Fort Morgan house rental - Sun Place
Sun Place
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Fort Morgan House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedroom 2 Bath Beach access

Beach house on a quiet, secluded beach in fort Morgan area of gulf shores. No busy commercial congestion or large condominium complexes. Relax on the covered deck with excellent views of the gulf of Mexico and mobile bay . Spend the day just steps away on the uncrowded white, sandy beach. Find shells, watch for porpoises and swim in the clear blue waters of the gulf. It's a short drive to several great golf courses, or shopping in gulf shores and the foley (tanger) outlet centers. Dine at local favorites 'lulu's' owned by jimmy buffett's sister, tachy jacks less than a mile from the house, papa rocko's for pizza and many more. Close to the house is historic fort morgan, or take an easy hike in bon secour national wildlife refuge.

A bargain hunting trip to tanger is a wonderful family activity. Tanger outlet centers have something for everyone. After a day of outlet shopping, everyone will have fun comparing all of the great deals they found

At the west end of the pleasure island peninsula are the remains of fort Morgan. One of the two forts that protected mobile during the battle of mobile bay, the fort dates from 1812. After touring the fort, there are opportunities to stroll the white beaches, swim, fish or crab, shell hunt, and sunbathe. This spot is a favorite with birdwatchers, who have been known to make rare sightings of migratory birds. A marina, golf course, and extra lodging are all nearby.

Recreate among endangered species and migratory birds. Over 4,000 acres of beach dunes, scrub dunes, fresh water marsh, salt water marsh, and maritime forest make up the bon secour national wildlife refuge just west of gulf shores. This coastal refuge is part of the central gulf ecosystem unit part of the migration route of the monarch butterfly, the refuge is also known for its more than 120 species of birds - making it a paradise for bird watchers. Along with birding, the refuge offers opportunities for hiking, swimming, photography, collecting sea shells, and boating. Fishermen enjoy both fresh and saltwater fishing.

Ride the auto ferry to dauphin island for a tour of the sea lab and historic fort gaines.Birdwatching and sunbathing are two of the favorite activities on this island paradise. A campground and hiking trail are part of the sanctuary, giving visitors opportunities to spend time observing the neotropical migrant birds and native wildflowers.. In the spring, the park is visited by bird lovers anxious to view the annual bird migration.

So much to do!

Only 20 minutes from gulf shores, al

More Details
Hide Details

We purchased our first beach house in 2009.We have been loving the gulf since we were children.My oldest son moved there because he loves it so much.My husband and I own a construction business in Lawley,Alabama and plan to retire near the beach one day

Cheryle/Owner purchased this house in 2012

This house was located next to the first house we purchased and wanted to be able to provide a place for family gatherings.

We love the open space behind the house.The views of the bay and beach are beautiful.We have two other homes in the area for family gatherings.Ask about reduced rates when renting multiple homes

7 Reviews of Property 983605 in Fort Morgan, Alabama

Pet Friendly,Quite Community,Beach And Bay Views
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
business
Pet Friendly,Quite Community,Beach And Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p983605
Fort Morgan Alabama Gulf Coast
Knoxville, Tennessee
5

Nice, clean, well-kept, homey!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Our stay in the Fort Morgan area was made better by the ease of our interaction with Cheryle and the quality of their cabin. From the first email, Cheryle was straight-forward, easy to work with, and clear. The house was clean, well kept, and just a few houses from the beach. It is located close to Fort Morgan, rather than close to high rises so it feels like a "real" beach house. The area is quiet but friendly. Our pets did well there and Cheryle let us know their very reasonable expectations about having pets with us. All and all, this is the perfect place to relax!
business
Pet Friendly,Quite Community,Beach And Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p983605
Fort Morgan Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Location, location, location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
What a great vacation rental home. The photos do not do this porperty justice. We picked this location because it is pet friendly and so is the beach. The beach wasn't crowded because it was after Labor Day, if you want to avoid the crowds, I highly recommend this beach and time of year.

I was amazed at how well the house was stocked, there was nothing we needed that wasn't on hand. The owner was very courtious and handled everything professionally, we were very pleased.

Ft. Morgan was a great stop and very informative. We enjoyed dinner and drinks at the nearby resteraunts Behind the Pines and Sassy Bass, both close by, great food at good prices. While on our way to a recommended restaurants in nearby Orange Beach, we saw busy place named Brick and Spoon. We stopped and are very thankful for the find. Everything was amazing, well worth the small drive to get there. We also had a great time at Lulu's, I was worried it would be too touristy, but it was perfect, very busy, but the food was fantastic.

Great vacation overall, we will definately be back!
business
Pet Friendly,Quite Community,Beach And Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p983605
Fort Morgan Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Great house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My family & my brother's family stayed here for 7 days, we had a great trip! The house was the perfect size, all of the rooms were pretty roomy. It's a short walk to the beach & it's nice to be able to see a little bit of the water from the front deck. Loved having the covered deck & the swing under the house is nice as well. Overall our stay was excellent!
business
Pet Friendly,Quite Community,Beach And Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p983605
Fort Morgan Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Love this Vacation Home/Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My family of four and our dog absolutely enjoyed our time here. The description of the rental and area does not do it justice. The owner has thought of everything you will need while here. The beach is just a few steps away and the beaches are beautiful. There was plenty of room for everyone and sitting on the deck, you can hear the waves crashing which is incredible. The neighbors we meet were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place to everyone who is wanting to get away from it all and enjoy family time or just do nothing. We did try the Tacky Jacks II and I would say that it is not that great. The property was very clean and well maintained and having internet was the icing on the cake. We observed a school of dolphins while we were actually in the water which made the trip even better. We would stay here again and being pet friendly allowed us to have a complete family vacation with our dog, Ace. Wonderful place, great location, perfect home for that family vacation.
business
Pet Friendly,Quite Community,Beach And Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p983605
Fort Morgan Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Great place! So close to the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The home was wonderful and I would recommend it. My family (5 of us) came down from Kentucky and brought our dog. The house was comfortable, clean, and well maintained. It had all the amenities we needed. And the location was wonderful too. So close to the beach. Its about 18 miles from the main Gulf shores area so its far enough away from the crowds but close to go into town for dinner or for the grocery. And we enjoyed having practically our own beach for the week too. Not all crowded like other places.

We would definitely book again with this owner. The owner was also very responsive to questions and any thing that came up.

Great house! Thanks for helping us have a great vacation!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pet Friendly,Quite Community,Beach And Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p983605
Fort Morgan Alabama Gulf Coast
5

A Lovely Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Loved the house. My husband and I went down to escape the cold and do some work near the beach. We needed WiFi for this and it was perfect.
The location of the home is such that you can see the gulf in one direction and the bay in the other. Very quiet - except for wind and crashing waves. : )
If you are looking for an escape that isn't touristy, this is a good one.
The Crawfords
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Pet Friendly,Quite Community,Beach And Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p983605
Fort Morgan Alabama Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas
4

Had a wonderful stay close to the beach

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Perfect place to stay, close to the beach. Quiet neighborhood and the owner was very nice and accomodating. We were four people and had plenty of room. We brought our puppy and he loved to run on the beach, there were not many people.
Helpful votes: 2/2