Douglas cottage rental - Cottage from Wallis Street
Cottage from Wallis Street
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Douglas Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)

Very nice cottage with modern appliances, cable TV & wireless high speed internet . Short walk to Massachusetts State Forest and miles of walking & biking trails. Good fishing & swimming with dock & canoe.

The winter season brings skating, ice fishing & cross country skiing with downhill skiing close by at Wachuesttet Mountain less than one hour to the north. Thirty min. drive to Old Sturbridge Village & Brimfield Antiques Fair, less than one hour to Boston & one hour drive to casino, Foxwoods & Mohegan Sun.

We are very centrally located to multiple activities in our beautiful state. Come to Central Massachusetts and discover our close by escape from the hassle of overcrowded tourist towns.

21 Reviews of Property 985022 in Douglas, Massachusetts

Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
average rating of 4.714286 based on 21 reviews
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
5

Great family get away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My family stayed at the cottage for a week in July. We could not have been more pleased. Dan and Tina are wonderful; Tina was always around to help out or supply odds and ends when needed. We fished nightly, had a campfire, went out in the canoe several times and just relaxed. My girls were at a camp in Sturbridge for the week and this was a great place to come home to every night. We hope to be able to come back next summer!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review!

Tina is still talking about how much she enjoyed visiting with your girls; please do come back next year.

We attempt to make all our guests feel comfortable and at home. Tina and I hope you will give us a chance to do the same for you.

Sincerely,
Dan & Tina
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
5

Perfect spot to spend a New England fall weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I stayed at the Douglas Cottage with three friends while we were in town for activities in Worcester. Dan and Tina were super accommodating and the house had everything we needed. The outdoor space is ideal for an afternoon BBQ with the lake as an amazing backdrop. I will definitely look up Dan and Tina next time I'm in town. Thanks!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, Tina and I look forward to having the opportunity to host your stay in our area again soon. Please tell your friends that they are most welcome as well.
Happy Holidays!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
5

WONDERFUL TIME FOR ALL

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Thank you Dan and Tina for such a great get away..The cabin was clean,quaint,and cozy. The fire pit was used and enjoyed almost every night. The fishing was amazing. We are looking forward to returning hopefully in the fall and next summer.
p.s. We left you a small gift hanging in your gazebo.
Betty and Bob Dumaine
Owner's Response: Dear Betty, Thank you so much for your great gift, we love it. And, thanks for being perfect guests! Tina and I always enjoy seeing folks that know how to get the most out of a say at the Douglas Cottage Property. Please come back and stay with us again soon.
Sincerely, Dan & Tina
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
5

A lovely week in June...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed at Dan and Tina's Douglas Cottage with our two 27-month old boys for a week in June and had a great time. Dan was very understanding about our need to "toddler-proof" the house and grounds and immediately addressed our safety concerns so that all four of us could securely enjoy our week.

And a lovely week it was! There was a small cove for our boys to wade and splash around in that Dan keeps replenished with fresh sand, and we took our meals at a table near the dock looking out over the quiet, beautiful lake. The boys loved the fish and frogs and birds that were all around.

The grounds are very well-kept and there are a number of different "mini-terrains" -- from the gazebo to a woodsy area -- for our toddlers to explore and enjoy. We also took the boys across the causeway to the national park right across the lake to walk the trails and see the beaver dam -- all very close and convenient. If we had wanted to go out on the lake (we didn't because the boys are still too small), there were boats and all the necessary gear (including lifejackets) for enjoying the water that way.

The cottage itself is very comfortable and clean, and well-stocked with appliances and so forth for making meals and relaxing after the boys were asleep. There's a nice sunroom-style enclosed porch where we spent a lot of time.

Stores and farm stands to stock up on supplies are within easy reach by car. Dan and Tina were always available to help but also respected our privacy; they are relaxed folks, and Tina is one the sweetest people you will ever have the good fortune to meet.

As you can tell, we enjoyed our stay and hope we can come back and do it again next summer!
Owner's Response: Thank you for this positive review! As always, Tina and I are constantly striving to improve the experience of staying at our cottage. Please give us the opportunity to help make your next stay in South Central Massachusetts one to remember. Sincerely, Dan & Tina
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
5

Great fun with little kids!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We spent a week here with our 1 year old & 3 year old and had a really nice time. It's a small house on a very clean reservoir. Because you are next to the causeway on one side and a little patch of trees on the other, it feels much more private than some other lake houses which are right next to one another.

There is a sandy, shallow swimming spot that is nicely shaded; a dock with a ladder into waist-deep water; a canoe and paddles and lifejackets. There is a patio, table and grill, a spot for a fire outside and a gazebo to sit in. We canoed and fished and swam. I have very happy summer memories of this place.

The reservoir allows motors, so this would be an especially good spot for a someone looking for a low-key place to dock a boat.

You are just steps away from a park with walking trails which is nice. It's also about 10 minutes from grocery stores and KMart, WalMart, etc so it's easy to stock up when you have to.


The house itself is exactly as appears in the photos - not fancy, but comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped and the owners provide linens and bath towels. They live one house away and are extremely responsive and pleasant. We had to go to them mid-week for a small house-related problem which they resolved immediately & to our complete satisfaction. They're good people who really want their guests to have a positive experience -- but still stay out of your way. They were very easy to communicate with when setting up the rental, and promptly refunded my security deposit afterward. I truly couldn't ask for better hosts.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Once again we thank you for your choosing our cottage as your summer get away with the kids. Tina and I hope we can do the same for you and your family, please contact us to answer any questions you may have about our property or the surrounding area. Sincerely, Dan & Tina
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
Austin, Texas
5

Great Cozy Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Great experience. Definitely recommend. Tina and Dan were delightful. Lake was beautiful and cottage full of charm.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! As always, Tina and I do our very best to make your stay at our cottage better than expected, and, we are constantly striving to improve the experience. Please consider staying with us, you will be happy you did. Sincerely, Dan & Tina
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
Warwick, RI
5

Relaxing Week on a Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This cottage was clean, comfortable and had a lot of character. The lakefront site was great - there was a sturdy metal dock, a nice swimming area, and a small boat launch which was fine for our 14 ft fishing boat. A gazabo near the water was a nice spot to read and be cooled off by the breezes from the water. The lake itself is bigger than one would have expected from the view from the cottage. The hiking trails nearby (across a causeway) were a nice plus. The owners (Tina and Dan) were quite pleasant to deal with and truly wanted our stay to be a good one. We do intend to return to this cottage in future years as our experience was quite positive.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review! Tina and I hope we will have the chance to provide the same quality experience for your trip to Central Massachusetts as we did for these guests.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
Birmingham, AL
5

Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We enjoyed the entire month of May at this cozy cottage. Dan and Tina were wonderful hosts, warm and gracious while attending to our every need. We enjoyed long walks in the adjacent state forest and we especially enjoyed the waterfront view and the gazebo. A perfect place for a short or long-term getaway!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: As always, Tina and I attempt to make guests feel at home while not infringing on their privacy. We treat every guest with the same respect that we would want for ourselves. We hope to have the opportunity to do the same for you. Dan & Tina
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
worcester,ma.
5

lake house vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
we have been to the cottage in douglas many times.we are never dissapointed.it is beautiful no matter what time of year well taken care of dan and tina are always nice to see and always helpfull.this cottage has a beautiful yard with plenty of seating also you are close to everything even though you feel far away from it all.what a great place to escape without having to travel.we recomend this cottage to anyone who needs to get away and relax.this is the place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Worcester Folks! We will continue to do everything we can to make you and our other future guests comfortable and happy you decided to stay at our cottage on the Whitin Reservoir. We look forward to your next visit.

Dan & Tina
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
Spofford, NH
5

Late summer stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
My wife and I were planning on VA Beach until Hurricane Bill came through and we ended up at Dan and Tina's cottage. Great surroundings and weather. The water was clear and warm. The cottage is a rustic lake cottage with all amenities. Property was well kept and clean. Dan and Tina were great and if they couldn't answer a question about something or somewhere they would get you the answer. Great, relaxing time.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review!

As always, we try our very best to make our guests feel at home. The cottage is constantly being improved to make your next stay even better!

Give us the chance to make your vacation or short stay a pleasant and relaxing one to remember.

We hope to see you soon,
Dan & Tina
Helpful votes: 5/5