Frederick chateau / country house rental - View as you approach Vista Country Home
View as you approach Vista Country Home
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Frederick Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 or 3 Bedrooms, 2 or 3 Baths, (Sleeps 2-9)

Vista Country Home, an elegant 2- or 3-bedroom vacation rental available for the first time in Spring 2012, is the perfect site for people who love history, comfort and beautiful scenery on their vacations. It is beautiful, spacious, and perfect for small family reunions or lodging for wedding groups.

(NOTE: Vista now has a little sister--a 1-bedroom cottage nearby, perfect for honeymoon-type getaways. See VRBO.com listing #461944)

While our friends who love our American Civil War heritage find Vista especially appealing for its proximity to key historic sites, everyone will enjoy the sheer comfort, privacy, and beautiful setting Vista offers. It is an ideal spot year round for a getaway from routine, from stress, from traffic!

Beautifully landscaped with a WALLED GARDEN, a pond with FOUNTAIN, a large GAZEBO for al fresco dining, and separate BREAKFAST BALCONY, Vista assures your comfort and relaxation indoors and out. Perfect backdrop and environment for WEDDING PHOTOS!

This airy, light-filled modern home features many beautiful antiques, VAULTED CEILINGS throughout, SKYLIGHTS, and with 3 immaculate bedrooms in an unparalleled setting of country splendor.

Get there first with your companion and choose the master bedroom, with its fabulous SCROLLED OAK, 4-POSTER, ANTIQUE QUEEN-SIZE BED! Your accompanying friends will be thrilled with the 2nd bedroom, with its ANTIQUE, 4-POSTER DOUBLE BED, and the 200-year-old CHILD'S DESK they can use for writing postcards home. The extra large 3rd bedroom also has ANTIQUE 4-POSTER DOUBLE BED, and includes two pullout sofas to sleep a total of up to 5 guests.

Crib available.

Each bedroom enjoys VIEWS OF NATURE AND COUNTRY SPLENDOR from all the bedroom windows. Each bedroom has ultra-fine linens, and its own large bathroom.

The LARGE, WELL-EQUIPPED KITCHEN will delight any chef. Culinary experts and amateurs alike will appreciate the fine and plentiful tools, utensils, and cookware provided for preparing fine meals. Serve your meals with nice flatware and dishes and enjoy them outside in the gazebo, on the balcony, or in the large and elegant dining room.

The SPACIOUS AND ELEGANT DINING ROOM, with seating for 8-10 diners, and larger living room are bathed in natural light. Enormous and numerous windows open to hundreds of acres trees, fields, streams and wildflowers--all part of your own private country estate!

With Vista as your vacation base, you can EASILY DRIVE TO DOZENS OF HISTORIC SITES and some of the world's finest visitor's centers to experience history where it happened, and honor those who fought and died to make America the great nation it is today.

A mere 15-minute drive will take you to Gettysburg--to where Chamberlain stood moments before he led a bayonet charge down the slopes of Little Round Top; to Cemetery Ridge, where the rebel yell still echoes from Pickett's Confederates as they charged to the 'high water mark' of the war; to the Gettysburg Cemetery, where Lincoln delivered the most famous speech in history honoring those who gave 'the last full measure.'

Vista offers easy access to many of America's other most important historical sites, as well, including Antietam and Monocacy Battlefields, as well as cultural and recreational sites in and around Washington DC and Baltimore.

After a day of sightseeing, golf, or ANTIQUES SHOPPING in the MANY OF THE EXCELLENT ANTIQUE SHOPS in Carroll County, you can kick back at Vista. Sip a cool iced tea or glass of wine from under Vista's gazebo as steaks sizzle on the grill, and a red setting sun yields the dimming cornfields and sycamore trees to a constellation of sparkling fireflies.

Or, enjoy the Maryland traditional celebratory feast: a pot of blue crabs from Vince's Seafood, steaming in savory Old Bay seasoning, with cold bottle of delicious locally crafted beer, or a chilled glass of fresh apple cider from nearby Baugher's Orchard.

Prefer to dine out? Vista is only 3 miles from Taneytown, where you can find WORLD-CLASS DINING at the Smokehouse Restaurant, the fabulous restaurant of the delux country hotel, ANTRIM 1844 an elegant ante-bellum mansion. At the other end of the cost spectrum, McDonald's, Pizza Hut and other familiar eateries are CLOSE and offer faster food alternatives.

The larger, but still nearby towns of Gettysburg and Westminster boast wonderful small-town character in pubs, diners, and family restaurants to please any palate and any budget.

For a quiet evening at your Country Home, enjoy a movie or documentary from a large collection of Civil War DVDs on a large HD TV, which also includes cable TV viewing options.

For a quieter evening, curl up with one of the many books in the Vista library of Civil War and American fiction and history books and periodicals.

Vista also offers you WiFi for HIGH-SPEED INTERNET access. Use it to look up your Civil War ancestors, check your email, or tell your Facebook friends what a great time you are having!

Check the details and photos listed elsewhere on this website to find many more appealing features of Vista Country Home.

We invite you to be our guest for an experience of comfort and learning that you will cherish and will want to share with friends and family!

Keywords: Gettysburg, Gettysburg area lodging, Country getaway, Fountain, Gazebo, Scenic, Nature views, Elegant, Luxury, Comfort, Historic location, Beautifully landscaped, Civil War, Antietam, Barbecue, Senior Friendly

More Details
Hide Details

Vista is located on Fiddler's Green, a working farm that has been in our family for 5 generations. Owner/managers are siblings Bruce, Chris and Mary Batten, who grew up playing in these creeks and fields, riding horses, milking cows, bailing hay, etc. Bruce's wife, Toni, and Chris' wife, Melissa are essential parts of our family team.

Here, where Big Pipe Creek flows through our property, we would wander the banks where Civil War soldiers camped the day before the battle that shaped the history of our nation. It was here we gained our appreciation of history, and the sacrifices made by our ancestors for the blessings that we enjoy today.

Chris and wife Melissa are the on-site managers who lives in the ante-bellum farmhouse nearby. Bruce and Mary divide their time between Vista and Fiddlers Green, and their homes in Alaska.

Chris Batten purchased this chateau / country house in 2011

Our family built Vista Country Home, designed by Registered Lansdscape architect Chris Batten, on our family farm known as Fiddler's Green in 1990. It was originally home to US Navy Capt. (ret.) Hugh N. Batten, a WWII fighter ace, and his wife 'Tommy' Batten. Both are now deceased.

This location has been a family farm for some 200 years, and looks much the same as it did 150 years ago during the Civil War, when Confederate forces invaded Maryland numerous times. Scores of battles large and small raged within short distances from this farm. Tens of thousands of soldiers marched through these fields, or camped along Pipe Creek, which runs through this property, on their way to destiny at Gettysburg. Its proximity to Gettysburg, Antietam, and other battle grounds makes it an ideal home base for day trips to some of the world's finest battlefield visitors centers, as well as all the visitor attractions of both Baltimore and Washington D.C.

But in addition to its location in a America's historic heartland, Vista is situated among some of America's most charming countryside, small towns, and neighbor farms. We wanted to share this magical place with people who love history and this country's agarian roots.

26 Reviews of Property 390177 in Frederick, Maryland

Gettysburg Area Fine Country Home--Comfort, View, Peace
average rating of 5.0 based on 26 reviews
business
Gettysburg Area Fine Country Home--Comfort, View, Peace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390177vb
+1 410-984-9848
Frederick Maryland
5

Countryside Getaway Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
For my sisters bachelorette weekend we wanted somewhere we could relax, drink some wine and breathe in some country air. The Vista gave us all that and more. We were a scenic drive away from Linganore Winery and England Acres Farmers market. At Linganore we spent the afternoon touring the the winery, indulging in a 16-wine wine tasting, and soaking up the sun on the outside patio. England Acres is small, but had such quality dairy, produce and meats, as well as soaps and gifts.
The Vista offered the perfect location for a getaway from the city. It was secluded enough to have our own space and enjoy watching the birds and turkeys right outside. The house was spacious, clean and complete with all sorts of amenities. I couldn't ask for a better host, they thought of everything down to the fresh flowers on the table. They were so helpful and truly made our time there special and carefree. I would strongly suggest the Vista to anyone wanting a relaxing, homey place to put your feet up and enjoy each others company. The Vista was a hit! If we're ever in the area again, we'll definitely be staying there!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Gettysburg Area Fine Country Home--Comfort, View, Peace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390177vb
+1 410-984-9848
Frederick Maryland
5

BEAUTIFUL HOME!! GREAT HOST AND HOSTESS!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We stayed at the Vista for our spring break. This is an annual event for our children and grandchildren. The Vista is by far the best placed we have stayed over the past ten years. Chris met us and gave us a tour of the property which was very interesting. The home was beautiful and accommodated seven people and two dogs very well. Melissa gave us a tour of the house and explained everything we needed to know. She shortly returned with fresh flowers and a basket of toys for my three year old grandson to play with during our visit. Later in the week Chris brought a huge box of toy tractors and other toys also. They treated us like family. The Vista is located close to Gettysburg and also a short drive to Baltimore and Frederick. Although the weather wasn't great, we found things to do or just spend te together on the property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Thank you Frankie for your flattering review. We hope you can return - perhaps in the summer or fall when the weather is nicer.

Chris & Melissa
business
Gettysburg Area Fine Country Home--Comfort, View, Peace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390177vb
+1 410-984-9848
Frederick Maryland
5

karen

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Most relaxing ,comfortable,peaceful place we have ever stayed. Even our little dog loved it. We didn't want to leave. We felt so welcomed and felt right at home. Everything was perfect. From the accommodations of linens, kitchen , most comfortable beds, and wonderful views from the property. All we had to do was bring ourselves. Tanneytown was close enough to go shopping for groceries or eat out. And Gettysburg Nat. Park was only minutes away. We had a wonderful stay at Vista. We have stayed there 2 Times this past year. And are definitely going again. We loved it there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Gettysburg Area Fine Country Home--Comfort, View, Peace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390177vb
+1 410-984-9848
Frederick Maryland
Harrisburg PA
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I stayed at Vista and her sister the "Round House" for my brother's wedding. I can't tell you how much we enjoyed staying at this amazing property! My family truly enjoyed every minute we spent on the pristine grounds. The pictures look nice on the website but they just really don't do it justice. I couldn't have felt more comfortable during my stay. So many memories were made on those four days that will last forever. I promise you that you will not have any regrets renting this property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Gettysburg Area Fine Country Home--Comfort, View, Peace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390177vb
+1 410-984-9848
Frederick Maryland
Vancouver
5

Perfect in Every Way!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The photos of this property are great but they could never do justice to what you really see and feel from the moment you arrive. My husband and I have rented from VRBO before with great experience, but never quite like the Vista. The property was spotlessly clean and there isn't anything you could want for here. This a home, not a house, modern and yet invitingly comfortable. Our family came to stay at the Vista because my nephew and my new niece were married on the property and hosted a wedding in the barn with just under 200 guests. It was amazing. So for our family the Vista was wonderful, with space for all ten of us, both inside or outside, whether we were all together, or just wanted some time to ourselves. Without hesitation, I would highly recommend this property to either a couple or a family. You will not be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Gettysburg Area Fine Country Home--Comfort, View, Peace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390177vb
+1 410-984-9848
Frederick Maryland
New Cumberland PA
5

The family of 10 for son's wedding!

The family of 10 for son's wedding!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We really can't say enough about our stay at the Vista. We were there for our son's wedding with my family, so needless to say there was about 10 of us. The home is more than perfect for that many people, and everything you would ever need from kitchen supplies to shampoo was there. We were able to cook meals and one night we even BBQ'd on the grill. The place is spotless and spaceous and so well maintained. The peacefulness of the surroundings is just so surreal, we really enjoyed the outdoor space with tables and the glow of the lighting, we spent many hours just around sharing stories and laughs with family. One thing is for sure, that you feel very at home there, so if it is just a getaway or a place to join family and friends, the Vista would be my #1 choice. Can't wait to go back...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Gettysburg Area Fine Country Home--Comfort, View, Peace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390177vb
+1 410-984-9848
Frederick Maryland
Metuchen NJ
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What can I add that the other reviewers have not already said? We stayed for 5 days with our 15 year old. Our family has traveled may places- including Bermuda,,, This was one of the nicest and most memorable vacations we have ever been on. The house is truly 15 minutes from Gettysburg- we went out to the battlefield everyday. But the vacation home itself is a vacation..... I think my favorite memory is seeing the stars right out of the master bedroom at night and then waking up to the busy activity of the little bird on the minature birdhouse. Hard to put in words how beautiful and serene Vista is. We hope to be back.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Gettysburg Area Fine Country Home--Comfort, View, Peace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390177vb
+1 410-984-9848
Frederick Maryland
South St. Paul, MN
5

Vista Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The home was absolutely beautiful and its' country setting very peaceful. The location is perfect for day trips to many different areas of interest including Gettysburg, Baltimore and Washington DC. The owners were extremely helpful with providing information on activities and shopping in the area.

We enjoyed our stay very much and plan on returning. We highly recommend Vista as a vacation rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Gettysburg Area Fine Country Home--Comfort, View, Peace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390177vb
+1 410-984-9848
Frederick Maryland
Columbus Ohio
5

Quiet and Fun at the Vista

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We enjoyed our time very much at the Vista - it is a beautiful location; overlooking rolling fields and tucked back away from most noise. Plenty of room; comfy beds; and wonderful outdoor front and back porch areas that we enjoyed for breakfast coffee and cook-out dinners.
Chris and Melissa are wonderful hosts. Melissa brought us toys for our 3 yr old to play with and brought up a marble maze build yourself creation that my husband and my boys liked to finish building and play with. Chris supplied several Civil War videos for us to watch.
They went above and beyond the call of duty to make us feel welcome and our stay an enjoyable one.
Highly recommend staying at the Vista.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gettysburg Area Fine Country Home--Comfort, View, Peace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390177vb
+1 410-984-9848
Frederick Maryland
-
5

April 2013 Stay at the Vista

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband, stepdaughter and I stayed at the Vista for a long weekend recently. The house is spacious and easily accommodated all three of us. The amenities were great. The house was spotless and comfortable. The gardens outside were beautiful landscaped with tulips and azaleas blooming. It is a great house for getting away and having some peace and quiet. We truly enjoyed our stay. The home is lovely and had everything we needed. The host was very nice and greeted us late in the evening to make sure we were acquainted with the home. I would definitely recommend this house and would gladly go back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1