Anchorage house rental - West side with lawn.
West side with lawn.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Anchorage House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Take in the views out of every room in this beautiful home as you enjoy fine food and friends in this home designed for entertaining. Watch breathtaking sunsets over the Alaska Range from the deck or inside next to a cozy fire. Soak in the 6 foot tub as you watch the northern lights after a pleasant day of hiking. There are many major trail heads less than 5 minutes away! Easily enjoy hiking, rafting, fishing, flight seeing, the Alaska Zoo, Downtown, and many other daytime activities and then come home to a retreat on the mountain where you can see most of the places you just visited.

Upstairs you will find the master with a queen bed and private bath with soaking tub and separate shower. A second bedroom has an additional queen with private bath. A third small bedroom contains a twin bed with trundle. Washer and dryer are also on this level. The main level is a great room with dining, kitchen, living and a half-bath. The daylight basement has a fourth bedroom with a queen bed. There is a full bath and a family room with kitchenette. This area has a sofa sleeper. The basement also has an office room. This area also has large windows contributing to a bright cheery atmosphere.

Cable television will be available starting in May. The driveway is level and, there is ample parking for motor homes. There is presently a caretaker who lives in the mother-in-law apartment above the garage.

More Details
Hide Details

Justin and Erica manage their property with their good friends Kevin and Jenny. Justin was born and raised in Alaska and has experienced almost every corner of the state. He taught for almost 20 years before retiring to home school his 5 children. Erica is a farm girl from Montana and works as a chemical engineer in the oil and gas industry. Summers are spent hiking, fishing, camping, and gardening. Winters are spent coaching economy to the wood stove and cross-country skiing. Kevin and Jenny have also spent most of their lives in Alaska and enjoy the outdoors.

Jenny Moos purchased this house in 2004

We built the home with a long term plan to convert it to a vacation home. We wanted a home that was out of the city yet close to all the conveniences of Anchorage. We lived in the home for six years prior to building a home one mile to the south.

16 Reviews of Property 988456 in Anchorage, Alaska

Easily Accessible Hillside Home with 360 Degree Views!
average rating of 4.9375 based on 16 reviews
business
Easily Accessible Hillside Home with 360 Degree Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p988456
+1 907-310-1640
Anchorage Alaska
Roxborough, CO
5

Just the accommodations and location we needed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We wished for a large home to house 4 young children and up to 9 adults for 10 days and this home served our needs perfectly! The layout of the home was great for napping babies and lots of room for playtime. The little ones especially liked the indoor slide!

The open concept of the main floor was great for all family activities. Having many chefs in the kitchen, the large island and cabinet space was more than sufficient. We cooked gourmet meals everyday and had enough cooking tools and dinnerware for all. And the large dining table accommodated everyone comfortable!

Above all-the views were fantastic! Twice we watched a Canadian Lynx right outside the living room windows!!! (We didn't even see a Lynx at the zoo.) No matter where you were in the home you had a fabulous view of Anchorage.

The location was also very convenient for all outdoor activities: hiking at Flat Top, cross-country skiing at Hatchers Pass, and skiing at Hilltop and Alyeska. Who could ask for more?

Justin was more than accommodating when we needed to change our reservation and add an extra night on each end of the trip-thank you!

From Roxborough, Colorado-thank you and we hope to meet again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Easily Accessible Hillside Home with 360 Degree Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p988456
+1 907-310-1640
Anchorage Alaska
5

Fantastic property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was a great place to stay. It had plenty of room and the in floor heating was optimal. It had a large kitchen with all the tools for cooking. We put together many meals during our stay. The park above the house was an added bonus. The heated garage kept our vehicle ready to hit the snow. The views from this home were fantastic. My wife liked to say it was like living in a snow globe. We prefer to rent a home when we travel and we wished they were all like this. The owner spared no expense in building a rental property.
Owner's Response: Thank-you for a great review. So glad you hit a nice stretch of beautiful March weather to enjoy with your family. Last night they were calling for 3-6 inches of snow and we woke up to 22 inches this morning!
business
Easily Accessible Hillside Home with 360 Degree Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p988456
+1 907-310-1640
Anchorage Alaska
Asheville
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I rented this home for our wedding party and it was plenty of save for 11 people! The house is beautiful! It's spacious, fantastic views of the Alaskan range and Denali, and conveniently located to everything :) My husband and I couldn't have been happier with this home especially when planning for a larger group! This rental greatly contributed to our wonderful time in Alaska ! Thank you to the owners !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad everyone had enough space, and you enjoyed a beautiful wedding! Maybe we'll see you again in few years for an anniversary celebration. Best of luck!
business
Easily Accessible Hillside Home with 360 Degree Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p988456
+1 907-310-1640
Anchorage Alaska
Lake Travis Texas
5

Couldn't have been better

Couldn't have been better
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We took our 4, 20 something sons to Alaska for a family vacation and the house was perfect. Plenty of room for everyone to have their own room and space. Amazing view from just about every room in the house. The location was near some of the premiere hiking trails in the area. The kitchen had everything we needed to make lovely dinners and we were able to have a small dinner party with some of the Texas Exes that live in Anchorage. Hands down the best VRBO home we have rented. The owners were near by so any questions or concerns were quickly addressed. Would highly recommend this home for your next stay in Anchorage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I'm sure glad you got out and enjoyed some of the beautiful trails; we enjoy them every week and wish more people new how easy it is to get out and experience the outdoors!
business
Easily Accessible Hillside Home with 360 Degree Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p988456
+1 907-310-1640
Anchorage Alaska
Austin, Texas
5

Beautiful Rental Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This home was very beautiful, well-stocked and immaculate! My family of four recently traveled with my parents to Anchorage and enjoyed our stay at this house so much. The lay out was perfect--kitchen, dining, living all in an open area, with plenty of dining seating at the table and kitchen island for large groups. There were so many places to sleep--3 bedrooms upstairs and two in what is basically a downstairs apartment that has its own kitchen, living area, and separate entry. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed for preparing meals at the house. The gas grill is located on a balcony just off the dininng area, so you can grill up your day's catch while enjoying some spectacular views. There's also a fire pit on the property, which is so nice for those cool Alaska summer evenings. And the yard is large, which is great if you have kids like mine who like to run wild to burn off energy.

The house is very conveniently located in a very quiet neighborhood that feels like you are in a more rural area (large lots and you are up on the mountain with forest separating houses). It is about a 15 minute drive to downtown Anchorage, where there were many fun things to do. You also have easy freeway access from the house to get to other places in town. It also was convenient for day trips south to Seward (and other points north of Seward) and up to Talkeetna/Denali.

Overall, we could not have been happier with the house. The owner was also very prompt in communicating with us and very helpful in general.

I highly recommend this house as a great vacation rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great stay in Alaska and our home had enough room for everybody to enjoy themselves. It can take a little longer to get to downtown depending on the traffic. Come back and see us again!
business
Easily Accessible Hillside Home with 360 Degree Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p988456
+1 907-310-1640
Anchorage Alaska
California
5

Outstanding views, outstanding home...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our family had the privilege to spend an entire year in the home from August 2012 to August 2013. Living in this home helped make for a memorable Alaska experience. The home is large, clean, contemporary, and very comfortable. The great room is comfortable and large and features a huge kitchen ideal for entertaining guests or grilling a red salmon brought back from the Kenai. Our young children were welcomed and enjoyed the huge carpeted lower level for playing as well as the secret slide on the upper level. Above all, the views from this home are without compare. During the summer we saw moose on the lawn nearly every day and bears were seemingly everywhere. From the one story high deck you can sit quietly and watch the animals stroll by. Bald Eagles soar right outside the windows and every night you can see Denali while laying in bed! We must have taken a thousand pictures of the sunsets over the Alaska Range and Sleeping Lady. It seemed every night was the most beautiful sunset we had ever seen. Thank you helping us have an amazing Alaska experience!

Suggestions: Hike Flattop Trail from Glen Alps Trail Head just five minutes up the hill. The Alaska Zoo is just five minutes away and is great for both kids and adults - don't pass it by. The best coffee in Anchorage is at SteamDot Coffee at O'Malley and Old Seward or the Sears Mall. Great restaurants include Moose's Tooth Pizza, Bear Tooth Grill, and Spenard Roadhouse.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you could enjoy an extended stay. Hope you can come again. The bears do travel through in the spring and are fascinating to watch for those who stay up late. I agree; every sunset seems better than the last.
business
Easily Accessible Hillside Home with 360 Degree Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p988456
+1 907-310-1640
Anchorage Alaska
Juneau
5

Gem on the Hill

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This home is so clean, and it has no clutter. I loved the open space, somewhat private sleeping quarters, the firepit, and gorgeous view. The house felt like my home.

We hosted our son's wedding rehearsal dinner and a small family reunion at the house. Our crowd of about 40-45 people easily flowed from the living room, to the kitchen, the dining room, to the deck, and the yard.

I didn't know that there would be caretakers staying above the garage. I was concerned about the noise with people coming and going. But, the caretakers were very accommodating. We would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Easily Accessible Hillside Home with 360 Degree Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p988456
+1 907-310-1640
Anchorage Alaska
Boca Raton, Florida
5

Above it All

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Although Achorage is not always sunny, we enjoyed some clear weather and could really enjoy the vistas available from the great room, bedrooms and decks. The house is brand new, beautiful and spacious. We even had a cooperative moose family stride by several times a day.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Easily Accessible Hillside Home with 360 Degree Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p988456
+1 907-310-1640
Anchorage Alaska
New Orleans, La
5

Lee (New Orleans, La)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We were very impressed with this house. The views were absolutely amazing in just about every room in the house. My 17 year old son felt as though he had his own apartment while having the entire bottom floor for himself! We also saw the moose a couple of times but this time she had her two babies with her....just amazing. The beds were so much more comfortable than any vacation beds we've ever used.Everything in the house was spotless. We would definitely recommend this house to anyone going to Alaska. Thank you Justin!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Easily Accessible Hillside Home with 360 Degree Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p988456
+1 907-310-1640
Anchorage Alaska
Dallas, TX
5

Happy Vacationer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We arrived about 2:00 am and were exhausted. The owner had made arrangements for us to get into the house easily and when we walked in... WOW! The view was incredible! It was an exciting start to our large family's (8 of us) vacation. When we awoke the next day, we had a view of Mt. McKinley in all its glory. Having lived in Alaska many years ago, we knew that was a treat.

The house is as it is pictured only nicer. Nice finishes, great appliances, plenty of seating, and well-stocked kitchen. Bedding was comfortable and plentiful. The biggest bonus was the full-size freezer in the garage where we were able to freeze our 176 lbs of halibut filets!

I was concerned about the location being out of the way, but instead found it to be quite convenient. We were able to find everything we needed within a 10 minute drive from the house. Being in South Anchorage was a good central location for all of our north and south destinations. Having the "home base" turned out to be a good plan, allowing us to only pack what we needed for day trips.

Justin (the owner) was very accessible by email or phone for my questions both before the trip and during our stay.

If we are ever able to make a return trip to Alaska, this house will be our first booking! We all highly recommend it to anyone wishing to have a home away from home while vacationing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: So happy to hear your crew enjoyed our home. Thanks for leaving it so nicely and for the extra package of halibut!