Anghiari condo rental - Anghiari blooms with love and good cheer.
Anghiari blooms with love and good cheer.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Anghiari Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

Our wonderful English speaking agent Giuseppe Dini will meet you at the town car park (free parking) and escort you to our apartment just inside the arched entry through the historic defensive walls - no cars are allowed inside. You climb two sets of stairs to our top-floor apartment which stretches the full depth of the 12th Century building; the two front windows give superb views across the Tiber valley to the distant Appenine mountains.

The light-filled living/dining/kitchen area rises to a raftered ceiling. While the character of the 800 year-old building has been maintained, with medieval floor tiles and ancient timbered beams, the kitchen and bathrooms are modern. On the 15 foot wall in the living room hangs a striking painting by Vincenzo Calli. The bedroom,with ensuite bathroom, has the same spectacular view as the living room, overlooking the ancient walls, the Tiber Valley and the Appenine Mountains in the distance. Downstairs in the entry hall there is a second half bathroom, plus washer and dryer.

Fans help keep the place cool in summer, and central heating with radiators keeps it warm in winter.

The housekeeper Fiametta lives in the apartment below ours, and changes the sheets and towels. She is very helpful in case of any problems. Anything she cannot solve will be dealt with by Giuseppe quickly.

Keywords: Condo

More Details
Hide Details

My twin sister and I fell in love with this place and have spent two years restoring it to what we think is perfection. We love restoring old buildings, and like to fit all modern facilities without changing the historical authenticity of the place. Since we now own three apartments in the same building, we have been able to arrange wonderful family gatherings at Christmas, Easter and during the summer months. We are now retired university teachers, so go there frequently, since any time of year has its own rewards.

Juliet Ricketts purchased this condo in 2006

The 800 year old walled town on the Tuscany/Umbrian borders has earned its place in the Italian register of 'The 100 Most Beautiful Small Towns of Italy'. We chose Anghiari because it is so beautiful and unspoiled by too many tourists. The local people are friendly, helpful and always willing to try their English. Anghiari has two museums, medieval churches, six good restaurants, all the shops you might need, and good bus services to bigger towns like Sansepolcro and Arezzo, which has fast train services to Florence and Milan and Rome.

9 Reviews of Property 982697 in Anghiari, Italy

Anghiari, La Piccionaia, Highest Views From City Walls
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Anghiari, La Piccionaia, Highest Views From City Walls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982697
+1 757 397-4703
Anghiari Sansepolcro area
5

This place is quite simply a gem! It is a must-stay if you are traveling to Italy.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I stayed at La Piccionaia for three weeks this summer and I must say that it was the most incredible experience that we could have ever imagined. Obviously, staying in a Tuscan apartment and enjoying the Italian life was wonderful in and of itself. But, it was La Piccionaia that made the entire stay so memorable. Juliet and Andrew provided an apartment that had everything. The appliances were all modern (including a washer and dryer making our clothes cleaning so easy. There were dishes and cutlery and we cooked just about every night. The apartment was spacious and quite comfortable for the two of us. And, the view......oh, the view. This particular apartment looks out on the Anghiari countryside so every morning we got to wake up to the most beautiful scenery imaginable. The quaint town was lovely and we had a great time getting to know the locals and shopping from their local stores. And, we were able to navigate the bus routes quite smoothly and made it to Arezzo several times (for our mini-trips to Venice, Florence, and Assisi just short train rides away).

However, it was Juliet and Andrew's attention to detail and wonderful hospitality that made this place a true gem. It was so incredibly easy agreeing on the per-night price and coordinating the rental contract. Juliet answered all of our questions and was very easy to contact whenever we needed clarification. In country, there were two people, Fiammetta and Guiseppe, that were able to assist us with anything we could possibly need while at the apartment. The internet went down due to a storm and Guiseppe not only stopped by (to try and fix the problem himself) but also called to make sure we were only without access for one day (and the repair man came the next day). And, Fiammetta was there with door key in hand when she heard my husband knocking early one morning (after leaving without his key to go get morning groceries while I was sleeping). Both of them could be counted on for any possible thing that would arise.

My husband and I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was at La Piccionaia. We take online reviews very seriously and heavily rely on them when traveling. It is because of this, that we ensure our reviews are real, authentic, accurate, and provide useful information for fellow travelers. We hope that you take a chance on La Piccionaia, or any of the other properties that Juliet and Andrew own in Anghiari. You will not be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Anghiari, La Piccionaia, Highest Views From City Walls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982697
+1 757 397-4703
Anghiari Sansepolcro area
Bowral NSW Australia
5

What a view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We are now back in Aus. I wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay in Anghiari. The apartment was beautifully renovated and equipped. The views were simply stunning. We had all weather conditions so we woke up to some light rain, sun fog and haze so every morning we had something different to see out our bedroom window! The village was a gem. We spent hours wandering around, made trips to Arezzo and Sansepolcro, bought and ate too much at the bakery and the restaurants and really enjoyed our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Anghiari, La Piccionaia, Highest Views From City Walls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982697
+1 757 397-4703
Anghiari Sansepolcro area
Gananoque, ON, CA
5

La Piccionaia was everything and more than we imagined!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
What beautiful
accommodations and the views breathtaking. There was absolutely nothing that
we could have wanted or needed that wasn't there in the apt. Anghiari is
quite a charming spot and we enjoyed it to the fullest with the small shops,
fantastic restaurants and everyone was very friendly. We managed to do some
travelling around to Azzero and San Sepulcro using the local buses without
any difficulty. We then rented a vehicle one day and drove the Chianti Rd to
Radda and Greve which was another wonderful trip.
All in all your spot is one that I will highly recommend to friends
and anyone wanting to get a taste of the "real" Italy. We enjoyed
having to learn a bit of Italian in Anghiari which you didn't really need to
do in the big cities and again you have a wonderfully charming spot and we
are going to miss opening those shutters and looking at the wonderful views!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Anghiari, La Piccionaia, Highest Views From City Walls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982697
+1 757 397-4703
Anghiari Sansepolcro area
Utah
5

Amazing Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
My wife and I were stranded in Italy when the volcano erupted a couple of months ago. We found this apartment online and stayed in Anghiari for 5 days and loved every minute of it. The apartment was perfect with an amazing view of the Tuscany landscape. I would highly recommend this apartment and city to anyone traveling through. If we wouldn't have been stranded we would have missed this amazing part of Italy, Thank you volcano!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Teenagers and older children love the adventure of living in this ancient house: we feel that its low windowsills might pose a problem for little children.
Honeymoon couples find this place all that they had dreamed of, from their emails and telephone calls.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Anghiari, La Piccionaia, Highest Views From City Walls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982697
+1 757 397-4703
Anghiari Sansepolcro area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
I came to Anghiari expecting to visit a place, and instead found my family: I discovered descendents of my grandfather's brother living in the small mountain village of Montagnana..the family welcomed us with open arms, preparing a great feast and taking us to visit relative after relative. We experienced the hospitality, good food and and wonderful wines that characterize Anghiari; we hope to return.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Anghiari, La Piccionaia, Highest Views From City Walls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982697
+1 757 397-4703
Anghiari Sansepolcro area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2009
We have had a wonderful visit to Anghiari, which is a genuine introduction to Tuscany. Just looking out of the windows of Piccionia places you squarely inside a Florentime painting.
The apartment was equipped superbly with everything a tired traveller needed to feel welcome.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Anghiari, La Piccionaia, Highest Views From City Walls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982697
+1 757 397-4703
Anghiari Sansepolcro area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We were very comfortable in this well-equipped flat, and the views are, of course, spectacular. The bed was great and the linenes fine; everything was so nicely appointed.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Anghiari, La Piccionaia, Highest Views From City Walls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982697
+1 757 397-4703
Anghiari Sansepolcro area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
the perfect combination of medieval Tuscany and high quality engineering - a wonderful romantic place to be
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Anghiari, La Piccionaia, Highest Views From City Walls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982697
+1 757 397-4703
Anghiari Sansepolcro area
Norfolk, Virginia USA
5

La Piccionaia, a jewel of Tuscany

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
Our stay was in mid November when a chill could be found in the air, making this a cozy retreat after a day of touring the surrounding area. The condo is equipped with everything one could possibly want. The owners go above and beyond to see that guests are happy. Photos cannot do justice to this lovely property. In this condo, you are living among history, and you have all the modern conveniences as well. Peering out the windows, one can enjoy the beautiful mountains, and olive trees. Walking to the town center is within 5 minutes. An easy walk. Activities abound. Florence is a little more that an hour to the northwest. Check out the Tuscany and the Anghari web sites.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3