Hartwell Lake house rental - Big water view from private covered slip dock -- sunsets are amazing from here.
Big water view from private covered slip dock -- sunsets are amazing from here.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Hartwell Lake House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 2 baths, & 2 living rooms divided evenly among 2 stories...sleeps 8

Sorry, we are currently booked for the remaining of the year.

Location, location, location, and view, view, and view -- You won't beat either of these attributes if you're looking for a place to vacation on Lake Hartwell.

Lake Hartwell is at full pool and absolutely gorgeous. This property has just enough elevation to provide amazing views of Lake Hartwell and to provide you with a comfortable slope/walk to the private dock with boat slip. It faces west, thereby providing beautiful sunset views in the evenings and allowing you to sleep in a little each morning should you choose to do so.

The property is only 1.5 miles from I-85 making it convenient to just about every attraction the area has to offer. If you're bringing your boat, Harbor Light Marina is less than 2 miles away and will provide you with access to a boat ramp, a gas dock, and any boating supplies you might need during your stay. Harbor Light Marina also has boats that can be rented during your stay at the lake.

This house has been recently furnished. All linens & towels are brand new. Cable TV and Wireless Internet are included.

This property provides big water views without the big water traffic. It's far enough away from the main boating thoroughfare to provide a great place to enjoy the water without getting pounded by the waves of passing boats. The lot/dock has great water! It isn't tucked back in a cove somewhere where the water is shallow, stagnant, and/or covered with pollen and debris. Thus, it provides a great place to swim right off the dock. You don't have to have a boat to enjoy the water on this property.

Lake Hartwell is an amazing fishery as well, and this property is located right in the middle of some of the best fishing the lake has to offer. Gumlog Creek, Shoal Creek, Little Shoal Creek, Payne Creek, and Fair Play Branch are major creek arms all located within 5 miles of our dock. There are several major bridges, and two marinas within 5 miles of the dock as well, and most fishermen know the value of such locations when fishing a lake whether it's their first time on a lake or their 50th time on the lake.

If golf is your game, the area provides ample opportunities for any budget. Cateechee Golf Club is only 17 miles from this property, and was named one of Georgia's best by Golf Digest. Arrowhead Pointe Golf Course, named one of Georgia's best new golf courses, and Clemson University's Walker Course, another beautiful lake front course, are both within 38 miles of the property. For golfer's on a budget, there are another half dozen courses within 30 miles of this property on which you can play 18 holes for less than $30 which includes cart fees.

During football season, whether you're an ACC fan or an SEC fan, you're in luck. Clemson University's Death Valley is less than 30 miles away, and the University of Georgia's Sanford Stadium is less than 50 miles away.

Into hiking and waterfalls, the Blue Ridge parkway is less than 5 miles away, and it will lead you to countless hiking trails leading to some amazing waterfalls in Northern Oconee County, SC.

And...

There's shopping. Just 30 miles away, you can find more shopping opportunities than most men, and some women, can possibly stand at the Tanger Outlet Center which has over 85 brand name outlets.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 981646 on Hartwell Lake, Georgia

Summer is Almost Here! Great Water and Location!
average rating of 4.5 based on 13 reviews
business
Summer is Almost Here! Great Water and Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981646
+1 706-244-6707
Hartwell Lake North Georgia Mountains
4

Excellent

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The home was very comfortable and perfect for our group. Lots of room with easy access off the interstate. We had an issue with the fire place smoking up the house. May need to check into that. Otherwise, the kitchen area is much larger than it looks in the pic. Good selection of pots and pans etc. It would be nice to have a Teflon large pot. Overall, cannot go wrong with this home.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. Your comment about the fireplace is a first and we will definitely check into it. Also I'll be looking for a large pot. Bigger groups need bigger pots in the winter for their soups and chili. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Summer is Almost Here! Great Water and Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981646
+1 706-244-6707
Hartwell Lake North Georgia Mountains
Charleston, South Carolina
5

Awesome house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My family and I stayed the weekend at this beautiful house to go to the Clemson/Citadel game. I actually found this house the day we were heading out of Charleston. I contacted the owner and lucky enough, we were able to rent last minute. Upon arrival, the owner had turned on the heat for us and had the lights on as well. The house was very nice and the view was breathtaking.We could not be any more satisfied!!! I will definitely be contacting them in the future! Thanks again Julie for all of your help! We will visit again during football season and maybe a long summer weekend!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back to see us.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Summer is Almost Here! Great Water and Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981646
+1 706-244-6707
Hartwell Lake North Georgia Mountains
5

Great family home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a great time. Rented the house for the long Thanksgiving weekend and had our kids and grandchildren join us. The house was perfect. Location was great and the owner was great to deal with. We will definitely be back.
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a wonderful time. Please come back to see us. Happy Holidays.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Summer is Almost Here! Great Water and Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981646
+1 706-244-6707
Hartwell Lake North Georgia Mountains
Columbus, GA
5

AWESOME in every way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This property had everything we needed and then more! Plenty of space for our family to spread out, a well appointed kitchen, comfortable beds, a great location (convenient to the highway and anywhere that we wanted to go). The owners were great to work with - very friendly and they paid attention to the small details. When we arrived, there was a pumpkin on the porch and lights had been turned on (we arrived at night). Fresh cut flowers greeted us on the counter.

We had such a good time and enjoyed working with the owners so much we look forward to our next trip there!
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again in the near future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Summer is Almost Here! Great Water and Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981646
+1 706-244-6707
Hartwell Lake North Georgia Mountains
Charleston, SC
4

Wonderful Getaway!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The house is tucked away in a quiet neighborhood and cove of lake hartwell, but is very close to I85. When we arrived, there were fall decorations on the front steps, fresh flowers in vases all around the house and a string of party lights turned on for us on the deck - it was a nice touch to welcome us for the weekend! The pictures don't do this place justice for the amount of space there is - and we had 10 adults staying! About a 45 minute drive to Clemson for the football game, but no traffic! We didn't get a chance to use the fire pit, but it was a lovely spot for making s'mores! We made good use of the gas grill on the porch, and plenty of kitchen utensils for cooking. The only thing we found is that there was poor reception on the wireless internet that was advertised in the listing - but that wasn't a big deal since we were there to reconnect with friends and put down our electronics. Bottom-line: we would absolutely come back!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad the group had a great time. Sorry your Tigers weren't at their best.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Summer is Almost Here! Great Water and Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981646
+1 706-244-6707
Hartwell Lake North Georgia Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great views

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Thanks Julie and Jason!! We had a wonderful time at your place. The dock was a perfect place to get some sun and the porch was very relaxing. And thanks for your guidance on the area. We will be back soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Summer is Almost Here! Great Water and Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981646
+1 706-244-6707
Hartwell Lake North Georgia Mountains
1

SO DIRTY

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We spent a weekend here a little over a week ago and we were not happy with the state of the house. It was QUITE dirty even though the owner tried to make us believe he had it cleaned before we arrived. Upon arriving we immediately washed all of the sheets because it was very clear they were not washed since the last visitors slept in the beds. There was dog hair everywhere and dead bugs all over all the floors and carpets.

We understood we were renting a place where pets are allowed and we even brought a dog (my sister’s) with us, but if the place was cleaned we would not have seen the hair and dirt upon our arrival. The carpets looked as if they had not been vacuumed in months and there were hair balls at least 6 inches in width in the basement. The windows were dirty and covered in cob webs, which made it unpleasant to open the blinds and open windows.

We understand that situations occur where arrangements cannot be made for cleaning and since we booked the place 2 days before arriving we get it that maybe the cleaners could not be scheduled. All we wanted was for Jason to be honest about this since he said he was scheduling cleaners FOR US. But, we emailed Jason once we saw that it was not clean, at all, and gave him an opportunity to refund AT LEAST some of our cleaning fee and he never even responded to our emails. I find it really annoying that he responded very quickly to emails when we were trying to rent the place, but once we paid and he had our money, he never responded to our emails even once.

The dock was nice even though the weekend we went was on the rainy side. We do not hold anyone responsible for our bad luck with weather, but we do hold Jason Elliot responsible for not getting back to us when we had a problem and not responding when we tried to email him after our stay. We would absolutely not stay at this property again.
Owner's Response: Wow, what a review!

Evidently, our house really went downhill in a month's time, for the July reviews were 5 stars. The claims made in this review are ludicrous. The sheets are always stripped and washed, the carpets are always vacuumed, and the kitchen and bathrooms are always cleaned and disinfected between guests. I know these things were done prior to this particular guests stay, for I did it myself. My cleaning lady was out of town, and I'm sure I didn't do as good a job as she would have which is why I routinely pay someone else to clean the house. However, these claims are really absurd.

She must have found a bug that freaked her out. The carpet does have some stains, but it is always vacuumed and routinely shampooed. As for the windows, they probably did need some attention, for I didn't clean the windows prior to her stay. As this guest mentioned, this was a last minute booking, so I hate the windows weren't sparkling clear for her. If there were hair balls in the basement, then they were from her sister's dog and occurred during her stay.

As for not responding to her emails, I never received any such emails. This review is the first I've heard of her displeasure. She could've and should've called me, for ALL guests have my cell phone number in case they need anything during their stay. I only live 5 miles from the property, so I'm typically accessible if anyone needs me during their stay.

As for the rain during her stay, there's not much I can do about the weather. However, I'm glad this guest also complained about it raining. Hopefully, this complaint provides some insight for future guests into just how ridiculous her claims about our property were.


Jason Elliott
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Summer is Almost Here! Great Water and Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981646
+1 706-244-6707
Hartwell Lake North Georgia Mountains
5

Relaxing dock, great value & close to marina!

Relaxing dock, great value & close to marina!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderful family gathering here & plan to return next year! Make sure to bring your fishing gear as we caught several nice catfish and brim off the dock. The kids (and adults) loved the split level style with 2 living rooms. There didn't seem to be a grocery store or many dining options nearby so bring plenty of groceries as you will not want to leave anyway!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Summer is Almost Here! Great Water and Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981646
+1 706-244-6707
Hartwell Lake North Georgia Mountains
5

A++ Comfortable Location on Lake Hartwell

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This home is the perfect home for a boating family. The location on the lake is perfect, the property offers a gentle, well maintained walk to the lake and the view is fabulous. Inside the kitchen is well stocked, the bedrooms are comfortable and the living area is very spacious. The owner is easy to contact and very caring. His attention to detail makes for a comfortable stay. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone who enjoys the lake, and hope to return myself also! Thanks for a great weekend! Debbie S.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Summer is Almost Here! Great Water and Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981646
+1 706-244-6707
Hartwell Lake North Georgia Mountains
5

Lake Hartwell house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My husband and I loved the house and its location. It was comfortable. It had the necessary items for the kitchen and bathrooms. We enjoyed the fireplace and the wonderful view of the lake from all important rooms. We do hope to come back again very soon.
Helpful votes: 3/3