Green Valley townhome rental - Desert Hills II is a peaceful, friendly and very safe neighborhood
Desert Hills II is a peaceful, friendly and very safe neighborhood
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 - 30 nights
 

Green Valley Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Escape cold winters and enjoy the beauty of the Santa Rita mountains, the warm Arizona sunshine and enjoyable activities year round. Leave your worries behind in the comfort of this beautiful home-away-from-home retreat!

This bright and neat home will make you feel welcome as soon as you walk in. At 1450 sf, it is a spacious open floor plan with the kitchen open to the comfortable dining/living room. There is a new 32 inch flat screen HD TV in the living room and a 28 inch HD TV in the Arizona room. Expanded cable channels for all TVs. The furnishings are newer and very nice with tasteful SW decor. Master King and Guest room queen beds and there is an inflatable heavier style mattress/pump in the closet. Master has a small TV and large walk in closet.

The Arizona room (like a garden or sunroom) is located at the back of the home and opens to a lovely patio with native cactus and plants. This is like a second small living room area, equipped with the second HD TV, love seat and small desk as shown in the pictures. There is a card table in a closet that makes this a great location to set up to do jigsaw puzzles or crafts. Home has high speed, wireless internet that works from the living room and using a laptop, to the back patio, wireless.

We have many additional pictures of the interior & mountain views, see LINK below for 'MORE PHOTOS'.

The large brick patio overlooks the arroyo (if you are new to the area, it's a dry creek/river bed filled with trees and desert plants that attract native birds and wildlife.) The arroyo means you have no neighbors directly behind you as you sit on the patio, private! And great place to view stars at night with very little lights from the ground to interfere. Madera Canyon, a renowned spot for birdwatching, is right down the road, and you will see many birds in the arroyo, too (or at the patio birdfeeder). Wonderful mountain views with spectacular sunrise and sunsets from the patio. Take it all in and relax!

Green Valley Recreation system (GVR) allows you full use of any of the 12 Social Centers w/wonderful swimming pools, jacuzzi, exercise equipment, tennis courts, many classes & activities offered on a regular basis. This conveniently located home is within walking distance to one of the Rec Centers.

There are so many things to do in and around this area...convenient for trips to historic Tombstone, three nearby Indian casinos, Tubac artist colony, observatories, Arizona Desert Museum, Bisbee, Madera Canyon, and all the cultural offerings of Tucson. It's just a 25-minute drive to the border of Mexico & wonderful shopping. The Elks Lodge is close with a very active membership.

This area is a golfer's paradise, with eight golf courses within minutes of this home, such as Canoa Ranch Golf Club, Canoa Hills, San Ignacio, Desert Hills Country Club. There is easy access to 20 other courses in the area like Arizona National and Ventana Canyon.

Age-restricted neighborhood, one guest must be 55 or over. Rates assume you have your own cell phone, does not include a phone in the unit but we can have phone service installed for an additional fee, please inquire.

***Note see below for two links, one to 'More Photos' property website and a link to Green Valley information, Chamber of Commerce (tabs on that site include golf course information).

***SUMMER SPECIAL JUNE TO AUGUST ONLY: SUMMER SPECIAL OFFER for all 3 months from June to August, for just $2,700 ($900 per month.) That's less than $30 per night for this approx 1400 sf retreat with two bedrooms, two baths! Must rent multiple summer months for this rate; otherwise summer is $1100/month.

Keywords: Townhome, townhouse, vacation rental, green valley, home, house, golf, hiking, birdwatching, desert, Arizona, rental, retirement, snowbird, retirement

More Details
Hide Details

We came to Green Valley to stay at a friend's place, who had been telling us for years how great it was. It wasn't high on our list of places to visit...Nancy had a picture in her mind of tumbleweeds and desert and certainly no oasis. But when we finally did visit, we fell in love with the area (and were amazed by how green 'Green Valley' actually was), she said 'what took us so long to come here?!!' The largest pecan orchard in the world spans along the valley area and adds color, as well as the trees at the base of the Santa Ritas. And who knew the cactus and native plants bloom with such pretty flowers in the spring. If you golf, as we do, it can't be beat, the variety and challenge of the courses nearby is excellent. There are many, many things to do in the area for all types of interests, and GVR is a great resource for taking classes and taking advantage of their exercise facilities.

We are baby boomers and Green Valley has proven to be the perfect retreat to find sun and to relax. Now we know why so many people are catching on to how affordable and wonderful this place is!

You will love the very large back patio that overlooks the arroyo, and has wonderful views of the sun rising over the mountains and when the sun sets, the Santa Rita Mountains turn a spectacular pink color. One of our favorite things to do is invite friends over for a BBQ using the gas BBQ on the patio, and just visit and tell stories as the sun sets. And the golf and hiking and birdwatching in this area is world renowned!

20 Reviews of Property 982009 in Green Valley, Arizona

Relaxing Retreat +Patio W/Arroyo Mt View Hiking Wifi Upgrades! See Guest Reviews
average rating of 4.894737 based on 20 reviews
business
Relaxing Retreat +Patio W/Arroyo Mt View Hiking Wifi Upgrades! See Guest Reviews
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982009
+1 503 329-2742
Green Valley Arizona
Denver, CO
5

Everything We Needed and Outstanding Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
This is a wonderful townhome and we felt at home as soon as we walked in. Previously we stayed in a place that was outdated, but this place was upgraded and very comfortable, nice SW decor and ammenities. Dave and Nancy were great to work with and supplied us with a great packet of useful information, and were easy to keep in contact with if we had questions. The Wifi was a great plus and the arroyo and mountain views were superb. Loved watching the morning sunrise over the Santa Rita Mountains. We used the back patio bird feeder and had birds of all kinds visiting all day long. Green Valley was a welcome relief from the cold winters and this place is not in a high traffic area, very peaceful and convenient neighborhood. Highly recommend and we will definitely return. Thanks for being so accommodating and welcoming!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We are looking forward to your next stay! We are so happy you had a great time and enjoyed the place. Keep in touch and thanks again--Nancy and Dave
Helpful votes: 25/25
business
Relaxing Retreat +Patio W/Arroyo Mt View Hiking Wifi Upgrades! See Guest Reviews
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982009
+1 503 329-2742
Green Valley Arizona
5

comfortable and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This warm and comfortable home provided us with everything we needed. The kitchen was well stocked, the living room chairs and sofa were perfect. The master bedroom provided a comfortable king size bed as was the guest bedroom with its queen size bed. . We loved the Arizona Room and Patio where views of the mountains and sunsets were incredibly beautiful. You could see that this home was decorated with comfort in mind. The owners were so incredibly cooperative and addressed our every need. The proximity of the Social Center was within walking distance ( another plus). I would definitely recommend this property.
Owner's Response: Carole and Andy, you guys were so great to work with. We would love having you back anytime! I hope you missed the brunt of the cold weather and that Spring is around the corner for you. Thanks again, take good care, Nancy and Dave
business
Relaxing Retreat +Patio W/Arroyo Mt View Hiking Wifi Upgrades! See Guest Reviews
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982009
+1 503 329-2742
Green Valley Arizona
5

We lucked out in finding this townhouse!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our second stay in this townhouse was even more comfortable than our first visit three months ago. The property is very convenient to all Green Valley has to offer and, honestly, it is so well stocked and maintained. Everything from paper clips to spices to comfortable furnishings to flatware to dryer sheets - just everything make for a wonderful stay. We were on vacation; who wants to worry about laundry!
Owner's Response: It was such a pleasure having you two stay with us and come back as repeat guests! Your communication has been outstanding and we are so glad you enjoyed Green Valley so much. Take good care and thanks again! N & D
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Relaxing Retreat +Patio W/Arroyo Mt View Hiking Wifi Upgrades! See Guest Reviews
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982009
+1 503 329-2742
Green Valley Arizona
5

Perfect accommodations for our needs.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This rental was very clean, with everything in working order and plenty of linens, towels, kitchenware, etc. WiFi was a plus to use our laptop and the furniture in main living area was very comfortable. (One couch and 2 recliners)
The patio was very private overlooking beautiful mountains and landscaping. Very relaxing to sit outside to have an afternoon drink and absorb the wonderful heat and view.
Even though we were not using the rental to travel and explore the area (and there is a LOT to see near Green Valley) we rented for the purpose of having a comfortable place to stay while our newly bought home in Green Valley was being remodeled. After renting for several years we have decided to escape the harsh winters and humid summers of Wisconsin. The owners are very open to phone calls and/or emails so there is wonderful open communication if any questions or concerns. This is a perfect place to stay while in the area.
Owner's Response: Thanks to you both for being so great to work with! We were happy to be your home away from home for a little while, and glad you enjoyed having this house to work from during your big move. Feel free to send any future references our way. Take good care and enjoy your new place!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Relaxing Retreat +Patio W/Arroyo Mt View Hiking Wifi Upgrades! See Guest Reviews
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982009
+1 503 329-2742
Green Valley Arizona
Cedar Rapids Iowa
5

Green Valley Vacation and R&R, Great Views and No Snow!

Green Valley Vacation and R&R, Great Views and No Snow!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We visited the Green Valley area for the second time, this unit had much more space than our first casita stay and we loved it. This whole area is a nice relief from cold winters. The views and sunrises were wonderful. Sunny days and cool nights, and this townhome is very comfortable. The owners were great to work with and made sure we had all the information we need. Do not miss the Green Valley Rec offerings, it is like a summer camp for adults and the exercise equipment and saltwater pool at one center were perfect. All the ammenities you could want, fully stocked kitchen, flat screen TVs and leather recliners were perfect for R&R. Highly recommended, thanks to Nancy and Dave for a great get away place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We are hoping you will return, we'd love to have you back. Thanks for being great guests and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Best to you both! Dave and Nancy
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Relaxing Retreat +Patio W/Arroyo Mt View Hiking Wifi Upgrades! See Guest Reviews
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982009
+1 503 329-2742
Green Valley Arizona
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wonderful location and views!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had our first visit to Green Valley and this town home was the perfect location for using as our home base. It is very comfortable and had all the amenities so that we felt right at home as soon as we entered. Nancy and Dave were so great to work with. And the patio, arroyo views and sunrises were spectacular! Highly recommend is as a rental home for value, views, comfort, and great accommodating owners. When we come back, this is where we will stay every time!
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Relaxing Retreat +Patio W/Arroyo Mt View Hiking Wifi Upgrades! See Guest Reviews
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982009
+1 503 329-2742
Green Valley Arizona
3

Green Valley townhome, great sunrises!

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our favorite part of this home was the back yard overlooking the arroyo. It faced northeast so we could watch beautiful sunrises over the Santa Rita Mountains. We often spent evenings out here as well, watching the stars come out as the sun set. The javelinas would often walk by right outside the small wall, probably looking for scraps. They would get into your trash, even though the neighborhood had sunken holes for you to put your trash bags into. There were lots of javelinas, and birds, thrashers and quail were common. A comfortable place to stay, and it looks just like the photos online. We wished we had bigger windows, and french doors out to the back porch would have been lovely. It was quiet and restful, about 3-4 miles from the Safeway, though there was a closer little gas station/convenience store I walked to every morning for a newspaper. I learned to get there early, as they sold out by 8am. Most people are out and about very early, before it gets too hot. The store opened at 6am, and people were there at 6am. There are golf courses very close, many people were zipping around in their golf carts. If you're a golfer, this might be just what you want.
Owner's Response: Hi Kim! We are so happy you enjoyed the amazing views and your stay! We also love the back patio, and we must add that the secured wall is a large 4 foot high brick wall we added at to give our dog plenty of room outside with us in a safe environment, but to still be able to take advantage of the beautiful views of the Ritas and arroyo. We don't want anyone thinking it is so "small" that it is not secure! Yes the wildlife is evident and even though it sounds like the trash didn't stay put, rest assured it is a rare occurrence and we have never had anyone report a problem in the last six years as shown in all our prior guest reviews. We were quite surprised you hadn't mentioned anything about this in any of your emails, but only in your review. The townhome is centrally located for sure, and we agree the proximity to golf can't be beat. It was excellent working with you and having you as first time guests and new to the GV area, come back anytime. Hope you guys had a safe trip home, as we noted if there is anything we can add to the townhome to bring it up to a five out of five, as this is the only review we've ever had that was not a five out of five, please drop us a note so we can work on it immediately. We strive for excellent customer service as our feedback indicates! The french doors and windows are a lovely idea, too bad the homeowner's association allows only standard items, but thanks for the suggestion! Best to you both and enjoy the rest of your summer! Nancy and Dave
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Relaxing Retreat +Patio W/Arroyo Mt View Hiking Wifi Upgrades! See Guest Reviews
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982009
+1 503 329-2742
Green Valley Arizona
Coalhurst, Alberta Canada
5

Relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My husband and I and our small dog rented this unit from Dec 30 through March 2012. We have used VRBO several times and these owners proved to be the best ever to work with. The owners are very thourough and have thought out all details. We weren't left with any questions or concerns. We encountered one small issue during our stay(water heater) and the problem was resolved immediatley.
We enjoyed the unit and the patio area. It was well stocked and we were able to feel at home within hours. We participated the the recreation opportunities and the prices were inexpensive given what you have access to. We used the fitness centers regularly and took several classes and joined a couple of groups. Yo can be as busy as you want to be, or as relaxed. We enjoyed feeding the birds and the variety was endless. The starlight nights were wonderful.
We would recommend Canoa Ranch fitness center which is a drive away, but they have the best equipment and indoor saltwater pool.
If you are looking for a unit to rent, you won't beat this home and it's owners are simply the best.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We were so pleased to have you stay at this townhome and to see that you took advantage of all the area had to offer. You were a pleasure to work with and would love to see you return if the opportunity arises. Thank you and take care!
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Relaxing Retreat +Patio W/Arroyo Mt View Hiking Wifi Upgrades! See Guest Reviews
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982009
+1 503 329-2742
Green Valley Arizona
Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
5

Great stay, excellent accomodation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My husband and I spent a wonderful month in Green Valley in this unit. It was well equipped, extremely clean, comfortable with great views from the patio. Nancy was very pleasant to deal with, informative and responsive. We had 2 different couples join us for a week each in our month and the unit still felt spacious and very comfortable for all.
There were no surprises - the unit was exactly as presented in the listing - actually even better in person.
The location was perfect for our first time exploring Arizona. We golfed many times at the numerous courses in the area, hiked nearby Madeira Canyon several times, shopped at Tubac and went on day trips to Bisbee, Chiricahua, Katchner Caverns. So much to do in the area and this home provided an excellent base for our adventures.
I would highly recommend this unit to anyone wanting to explore the Green Valley/Tucson area of Arizona. Thanks Nancy and Dave for a wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We were so glad to have you for your first visit to Green Valley! We are happy you took advantage of all the area has to offer and had such a good time. Thanks for being wonderful guests!
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Relaxing Retreat +Patio W/Arroyo Mt View Hiking Wifi Upgrades! See Guest Reviews
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p982009
+1 503 329-2742
Green Valley Arizona
5

Home Away From Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My husband and I just spent three months in Dave and Nancy's townhome in Green Valley, and we had our best winter ever in GV! The home was well appointed, clean, conveniently located, and felt like 'home' when we first walked in. It is located in a very friendly neighborhood, and the views can't be beat! We really enjoyed the back patio which overlooks a large arroyo, and also offered fantastic views of the Santa Rita Mountains. Nancy was a delight to work with. She promptly returned calls, and kept in touch with us via email, without being intrusive. We are really looking forward to returning next year and know we will enjoy another fantastic winter in Dave and Nancy's home in Green Valley!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We feel fortunate to have had you two as guests, you're wonderful to work with and we are definitely looking forward to having you return as often and long as you like! Glad you had a safe trip home and have a great summer back in Iowa. Best--Nancy and Dave
Helpful votes: 16/16