Harlem apartment rental - Your private hideaway in the City.
Your private hideaway in the City.
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Harlem Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, Studio, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)

Your own private Harlem hideaway. A quiet dreamy oasis for your busy New York trip. Enjoy life in an 1895 brownstone in one of the city's most charming historic neighborhoods. NOTE: This is just one of four unique units in the building. We also have Parlor (982545), Guest Room (993020) and Garden (3634519).

The all-white interior with 12' ceilings and a view of a tree filled leafy garden will instantly put you in a peaceful mood. It is just one of 4 units in the building, so you will noticed its personalized attention.

Enter from the front stoop through the ornate carved wood entry arch and you will feel like you have just stepped back 100 years in time. All original oak details which show the charm of gently worn history. Go straight ahead to your own apartment through the 10' entry door.

This Studio Apartment is very special from the time you open the door. The 12' ceilings create a special ambience and all-white room direct you to look out at the beauty of the peaceful private back gardens with their trees and greenery. Since it is in the back of the building you hear no street noise.

The apartment is furnished with high end furniture, such as an original leather Corbusier sofa and raw steel full length mirror, a double bed and bedstands. Also a 42'' screen mounted TV pivots out for viewing anywhere in the apartment. The bed area is carpeted for a more lush intimate feeling. The radio/iPod player holds and iPod filled with Harlem Hideaway playlist of jazz and blues. Books of New York and Harlem are provided.

There is a large closet and plenty of extra overhead storage to hide those suitcase so you can forget you are a visitor!

The kitchen has a new 4 burner gas stove/oven, microwave, toaster oven, toaster, coffee makers, stainless bottom freezer refrigerator and coffee/tea awaiting. The refrigerator has a filtered water pitcher. Eat on authentic colorful fiestaware plates under the huge oversized pendant light next to the original massive black and white blow-up from a vintage science book.

Check out the quirky items in the metal glass display case and you may laugh. Linens, towels, iron/board are provided, as well as lending umbrellas.

A 3 speed overhead ceiling fan and quiet built-in air conditioner/heater will add to your comfort, as well as separate adjustable bedside lamps.

The all white shower room with lit medicine cabinet contains an outlet, free cosmetics for the ladies, as well as a shampoo, soap and hairdryer. The separate toilet room has its own charms.

Want a larger room or additional space? The adjacent room in building is the Parlor Room (Home Away # 9825450). It sleeps three. We also have the Guest Room (Home Away # 993020) on the top floor. Sleeps two. We also have the Garden Apartment (#3634519) that sleeps four.

More Details
Hide Details

An enthusiastic New York and Harlem resident, always ready to give the inside scoop and recommendations on Harlem or NYC. Very involved in the neighborhood. A product, landscape and interior designer with numerous awards and items in national museums. In fact, the building has also been published in several magazines and appeared in films. A world traveller, as I flew for Pan Am for over 7 years.

Dennis Decker purchased this apartment in 2000

This building is typical of the historic neighborhood. I was impressed that it still retained so much of its original form and material. However, I was very impressed by the atmosphere of the block, with friendly, open and involved neighbors.

The quiet friendly tree-lined street, proximity to express subway- only 4 stops to Times Square, closeness to neighborhood coffee shop and historic park, as well as the 125 St. corridor and Central Park.

I actually love sitting on the front stoop while having a coffee or a glass of wine. I love seeing the relaxed street life going by, and being a part of it. Since my block is dominated by private brownstones, rather than apartment buildings, it has a friendlier, small town feeling than most other neighborhoods.

46 Reviews of Property 982538 in Harlem, New York

Harlem Hideaway Studio Apartment
average rating of 4.869565 based on 46 reviews
business
Harlem Hideaway Studio Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982538
9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
5

Apartment was 100% OK! Clean and very quiet!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
A very warm welcome by owner Dennis with lots of very good points of interest. That makes one feel at home immediately.
Nice studio, well decorated and very quiet. Not so big, but that was no problem for us because we only came to sleep after a long and hectic day NY.

A place we can recommend everyone!
business
Harlem Hideaway Studio Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982538
9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
Germany, Lüneburg
5

Very cute hideaway in Harlem, don't miss it!

Very cute hideaway in Harlem, don't miss it!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Dear Dennis,

Thank you again so much for having had a wonderful time in your cosy, sweet little appartment. It is furnished perfectly, very very quiet and in a great, welcoming neighbourhood. We had absolutely everything we needed, the bed is very comfortable and there is absolutely nothing we would have changed if we could. Whoever searches for a quiet, small but very well equipped appartment about 10 MInutes from Time Square by Subway (which is about 5 MInutes walk from the appartment) should book this one!

Dennis was the perfect host. He lives in the same building which makes ways extremely short should you have any further wishes. He explained the neighbourhood (including great places for coffee and burger) and the surroundings and was always there when we needed something.

Thanks again so much for everything, we hope to be coming back some day!
Janica & Mark
business
Harlem Hideaway Studio Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982538
9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
4

Quaint

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My request for only 1 night on New Years Eve was welcome news to me, I had to pay a $50 premium for this. Fortunately If you follow the directions from the owner and use the correct exit from the subway it will be easy. Its a bit scary at night though.The unit itself was very clean, tasteful and warm. The owner was very friendly, Unfortunately our flight was later that afternoon, the cleaner had arrived and we were rushed out, what a pity.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: MP,
I was glad we could accommodate you for your very short stay and we hope you can return for a longer period!
I'd like to address your two concerns so that future guests get a full picture. The fact you felt scared at night may stem from your not being familiar with the area. This is natural for anyone. Statistically, this area is safer than Greenwich Village. Harlem Hideaway is 3 blocks (3 minutes) from the subway walking on a well lit busy street, and there is a 24 hr. concierge at the million dollar condo building on the corner. In the 14 years I've lived here there has never been a scary incident that I know of. I hope your next visit will alleviate any doubts!
I'm sorry you felt rushed out. This was not our intent at all! The cleaner is scheduled at the required check-out time of 11AM so that the room is perfectly cleaned and ready for the next guest. We always allow guests to keep bags at the building and permit the guest to keep a set of keys to retrieve the bags for a later flight.
Please allow us to completely win you over on your next trip out when you can stay longer. Please accept a free day on us!
Best wishes,
Dennis
business
Harlem Hideaway Studio Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982538
9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
5

safe, clean, comfortable and close to everything

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We arrived much later than expected, yet Dennis greeted us with the warmest welcome. The place was everything you see on the profile. no unpleasant surprises. the bed is big enough for 2 adults, the studio we stayed in is located in the back of the apartment so you get peace and quiet. the bathroom and toilet were clean with shampoo, soap and hairdryer for you to use if need be. The big TV was my husband's favourite room feature as there was 1 day where we had to stay in as he wasnt feeling great. the location could not be better. the main subway is located less than 5 minutes away by foot and nearby you can find a supermarket, pharmacy and some other cenvenient shops. there are plenty of good eateries nearby, the closest one is about 2 minutes away at a cafe called Il Cafe Latte. they make very yummy omelletes (do look at their dinner menu as well, tho). And then there's Harlem Shake! The burgers are to-die-for! my husband went as far as adding 2 extra meat patties to his 2 meat patty burger (yep 4 patties, you guessed it) and ofcourse not forgetting his choc shake to accompany the burger. they were so good we had to go back there 2 days later! folks, if you can, make time to visit this diner, you will not regret it. If you want to try one of the best fried chickens in NYC, go to Amy Ruth's. Again this is only about 6 minutes away from the studio apartment. If you wish to stay in and cook, there is a gas stove and a fridge/ freezer in the apartment (do open the window when you cook, tho). We had an amazing time whilst staying at the Harlem Hideaway. Dennis was very helpful and pleasant and we could not ask for a better host. If youo need suggestions on where to go, what to do or any general questions, Dennis would be more than happy to have a chat with you about it. Our thank you also to the cleaner for doing an amazing job keeping the place clean and comfortable. We definitely recommend the Harlem Hideaway for those looking for a NY accommodtion and we hope to stay there again when we come back to New York

Christina & Michael R
business
Harlem Hideaway Studio Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982538
9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
4

Comfortable, quiet, well equipped

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The studio unit was very comfortable and convenient. The new climate control system worked very well. The kitchen was well equipped. Wi-fi was easy, reliable, and fast. The streetscape is very attractive, and we found the unit to be very quiet - no problems sleeping. Subway is within easy walking distance. Dennis was very welcoming upon our arrival and went through all of the features of the unit, also provided a primer on the local area for restaurants, etc. The only minor issue was that the shower was a little small, but it was not a big deal.

We would stay here again.

Didn't get to Harlem Shake this time, but we'll be back!

Thanks for everything.
business
Harlem Hideaway Studio Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982538
9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
4

DESERVED REST AFTER A LONG DAY

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Harlem Hideaway was the best place to get after walking all day long the streets, museums and many other places of NEW YORK.
Dennis thank you very much for your hospitality.
business
Harlem Hideaway Studio Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982538
9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
5

A Weekend in NYC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Right from the start of planning our trip to New York, Dennis was so helpful and quick to respond to our questions.
We stayed in the Studio, and absolutely loved the flat. As advertised the apartment was super clean as were the sheets and bath towels.
Upon our arrival to the apartment Dennis gave us an extensive tour of all the facilities available to us and was able to make great recommendations for us to add to New York stay.
The Harlem area is so calm and serene, a different New York experience from the Time Square area.
Dennis recommended the High Line in the Meat Packing District to us and the view of the city from this advantage point was absolutely spectacular. A must see.
In Harlem, we enjoyed Ginny's Supper Club on the Saturday night with great Food and Jazz.
We are ready to plan our next trip to New York - Harlem area and will most definitetly book our accommodations with Dennis once again.
Dennis thank you for your hospitality.
Cheers,
K&J (Canada)
business
Harlem Hideaway Studio Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982538
9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
5

Home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The property is lovely and cosy! Dennis was most welcoming and there to answer any questions. The vrbo site was recommended by a friend. Always a little weary with online rentals like this, but Dennis emailed back, answered all of my questions. It's close to everything you need- shops, subway, restaurants etc. 5 days was no enough. If I ever get back to NY, I'll be looking to stay here again!
business
Harlem Hideaway Studio Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982538
9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
5

We loved it!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We loved it!! the studio in Harlem is completely clean, quiet and the decoration is very nice, it has everything to make your stay more pleasant, the service excellent, we felt at home, Harlem's super safe and has many restaurants near subways .. Very good location for visiting the city of NY ..
business
Harlem Hideaway Studio Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982538
9175238474
Harlem Manhattan
5

AMAZING - wouldn't stay anywhere else in New York!

AMAZING - wouldn't stay anywhere else in New York!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Harlem Hideaway was absolutely fantastic! A stylish, contemporary apartment, comfortable and welcoming with every amenity catered for. In a great location close to Central Park, the subway and in the heart of the hustle and bustle of fantastic Harlem. The apartment itself was incredibly quiet and peaceful though, couldn't ask for more! Dennis was great and gave us some terrific advice about places to go and things to see. His restaurant Harlem Shakes was awesome as well - order the Hot Mess and Jerk Fries yum!! We loved this place and can't wait to go back and stay again, thanks Dennis. Nikki B