigan
Farmington Hills, Michigan
5

Excellent fall retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We spent a long weekend here with some extended family, and had a great time. The hot tub is spacious, the firewood is well-stocked, and the location is convenient to several wineries (not to mention the distillery across the street). Sutton's Bay is very close, with nice restaurants and shops, and everyone found a good way to pass the time.

The house itself is nicely furnished and comfortable. We cooked breakfasts and dinners there and found the kitchen well-stocked. There's a wine fridge in the main living area where you can keep your spoils from the surrounding countryside (though other beverages fit nicely as well). The upstairs bathroom has enough space to accommodate accessories from multiple parties, and there were plenty of towels.

We enjoyed ourselves in spite of the rain that persisted the first couple days, in no small part because this house is more than just a base of operations--it's a gathering place that can accommodate medium-sized groups with aplomb.

Overall, the best praise we can give is that we
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Big Thanks to this lovely family- Glad you didn't let the rain impact the fun..we look forward to having you again at the Leelanau Boat Club!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
May BirdFest Specials.. stay 3 nights get the 4th night FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352137vb
888-419-2774
Lake Leelanau Northern Michigan
Birmingham, Michigan
5

Awesome family vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Leelanau Boat Club! Our family ranged from Ages 1 - 85 and we all had a wonderful time. The owners went out of their way to make our time special and to ensure that our needs were met. We grilled out and also enjoyed the firepit and hot tub almost every evening. Every morning we walked to Pedaling Beans for Coffee and to Leelanau Pie and Pastry. We especially enjoyed going to the beach at Sleeping Bear Dunes, the 45 North Winery, Riverside Inn in Leland, and Cherry Republic in Glen Arbor.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
May BirdFest Specials.. stay 3 nights get the 4th night FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352137vb
888-419-2774
Lake Leelanau Northern Michigan
San Jose, CA / United States
5

An amazing, memorable time at Leelanau Boat Club

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I read about the Lake Leelanau area in an article about the M22 logo trademark rights. I figured that any area that has a road worthy of T-shirts is an area to be explored, and after poking at VRBO a bit, discovered the Boat Club, then talked my family into a family reunion the week of July 4th. We ended up having a magical time, one that will provide fodder for family tales for years (if not generations) to come.

The area has plenty to offer, especially for the adventurous. We hiked, paddle boarded, boated, fished, canoed, kayaked, saw amazing Northport fireworks, the fun town of Leeland, ate / drank, ate / drank, ate and drank some more.

We stayed in the Mosier house, and River Cottage. Both were perfect for our needs. The Mosier house became the family hangout, especially with its lovely, huge porch in back. The only downside might be the noise from traffic, made worse with bedroom windows open. We absolutely loved hiking the trails in the nearby preserve, seeing deer, foxes, and porcupine. The walk to the dock, along a beautifully-maintained boardwalk, was often the place to see deer bounding over the boards.

The key to our entire week here was the owner, Egan. Ever have an experience of bonding with a stranger over email, meeting them in person, and only deepening that bond? That's what we had with Egan. She absolutely went out of her way to take care of us, anticipating every need, accommodating each request, and, perhaps most importantly, helping plan out the activities for the week. She knows the area incredibly well, and gave impeccable insider advice. Thank you, thank you, Egan.

We had 14 in our group, of ages ranging from 11 to 83, and found things for all to do together, as well as had enough space to spread out and regain sanity.

I would highly recommend hitting the Pie and Pastry shop right next to the LBC. Their various cherry pies were outrageous! We really loved taking the property's pontoon boat (extra $$, but very reasonable) to Leland, and having lunch from the Bluebird. We primarily ate in, so can't speak too much to other restaurants. Would also urge visitors to hit the Farmer's Market, just across the street (when running).

I'm sure I'm forgetting other things we did, but if you have any questions about the Boat Club or the area, just ask Egan. You'll get a prompt, friendly and valuable response.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We so enjoyed hosting this multi- generation getaway! Lovely Family of good sports! We hope you return again in the future, still more to do here in the most " beautiful place in the country"! Thanks for choosing the Leelanau Boat Club:)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
May BirdFest Specials.. stay 3 nights get the 4th night FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352137vb
888-419-2774
Lake Leelanau Northern Michigan
naperville, il
5

The Ultimate Relaxation Property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
WOW! The experience we had at the Leelanau Boat Club, Mosier House, was beyond description. The Mosier House is large, quaint and full of charm. There is lots of history that is attached to this property; you can definitely see and feel it...from the hardwood floors, to the bedrooms, living rooms and the kitchen. Ask Egan about the history of the house and property - you'll go back into time! The access to the Narrows and both lakes of Lake Leelanau is easy and a beautiful journey as you kayak on the waterways. Watching the sunset via the adirondack chairs is worth it's weight in gold. Start your campfire and get ready for your smore treats!

Egan is a wonderul hostess. We found her to be an amazing woman full of energy, and fun!

Mark Omura and Sharon Wagner-Omura
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
May BirdFest Specials.. stay 3 nights get the 4th night FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352137vb
888-419-2774
Lake Leelanau Northern Michigan
Ferndale, Mi
5

Completely Charming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Mosier Cottage is a charmer on both the inside and out. Great location. Walking distance to lovely local eateries, perfect northern rental!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
May BirdFest Specials.. stay 3 nights get the 4th night FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352137vb
888-419-2774
Lake Leelanau Northern Michigan
Bloomfield Hills Mi
5

Great Week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Clean. Convenient. Fun. Great weather. Great bon fires. Could not ask for more.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
May BirdFest Specials.. stay 3 nights get the 4th night FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352137vb
888-419-2774
Lake Leelanau Northern Michigan
Rockford MI
5

Leelanau Boat club stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Pictures do not describe how wonderful it could be. You have to stay there. Our stay and needs were met beyond what was described and pictures shown. Egan was very accommadating and all details were thought out with a professional and personal touches. The property is absolutely precious.

John Grady
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
May BirdFest Specials.. stay 3 nights get the 4th night FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352137vb
888-419-2774
Lake Leelanau Northern Michigan
Milford, mi
5

Amazing vacation!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Had a wonderful stay at the Mosier house!! There were 8 of us and we had enough room for everyone to spread out. The pictures are accurate. Egan is a wonderful hostess and took all of us for a pontoon ride!!! The casino is a quick 10 minute drive. Many wineries nearby. Went to Sleeping Bear Dunes. Toured nearby towns of Suttons Bay and Leland. Lots to do in the area!!! Would highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
May BirdFest Specials.. stay 3 nights get the 4th night FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352137vb
888-419-2774
Lake Leelanau Northern Michigan
United States
5

Wow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This place was perfect for my birthday get together with family! Seriously though, perfect - as in there isn't a single thing I was wishing we had that during our stay. Egan was a pleasure to work with and has made sure that her guests are comfortable in the properties. I must say though, that the pictures do not do the place justice! The kitchen is much more spacious than it appears and very functional for large groups to eat (there were 20 of us total). The rooms were nice sized and everything clean and neat. One of my cousins that came is already thinking about using the house for another get together.

I forgot to mention lake access. There's a short, pretty walk down a boardwalk to the river. Egan has kayaks and other boats to rent. There are lakes 3 minutes either way you go on the river. Water was a little chilly but refreshing and clean.

We went wine touring while there for the weekend, By the Bay Shuttles actually picked up and dropped off right at the house. The house was very close to 5 different wineries. Fantastic time doing that. There's also a small grocery story walking distance from the house. Sometimes helpful to know :)

Seriously this place rocks. 5 stars.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1