Sanibel Island house rental - View from Great Room looking over the pool
View from Great Room looking over the pool
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Sanibel Island House Rental Photos and Description
2+ Bed / 2 Bath Pet Friendly Bay Front Home with Pool & Boat Dock (sleeps 6)

Enjoy astonishing Bay Front views in your beautiful tropical home located directly on the Bay. Tastefully decorated in “Key West” styles inside and out, “Island House” is a spacious 2+Bed / 2Bath home with all modern conveniences. Original hardwood floors throughout add the perfect ambience to your retreat. Your private screened Lanai houses your private heated pool, and also overlooks the Bay. A large deck provides ample room for sunning, relaxing, entertaining or just sitting back and enjoying the gorgeous scenery, and another deck off the master bedroom for quite meditation or relaxation. There is also a Washer / Dryer in the home, Cable TV’s and high speed internet. Just outside is a boat dock and kayak for your use as well as a fire pit and grills for cooking the day’s catch under dozens of palm trees. Enjoy a true Island Experience in a beautiful Tropical Paradise setting. You'll feel as if you're on your own private island. The grounds are beautiful. If more room is needed there is an additional guest house available – just let us know your needs and we'll send additional info, or see listing # 987400.

This is a ground level property located on a tropical “sea shell” lane in the popular village area where Sanibel & Captiva meet. Walk to the grocery, restaurants, and the marina. All located in a village setting just before the bridge over to Captiva. We’re directly across the street from what many believe is the best shelling beach on Sanibel. We have beautiful sunsets and abundant wildlife, including Dolphins in the bay that you can watch feed each morning and evening. We are truly the Best vacation value on Sanibel!

Amazing Location! “Best Island experience we’ve ever had!” Island House offers an unforgettable tropical vacation experience. Everything you need is within walking distance, including some of Sanibel’s most famous restaurants such as the Mad Hatter, Lazy Flamingo and the Sunset Grill. Our wildlife is truly amazing – in addition to the Dolphins, you’ll likely meet Scruffy & Henry (the Herons that live on-site), hear the calls of our Ospreys, which also have a nest on the property, and enjoy watching the seagulls roost at night across the Bay on Albright Island.

Here's your chance to stay in one of the best vacation values on Sanibel Island. Our spacious home is furnished the way you would imagine a tropical home - fun, comfortable and relaxing… with all the updated amenities you need to make your vacation unforgettable. You are also welcome to bring up to 2 dogs with you – so no need to leave your best friend(s) at home. The perfect place for your vacation year after year. Your Sanibel Home Away from Home!

Home amenities include Central Heat & Air, Large Screened Lanai overlooking the Bay with enclosed private heated pool, 2 decks (one for sunning, one for meditating), 3 TV's, DVD player, Free high-speed Wireless Internet Access, Fully equipped Kitchen with dishwasher, Master Bedroom with King sized Bed and sliding doors opening to the Bay, Guest Bedroom with 2 Queen Beds, 2 Trundle Beds in the Great room area. We also have a book library & beach chairs, beach toys and umbrellas, a washer/dryer in the home, fresh linens and towels, and we offer free WiFi. Private parking is literally just a few steps from your door.

On-site amenities include a private heated pool, free use of 2-person kayak, a boat dock, a fire pit and charcoal grills, an outdoor sun deck, outdoor shower, and lots of tropical vegetation including dozens of palm trees and a beautiful Banyan tree on the property. We also have an abundance of wildlife, including Dolphins, Herons, Egrets, Spoon Bill’s and Seagulls. We’re less than a minute’s walk away from some of Sanibel’s best shelling beaches, as well as great restaurants, the marina, and a general store.

Pet Friendly Policy: We welcome up to 2 dogs, but unfortunately cannot accept the following: Pit Bull, Chow Chow, Akita, Husky, Doberman, Wolf Hybrid, Presa Canaroso, Rottweiler, and Staffordshire Terriers.

Call today for your unforgettable island vacation.

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 987381 in Sanibel Island, Florida

Fantastic Island Vacation Experience – “Island House” – Dog Friendly too!
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Fantastic Island Vacation Experience – “Island House” – Dog Friendly too!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987381
+1 239 848-0906
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
loveland
5

Another great time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is our second stay at this property and I cannot say enough of how nice everything is. The house has everything all you need is your clothes....we had 1 dog and 3 adult kids and there was plenty of room. Chip the manager is available as you need him and is very eager to make everything perfect. We will book again next year!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fantastic Island Vacation Experience – “Island House” – Dog Friendly too!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987381
+1 239 848-0906
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Fantastic Paradise Again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
2nd time staying at the Island House and already reserved for next year! Relaxing, peaceful, calm. A beautiful place to stay for everyone. A cool boat dock -perfect for our fishing boat, kayaking, and every evening its our own bird sanctuary when the tide goes out. The TREES are amazing! The pool is awesome! Walk across the street to experience sunsets every evening and soak in the healing ocean waters. The house is clean and breezy. beds are super comfy. Theres restaurants nearby and a cute little mini grocery but this year we didn't eat out. Island house has everything you want and need to cook, grill, eat in. Porpoises swam right up to the dock almost every day. We caught loads of fish and even a shovel head small shark & a black tip shark. Of course, we put those guys back. We found a seahorse and many other amazing creatures. Its private and my favorite place on earth. Chip/Sams awesome customer service and sincere care is the best! I HIGHLY recommend the amazing Island House. See you next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Fantastic Island Vacation Experience – “Island House” – Dog Friendly too!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987381
+1 239 848-0906
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

The Perfect Laid-back Getaway at Island House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Just settling back into "real-life" after 6 weeks of living/working from Island House in the beautiful Santiva area...and all I want to do is turn around and go back. The location is the best on the island -- in a friendly, but quiet neighborhood easy walking distance to 3 great restaurants and a general store. Bike paths and a great little marina are literally outside your door. The house itself is well-equipped, comfortable, and casual with everything you need to feel at home. Decor is fun and funky, perfectly suited for the area. There's nothing better than sitting out back having coffee (or a glass of wine!) while enjoying a beautiful view of the bay with the pelicans, herons, and occasional dolphins as visitors. One of the best beaches on the island is a quick walk right across the street, so you never miss a single amazing sunset. And having the big pool with a screened porch is just an added bonus! Chip is the perfect property manager -- helpful, friendly, and there when you need him without being obtrusive in any way. My whole extended stay was fantastic -- and I'm already booked for 2014. Can't wait to be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Fantastic Island Vacation Experience – “Island House” – Dog Friendly too!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987381
+1 239 848-0906
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Island House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Another wonderful year at Island House-our fifth year, and it gets better each time. The setting is gorgeous-we love the house itself, and this year we went for a swim-or two-every day-heaven! Chip and Sam are always welcoming and helpful. Went for a three hour fishing trip with Joey Burnsed (next door at Castaways Marina) which was not only fun, but we also brought back lots of fish. Our favorite restaurant/bar is right around the corner-the Lazy Flamingo. What more can you want?
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Fantastic Island Vacation Experience – “Island House” – Dog Friendly too!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987381
+1 239 848-0906
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Great vacation in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Island house was a great place to stay. Close to great shelling beach and plenty of wildlife in the backyard. It was great to have everything that you need right in the house. Weather is beautiful and heated pool was great. Had a wonderful time and hope to be back soon!
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Fantastic Island Vacation Experience – “Island House” – Dog Friendly too!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987381
+1 239 848-0906
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

A bit of heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We are going on our 6th year staying at The Island house... This house couldn't of been more perfect...Chip, Sammy and Joey are the most gracious hosts and will make your stay wonderful....Being on the northern tip of Sanibel right over the bridge from Captiva makes it our favorite location....The amenities are perfect, the decor, furniture and living facilities are top notch...The landscaping and location on the bay and across the road from the Gulf makes it our favorite spot...Can't beat the Island house.....Definately deserving of 5 stars....Allen and Ina Wakstein
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Fantastic Island Vacation Experience – “Island House” – Dog Friendly too!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987381
+1 239 848-0906
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Bloomington, Illinois
5

A Dream Vacation!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our family just returned from an amazing vacation on Sanibel Island. This was our very first time to the area and Chip and his Island House were a wonderful first impression. The grounds of the Island House are full of beautiful tropical foliage. The home is quiet and secluded. We would later that week use these grounds for our oldest daughter’s wedding. It was an amazingly beautiful setting for such a celebration. Chip was always professional and available during our stay! He was also very attentive to things we may need or enjoy! He put us in contact with his friend, Lamar, for a great island hopping excursion. (I highly recommend as well) The house was very roomy for our family of 8 and was decorated with fun and flare! It was a plus having a swimming pool 2 steps out our back door, not to mention, everything you need is within walking distance. The beach is simply across the street. Our family had so much fun shell hunting on our stay; we came home with more shells then we know what to do with, but they are beautiful! We absolutely will be returning and highly recommend the Island House and its guest house the Habour House for your stay on Sanibel Island. Thank you Chip for a “Fantastic Island Experience!” Blessings!
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Fantastic Island Vacation Experience – “Island House” – Dog Friendly too!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987381
+1 239 848-0906
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
5

Idyllic Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
What a perfect location - beautiful gardens full of tropical flowers, overlooking the bay, with a kayak to find out what is around the corner. Wildlife abounds and there is a regular egret visitor. Steps to the gulf and if you walk east you can always find your own space. Use your bikes and you can find even more space on Captiva. Then 2 of the best restaurants on the island steps away. - breakfast & dinner sorted !
What a comfortable and well equipped house with a wacky decor and everything you need with plenty of space.
What perfect hosts - Chip & Sam went out of their way to unobtrusively ensure we had everything we needed and even brought us the best key lime pie on the islands to try.
Perfect - Alan & Sally, from England.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Fantastic Island Vacation Experience – “Island House” – Dog Friendly too!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987381
+1 239 848-0906
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Fantastic Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This IS the perfect vacation place! From the moment we pulled in to this tropical paradise, it was amazing! The home is private, secluded with its own pool, boat dock & right across the street is the beach! The listing is accurate with so much more! Clean & cool. It was a perfect week of relaxing awesomeness with our private bird sanctuary. Spoon bills, pelicans, egrets & manatees & dolphins! Perfect for everyone! One of the best features was the outstanding care provided by Chip. Every detail was amazing! He is the most professional, gracious host with the most outstanding customer service. My high expectations were exceeded! I highly recommend Chip's Island house for your vacation adventure. We will be staying again! This was by far the BEST vacation I have ever experienced! Thanks Chip! Jill Stewmon April 21-28 2012. See you next year!
Helpful votes: 11/11