Columbia Heights apartment rental - Living Room
Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Columbia Heights Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

PLEASE ALSO SEE REVIEWS of PROPERTY #421709(apartment directly adjacent to this one - same building & owner)

Meticulously renovated, one-bedroom apartment in historic brownstone.

Fully furnished and beautifully appointed one-bedroom apartment boasts 11-foot ceilings, queen-sized bed, W/D, CAC, DW, built-in microwave, Italian tile in kitchen & bath, hardwood floors throughout, custom closet and built-ins, incredible sunlight and top of the line furniture, furnishings & bedding. Wrought-iron terrace off of living room provides access to landscaped garden. ALL utilities included: WiFi, electric, gas, water, cable & security system. Weekly maid service available upon request.

Guests need only arrive with clothing & personal items to begin enjoying a luxury hotel-suite living experience.

Owner owned & managed.

Keywords: One-bedroom, Next to Metro, New renovation, Luxury flat

I have lived in Washington DC for over 20 years.

I work in news & communications in downtown DC as well as serve as an adjunct prof at Georgetown University.

I am an avid cyclist, swimmer and gardener in my spare time.

Daniel Maiello purchased this apartment in 2001

This apartment is one block from the Metro on a lovely tree-lined block with immediate access to restaurants, shopping and grocery. All of Washington's most visited and stunning sites are on the Metro line within just a few short stops from the stop next to the house.

Columbia Heights is a vibrant, diverse neighborhood that has an eclectic mix of residents of many ages, cultures, and income levels. It boasts a beautiful mix of turn of the century & 1920’s architecture as well as a mix of big box shopping & national restaurant chains, as well as independent, small restaurants and a very close proximity to DC’s other well-known, popular neighborhoods via, Metro, taxi, bus or by foot. At this point, the mixture of residents is one of the most diverse anywhere in the city.

While the area’s main drag is home to Target, Best Buy, Panera, Starbucks, and Chipotle, the neighborhood streets are dotted with smaller, independently-owned establishments, like The Heights, a neighborhood American bistro, the Vietnamese restaurant Pho 14, Sticky Fingers vegan bakery, and Room 11 wine bar.

Also, 11th Street, a quiet cousin to 14th Street that was recently introduced to readers of The New York Times as “Washington’s hippest new strip” is home to a number of businesses that are distinctly more local and quirky than those on the area’s main drag. There is the massively popular Wonderland bar, Red Rocks Pizzeria, Meridian Pint, Columbia Heights Coffee, and Bloombars, a free and funky performance space. The owner of Tryst, an ever-crowded coffee shop in Adams Morgan, is also planning on opening a diner/bar/coffee shop on the ground floor of 1020 Monroe Street in the next few weeks.

Columbia Heights is a public transportation mecca. The Metro station is on the Green Line, with the major transfer stop Gallery Place only eight minutes away. Buses running north and south along 14th Street and 16th Street are some of the city’s busiest, and a Circluator bus runs east and west.

Driving in the city is a little less convenient, mostly because parking—particularly close to 14th Street—has gotten tougher and tougher. But the neighborhood is close to major city arteries like 16th Street, Rock Creek Parkway, Rhode Island Avenue (Route 1), and New York Avenue (Route 50). Major Virginia highways like I-66 and the George Washington Parkway are a little farther. There is secure, garage parking available for $20 a day located at the Target down the street. I can give you the pass if you choose to park there.

Columbia Heights is one of those rare DC neighborhoods where people of all races, ages, and socioeconomic classes share space, and to many, that - not the revitalized commercial strip - is where its charm lies.

21 Reviews of Property 407679 in Columbia Heights, Washington DC

Luxury One-Bedroom in Historic Brownstone1 Block from Metro
average rating of 4.952381 based on 21 reviews
business
Luxury One-Bedroom in Historic Brownstone1 Block from Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407679vbi
202 271 4347
Columbia Heights Washington DC
Miss River, North Carolina
5

Columbia Heights Perfect Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Would highly recommend this property, it is very well located as well as very nicely furnished. Had a WONDERFUL time.....................planning to go back the next time in DC. It was actually the first time that I have stayed at a place & did not move furniture around. It was perfect.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Jim & Jose~
It was a pleasure to have you! I look forward to your return!
Best,
Danny
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury One-Bedroom in Historic Brownstone1 Block from Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407679vbi
202 271 4347
Columbia Heights Washington DC
Anchorage, Alaska
5

Amazing and not to be passed over!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I would like to begin this review by complimenting Danny the owner on his hospitality, graciousness and promptness to respond to any questions we had prior to and during our arrival.

I was pleasantly pleased not only with the apartment, location, but also the neighborhood.

This was the perfect one bedroom apartment for my husband and I during our recent visit to DC. The neighborhood was quiet, well maintained and visibly attractive. I really liked being able to sit on the stoop each night and watch the people as they passed by. Convenience; the metro is truly one block away and is surrounded by name brand stores for convenient shopping. We were able to take in neighborhood haunts like the Wonderland Bar and Red Rocks Pizzeria.
I loved the furnishings in the apartment and the bed is super comfortable. Danny has stocked the apartment with everything you could possibly need to prepare a meal or to hangout for a week or more. I look forward to reserving this space again next year.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury One-Bedroom in Historic Brownstone1 Block from Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407679vbi
202 271 4347
Columbia Heights Washington DC
Corpus Christi, TX
5

Highly Recommend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We highly recommend this property. The apartment is ideally located in the city. We were able to easily walk the one block to the metro as well as find street parking for our car. Danny was very helpful thoughout the planning and stay. The apartment is well decorated and perfect for two. We would love to stay again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury One-Bedroom in Historic Brownstone1 Block from Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407679vbi
202 271 4347
Columbia Heights Washington DC
Maui and Spokane
5

The Perfect Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Looking for a place in Columbia Heights can be challenging, unless you are as lucky as we were to find Danny's Brownstone. One Word AMAZING The location could not be better, the building is in immaculate condition, inside and out. Danny is extremely helpful and really makes you feel at home. Furnishing are top notch, linen, dishes, furniture. I have been to DC three times in the last year and have staying in Columbia Heights all three times. This is where I will stay when I return. Quiet, Safe and Perfect....Thanks for letting us enjoy your beautiful Brownstone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury One-Bedroom in Historic Brownstone1 Block from Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407679vbi
202 271 4347
Columbia Heights Washington DC
San Luis Obispo, CA
5

Book now!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This place is perfect. Very short walk to the metro station, Target, CVS, and Giant Foods. The apartment is very clean and comfortable. Quiet neighborhood. I've used VRBO many times and most times choose a place based on the reviews. The reviews were right on the mark. I would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury One-Bedroom in Historic Brownstone1 Block from Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407679vbi
202 271 4347
Columbia Heights Washington DC
Ventura, CA
5

Great space, great area, great host.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The host was super friendly and helpful, he gave us ideas of where to eat when we got in late and made sure we had enough keys to the place. It looks just like in the picture, very clean and modern. He has laundry facilities avialable, and above all, the bed is super comfortable. Only a block from the Columbia Heights Yellow/Green Line Metro station gives great access to anywhere you might want to go, plus there are great places to eat right in the Columbia Heights area. I definitely would recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury One-Bedroom in Historic Brownstone1 Block from Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407679vbi
202 271 4347
Columbia Heights Washington DC
Pasadena, California
5

Beautiful, convenient one bedroom apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a wonderful experience staying at this apartment while in DC for our daughter's college graduation. The furnishings are beautiful, Danny is a kind, knowledgeable, and very helpful resource, and the location is perfect, just one block from the yellow/green line. Thank you, Danny, for a truly memorable celebration experience!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury One-Bedroom in Historic Brownstone1 Block from Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407679vbi
202 271 4347
Columbia Heights Washington DC
Winter Haven, FL USA
5

Have no fear, Book here

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Just returned home from a fabulous four night five day getaway in Washington D.C. It was my teenage daughter and I enjoying our Nations Capitol. We took the Metro directly from the airport to the apartment. The apartment is only one block away from the Metro station, and everything else you could need is also located right there at the intersection where the Metro station is. The apartment is decorated very nicely with stylish modern furnishings. There are many pictures and art decorating the walls. The apartment felt very inviting, and we were very comfortable. The little outdoor space might have been overlooked in previous reviews, in my opinion, it was a very lovely space. It was a small space but lovely still, light flooded the little deck and I enjoyed my time out there. Danny was awesome. He made us feel very welcome and he was always a phone call away if we had any questions. One day my daughter wanted to do some shopping, and while we could find all the museums and monuments no problem we were unsure as to where the best shopping might be, we sent Danny a text and he directed us well. This is the place to stay for so many reasons. We are definitely looking forward to visiting DC again and we would book this apartment again as well. Thanks again Danny, Crystal
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury One-Bedroom in Historic Brownstone1 Block from Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407679vbi
202 271 4347
Columbia Heights Washington DC
5

A Gem One Block from Metro and Great Food Options

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
If the Key is Location then we have a winner. Location being a block from the Metro, in a safe neighborhood, walking distance from food and bars, what more could you ask for?
The place was extremely clean and Daniel was helpful with advice about the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was great to have you!
Best,
Danny
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury One-Bedroom in Historic Brownstone1 Block from Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407679vbi
202 271 4347
Columbia Heights Washington DC
Stockton, CA
5

Inauguration 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Found this apartment as an alternative to hotels that were priced exorbitantly for the week of the President's inauguration. What a great option! For those looking for a neat urban experience. Lots of upgraded classic properties mixed with older, original DC townhouses -- a bustling and eclectic neighborhood with all the amenities just two to three blocks away. Columbia Heights Metro just one block away. Beautifully appointed apartment, very comfortable. Perfect for just one or two -- snug for any more. Danny the host was very accomodating - made himself fully available in case of any issues. Home away from home to which I'd return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: John,
It was a pleasure to have you & hope to see you back in DC again soon!
Best,
Danny
Helpful votes: 1/1