Little Gasparilla Island house rental - Front view of the house from 'Gulf Street'
Front view of the house from 'Gulf Street'
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Little Gasparilla Island House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 6; Separate guest suite

Enjoy quaint and quiet Little Gasparilla Island, a bridgeless, roadless barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico located between Sarasota and Naples. There are sandy paths and golf cart trails on the island. There are no cars, stores, or restaurants!

Gulf Street stretches from the bay to the gulf, and our house is almost midway. From the dock you’ll have a short walk to our stilt home with its large deck for relaxing. A dock cart is provided for getting your supplies to the house. The beach is a short walk from the house in the opposite direction! There is a beach access directly at the end of the lane. Enjoy nature, 7 miles of beautiful, uncrowded beaches, and a relaxing, tropical setting!

The 3 bedroom, 2 bath house has a king-sized bed and 2 twin beds upstairs, along with a bathroom, living area and kitchen.

The downstairs bedroom suite is not accessible from upstairs, so it truly offers privacy! The suite has a private entrance with a deck that leads to a spacious bedroom with a king bed, a private bathroom, and a sitting area with a flat-screen TV.

Relax in the hammock, read or visit with friends and family on the spacious upstairs deck!

The kitchen has a toaster, microwave, coffee bean grinder, coffee maker, and blender. All linens are provided, as well as a supply of basic paper and storage items. A cooler, beach chairs and towels, an umbrella and beach toys are provided. Pack light!

Leave your car at the marina, and take a 10 minute ride via the water taxi, or bring your boat and use our dock! Transportation is not necessary on Little Gasparilla Island; however golf cart rental is available through a separate party, if you don't want to explore on foot.

The beach is beautiful. Great shells and petrified sharks' teeth can be found. If you walk 1.75 miles south, you'll end up at the southernmost tip of the island. A mile north of our access is Don Pedro State Park. You can walk further north (about 4 miles) to the northern tip of the island.

Fish from the dock or the beach, and if you have a boat, you are surrounded by some of Florida's greatest fishing spots. It's not unusual to see dolphins, gopher tortoises, osprey, wading birds, manatees, and bald eagles.

Enjoy gorgeous sunrises and sunsets!

Bring your groceries, sunscreen, fishing gear, hat, sunglasses and the books you've been meaning to read, and get ready for a unique, relaxing experience!

More Details
Hide Details

Ken and Diana have been coming to the island for over 23 years. We became owners on the island with friends in 1999, and made many great memories with our son, our families, and friends. We enjoy fishing, kayaking, and walking the beach. We rent the 'Seafanz' house, and we live on the same lane, so we are often here to answer questions or meet our guests!

Ken & Diana Obermeyer purchased this house in 2005

We love Gulf Street with its single-family homes and privacy. The lane connects the dock on the bayside to the beach on the Gulf. It is a narrow part of the island.

Our guests have always enjoyed the tropical view from the deck, and we have had many state the downstairs private suite is ideal for traveling couples/families. After a warm day in the sun or out on the water, it is a relaxing, quiet 'home' in which to return.

39 Reviews of Property 981082 in Little Gasparilla Island, Florida

'Seafanz' Island Retreat - Great location on Gulf Street!
average rating of 5.0 based on 39 reviews
business
'Seafanz' Island Retreat - Great location on Gulf Street!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981082
+1 8634301494
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Des Moines, IA
5

So Relaxing and an Amazing Get Away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had an amazing time at the "Seafanz" Island Retreat. We went with another couple to celebrate our 30th birthday's. It was relaxing and wonderful. The house was really nice and very clean. We were able to cook on the days that we wanted to because the kitchen was nicely supplied with anything we needed. On the deck they have a very nice table with chairs for 6 and a hammock! :) It was nice to lay on the hammock in the morning and have no worries! We walked the beach, picked up shells, went kayaking one morning and mostly relaxed. It was great! We would recommend this to anyone who wants to get away and put their feet up. The owners were so nice. We will definitely be going back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Seafanz' Island Retreat - Great location on Gulf Street!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981082
+1 8634301494
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Where do you live?
5

Gorgeous and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This was the best vacation home!! It was such a relaxing and beautiful place. It was 2 mins from the ocean and 2 mins from the bay. It was the best of both worlds, literally a 2 min walk. Also with having the laundry facility prevented us from spending money on extra luggage. We went kayaking, fishing, walked on the beach..it was gorgeous. I would HIGHLY recommend this vacation home!! Also Ken and Diana were so friendly and accommodating. It was super clean and looked just like the pictures, unlike other homes we have rented. Great for families!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Seafanz' Island Retreat - Great location on Gulf Street!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981082
+1 8634301494
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Excellent vacation rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This rental property was exactly as advertised. We came for a week in December, our two kids plus grandparents. It was fully furnished with everything you might need in the kitchen. Some spices, condiments in the fridge and all supplies for the drip coffee maker (sans coffee grinds). The toy closet kept my 5 year old and 18 month old well entertained. All beach supplies were supplied (chairs, umbrella, beach toys) that could be left near the beach to avoid constant trucking of gear. The outside grill worked splendidly. The deck seating was utilized for several meals. The deck is a good outside place for play for older children--our 18month old could still get his head between the wood posts. The downstairs room was used by Grandparents and was the perfect get-away from the noisy little ones.
Only a couple of things I would add for your planning. I wouldn't shop at the Publix nearby--they were out of milk and chicken when we stopped by plus on a Sunday and the prices are a little hiked up. You'd be better off to bring your groceries or stop 10 miles up the road. The marina will park your car for a fee and take your trash for a fee per bag--the owners offered to take trash for us when they went back to the mainland. Elred's Marina only takes cash. There is only one water taxi and it's $7/person one way (cash only). You do need to call ahead and make a reservation--he can come get you earlier than your reserved time if he's free, that's not a guarantee.
If we have the opportunity to vacation as a six-some, we'll be back. The island has 350 houses, but only 50 year round residents. So the population are mostly renters. Makes for a great atmosphere. The beach was considered crowded by the locals but absolutely wide open by Daytona Beach standards. Sea shells were found galore and intact, diving pelicans, lounging dolphins, gobs of shark teeth, and a family of osprey were all enjoyed by the whole family. We found huge crabs, starfish, sea dollars and a variety of shells. While the water was too cold to swim in, we waded just fine and flew plenty of kites and gliders. The stars were bright, the beaches long and clean and the horizon beautiful for sunsets or sunrises. A great find.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
'Seafanz' Island Retreat - Great location on Gulf Street!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981082
+1 8634301494
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
TAMPA
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
always great to be on the island, the owners were great and only 2 houses away if we needed anything, house was clean and well kept. we will be back, thanks!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Seafanz' Island Retreat - Great location on Gulf Street!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981082
+1 8634301494
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
North Georgia Mountains
5

Perfect Island Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We enjoyed our stay at Seafanz very much, it was a wonderful break from the usual distractions of family vacation. The suite was very much appreciated by my wife and I, and our son and pet pug had the run of the house upstairs. The closet full of excellent games and DVDs was much appreciated by our 12 yr old son, and the deck with the hammock was a favorite spot. The owners were just a few houses away and were very responsive to any questions we had. We particularly appreciated the fact that the island is very friendly to bare feet and dogs, no roads or cars. A relaxing and homey house, we'll rent again in the future-
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Seafanz' Island Retreat - Great location on Gulf Street!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981082
+1 8634301494
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

back to the land

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My family of 5 stayed at this property. It was well kept and a good value. I would recommend this property to people who like fishing, the beach and a low-key vacation. There are no restaurants or stores. The islanders are very nice. It's a relaxed place and you can catch up on your reading. We stayed in mid-late April. The weather was perfect.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
'Seafanz' Island Retreat - Great location on Gulf Street!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981082
+1 8634301494
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

We had a great time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had A great time. The House has everything you need. We enjoyed the close Beach, the hammock and especially the relaxed and great atmosphere. But especially thanks to Diana and Ken. Our two Kids ( 3 and 6 years) are still talking about you, and your dog and ask when we will be back to LGA. Diana helpes whenever possible and for our son geting to know the great Fire Station of LGA was the greatest thing, thanks again and Hope to be back soon. Just make surre you bring enough groceries, but Even there Diana helpes Out.
Owner's Response: We try to make it easy for you to enjoy staying at our house, and we're glad you had everything you needed! It was nice to meet new friends from across the Atlantic, and we're happy to hear you'll be back this year!
Thanks!
business
'Seafanz' Island Retreat - Great location on Gulf Street!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981082
+1 8634301494
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Stuart, FL
5

A Wonderful Christmas Week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We loved it at Seafanz! Hard to believe we were only 5 minutes from bustling Florida! The property is lovely, the beach is a 2 second walk, and the taxi service was convenient. We also brought our own boat, which made exploring the other islands truly worthwhile. The house has everything you would need, even games and videos for a rainy day. I would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Seafanz' Island Retreat - Great location on Gulf Street!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981082
+1 8634301494
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Winter Haven, FL
5

Excellent Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I could not have asked for a better experience! The owners were amazing to work with and beyond friendly; the best rental hosts we have ever dealt with! Diana communicated lots of helpful info via email prior to our departure and was always quick to respond to any questions during our stay; she even offered to help us load everything on departure day and drive our golf cart back from the dock for us in the rain! The house was extremely clean and well maintained! The owners keep the house very well stocked- everything we needed, from ziploc bags to after sun lotion to beach chairs and floats was provided. Truly, all you need to bring is beach wear and food! The grill was great for easy dinners and we enjoyed most meals on the deck. The hammock on the deck was perfect for relaxing in the evenings. We were able to walk to the dock and our boat in a matter of steps and the beach access was a short walk in the opposite direction. Looking forward to our next trip to Seafanz!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Seafanz' Island Retreat - Great location on Gulf Street!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p981082
+1 8634301494
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Green Bay, WI
5

Wisconsin Vacationers with Dog Had Wonderful Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Seafanz was a great getaway. Everything was as stated, the place was clean and had all of the amenities you would need. My husband did some fishing, we rented a boat for a day and walked a short sandy path to the beach to watch every sunset.Saw dolphins every day. If you want to unplug, this is the place to do it. We had our dog with us who was right at home and loved hanging out at the beach. Great front porch to have a glass of wine or do some outdoor dining. Recommend getting to the island via 'Captain Willie' Owners are right down the street for anything you need. They are so helpful, my husband considered them friends before we left :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1