Lezzeno apartment rental - Enjoy your stay in Lezzeno -- Lake Como at its most intimate and authentic
Enjoy your stay in Lezzeno -- Lake Como at its most intimate and authentic
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Lezzeno Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Groundfloor apartment - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, patio (Sleeps 4)

Ca de l'Üga Dulza means 'House of the Sweet Grape' in the local dialect of Lezzeno, a small town just south of Bellagio. Enjoy the sweet life from your elegant hillside hideaway overlooking Lake Como's dazzling scenery. Your modern 800-square-foot apartment is on the ground floor of a two-story villa and is beautifully appointed with high-end designer and custom-made furnishings, fine linens, and essential modern amenities (including air conditioning, free WiFi Internet access, and an iPod-ready home entertainment system). Consisting of 2 master bedrooms, 2 en-suite bathrooms with showers, a living area with a full gourmet kitchen and entertainment system, and a wraparound patio with access from both bedrooms as well as the kitchen/living area, the apartment is ideally suited for two couples traveling together, particularly if they enjoy cooking!

SPORTS & OUTDOORS: Sports enthusiasts and other athletically inclined souls will be overwhelmed by the scope of activities available. Spectacular hiking trails include the Strada Regia (the ancient Roman 'Royal Road'), which passes just outside our doors and stretches from the edges of Bellagio to Como, as well as countless others looping around the surrounding mountains and sloping shores. A short walk down to the water makes it possible to take advantage of water skiing or wakeboard lessons with world champions through the local water-sports organization. Bike or kayak rentals are also available for those who prefer to adventure independently. Organized biking and horseback outings are available through companies in Bellagio.

DINING & SHOPPING: Those with a more gustatory bent will revel in the many fine restaurants, charming wine bars, and small shops selling local specialties. (Not to mention the gelaterias.) And, of course, there are dozens of small shops full of treasures in nearby Bellagio or Como for those looking to find the perfect souvenirs for themselves or special gifts for friends and family.

WINE TASTING: The nearby Valtellina (full-bodied reds and elegant whites) and Franciacorta (sparkling) wine regions make fantastic wines. Many participate in the Open Winery weekend at the end of May, Glasses of Stars in mid-August, Harvest Welcome in September, San Martino day tastings and food pairings, and Christmas in Cantina in December.

More Details
Hide Details

Originally from California, I lived in New York, Connecticut, and Massachusetts before moving to Italy for nine years.

Kate purchased this apartment in 2006

I fell in love with Lake Como from the moment I first arrived in 2003.

I love Lezzeno because it's close and convenient to the central lake area (being adjacent to Bellagio), but not directly in the thick of things when the summer crowds descend. It's a small village (though the longest on the lake at 7 km end-to-end), full of hard-working residents, most of whom have lived here since birth. While most of Bellagio runs on tourism, Lezzeno is powered by its numerous artisans and tiny ground-floor factories. In my biased opinion, the apartment has the most beautiful perspective on the lake, directly across from the only island as well as the stunning Villa Balbianello (a frequent film location and one of the world's perfect spots for a summer aperitivo) and high enough up the hill to keep road noise to a bare minimum while panoramas are maximized. Because the apartment was originally conceived as a home away from home for close friends and family (as well as my own hideout when I need a quiet place to write), I spent a great deal of time striving to make it as welcoming and comfortable as possible.

6 Reviews of Property 981162 in Lezzeno, Italy

Luxe Apt. w/ a View & Modern Style (Downstairs Unit) (Bellagio@10 Min.)
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Luxe Apt. w/ a View & Modern Style (Downstairs Unit) (Bellagio@10 Min.)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981162
Lezzeno Lake Como
5

Excellent choice for Lake Como accomodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Kate has clearly put a lot of effort into this unit, and it shows. The apartment was exactly as described, very clean, and came with a great kitchen. We ate several dinners there, staring at the views, instead of finding restaurants in the village below. Both Kate and husband Nico were very accommodating, and we felt right at home. Kate's recommendations for activities were spot-on, and reflected her desire that we enjoy every moment of our holiday.
There is a similarly laid-out unit upstairs, but I was glad that we had the ground floor apartment, as this one allows more space outside to relax and enjoy the scenery.
Recommendations for future travelers: You will need a car to easily access the property. Even though I drive a manual transmission car at home, I was glad that I had an automatic because of the steep hills in the area.
Hike uphill to the small church and Strada Regina for the views, and to work off all of the pasta you will be eating.
I can recommend the property highly, and without reservation.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxe Apt. w/ a View & Modern Style (Downstairs Unit) (Bellagio@10 Min.)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981162
Lezzeno Lake Como
5

Enchanting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was the best thought out and well equipped rental that we have ever stayed in. Not only was no detail omitted, from cooking implements in the kitchen to soaps and other essentials in the bathroom, but the extra touches like the pasta, sauce, and bottle of wine that spared us a trip to a grocery store our first night really made a difference. The kitchen was a treat to cook in, we would have gladly taken it home with us. The view of the lake from the balcony and every room of the house was absolutely breathtaking and we thoroughly enjoyed our walks through Lezzeno's paths.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxe Apt. w/ a View & Modern Style (Downstairs Unit) (Bellagio@10 Min.)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981162
Lezzeno Lake Como
Colorado
5

This is the place.... Look no further!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Hi Kate, so sorry for the very belated review.

PEOPLE - this is the place to stay. OMG - Kate is the best and this place, the downstairs.... heaven.

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights late May 2012. We were to have had a couple with us - double Anniversary celebration, however, they ended up last minute not coming. Anyhow, we did keep the entire place, both bedrooms and both bathrooms.

The apartment is amazing. So well done. What I didn't realize until after the fact is that this used to be done as a bed and breakfast. When we were there, there were pastries, coffee and eggs, that type of food. I thought it was just leftovers, and hesitant to use it.

Anyway, Kate told us where to eat and where to shop. Hotel Aurora - is a must. We went there multiple times - it has this amazing terrace rightover over the water.

Anyway, Kate will take care of everything and anything you need. She helped me in the months prior to our arrival taking care of anything I needed, and answering any questions that I had. My true regret is that we did not stay like a month.

The apartment is charming. The terrace that runs the full length of the lower apartment and offers breath taking views over the lake. My husband and I ate multiple meals on the terrace and watched the sun set. Beautiful!!!!

This is the place to stay. Call fast and tell Kate you want to get on the books.

Last but not least - the crazy roads from Lake Como main town to here and up to Bellagio - yikes!!!! Be sure to rent a very small car!

The photos are totally accurate - I can't wait until we are able to visit Italy again, as this will be where we stay, and send anyone else that mentions they are headed to Como.

Again to you Kate.... thanks.... Even now, 5 months later... I tell everyone about your amazing place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Luxe Apt. w/ a View & Modern Style (Downstairs Unit) (Bellagio@10 Min.)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981162
Lezzeno Lake Como
Canada
5

Chris & Ken(Canada)

Chris & Ken(Canada)
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Kate and Nico have made this beautiful spacious apartment comfortable and welcoming. The views are breathtaking, and the pace of life very peaceful and serene. We were centrally located to tour around the nearby towns Lenno,Bellagio,Tremmezo, Menaggio by ferry, or drive to Bellagio or Como. Four of us travelled together, and made most meals in the gourmet kitchen which is very well equipped. Everyone in the village was so friendly and helpful, we didn't want to leave. Hiked the trails, saw the sites, and made new friends.Driving was an adventure, recommend a "Tom Tom" to navigate the roads off the Autostrade.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxe Apt. w/ a View & Modern Style (Downstairs Unit) (Bellagio@10 Min.)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981162
Lezzeno Lake Como
Canada
5

Beautiful Lezzeno

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We spent two enchanting weeks in this delightful Villa, along with another couple, close friends who also enjoy gourmet meals and luxurious accommodations. Kate and Nico had supplied cooking essentials as well as attending to all the needs expected when in a self catering apartment, which was really appreciated after a long travel period. A complimentary bottle of red wine completed our first night.
Recommendations include: a smaller car to handle the hilly roads, use of the ferry system to visit other towns around the lake( much faster at times), Villa Balbianello and good walking shoes, especially when walking along the many hiking trails. The village of Lezzeno is quite charming and the local people very friendly and helpful.
In short we loved our time at Kate and Nico's oasis in the hills of Lezzeno and would most happily recommend this type of holiday, especially for other travelling couples or families. We plan to return!
Thank you so much Kate and Nico for your hospitality and helpfulness.

A word from the chef (Brian). I did most of the cooking while on the vacation. The kitchen was brand new and fully equipped. I have been at other self catering apartments which claim to be fully equipped but they couldn't come close to what I had to chose from here. There was a five burner gas stove and convection oven; lots of plates, glasses, cutlery, good chef's knives and many pots and pans of varying sizes. We even had a choice of 3 different styles of coffee makers! I loved the kitchen.
Your friends,
Brenda and Brian
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxe Apt. w/ a View & Modern Style (Downstairs Unit) (Bellagio@10 Min.)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981162
Lezzeno Lake Como
Canada
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Kate and Nic have gone to great lengths to make
The ground floor apartment is fully self contained
With the comforts you expect in North America.
Clean, modern, comfy and the veranda view is
To die for after a days outing. Kate and Nic were
Very welcoming - had stocked the fridge with
Basics and a fun bottle of bubbly so we didn't have
To dash out. Don't let the drive put you off
Because you will be rewarded with a great stay
And this is a premium area of Italy.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2