De Waterkant villa rental - Refreshing plunge pool. It's ideal after a sunning day!
Refreshing plunge pool. It's ideal after a sunning day!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

De Waterkant Villa Rental Photos and Description
Self catering, 2 double bedrooms, pool, sundeck, BBQ and amazing panoramic views

A stunning 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom self catering villa on Jarvis Street with a plunge pool, 2 sun-decks, alfresco dining area, sea views and an unrestricted view of Table Mountain.

It's in the ideal place for you to experience Cape Town, Green Point & De Waterkant Village. This house is in a chic, fashionable and historic part of the city where some of the properties date back centuries and have been sensitively restored so that none of the magic is lost.

At night the area is a magnet for Cape Town's trendy set. People spill onto the pavement at Cubana's (attracting the young & hip), Manhattan's, Amsterdam bar & the Cape Quarter for great food. For the night owls there are bars and clubs within walking distance.

During the day there's lots to do: Cape Quarter, Table Mountain, Robben Island & the winelands of Stellenbosch and Franschhoek, shopping at the V&A waterfront or spend a day at the beach!

Green Point stadium is a 7 minute walk & Newlands cricket ground and Kirstenbosh gardens a 15 minute drive.

How to get there? Cape Town has a great international airport and most of the world's big airlines fly there. For direct flights from the UK, British Airways, South African Airways and Virgin Atlantic have up to two flights a day. Most of the national European carriers also fly direct e.g. KLM and Lufthansa and there are flights from the US with South African Airways. Low cost routes via the Middle East may also be an option.

If you can't get a direct flight then you could fly to Johannesburg and connect with a no frills carrier like Kulula.com or Mango.com to Cape Town.

The Viila is 20 minutes in a taxi from the airport. Or you can quite easily pick up a rental car at the airport and drive into town. The roads are great and it's a 'drive on the left' like the UK.

OTHER QUESTIONS that you may have:

Can Airport Transfers be arranged?

Yes. Please give me your flight details and we can make arrangements for transfers from the airport and paid for locally directly to the taxi company.

How do I get Keys?

My agent will meet you at the house on your date / time of arrival and will also meet you on your departure. Please give us your cell phone number and tell us your arrival time or if you are likely to be delayed.

Is parking available?

There is parking directly outside the house. The road is patrolled and is considered a safe area. Just don’t leave things visible in your car for opportunists.

How often is the house cleaned / refreshed?

We will service the house every 5 days with a fresh supply of bedding and towels if you desire. There are cleaning products and a washing machine available should you need to use them. If you would like the help of a cleaner more frequently please speak to my agent on arrival to discuss your requirements.

Is there a welcome pack on arrival?

A vase of fresh flowers, a bowl of fruit and a chilled bottle of wine will be our welcoming gift. We will also supply a few basic provisions to get you started.

Would you like a pre arrival food shop?

If you give us a list of items a week before you arrive we will shop (subject to availability) on your behalf and have your shopping waiting for you when you arrive at the villa. The receipted cost for this is payable when you arrive with an added service cost of 200 Rands.

Is the pool open all year?

Unfortunately we keep the pool closed during the months of May to October which is the windy and wet season.

Is there a minimum rental during December?

Yes - between rentals falling December 20th and January 3rd we will only consider a 2 week minimum rental.

Are pets allowed?

We are sorry but only dogs for the blind will be welcome.

Can I have an early check-in or late check out?

Yes, we can consider all requests. If the house is vacant the day before or vacant the day after you leave then we are very likely to be able to say 'YES'!

Is internet access available?

Cape Town's internet infrastructure is poor. There is VERY limited in-house wifi access available on the ground floor of the villa but it has limited bandwidth and is subject to a GB usage cap and is subject to it being available and working. It's offered complimentary if it works and does not form part of the booking contract. There is also a local wireless provider called 'internet hotspot' that you are able to connect to for a small fee per week. My agent can give you details on how to connect. Details are also available within the house guide. Most coffee shops and restaurants also offer this service if you purchase something from them.

Is there a safety deposit box?

Yes. We will give you a code on your arrival. We will not however accept any liability whatsoever for any losses should any items go missing or in the event that you forget the code and can't get immediate access.

Can I smoke in the house?

I'm sorry we like to keep the house fresh. However, if you choose to smoke then smoking on the patio is allowed.

Can we hire a local guide to show us Cape Town and the night life? Yes my agent on arrival can make arrangements and discuss cost depending on what you require.

Additional notes from the owners:

NOTE: The rates shown are for renting the entire villa i.e. to sleep 4 people in the 2 bedrooms as a maximum.

Cancellations;

More than 30 days: full refund less £300 administration cost

Between 15 and 30 days: 75% refund or £300 whichever is the greater.

Between 0 & 15 days: No refunds unfortunately except the security deposit of £300. (So take out travel insurance).

Check - In is normally 3PM and Check - Out is 11AM. If you require more flexibility please ask and we will try to accommodate you where we can. Half day rates available on request.

The owners take no responsibility for any financial or personal loss or injury as a result of staying. We strongly advise you to take out personal travel insurance.

Since we are are renting our holiday home and we are not a business / hotel we do ask for all rentals to be paid 50% at the time of booking and the balance 30 days prior to the rental. We have a fair cancellation policy should the unfortunate happen.

We are however happy to accommodate any special requests.

We accept bookings for a minimum period of 4 nights.

There is also the requirement of a security rental deposit of UK£300 that is refunded within 10 days of departure. In the rare event that the house has any damage or is not left in a clean condition we reserve the right to deduct reasonable costs.

We are pleased to say that to date none of our guests have had any amount retained.

Credit cards are accepted and if you wish to pay via the PayPal system you will incur a 3% handling fee. It is easy to set up and can be activated within 3/4 days.

More Details
Hide Details

We live in the UK but travel frequently to Cape Town where we have a number of properties and have a fair amount of local knowledge.

If you do require further information and you would like to speak to me in person please email me at capeholidayrental@gmail.com and I will gladly call you.

Paul McHale or Amyn Abdulla purchased this villa in 2010

13 Reviews of Property 98426 in De Waterkant, South Africa

A stunning & luxurious 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom Villa with Pool and Sun deck
average rating of 4.6 based on 13 reviews
business
A stunning & luxurious 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom Villa with Pool and Sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p98426
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
New York, NY
5

Amazing place, great location and rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We loved staying here and it was the perfect location and rental. The pool and roof deck are SUCH a great addition to staying in the area that we did. It was lovely to sit up there during sundown and have a few drinks before heading out to dinner, etc. We also spent a day just laying around the house at the pool and soaking up the sun and views of table mountain. The place had all the amenities you could want for a stay including laundry, wifi, lots of towels, dishwasher, etc. They also have a very helpful care taker of the house who made sure we had everything we needed and checked in on us throughout the week to make sure we were good! Very clean rooms/bathrooms in nice condition and great space both inside and outside to relax and hang out after a busy day exploring Cape Town. Paul and Amyn the owners are also very nice and helpful and they are full of recommendations (many of which we took them up on) that made our stay in the city absolutely PERFECT! 100% recommend this and will stay here again when we return.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Kaitlin. It's our pleasure to have rented our holiday home to you and your party.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A stunning & luxurious 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom Villa with Pool and Sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p98426
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
Gabon
5

stay in Cap on 39 Jarvis street

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
all excelent
the only pitty was that we could not see news as DSTV was not working
I recomend fix (or get the Remote control on the saloon, as it may get very hot in summer
all the best and hope to get back
cheers
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you found our villa excellent. We will install a new TV unit and DSTV shortly.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With best wishes Paul and Amyn.
business
A stunning & luxurious 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom Villa with Pool and Sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p98426
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Property and locality were great

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
From our feedback email Denis said "I certainly enjoyed my stay, the property and locality were great as was the customer service!"
business
A stunning & luxurious 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom Villa with Pool and Sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p98426
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
5

Beautiful sanctuary right in the heart of town

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My partner and I stayed here for two weeks over New Year’s, and it was the perfect place to spend our vacation – exactly what we’d seen online and read from the reviews and every bit the sanctuary we’d hoped for. The house itself was lovely and spacious with all the comforts of home, from “big” (fully-appointed kitchen, clothes washer, dining space, living room) to “small” (books/magazines, safes in the bedrooms, coffee maker, WiFi). It was so easy to relax there that we felt very much at home from day 1. The rooftop has an incomparable, unobstructed view of Table Mountain, and we found ourselves enjoying sundowners there almost daily to take it in. There was even a complimentary chilled bottle of wine already awaiting us for that first night so we didn’t have to pick any up before settling in. From the rooftop, the panoramic views alone were enough to make the vacation unforgettable! The house also has a large patio for entertaining (if you’re traveling with friends) and a gorgeous pool that kept us cool while we soaked up the Cape Town sun. We couldn’t have asked for a better location – being right in the Waterkant district, the property is just down the street from the Cape Quarter shopping center (supermarket, dining and café options, a gym, etc.), a 5-min walk to the Bo Kaap district, an easy walk or very short cab ride to the V&A Waterfront, and full of nightlife – bars, clubs, and restaurants all within just blocks. We felt very safe, and getting in and out of the neighborhood to other locations was easy, as it is centrally located and conveniently situated off of Somerset Road, a main thoroughfare that puts you in the direction of almost any destination inside or outside the city.
As much as all of these things contributed to a fantastic vacation, what really made it special were the personal touches that the owners made. They were so friendly in setting up the arrangements, and it was obvious to us that they took pride in the home and in preparing us for our first time in Cape Town. Their agent gave us superb recommendations on places to eat and go even helped us schedule a driver for a day trip to the Cape Peninsula, which we never expected. We highly recommend this property for anyone looking to have the complete, full experience in Cape Town—whether a couple or even a whole family—because it is as much a sanctuary for relaxation and pleasure as it is for convenient exploration of a magnificent city.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
A stunning & luxurious 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom Villa with Pool and Sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p98426
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We're coming back to stay next year

We're coming back to stay next year
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We came back yesterday from Cape Town, I just wanted to let you know that we enjoyed our stay very much and had a real great time !
Your place is really very nice, this is the most pleasant one we ever had since three years and we wish to book it again for next year at the same period.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A stunning & luxurious 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom Villa with Pool and Sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p98426
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We can't wait to get back

We can't wait to get back
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
It was absolutely fantastic! We really can't express how lovely it was and how much we enjoyed our stay. Greg was an absolute star, he is an absolute legend!
My family and I are heading back over this time next year and will definitely be in touch to book again, we just couldn't stay anywhere else now!
We've also got some friends that are coming out for a wedding sometime, they may be interested too so I'll out them in touch.
business
A stunning & luxurious 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom Villa with Pool and Sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p98426
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
Texas, USA
5

Location, service and comfort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
The description and pictures are accurate. We were met at the train station as promised and transported to the apartment where we were met by Greg, the local manager. He was most helpful on arrival and came at the time promised on the last day, making sure we were met and transported to the airport.

This apartment was very spacious for two people as there were two bedrooms and two bathrooms. We enjoyed our time both at the complex pool as well as our evening sojourn on our front patio.
The kitchen was well appointed and it was nice to walk up and down the hills leading to the apartment to the grocery store, the laundry, local restaraunts, the waterfront and to access most of Capetown and surrounding areas. Greg's information was most helpful. We found the botanical gardens to be facinating - home to plant species found in very few places on earth. We also found it easy to get to the Cape of Good Hope for a day's excursion - the tourist office is in easy walking distance at the wharf. The trip up to table mountain left us with incredible pictures on the cable car up / down the mountain, as we looked down to the City and then as we walked around in the clouds of the tablecloth when they moved over the top.

Booking was easy with the owner utilizing paypal and responding promptly to questions. We would definitely recommend this apartment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
A stunning & luxurious 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom Villa with Pool and Sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p98426
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
Gabon
4

cap town stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Greg was nice and on time each rendez vous.
Nice guy and pleasant conversation
all nice would recomend your site to all my freinds coming to Cap town
Cheers
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
business
A stunning & luxurious 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom Villa with Pool and Sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p98426
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
Bristol, England
5

Great location for sightseeing and nightlife

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
This appartment has a very clean and spacious living area and is well equipped. The owner and caretaker made us feel very welcome - we shared many beers watching the World Cup! - and were extremely flexible and helpful on our arrival and departure plans. Being winter we did not try the pool, but it looked inviting and is enclosed in the centre of the complex.

The main attraction of this appartment is the location; there are plenty of bars, restaurants, shops and nightclubs within minutes. Restaurants are all very well priced by European standards. Although we didnt use the kitchen as it was so easy to eat out, there is a Spar supermarket 5 minute walk away that has everything. The de Waterkant Village has permanent security guards (not that we ever felt we needed them) who were very visible on patrols.

It is easy walking distance from Green Point stadium, Long Street, V&A, Robben Island departures, District 6 museum etc. A day trip to Cape Point (tours run for ~£70, e.g. Cape Capers, if you do not have a car) is a must.

I would recommend this appartment to anyone wanting a base in Cape Town for sightseeing by day and eating out at a great choice of restaurants in the evening.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
A stunning & luxurious 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom Villa with Pool and Sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p98426
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
LIBREVILLE GABON
4

like at home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Cet appartement est agréable et fonctionnel et on se sent comme chez soi.
Le petit patio manque d'intimité car situé près de la route et en plus une maison est en construction en face. La piscine et le jardin sont agréables.
Il est idéalement situé dans Cap Town dans un quartier joli, branché et sûr que nous avons eu plaisir à parcourir: restaurants sympas, boutiques de déco supers.
Nous avons pu accéder facilement à tous les lieux à visiter.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1