Home Away 981768 Winter Park, Florida
Upon arrival we were impressed with the home. However, as we got comfortable and took our shoes off, we realized that the floors were filthy. We had been told by the owner that he had a professional cleaning crew there before our check in but I don't believe that. No professional cleaning crew wouldn't mop the floor. The bottoms of our feet were black with in an hour of taking off our shoes. We had to mop everyday. In the list of amenities there was a printer and scanner listed. When we tried to use them, there was no toner in it. My office was planning on me being able to scan and print so I had to go to the UPS store. Soaps were supposed to be included but there wasn't any bars of soap in any of the bathrooms. Bottled water was listed but there wasn't any. A fireplace was listed however it didn't work and the week we were there the weather was in the 40's. The house was supposed to have a security system but all it had was a doorknob on the front door that you used a code to get in. None of the other doors were secured. The screen porch door didn't have any lock. There was supposed to be a walkway to the lake but we looked for that all week and never found it. The worst thing was the jacuzzi tub in the master suite didn't work. It had no hot water and the pump that causes the circulation was broken. We called the owner several times throughout the week but only got a voice mail. We left messages that were never returned. On Thursday evening we found another phone number and called it. It was the owner's wife and she told us that the toner was too expensive and she would have her husband call us. He did but we were told that the other items could not be fixed until we were checked out. HomeAway should raise their standards for who and what home they represent. I will look else where when renting my next vacation home.
Owner's Response: Mr. Erven S.,
We understand that you do not now feel that the property was satisfactory. However, at the time of your stay you we corrected your complaints. We disagree with you on several points.
First, the implications that you have made in your complaint are simply not true. Second, you informed us that you had been taking photos of the property conditions for some reason. As any reasonable person might be concerned with a guest presumably preparing evidences of their stay preemptive to any discussion to resolve the issues at hand, we did not feel that it was in our best interest to extend your request to stay additional days. In fact, we were very curious then that you wanted to extend your stay given that you were not satisfied.
We inspected our property after you left and we found no issues. The fireplace, the filtered water, the printer (that just needed toner), and the security of the house are all working fine. Furthermore, if you were not able to see the walkway, just 20 feet from the pool, that extends for 1.25 miles around the lake, then this is proof you are not acting reasonable. We think that any reasonable person looking at the photos of the property online will be able to see that if the other complaints are as unfounded as the one about the walkway then it will be sufficient to negate any concerns that they may have with staying with us.
You mentioned that you did not get to use the whirlpool at the master bathroom due to your wife being admitted at the hospital. We heard from you that you did not get to attend the family wedding during your stay because of your wife’s sickness. You went through a bad personal situation, but it was not related to our house.
We did not accommodate your request for extra days at our property based on our discussions with you at the time, we felt your intention of not to pay and this review confirms our suspicious.
Therefore, your review is not constructive. In fact, we feel that your comments reflect your original intentions of strong-arming additional days. We otherwise accept most requests in an effort to improve our guest’s enjoyment. But, here it should be clear to most that the accusations that you are making serve only to impugn for your failure to extort us at the time. We will request your comments be erased. Otherwise we stand by our decision not to allow you to take advantage of our good nature or anyone else in our rental system.
Helpful votes: 2/5
Did you find this review helpful?