Milbridge cottage rental - front view from lawn
front view from lawn
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Milbridge Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 5-8)

Our cottage was built in the 1960's and remodeled in 2009. It sits on 2 private acres and 250 feet of private ocean front. We are located at the confluence of the Narraguagus River and the ocean. This brings unique wildlife and birds to the area. Close by are sections of Acadia Park, Petit Manan Wildlife Refuge, Chair Pond and Petit Manan Point hiking areas as well as , the little more difficult, hike up Pigeon Hill which has fantastic views of the coast and surrounding islands.

In season ( late July to mid August) we are only a few miles form the largest blueberry harvesting area in the world.

It is common to se deer and occasional a moose in our area.

Milbridge is a coastal fishing community. It has a rich shipbuilding history and now supports a large lobster fishing fleet. The community has shopping, a laundry, antique shops, movie theater and a medical center.

It is also a great place to just relax and read a book. Or sit out on the deck or lawn chairs and watch for eagles and see fishing boats coming and going from the bay.

On our lot we have a big open lawn great for kids to play on or for exercising you dog.

We are located in a quiet residential area with the closest neighbors several humdred feet away and screened by woods. This is truly a private setting but still close to everything.

My wife and I have owned the adjacent home for years and we both grew up in Milbridge. I am a retired Environmental Engineer and my wife is a retired Teacher.

I now commercially fish lobster in the summer months and run a coastal charter for whales , puffins, sea birds, lighthouses, Islands,and day trips to Mt Desert Island.

Besides the private beach adjacent the cottage we have access to another private breach a short walk from the cottage .

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 987387 in Milbridge, Maine

Oceanfront Cottage in Milbridge ~ME~
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Oceanfront Cottage in Milbridge ~ME~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987387
+1 207 546-2815
Milbridge Downeast and Acadia
Tennessee
5

Brian and Irina

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Great vacation! Cute cottage with everything we needed. Beautiful views and exceptional privacy. A lot of picture opportunities and things to do. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Cottage in Milbridge ~ME~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987387
+1 207 546-2815
Milbridge Downeast and Acadia
Worcester, Ma
5

A much needed vacation. ..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family and I had never been to Milbridge before.This was certainly a terrifically enjoyable vacation. Our hosts Sue and Jim we're extremely helpful with anything we needed.The view from our home for the week was simply breath-taking. The dog loved to run around the large yard and exploring the private beach.I went on a whale watch on Jim's boat and got so close that you could practically reach out and touch them.Milbridge is a charming little town, but it's not a busy town with lots of attractions like Wells.It's main attraction is the sea views and the quiet.Also when you come down be aware that there are no restaurants open past 8.I would highly reccomend this house to anyone who wants a memorable vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Cottage in Milbridge ~ME~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987387
+1 207 546-2815
Milbridge Downeast and Acadia
PUNTA GORDA ,FLORIDA
5

GREEN MAIN VACATION

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
BEST IN A LONG TIME. JIM & SUSAN , A DELIGHTFUL COUPLE. COTTAGE WAS SMALL BUT COZY.OUR HOST SUPPLIED ALL THE NECESSITIES THAT WERE REQUIRED.WOULD NOT HESITATED TO RECOMMEND IT FOR A QUITE AND RESTFUL VACATION IN IDEAL "GREEN"SURROUNDINGS.THE GROUND WERE SPACIOUS AND OUR CITY DOG HAD A BALL!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
business
Oceanfront Cottage in Milbridge ~ME~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987387
+1 207 546-2815
Milbridge Downeast and Acadia
5

We Loved It !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We loved your little cottage - It was charming, clean, and everything we needed for a week on the ocean. We enjoyed watching the changing tide, combing the beach, and climbing on the rocks. Many thanks to Jim and Sue for their wonderful hospitality. The ride on Jim's lobster boat was a highlight of our trip - seeing lighthouses, seals, islands, and puffins. It was also a great base camp for our day trips to Acadia Nat'l Park, Bar Harbor, McLellan Park, Pidgeon Hill Trail, West Quoddy Head Lighthouse. Perfect location for watching sunsets over the ocean !.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Oceanfront Cottage in Milbridge ~ME~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987387
+1 207 546-2815
Milbridge Downeast and Acadia
wilmington, ma
5

Great Vacation Spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family had a great vacation here! The house was very clean and had everything you could need and more...The view was beautiful. Jim and Sue were very kind and personable. House was very private. The kids and our dog spent hours along the shore looking in the tidal pools and collecting seashells. We drove to FDR's summer home on Campobello Island in Canada. It was beautiful! Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park is a must! Great time to be had here...peace, quiet, solitude and the sea! Our kids and dog were sad to leave. We are already planning on coming back here next summer!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Oceanfront Cottage in Milbridge ~ME~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987387
+1 207 546-2815
Milbridge Downeast and Acadia
Grafton, MA
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Very nice owners and really clean comfortable house. Highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Cottage in Milbridge ~ME~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987387
+1 207 546-2815
Milbridge Downeast and Acadia
5

FANTASTIC! FANTASTIC! FANTASTIC! - Words can't describe how wonderful the cottage is!

FANTASTIC! FANTASTIC! FANTASTIC! - Words can't describe how wonderful the cottage is!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We would give Jim and Sue's cottage 10 stars if we could! The descriptions and pictures pale in comparison to the actual cottage and location. We (2 adults and 4 kids) found the cottage to be everything we hoped for in a Maine vacation. Well decorated, clean, fully stocked with necessities, and small enough to be cozy yet big enough to give us all space. We enjoyed several days of just exploring the beaches and rocks on the property. The tidal changes were amazing. Morning coffee on the edge of the water was picture perfect for us. Jim and Sue are fabulous hosts and Jim's recommendations were spot on for great days - the beach at Petit Menan as well as his secluded beach across the road - take time for both of these. Our kids fell in love with the ocean. The boat ride to see the light houses, wildlife, and lobster traps was also a highlight. Good location for day trips to Bar Harbor, Machias, and Cherryfield. Milbridge is a very friendly, quiet village with everything you need right there. Lobsters are available at several places on the way to Petit Menan - and they were superb! Perfect for a family get away or a romantic retreat - this cottage cannot be beat! Thanks Jim and Sue!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Cottage in Milbridge ~ME~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987387
+1 207 546-2815
Milbridge Downeast and Acadia
5

Paradise in my own state!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Who knew paradise was only 60 miles from home?! My husband, myself and a very spoiled dog spent a week in Milbridge during the first week of September 2010. The cottage was charming and very comfortable with every amenity you could need (even a crockpot to make garden fresh tomato sauce). Jim and Sue (the owners) make you feel like it is your home away from home and had very good ideas of things to do, Mclellan Park, or a hiking trail that you have to be a local to find, even a lobster boat trip with Jim captaining his own boat. (those lobsters couldn't have gotten any fresher!!) We had such a great time we are glad we did a "staycation" this year and are thinking of how gorgeous it must be in the fall with the changing leaves.
This cottage is a fabulous place to either use as home base to explore Downeast Maine, Acadia region or even Mt Katahdin (about 1half hours away). I highly recommend to anyone looking to enjoy Maine the way it should be. I know we will be going back!!
Brian, Amy & Ruby Tuesday
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Cottage in Milbridge ~ME~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987387
+1 207 546-2815
Milbridge Downeast and Acadia
Massachusetts
5

Wonderful, relaxing vacation spot on the bay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My husband, 2 dogs, and I spent a week at this cottage and loved it. The house is very clean, cheerful, and comfortable while the yard is large, private, well-tended, and overlooks a gorgeous bay. We spent several hours on the beach each day with our dogs
who were able to run and explore to their hearts' content. The owners live in the house next door and were very friendly and helpful, but not at all intrusive.

Within an hour's drive, the town of Ellsworth has a very nice natural food store (John Edwards Market) and several nice restaurants, including Cleonice, where we ate and found the food outstanding. Also within an hour's drive is Acadia National Park, which is an absolutely beautiful place for driving, hiking, or camping.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Cottage in Milbridge ~ME~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987387
+1 207 546-2815
Milbridge Downeast and Acadia
TX
5

Great place for Maine vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We spend a week around 4th of July in this cottage. It's excellent vacation place for pretty much anyone who want to visit Maine. Ocean front, huge yard for kids to play, quite and cozy - you don't see any neighbors. Has everything you need - kitchen & bath stuff, nice grills, outdoor furniture. Grocery and couple restaurants just few minutes away. Owned by nice people, who also doing boat tours, so if you not a fun of 50+ tourist on one whale watching tour you might consider more private excursion.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway