Sonoita house rental - Heartland Guesthouse faces the Huachuca Mountains to the east
Heartland Guesthouse faces the Huachuca Mountains to the east
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Sonoita House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-8)

E-mail for more information on any specials currently offered as well as a discount for early booking!

Awaken to songbirds singing in the majestic 300-year old White Oak and Ash trees just outside Heartland Guesthouse. Open the blinds and step out on the Master Bedroom's private balcony to celebrate the dazzling morning sunrise over the Huachuca Mountains to the east. Toddle downstairs to start a pot of freshly-ground coffee and relax in the sunroom or under the trees in our Oak Park while you relish the sights and sounds of Nature -- not traffic, not subways, not honking horns, not bustling cities – but Nature. If this sounds delightful, you’re our kind of Guest!

Located in the high Madrean Oak Grasslands of southern Arizona, at an altitude of nearly 5200 feet (1585 meters), Heartland Guesthouse lies on the Heartland Ranch near the long-ago community of Canelo between the west slope of the Huachuca Mountains and the Canelo Hills. Weather is temperate year-round, with temperatures generally running about 15 degrees Fahrenheit cooler than Tucson and 20-25 degrees F cooler than Phoenix.

Heartland Ranch is a 160-acre former bustling livestock ranch that now quietly awaits our next Guests. Once guardian of cattle, horses, goats, sheep and, yes, alpacas, our “retired” Anatolian Shepherd dog 'Zena' now snoozes peacefully during the day while Bruno, the rescued Lab/Chesapeake retriever mix, faithfully watches over the Ranch, Guesthouse and its people. Zena, by the way, is shameless about being petted and handed treats, so be forewarned. There's a reason we’ve placed a well-stocked 'Pet Treats' jar just inside the Guesthouse door!

Heartland Guesthouse has been extensively and beautifully furnished with everything to make your stay a pleasure, whether you are a couple, a family with children or a group of friends. You will enter through a passive solar sunroom, much appreciated for enjoying a cup of coffee and a croissant on cool winter mornings. This opens to the vaulted Great Room with its cozy wood pellet stove, framed by a dramatic 18'-tall stone backdrop, and comfortable seating for 6 around the HDTV/DVD console. A spacious dining area, breakfast bar and fully-equipped, full-size kitchen are next, with all the standard kitchen appliances and dishware you would need whether you are staying a week or several months. The dining area overlooks a private outdoor patio under the oak trees with excellent gas barbecue, outdoor table and seating and, of course, multiple bird feeders well-attended by all the birds, some of whom come to Heartland Guesthouse for the Spring nesting season and some of whom are year-round residents.

The downstairs bedroom can be configured with either two twin beds or a very comfortable king bed, and it is adjacent to the laundry area as well as a large full bath complete with handi-bars for our mobility-restricted or elderly guests. The second-floor master bedroom is large, with a 'VERY comfortable' (to quote our guests) queen bed, vaulted ceiling, private balcony and ensuite bathroom. Also on the second floor is a loft library with office set-up including a desk, phone, bookcase and wired or wireless Internet connection.

As for activities while staying at the Guesthouse, here are just a few:

*Birding in one of the world's top birdwatching destinations,

Hiking the Arizona Trail or individual trails in the Huachuca Mountains,

*Visiting wineries,

*Mountain biking,

*Hunting,

*Fishing,

*Boating,

*Visiting the multitude of area tourist attractions,

*Shopping for area arts and crafts,

*Trail riding with horses – these are just a few of the possibilities.

*For folks who are looking for complete and total relaxation in a beautiful location, we have an interesting library of books, CDs and DVDs, that we can augment to your special interests, as well as games, jigsaw puzzles, hiking staffs, and a National Forest practically right outside your door.

*The fully-equipped kitchen means you can cook all your meals to your heart’s content or just prepare a quick and easy breakfast before you head out the door to area adventures and excellent dining.

*The ONE thing you can't be at Heartland Guesthouse is . . . BORED!

The Ranch is rurally located 20 miles south of Sonoita and 15 miles west of Sierra Vista, surrounded on 2 sides by National Forest. A 'traffic jam' here means the raccoons are taking their time crossing the road. State Highway 83 brings you to within 1.5 miles of the Guesthouse; and the graded, gravel road the rest of the way is easily traversed by passenger cars. Fort Huachuca graciously provides a day pass for US citizens through the Fort to Sierra Vista, so that all the amenities of a city are just 30 minutes away. Bisbee, Tombstone, Benson, Karchner Caverns, Sonoita, Patagonia, Tubac and the Mission at Tumacacori are all within approximately an hour’s drive away. Tucson and its International Airport, where rental cars may be obtained, is an hour and a half away; and the Guesthouse is 3 hours from Sky Harbor Airport in Phoenix, where airfares are often discounted.

With traditional Western hospitality, the Guesthouse refrigerator will be stocked with a complimentary first morning’s breakfast. We also provide Concierge Services at a small additional fee if you wish us to purchase groceries for you before your arrival. We will contact you about 2 weeks before your arrival to find out your particular interests in visiting this area and will tailor the Guesthouse's selection of CDs, DVDs, books and activity brochures and maps to your taste.

We are proud to say that Heartland Guesthouse is clean, clean, clean. If you, like we, have ever stayed in a less-than-clean vacation rental, you know how important this is. The linens and towels are sanitized between guests, and the Guesthouse receives a final cleanliness check by the Property Manager herself the morning of each Guest's arrival.

Please be sure to read our reviews on this site. They appear exactly as the guests wrote them, and we hope the reviews will help convince you that Heartland Guesthouse is THE place for you to stay in southeastern Arizona!

Our mission is to provide you with a truly memorable vacation -- one that brings warm memories and a smile for years to come -- so please don’t hesitate to let us know how we can be of assistance. We look forward to your visit!

More Details
Hide Details

Rachel Hendrickson, property manager and part owner of Heartland Guesthouse, is an Arizona real estate broker with more than 25 years of experience helping people find the perfect property, whether to buy or to rent. She takes particular pleasure in helping Guests tailor their time here to their particular interests, and she is a wellspring of information on interesting, 'off the beaten path' activities or locations and great places to enjoy the local cuisine and wines. She is a true professional while at the same time a very gracious and responsive hostess. She loves what she does, and it shows. Just read the uniformly 5-star reviews and you will see for yourself why Heartland Guesthouse is THE place to stay in southeastern Arizona!

Rachel Hendrickson, Property Manager and part owner purchased this house in 1996

In March, 1993, Rachel and her husband Mark bought a 160-acre parcel of vacant land near the long-ago pioneer community of Canelo in southeastern Arizona. They fell in love with its rich, grassy bottomland, the rolling upland with its majestic, 300-year old Arizona White Oaks, the dramatic mountain views and the quiet way of life. They envisioned building from scratch a world-class alternative livestock sustainable agriculture operation, and they were very successful at it for many years. The Fall of 2006 seemed a good time to begin to wind down the livestock operation, and from that time until Fall 2010 the Ranch had long-term tenants with their own livestock in residence. When the last long-term tenant left, the foreman's house on Heartland Ranch was completely renovated and furnished as a vacation rental; and by Spring 2011 the newly christened 'Heartland Guesthouse' was well-booked for its inaugural season as a vacation rental.

According to the director of the National Forest that borders Heartland Ranch on 2 sides, Heartland Ranch has the best stand of Arizona White Oak in the state of Arizona. Perhaps that is why Heartland Ranch is so popular with resident, breeding and migratory birds. With a permanent water source, and plenty of food, Heartland Ranch hosts a myriad of bird species who perch and nest high in the 300-year old oaks. Red-tail and Gray Hawks live on the Ranch year-round and teach their young to hunt the pastures. There are so many things to do in this area, but one of the Owners' favorites is to just sit in a comfortable chair outside and enjoy Nature. If your idea of a great getaway means savoring your peaceful surroundings, local cuisine, wine, many types of outdoor activities, history, geology, the Milky Way across the night sky and the hoot of a Great Horned Owl just before the sunrise, you'll be delighted you chose Heartland Guesthouse.

14 Reviews of Property 981990 in Sonoita, Arizona

Heartland Guesthouse, Canelo Az: Special Rate for Early Bookings!
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Heartland Guesthouse, Canelo Az: Special Rate for Early Bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981990
+1 520 455-5266
Sonoita Arizona
5

Heartland Ranch

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
What a great place. Definitely the most immaculate, well stocked and thoughtfully arranged vacation house we have ever rented. There are loads of birds at the bird feeder, ducks at Parker Canyon Lake, hummingbirds in Patagonia and Road Runners on the ranch roads and paths. Rachel has loads of information to offer, it made our week quite wonderful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Heartland Guesthouse, Canelo Az: Special Rate for Early Bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981990
+1 520 455-5266
Sonoita Arizona
5

A true delight!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The recent review by Gail from Red Deer, Alberta, truly says it all! I am from the UK and have enjoyed many vacation rentals over the years in Europe and the US, but I can say without reservation that the Heartland Guesthouse is one of the finest I have visited. I would like to thank Rachel and Mark for creating such a relaxing and luxurious ambience. Everything was to hand: I really appreciated the very high standard of presentation, and would unhesitatingly recommend the Guesthouse to others. I came here to spend time with my US citizen sister and brother-in-law but with a direct flight from London to Phoenix the journey was no problem; although distances in Southern Arizona are greater than we are used to in Europe the drive from the airport was no hardship with the help of Rachel's comprehensive directions. I would very much like to return, and next time I will certainly want to stay longer!
business
Heartland Guesthouse, Canelo Az: Special Rate for Early Bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981990
+1 520 455-5266
Sonoita Arizona
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
5

Peaceful oasis in beautiful southern Arizona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We, (my husband, his parents and I) have just spent 10 days at Heartland Guest House while on a driving tour of southern Arizona. We chose this home as our base because of the beautiful photos, the opportunity of seeing birds and other wildlife and its proximity to places on our itinerary. Heartland Guest House did not disappoint us in any way.

The photos of this area and home, do not do it justice; the surrounding hills were background for the morning sun, were lit by alpinglow every evening and were even bathed under the light of a full moon during our stay.

The home is supplied with every possible thing a guest could want; the beds were very comfortable with delightful flannel sheets, and the kitchen was supplied with plenty of pots and pans, sharp knives (a rare thing in a rented home) and even ziploc bags for left-overs.

Rachel has a guest book in which she has filed all sorts of information and maps for the area. Binoculars and several guide books on birds were at the dining table (we spotted over 25 different birds gathered around the feeders - and one javanero which stopped by to nibble the birdseed fallen on the ground.)

Rachel is a wonderful owner/manager. From her first email to the detailed directions to the guesthouse, to checking to ensure we had everything we wanted while still leaving us our privacy, Rachel is a gem.

The only possible drawback for someone might be the distance from the nearest community. While some might find the guesthouse too far from stores, we found the drive out to be part of the adventure of staying at Heartland. We enjoyed the solitude and quietness of this wonderful home while enjoying the lights of homes on the nearby hills.

I would recommend this home to anyone wanting to enjoy a piece of tranquility, watch birds and gain a taste of the Arizona south.
Owner's Response: Gail, thank you so much for your lyrical, wonderful review! It is absolutely lovely and truly made my day. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you, your husband and his completely charming parents and hope to have the opportunity to do so again someday.
business
Heartland Guesthouse, Canelo Az: Special Rate for Early Bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981990
+1 520 455-5266
Sonoita Arizona
New York, NY
5

Perfect home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Rachel and Mark provide a wonderful guest experience. Their warm hospitality and the obvious care and extra effort they put in make the guest house the special place that it is. We kept saying during the week that this was the closest to feeling we were in our own home that we’ve ever experienced in a vacation rental. The cleanliness of the house (spotless!) and everything in it (sanitized bedding!), along with their attention to all the little details that make for a comfortable stay (the Earth Balance provided for our vegan diet was amazing!) made our week here a joy and one we’ll always fondly remember.

The house is set on a beautiful property. You can easily drive to many areas for hiking, birding, and enjoying the outdoors. Rachel and Mark have lots of great recommendations for activities and local attractions and dining options--try the Velvet Elvis in Patagonia is a must!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Heartland Guesthouse, Canelo Az: Special Rate for Early Bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981990
+1 520 455-5266
Sonoita Arizona
Saint-jean-de-gonville
5

MAGIC !!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I would not be a long review because my English not let me;)

But what to say except that my two-month stay at Heartland Guesthouse was extraordinary! I'm Swiss and I was looking for a place to relax with my wife and 2-month-old son and I was not disappointed

The house is of impeccable cleanliness and Rachel the owner is an EXCEPTIONAL kindness by being present when needed without being intrusive one second.

The area is beautiful as it is for nature lovers or good wine;)

I remember the long walk on lil road or at Parker Canyon Lake and our tastings to sonoita wineyard

I can only recommend to book the guesthouse.

For me this place will always be in my heart the cocoon that has to live the beginning of the life of my son in the best way.

Thank you Rachel!

Heartland thank you!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Heartland Guesthouse, Canelo Az: Special Rate for Early Bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981990
+1 520 455-5266
Sonoita Arizona
Denver
5

Great quiet place in a beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
You will love the cleanliness and openness of this 2BR 2BA house. The place is spotless and it is clear that Rachel has an obsession with cleanliness and everything being in its place. The location is 20" from the nearest town or grocery, so you have to be ready for isolation on a beautiful 160 acre ranch with lots of live oaks and tawny grass. At 5000' the nights are cold in the winter but the pellet stove does a good job of warming the place up. Golf is close to an hour away, but you will enjoy the opportunity to read and relax. We had rain for most of our visit so we couldn't walk around too much, but it would be a great place to hike and enjoy the outdoors. We will be back! This is a great find with great owners concerned for your every need. BOOK IT NOW!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Heartland Guesthouse, Canelo Az: Special Rate for Early Bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981990
+1 520 455-5266
Sonoita Arizona
La Mesa, CA
5

Muy excelente

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Our stay at Heartland Guesthouse was a 5 star experience. The house was immaculate, comfortable, well furnished, artfully decorated and spacious. The kitchen was especially well stocked with any sort of cooking item you may need. The surrounding area was picturesque and tranquil. Rachel was beyond accommodating; she had brochures for all the attractions in southeast Arizona, recommendations for restaurants and wineries, maps of the area and knowledge of local history and seasonal activities. Going about a mile down the dirt road, you think you're approaching the end of the earth but you are really going to paradise. We loved it! Zena was quite the hostess, too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Bonnie, thank you so much for your kind comments! We appreciate them so much! It was a pleasure getting to know you, and we would love to have you come back again!
Rachel Hendrickson (Owner and Professional Property Manager)
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Heartland Guesthouse, Canelo Az: Special Rate for Early Bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981990
+1 520 455-5266
Sonoita Arizona
Alpine, CA
5

Five-star lodging in scenic area with loads of varied activities!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Rest assured you can believe all the glowing reviews of Heartland Ranch! From the very first contact to our final 'thank-you for choosing us' letter, Rachel was the perfect hostess: caring, helpful, eager to please, informative, flexible. The rental is spacious, clean, airy, comfortable, well stocked and artfully decorated. There was so much to see and do from visiting the small towns and learning about their histories, to art/food festivals, hiking in nearby canyons, checking out nature in a variety of settings, visiting historic Fort Huachuca, etc.
Rachel has made up packets of maps, brochures, and suggested activitie to tempt and guide you wherever your interest may lie. Even when spending time at the cute/comfy house and breath-taking property, there are inside and outside activities to while away the hours.
Honestly, my friend and I have taken vacations together every year since 1987 and Heartland Ranch is at the top of our 'favorite places' list! It is everything you'd want...and more!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Susan, thank you so much for the terrific review! We really appreciate it! You and Bonnie were delightful guests and we enjoyed hosting you both. Sincerely, Rachel Hendrickson (Owner & Professional Property Manager)
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Heartland Guesthouse, Canelo Az: Special Rate for Early Bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981990
+1 520 455-5266
Sonoita Arizona
Gaithersburg, MD
5

This could be our home away from home...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My family of 4 (2 teenagers) had a wonderful vacation staying at the Heartland Guesthouse. The location seems remote, but we loved having the privacy and quietness of the valley. The house and grounds were in awesome shape. Loved our hosts including Zena, the ranch dog! They provided lots of information about activities around the area and helped us with anything we needed. The complementary breakfast food was fabulous - eggs, sausage, lots of fruit, etc. It was wonderful to have a welcome sign on the frig with all of our names spelled correctly. We wished we had more than a week to spend here. We ran out of time to do and see everything we wanted. We are an outdoorsy family and loved hiking, driving in the mountains, poking around tailing dumps, seeing many colorful birds including the small migratory hummingbirds, roadrunners and wild turkeys. Going out every morning to enjoy the weather and activities and every evening coming home to drink wine and cooked on the grill. We love traveling to different places, but love the area and house so much we are thinking about coming back sooner than expected and staying longer. I debated about writing this since we believe we found a wonderful secret place to visit again and again. Thank you Heartland Guest house, Zena and the other pups for a delightful, peaceful, fantastic home away from home!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Heartland Guesthouse, Canelo Az: Special Rate for Early Bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981990
+1 520 455-5266
Sonoita Arizona
Windsor, Colorado
5

Nature Appreciator's Haven

Nature Appreciator's Haven
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My husband and I spent four glorious days at Heartland Guest Ranch and it completely fulfilled any wish we had for a vacation in an ideal location of comfort and peacefulness. And seeking natural surroundings and open space, we found this property a nature appreciator's haven. The owners were consistently gracious and helpful with providing information and recommendations for places to visit and diverse restaurants serving quality food. The house and grounds were immaculately maintained, amenities provided were thoughtfully anticipated and fit well with the surroundings (such as a well stocked kitchen, in-house entertainment including movie dvds, music cds, board games, puzzles, a furnished patio with gas grill, an outdoor upper level balcony facing the Huachuca mountains, numerous field guide books, and well organized area attractions and maps). If you are a birder, it abounds with natural habitat, plus bird baths and feeders are set up around the guest house. I soon had a checklist of numerous bird species identified right on the property. Some might wonder if the Heartland Ranch is a bit "remote," but we found it to be the center from which we took daily scenic drives within a radius of many additional birding locations including Patagonia State Park, Parker Canyon Lake, and San Bernardino National Wildlife Refuge. If you are a dog lover, you will be welcomed and appreciated by Zena, the ranch well-mannered and very gentle guardian dog. If you are a wine-lover, there are several wineries to visit and taste through, in the surrounding countryside. Our only disappointment with this Heartland property is that we hadn't booked to stay longer on this first time visit. We highly recommend Heartland Ranch and hope to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2