Amherst cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Amherst Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Bonnie's-by-the-Beach near Pugwash, Nova Scotia is a newly renovated 2-bedroom cottage (sleeps 6) on a large landscaped yard is the perfect fall get-a-way for couples, golfers or families. Bonnie’s Place is a 5-minute walk to a beautiful, private pet-friendly beach on the Northumberland Strait — great for taking walks, making bonfires, and enjoying beautiful sunsets. Beach boasts the warmest waters north of the Carolina’s.

Just off Highway 6 on the Sunrise Trail, this location also offers activities away from the beach.

Enjoy a glass of wine from a local vineyard while watching beautiful sunsets from the wrap-around porch (with patio set and full-size barbecue). Interior has stained wood walls and ceilings making for a peaceful rustic setting. Interior has been newly refurbished.

Keywords: House, cottage, seaside, beach, Nova Scotia, Pugwash, cozy, updated, home, Bonnie's, Sunrise Trail, Harbour Fest, Harbor Fest, Gathering of the Clans, Northumberland Strait, cottage

Here are the kayaks we use when our family visits each summer. Always fun to kayak at our private beach.

My sister Carla and I inherited the property from our mother, Bonnie. My mom grew up in nearby Springhill, Nova Scotia. I now live in Massachusetts.

We use the cottage for a few weeks in the summer and then rent it for the rest of season. We get folks in during the spring, summer and fall. It's a lovely spot. Wish we lived closer!

Bernadette Carini purchased this cottage in 2002

I spent summers in Nova Scotia as a child and LOVE that my son Danny is now doing the same. Even more, I love that for the two weeks we stay at Bonnie's, none of us are glued to a computer, phone, or TV. Instead, we ride bikes, hang at the beach, garden, or take day trips. I always return to Boston rejuvenated and renewed after a stay at Bonnie's-by-the-Beach.

I especially love the mornings at Bonnie's-by-the-Beach. I love having coffee on the porch, where I can see the ocean. Then, I usually take a walk around the 'loop' before heading to the beach. I've started kayaking so I can now explore the other beaches as well.

Evenings are lovely too. I like sitting on our porch and watching the hummingbirds feed. Sometimes we watch a movie from our video library, at other times we have a bonfire or enjoy 'happy hour' with the neighbors. It's a relaxed way to live, and I just love it.

The rustic, cozy feel of the cottage is just perfect. It's my absolute favorite place to be.

13 Reviews of Property 306129 in Amherst, Nova Scotia

Now Booking Spring 2014! Bonnie's-by-the-Beach: Amherst Shore
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 13 reviews
business
Now Booking Spring 2014! Bonnie's-by-the-Beach: Amherst Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306129vb
Amherst Bay of Fundy
moncton
5

Great vacation property.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This property was a great place to spend a relaxing break. The beach is very close and not crowded as well as very clean. The wrap around deck is a great place to spend time relaxing, barbecuing and having your coffee in the morning. There s plenty of room with the two bedrooms and pullout couches; everything was clean and well organized. The pine interior with cathedral ceiling is beautiful. The photos are a true reflection of the cottage with a large lot as well. The owner had an information book there also.
The cottage is about 10 minutes from the village of Pugwash where there is a bank, grocery store and hardware store as well as other small businesses such as restaurants. Prince Edward Island is an easy day trip as well as the Sunrise Trail on the coast of Nova Scotia where there are several golf courses. An enjoyable stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Reg,

I'm so glad that you had an enjoyable visit at Bonnie's Place. I agree, the private beach is very relaxing. A nice spot to "get away from it all." We hope you come back soon! Thank you for your vacation review.

Sincerely,

Donna Cloney
Co-Owner
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Now Booking Spring 2014! Bonnie's-by-the-Beach: Amherst Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306129vb
Amherst Bay of Fundy
North Andover, MA, USA
5

Cozy Oceanside Vacation Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The coast of Nova Scotia in the fall was spectacularly beautiful. We were reminded of of Cape Cod. Every town seemed to have one or two delicious cafes.We explored a gristmill, a sawmill, and a winery. Local pottery was too beautiful to pass up; we came home with new bowls and coffee cups. Cottage is typical beach cottage: comfortable, convenient, well stocked. Abundant hot water in the bathroom. Most of the days were sunny. Wood stove kept us warm on the two nights that were chilly. A great place for a fall get away with another couple. We came home relaxed and rested.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Now Booking Spring 2014! Bonnie's-by-the-Beach: Amherst Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306129vb
Amherst Bay of Fundy
Nova Scotia, Canada
4

A perfect spot for a casual vacation!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Bonnie's Place is a perfect spot for a casual vacation, especially if you have small children who will be fascinated by the nearby beach and tidepools.
It is a bit off the beaten track but within easy driving distance of shops and restaurants. The directions provided are fine - but only if you are coming from Amherst. Google the location if coming from another direction.
New photos have been added since our stay and what you see is what you get. There were some things that needed to be fixed (the main ignitor on the BBQ didn't work, the dimmer on one light switch ditto, and one burner on the stove was not operating) and better lights for reading would be welcome, especially in the main bedroom. The large window needs to be replaced as the 'fog' in the thermopane obscures the view but, if the weather is nice, it's better sitting outdoors anyway and there are two decks and lots of lawn furniture.
Don't miss Chase's lobster pound up the road for seafood (the fresh lobster out of the shell was a terrific buy) or a drive along the road towards the NB border. There are terrific rivers for kayaking too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Now Booking Spring 2014! Bonnie's-by-the-Beach: Amherst Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306129vb
Amherst Bay of Fundy
Canada
5

Great family holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a great time at Bonnie's Place and highly recommend it. Just so peaceful. Our kids (4 and 2) loved playing on the beach every day, and it was a great location for visiting Amherst, PEI, Joggins and the beaches of the Northumberland shore. The cottage is well appointed, very homely and has everything you need. Can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Neil. I am so pleased to hear that you and the kids had a great vacation. The private beach is such a wonderful place for small children to play. I especially like the warm tidal pools. My son Danny enjoys watching the snails at low tide.

Please come back again, and bring the children!

Sincerely,

Donna Cloney
business
Now Booking Spring 2014! Bonnie's-by-the-Beach: Amherst Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306129vb
Amherst Bay of Fundy
4

Bonnie's Place

Bonnie's Place
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We were very satisfied with our home away. It provided us with everything we needed and was very neat and clean. The beach could be seen from the front deck and was only a 3-5 minute walk. Since we were there to see as much as possible we did find the cottage a little further away from some of our main destinations but we were not deterred. There was a resturant close by and several in the town of Pugwash which was only a 10 min. ride. We had never been to Nova Scotia and were so impressed with the scenery and the people of this area, we want to go again. Thanks for the great vacation.

Gerry Fouche, Kingsland, GA USA
Owner's Response: Hi Gerry.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your first trip to Nova Scotia. Please come back again! If you didn't make it to Prince Edward Island (PEI) yet, perhaps next time you can include that as part of your travel plans. (We are about 40 minutes from the bridge to PEI.) I can recommend great place to eat and a few sights to see. I can also recommend several "sights to see" within driving distances of the cottage.

Thanks for staying with us at Bonnie's-by-the-Beach! Please come again

Sincerely,

Donna Cloney, Co-Owner
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Now Booking Spring 2014! Bonnie's-by-the-Beach: Amherst Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306129vb
Amherst Bay of Fundy
Ottawa, ON
5

Quiet week at Bonnie's Cottage

Quiet week at Bonnie's Cottage
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The cottage was clean and we found it exactly as advertised. The location is perfect for a quiet week away from the city noise and the tourist traffic. The beach is just a short walk away. There is also a large supervised beach about 10 minutes drive away if this is someone's preference. Overall the week at Bonnie's Place was a nice vacation experience
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Jack.

Thank you for writing about your vacation at our cottage. I am heading there later this month and can not wait to get away from the hustle and bustle and humidity of the city. We live in a Boston suburb.

Please come again when you need to get away from it all!

Sincerely
Donna Cloney
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Now Booking Spring 2014! Bonnie's-by-the-Beach: Amherst Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306129vb
Amherst Bay of Fundy
Medway, MA
4

Early season rental.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
It was great, very quiet as I am sure we beat the summer rush. Weather was a bit rough in the beginning but turned out fine, after all it was the begining of June. Great little beach down the street and we got to ride the bikes to and had a bon fire the last night. The stars were amazing, i dont think i have ever seen so many. All in all we had a great 3 days, thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Ryan. I am glad you enjoyed biking riding and bonfires at the beach. I agree that the stars at night are amazing. I hope you also got to take in the sunsets over the nearby marsh. I find the dusk a beautiful time to take walks around The Loop. Come back again when you can spend more time!
Sincerely,
Donna Cloney,
Co-Owner
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Now Booking Spring 2014! Bonnie's-by-the-Beach: Amherst Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306129vb
Amherst Bay of Fundy
north of Boston
4

Peaceful escape by the sea

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Bonnie's Place was exactly what I was looking for: a peaceful place by the water to relax and enjoy life. The cottage was well-furnished and comfortable. I loved looking out the big picture window and seeing the Northumberland Strait. We loved the breezes that flowed through the cottage daily. Our 13 y.o. daughter had a wonderful time being outside almost all of the time enjoying the beach with local kids. The neighbors were very friendly. I hear that Donna (the owner) has just bought a big TV to accompany the DVD player. It was fun to have family movie nights! The water was warm and family-friendly. We enjoyed looking in the tide pools and relaxing to the rhythm of the ocean. When we wanted a bit of civilization, we were happy going to the Chatterbox Cafe for good food, music, books and free WiFi. The Jost Winery tour was fun and informative, not to mention very tasty!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Nancy, I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit! I agree - looking out the picture window and seeing the ocean is fantastic. When we were there last week I hung a hummingbird feeder and had lots of visitors. Jost Winery is great. We took a bottle of wine with us for dinner in Wallace at the Jubilee Inn. Perhaps you can check it out on your next visit. Thanks for visiting Bonnie's! Donna
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Now Booking Spring 2014! Bonnie's-by-the-Beach: Amherst Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306129vb
Amherst Bay of Fundy
Andover, MA
5

Peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Clean and nicely laid out. Pugwash for coffee, breakfast and wifi at the Chatterbox Cafe was a daily routine. Only thing I would do is upgrade the old tv.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying at Bonnie's! We've upgraded the television and added more DVDs to our video library. Come on back soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Now Booking Spring 2014! Bonnie's-by-the-Beach: Amherst Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306129vb
Amherst Bay of Fundy
Ottawa
5

Family Vacation at Bonnie's Place, Mitchell's Beach Nova Scotia

Family Vacation at Bonnie's Place, Mitchell's Beach Nova Scotia
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Jill, Ian, Adam and Aaron
My family rented Bonnie's Place the last week in August 2010. The cottage is in a great location:close to the beach, few minutes drive to Pugwash and the Lobster Pound. We spent many hours on the beach golfing, flying kites, swimming and just exploring.
Highly recommend Bonnie's Place.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Jill, Ian, Adam and Aaron,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Bonnie's! This year we're adding a volleyball net and a new picnic table. Sure hope you can come back in 2011! If so, be sure to bring the boys' bikes. The kids love riding around Mitchell's Loop (and - because it's a loop, it's safe and you don't have to worry). I also have a large tent you can borrow if the boys want to camp out in the front or back yard. There's a firepit in the back to roast marshmallows.

Thanks again for your kind words. We hope you choose Bonnie's Place for your future vacation needs.

Sincerely,

Donna and Carla
Bonnie's Daughters
Helpful votes: 2/2