Damariscotta cabin rental - from river
from river
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps14
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Damariscotta Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 sleeping lofts and a small bunkhouse with 2 sets of bunkbeds

This unique property is a wonderful family retreat right on the beautiful Damariscotta River only 1.5 miles from the quaint village of Damariscotta. We are nestled in 13 acres of private woods and yet it is close to many attractions. You can kayak to town on one of our kayaks, swim in the river (at high tide as river is tidal) or in the pool, hike around the property or read on the relaxing 60 ft. covered river deck. This property was owned at one time by the Schraft candy family and even has 2 old digs on the property. The original log cabin is the living room cabin with stone fireplace and 2 small sleeping lofts. There is a kitchen/dining room cabin with a wood stove and a great family table overlooking the river, also a 2 bedroom cabin with 2 bathrooms and laundry room below. These 3 cabins are connected by a deck and wonderful covered porch.

Then the upper cabin (about 20 yards up the hill) has a king bedroom, bath, kitchen and living room with pullout sofa, which can be a private bedroom as it has its own door & porch. The king also has its own screen porch.

Down another 80 yd. path is the small bunkhouse, which has 2 sets of bunks and its own separate bathroom (sink, shower and compost toilet) and porch. This is truly a unique getaway for a family and friends. We fell in love with it in 1988 and last year built our year-round home a ways up the hill from the cabins. We know you will enjoy our little piece of heaven in mid-coast Maine.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 983761 in Damariscotta, Maine

Unique Damariscotta River retreat with pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Unique Damariscotta River retreat with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p983761
+1 757 7247551
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Perfect Maine Vacation!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We travel from Pennsylvania to Maine for vacations almost every year. Last Summer, we ended up having a larger crowd than anticipated, and this place was perfect. We were able to bring our dogs, which is a huge factor, and we had a lot of kids with us. The cabins were beautiful and bigger than we expected. We ended up not taking as many day trips as we had planned because the place was so comfortable and lovely. The owner and his family were near by, and very friendly/pleasant.
We are really looking forward to visiting Maine again and staying at this rental.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your nice review!
business
Unique Damariscotta River retreat with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p983761
+1 757 7247551
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
5

Highly Recommend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Nine of us stayed here last week, with a family of four joining for the last three days of the week- and we were not at all crowded. We made use of the sleep sofa in the upper cabin which was surprisingly comfortable, and people stayed in both the living room cabin lofts.
As a previous reviewer said, it's all about the porch here. There were jigsaw puzzles being assembled, people swinging in the suspended basket chairs, card games, and lots of just talking and staring out at the beautiful Damariscotta River below. We made use of the kayaks tied at the dock, and drove the couple of miles down to Dodge Park Reserve to hike those trails. Spent a day at Popham Beach just 45 minutes south, and another half day at Pemaquid Beach, which was close to Muscongas Bay Lobster Company, where we had a fantastic lobster dinner on the deck. Boothbay Harbor is just fifteen miles away, where there's lots of shopping and dining spots.
The pool is wonderful, cool and refreshing, and abundant beach towels are provided. One note: there is lots of walking up and down the hill from cabin to cabin to pool to cars, so be prepared. But the owner will ferry your belongings down in his Kabota to make settling in and packing up easier.
Stay at this retreat to experience a true Maine vacation- you'll love it.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Unique Damariscotta River retreat with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p983761
+1 757 7247551
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
New York, New York
5

Wonderful, Relaxing, Maine!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I just spent 5 nights there with 11 friends. We all slept comfortably (there were some couples, who shared beds... but 12 people really do sleep more than comfortably here). The kitchen, with the huge booth table was perfect for meals and games. The river was perfect for two great kayaking trips, with stops at swimming rests along the way. It has trails on the property and is 2 miles away from a series of other trails. The town is two miles away and has everything you need in a Maine town: ice cream, lobster and grocery stores. But the best thing about this place is the porch! It sits all 12 people comfortably, looking out along the river, looking at the beauty of this property and Maine!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Unique Damariscotta River retreat with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p983761
+1 757 7247551
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Absolutely Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Honestly one of the most beautiful and tranquil places we've stayed in Maine. It is almost cliche at how wonderful this place is - definitely a find. Whether you want to relax on a long porch overlooking a beautiful river, kayak to a town, swim in a pool, hike some nice trails or eat at some tasty local restaurants, this retreat has it all. The most difficult part is leaving. Perfect for large groups as well as it is situated on its own vast property providing you the privacy you may need.

Would highly recommend it to anyone and am looking forward to a future visit!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Unique Damariscotta River retreat with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p983761
+1 757 7247551
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
Virginia Beach, Virginia
5

Best of the best

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The is the most idealic Maine experience you can imagine. Plenty of space to spread out or get cozy depending on the mood. Lounging is a requirement and adventure is recommended. Kids of all ages think its like a massive tree fort. The views are stellar, the ambiance is perfect and the accommodations are one-of-a-kind.

Go and enjoy.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Unique Damariscotta River retreat with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p983761
+1 757 7247551
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
5

A little piece of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This place is truly amazing. I have cavorted through Europe, Latin America, and the U.S., but most enjoy my time spent in Maine. Having spent multiple years traveling to this woody oasis on the river, I am drawn to return each summer. The porch overlooks the river and provides perfect place for reading with coffee in the morning and cocktails in the evening. At high tide kayaking and river swims are a must! The big table in the dining room is the perfect place for family style meals, a ruthless game of spoons, or some arts and crafts with the little ones. Outings to Damariscotta, Booth Bay Harbor, and Pemaquid Point (to name a few) provide beautiful scenery and small town charm you will remember forever!!!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Unique Damariscotta River retreat with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p983761
+1 757 7247551
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Best place in the world

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I have stayed at these cabins several times in the summer and also in the fall. Both are equally spectacular times to visit, depending on what you value more. In the summer, swimming in the river and the pool at these cabins is so much fun. In the fall, you have some of the most beautiful foliage you'll ever find.

I have traveled all over the world, and this is one of my favorite places ANYWHERE. I never feel more relaxed than when I'm at these Maine cabins. Napping on the swing on the porch. Waking to a jaw dropping sunrise every morning, water glimmering. The beauty and the quiet of this place puts me at ease. It's one of the few places I can truly disconnect and just relax.

I absolutely couldn't recommend staying here more. If you love beauty, the outdoors, quiet time to recharge and wonderful hiking/swimming, this is the place for you
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Unique Damariscotta River retreat with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p983761
+1 757 7247551
Damariscotta Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Magical

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Oh, there is no place like this anywhere. Even though It has modern conveniences like electricity and a gas stove (and even a pool!) you feel like you have gone back in time to a simpler, purer way of life when you stay here. The madness of the hand-held devices and shopping centers melts away as you sit on the porch swing reading a novel or paddle out in a kayak to see the seals sunning on the rocks down river.

My extended family of 12 meets here every summer. There is plenty of cozy gathering space in the dining cabin and in the lodge cabin for family meals and late night marathon games of Hearts, but there are acres of privacy when you need to escape your relatives for some time alone. We take turns cooking, cleaning and lifeguarding the kids so the other adults can swim, nap, or hike to town to a coffee shop or a glass of wine. The location is perfect for day trips all over mid-coast Maine. You will love this place but PLEASE don't tell the whole world, because then it won't be a best kept secret.
Helpful votes: 7/7