Kailua Kona house rental - open air living with huge opening glass bifold doors
open air living with huge opening glass bifold doors
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Kailua Kona House Rental Photos and Description
2 master bedrooms and 1 queen, all with private bath. Sleepe 6-8

Sun, sand, and serenity define Kona Bay Estates, an upscale gated and patrolled community.This luxury modern 2700 square foot home with pool offers floor to ceiling sliding glass windows opening for Hawaiian style indoor outdoor living. Cool ocean breezes rustle palm fronds and comfortably cool the Sunset Beach House while a brilliant blue Pacific sparkles and golden sunsets dazzle.

Our perfect location offers a short walk to restaurants, bars, markets and shopping. Airport beach and The Keikei Pond (a huge tide pool of calm water with sandy beach perfect for young children) are only five minutes walking away. Tennis, basketball, lane swimming and a children's playground can also be found within a block of the house.

Our third story Crows Nest offers a pool table and stunning panoramic ocean views up and down the coastline. Enjoy breathtaking sunsets all year round serenaded by waves breaking on lava rock.Their ebb and flow will lull you through a peaceful nights sleep on our comfy beds. Come and see why the big island is the best island.

SLEEPING; There are two ocean front master suites with California king beds, lanais and attached en suite full bathrooms. These rooms are large with plenty of extra floor space. The third bedroom has a queen bed with a mountain facing lanai and attached full en suite. On the main level there is a pull out double bed. For extra guests a queen aerobed is provided and can be set up in either of the two large ocean front master bedrooms or in the Crows Nest.

KITCHEN; This dream gourmet kitchen is large and well stocked. We leave spices, oils and other basic condiments to help with home cooking.

POOL; built in 2011 with a splash pool area for lounging and a waterfall the deep end is just over five feet deep.

Hawaii Tax ID No. W16150293-01

More Details
Hide Details

Ken and Jennifer Moore, Canadians with two children and married 25 years,bought the Kona Sunset Beach House in 2010. After extensive renovations to make it their dream home, they are excited to share it with others.

As Canadians they can only be in Hawaii for six months and hate to see the house vacant. As well, the extra rental revenue will help them keep the home in tip top shape.

Ken has a medical engineering company and Jennifer is a Dentist. They love the big island and all that it has to offer.

Jennifer Moore purchased this house in 2010

Kona Bay Estates is a very special area. Exclusive, with security, there is no better location on the big island. You are within walking distance to Kona's main tourist strip, yet on the edge of town for easy access to the freeway and beaches to the north. If you don't want to go anywhere there are plenty of activities, from tennis to beach, right in the community.

18 Reviews of Property 982283 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Luxury oceanfront beach house with pool. Walk to Kona town center. Sleeps 8
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 18 reviews
business
Luxury oceanfront beach house with pool. Walk to Kona town center. Sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982283
(808)315-7661 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Vallejo, Ca
5

Who could ask for anything more

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of eight spent 12 wonderful days at this property. The pictures don't do it justice. From the moment you open up the front door and gaze at the beautiful ocean views you will be impressed. The kitchen is first class - magnificent views and everything you need to prepare first class meals, which we enjoyed from a personal Chef who prepared a delicious Fathers Day dinner for our family. Our son obtained the Chef's name from the home's owners.

The two ocean view suites are spectacular, each with its own balcony and outstanding luxury bathroom. The third bedroom was very comfortable with a private bathroom and balcony. We all enjoyed the magnificent sunsets from the open air third floor deck with pool table. The views are unobstructed. The swimming pool was a great treat. All of us enjoyed the pool - a refreshing way to cool off and relax after a busy day. The home is close to everything in a great, secure location. We enjoyed walks along the ocean watching the turtles.

This is not your typical rental home. The quality of the furnishings, linens, beach items, etc., make you aware that the owner's really do mean it when they said they want to share their wonderful home.
We consider ourselves very lucky to have experienced their hospitality. Cliff the Property Manager was outstanding. We certainly plan on returning again and highly recommend this property. Your only obstacle will be in securing a reservation as it is an extrememly well priced luxury oceanfront beach home.
business
Luxury oceanfront beach house with pool. Walk to Kona town center. Sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982283
(808)315-7661 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Vallejo, Ca
5

It's all true

It's all true
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of eight spent 12 wonderful days at this property. The pictures don't do it justice. All of the comments, especially those of John K in his Sep, 2012 review are spot on. The only thing we can add is that this is not your typical rental home. The quality of the furnishings, linens, beach items, etc., make you aware that the owner's really do mean it when they said they want to share their wonderful home. We consider ourselves very lucky to have experienced their hospitality. Jennifer gave our son the name of a personal Chef that prepared an outstanding Fathers Day Dinner. What a treat. Cliff the Property Manager was outstanding. We certainly plan on returning again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury oceanfront beach house with pool. Walk to Kona town center. Sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982283
(808)315-7661 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Amazing Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This home completely exceeded all of our expectations. This was our first trip to the big island and we weren't sure what to expect, even after looking at all the pictures.

When we arrived, we opened the big doors to the lanai and my wife and I both said "WOW". The description was as written, except you can't really write how beautiful the view and the sound of the waves crashing on the shore is. We loved the bedrooms and bathrooms. The walk in shower was great and my wife loved taking a bath while looking out the large window at the ocean. We did not get into the pool as it was just a bit cool for our taste but we stayed so busy doing other things, that it was not an issue for us. We would heartily recommend this property to anyone that was looking for a place to stay on the Big Island.

Jerry and Roanne Dueitt
Highlands Ranch, CO
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury oceanfront beach house with pool. Walk to Kona town center. Sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982283
(808)315-7661 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Number 1 vacation spot in Hawaii

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I am not kidding when I say this is the number 1 vacation spot in Hawaii. I have been to Hawaii about thirty times and have stayed in the top hotels to the cheapest Condos, all for different reasons. I like to stay at a cheep places if I have never been to that particular island. This is due to the fact that I know I wont be in the room much but, I pay for it with bad beds and lackluster locations, don't make that mistake. I like the top resorts and hotels for the comfort factor and amenities they provide. The down side to the resorts are, most of the time you are far from towns, services, out side of what they offer and a quite environment free from the crowds.

So, why was this the best?

From the top down, the crows nest with the pool table and bar stools is a great place to play, unwind with a cocktail and watch a sunset or just talk to your friends and enjoy the view.

The second floor, with the two master bedrooms and a third bedroom, all with beautiful bathrooms and balcony's, made it comfortable for everyone that was in our group, "five people". I can't say enough about the rooms and the views. Great stuff!!!

The first floor, I love to cook! The kitchen has everything I needed or could want. We made some great meals. The kitchen had all five of us in it and in it never felt crowded. The living room was BIG, the sliding glass doors, that open the house up to the outside world, made it feel like outside all the time. Also, there is a bathroom downstairs and a laundry room/pantry and that came in very handy.The garage hade lots of toys! I just wish I had more time to use them.

Out side is a safe gated community with great landscaping nice people and guards that you know are around but not in the way. The pool was a great spot to cool off and the BBQ was great.

The location is very close to town and, it was a great kicking off point to anything.

I never wished I was somewhere else or needed anything.

Perfect!!!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Luxury oceanfront beach house with pool. Walk to Kona town center. Sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982283
(808)315-7661 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Shadow Hills, California
5

25th Anniversary Paradise Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We wanted something special for a trip to Hawaii in celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary, along with our younger daughter's and our nephew's high school graduation. Our older daughter and friend came as well. We got something special with this wonderful house! It is in a secure neighborhood, with the Big Island's signature lava coast and crashing waves. The retractable walls downstairs were always fully open when we were home to let Hawaii in. The third floor pool table room/eagles' nest is higher than the surrounding houses and affords spectacular views up and down the coast. We were only 6 people, but we still would have had more than enough room for 8 people, with 4 bathrooms, extra beds that could be placed here or there, tons of kitchen space, and all the outdoor decks and yard. The little pool with it's shallow seating end was one of our favorite places for cool-down and sunbathing. Among the many good features was the permission to pull into the garage and the two master suites among the bedrooms. We had even had a friendly gecko inside bringing us luck and posing for Facebook photos! My husband has done nothing but talk about going back since we pulled out of the garage, and with two master bedrooms maybe we will come next time with an adult couple. Beautiful home, well-maintained, nothing more that we would have imagined needing for a perfect Big Island vacation. Thank you for giving us a very special stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Luxury oceanfront beach house with pool. Walk to Kona town center. Sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982283
(808)315-7661 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
San Diego, CA
5

Great house in Kona!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We stayed with two couples but the house has three bedrooms. We were very, very happy with this place. It's close enough to town to walk but they supply two bikes which we used. They also supplied snorkel gear which we used almost every day. The third story deck with pool table was great for sunsets and cocktails. The glass doors downstairs open up the whole living room so you not only get great views but plenty of freash air. We really loved this place and will come back for sure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury oceanfront beach house with pool. Walk to Kona town center. Sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982283
(808)315-7661 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Beautiful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My husband and I had a wonderfully relaxing and refreshing week at the Moore house. The location was perfect. We had a beautiful view of the ocean and enjoyed the sights and sounds of the surf. We were able to walk right out of the house and explore on the rocks, snorkel, swim, and walk the beach area. It was also very nice to have our own private pool to cool off in whenever we wanted. Kailua is just a short drive, bike ride or walk away. Close enough to enjoy restaurants, shopping, and the parks and beaches, but yet when we were at the house, it felt private and our sole focus was taking in the ocean right in front us.

The home is beautifully decorated and was well appointed with anything that we could have needed. The open design and fully retractable windows/doors allowed us to bring the outdoors in, and have the ocean breezes and sounds always there for us to enjoy. The kitchen is amazing and so well set up. We loved being there so much that we only ate out for one meal. We spent our evenings up in the crow's nest listening to the surf and watching the sunsets.

We are hoping to bring our kids to Kailua next summer and can't wait for them to be able to experience staying at the Moore's home. We enjoyed a quiet and relaxing couples getaway, but know that this will also be a perfect place for a family vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury oceanfront beach house with pool. Walk to Kona town center. Sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982283
(808)315-7661 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Edmonton, AB
5

Honeymoon Made Spectacular

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We spent 7 days at the Kona Sunset Beach House for our honeymoon, and we were in complete paradise. The property manager was very welcoming, and gave us lots of suggestions for touring the island. The home itself was perfect, we felt like we were right at home, finding ourselves not wanting to leave to go out on the town. We spent many nights up in the crow's nest playing games of pool while we watched amazing sunsets. Just after we arrive our first night, a couple of dolphins swan by and put on a show for us jumping around in the water, which started off the trip great. Thank you so much Ken & Jen for opening your home to us to celebrate our honeymoon, we couldn't have had a better place
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury oceanfront beach house with pool. Walk to Kona town center. Sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982283
(808)315-7661 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Calagry, Alberta
5

Chris and family from calgary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Just arrived back from a wonderful time in Hawaii. We stayed for five nights at the kona bay house and enjoyed every minute of it. The house is beautiful but also very homely and we felt extremely comfortable there. The location is also great as there is lots to do in the area. We were lucky enough to see whales and dolphins on the first night of our stay. Would definitely go back there and stay again. A big thank you to the owners Jennifer and Ken for allowing us to stay in their piece of paradise!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury oceanfront beach house with pool. Walk to Kona town center. Sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982283
(808)315-7661 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Murfreesboro, TN
5

WOW - a Christmas to remember!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We just spent 7 days at the Kona Sunset Beach House over Christmas. There were 6 of us - 4 adults and 2 grandchildren (ages 9 and 7). Everything was perfect - listing description, photos, perfectly maintained and spotless. The views and sunsets were spectacular, the location was great! The owners were great to work with, and very accomodating. I would highly recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2