Los Angeles house rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Los Angeles House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)

Nestled among giant cedar and palm trees above the hip enclave of Highland Park, enjoy sweeping views of the San Gabriel Mountains in this secluded hilltop Casita brimming with 'Old Hollywood' charm. Lush landscaping, private front and rear yards and patio outside; large bedrooms, huge living room and dining area, remodeled kitchen and full bathroom inside.

Whether you're in LA on business or pleasure, you will appreciate the easy freeway, Downtown and airport access, and proximity to the fabulous shopping and nightlife of Old Town Pasadena (10 minutes away). Locally, enjoy the up and coming cultural district of Highland Park.

House and Neighborhood are kid friendly, and most neighbors are in Film and TV industry. Easy access to Hollywood, North Hollywood and Burbank studios, etc.

We are a California family, currently residing in San Francisco, but we love our LA house! It's a very special spot, unlike anything else you'll find in LA. We put years of love and care into restoring it, and we keep it in top notch condition in the hope that anyone who stays there will enjoy it as much as we have.

Alex Pels purchased this house in 2005

We decided to live in Highland Park in 2005, fell in love with this 1924 Casita the minute we saw it. It was the first and only one we ever looked at! Even though it was in bad shape at the time, we knew the view was worth the price alone, and the quiet and seclusion of the hilltop hooked us!

Inside: View sunsets over the San Gabriel Mountains from the comfortable living room seating area. Cook a great meal in the large kitchen. Watch some TV on the flat screen.

Outside: enjoy the beautifully landscaped yard and lawns, with a trumpet vine covered wall surrounding the whole property.

19 Reviews of Property 987229 in Los Angeles, California

Secluded Mountain View Casita in LA's Hippest Neighborhood
average rating of 4.894737 based on 19 reviews
business
Secluded Mountain View Casita in LA's Hippest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987229
+1 310 709-2135
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Great place. It had everything we needed. One of our favorite places to sit was on the sofa so that we could look out the huge window which provided a fantastic view.
business
Secluded Mountain View Casita in LA's Hippest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987229
+1 310 709-2135
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
Texas
4

Awesome for family or adults

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We were very comfortable at this home. It was nice to have all the amenities in the kitchen and bath. All we needed was out clothes. The neighborhood is quiet. Best to have a small car for parking. A few toys are available should you have young ones. We arrived to the house really late at night and felt just fine walking from the car to the house. We would definitely stay again on our next trip to LA.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Mountain View Casita in LA's Hippest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987229
+1 310 709-2135
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
5

Peaceful, charming home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The casita is a sunny, airy, extremely comfortable house with stunning views. It was just as the owner Alex and previous renters had said it would be...clean and perfectly maintained. Loved the quiet hilltop neighborhood and the diverse and unique shops of Highland Park. And all of LA was easily in reach. We would highly recommend this home. It was hard to leave it, and we can't wait to return.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Secluded Mountain View Casita in LA's Hippest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987229
+1 310 709-2135
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
4

Very clean and comfortable lovely house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The description posted was very accurate and all pre arrival e mails were answered immediately. We were arriving late and were glad that we didn't have to specify a time as you don't meet anyone when you arrive. It was dark when it got to the house and found it very easily. The house exceeded all our expectations and proved to be well stocked. Of particular note was the comfort of the beds which was superb! The only negative we could possibly come up with, at a push, was that lack of sun in the garden. Enough to get by but you had to chase it around the garden with your chair. Not enough of a problem as we still got some sun. Would recommend to anyone and would come back and stay again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Mountain View Casita in LA's Hippest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987229
+1 310 709-2135
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
5

Perfect! Don't rent a hotel stay here!

Perfect! Don't rent a hotel stay here!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The drive up the hill was super enticing. The cool yellow address tiles, the charming front gate and lush front garden draw you into an amazing perfect little vacation hideaway. Once inside, the large Hollywood style curved window and French windows frame your stay in charm and warmth. This place is WAY better than staying at a stuffy hotel! The master bedroom is beautiful blue and the sleigh bed wraps you in comfort with the poufy down pillows. The spare room is just as wonderful. The bathroom and tub-shower perfect with pink bougainvillea peeking into the bathroom window. The kitchen has everything you need for your stay and a small dinner party --- you have to show your friends in the area how cute this place is. A quiet walk around the neighborhood up and down the quaint staircases is nice after dinner and the backyard a great place for morning coffee and yoga. I enjoyed my time between Hollywood and Pasadena and it was nice to feel like a local. Vons, Trader Joes and the delicious taco trucks were perfect. Alex was amazing with my questions before the stay and even after when I forgot some things at the house --- he mailed them back to me no questions asked! I so was happy with my stay and can't wait to go back. Thank you Alex and family!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Secluded Mountain View Casita in LA's Hippest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987229
+1 310 709-2135
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
5

Great Guy! Great House! Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Well we had high expectations based on the reviews and we were not disappointed!! Alex went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable and that we had everything, and I do mean everything, that we needed! He responded to phone calls and text messages promptly and resolved any questions or issues we had. The house is an older home but quite charming and we absolutely loved the window in front of the couch. We all sat on it every morning talking and drinking coffee. The kids loved it so much they asked if we could stay there again! It is a very quiet neighborhood and the house is tucked away and very private! There are quite a few grocery items already in the home as well. We left some half and half, ice cream cake, and shower amenities that couldn't be brought on the plane, so go to the house first before you go shopping! The house was spotless when we arrived and everything was just where Alex indicated it would be. If we do return to the LA area, we will definitely be staying here again! Loved it! Highly recommend it!!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Secluded Mountain View Casita in LA's Hippest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987229
+1 310 709-2135
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
5

Wonderful house !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and here stayed here for a family vacation, along with my sister and her husband and my mom. It was so beautiful , peaceful and great place for us to spend time together ! We spent most our time outside , since it has great outdoor areas ! Beautiful views and had everything we needed! Lots of space inside , and was so wonderful they had toys and books for the kiddos to !! Would defiantly stay here again !
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Mountain View Casita in LA's Hippest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987229
+1 310 709-2135
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
5

perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
beautiful home + yard. great decor, fresh & clean, kind neighbor, furnished with all the necessities, comfy beds, easy parking, toddler friendly, lovely living room view.

it was perfect for our four night stay visiting friends in south pasadena.

alex made the rental process very smooth + swift.

check out cafe de leche, a highland park gem, when you stay.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Mountain View Casita in LA's Hippest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987229
+1 310 709-2135
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
Bethany, OK
5

Elegant Hilltop Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our stay in Highland Park was a complete success! My husband and I looked for a place close to our daughter's family in the LA area. The Wayland House was available and we are so glad this is where we chose to stay. The large rooms were furnished with new comfortable sofas, top of the line mattresses and everything you needed for a relaxing vacation. Alex and Bret were available for anything we needed, but honestly, we didn't need them because everything was explained and taken care of perfectly for our arrival. The view at night was spectacular of LA from the beautiful picture window. I hosted a dinner party the last night for five guests and we had plenty of room and serving items for this special evening. Close to Whole Foods etc in Pasadena and local shops, we found it convenient. My granddaughter claimed the second bedroom as HERS. She loved it so much because of the romantic and fanciful decor-I noted the tempurpedic in there for future reference if we rent again and want adults to sleep in there. What might not show in the photos is the architecture of the home. It is gorgeous! I hope to stay here again whenever we come to LA. So much to explore in the area, we did Kidspace Children's Museum and Old Town Pasadena on this trip. Thank you for letting us enjoy Wayland House!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Mountain View Casita in LA's Hippest Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p987229
+1 310 709-2135
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
5

Great place and neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We arrived late afternoon and walked into a great house! We found the house very warm and welcoming. There was a slight problem with the cable, but Alex had a neighbor come over and get us hooked up. Love the house and the neighborhood...we felt at home. Alex was great to work with and informative. Will definitely call Alex first next time coming out.
Helpful votes: 4/5