Nashville townhome rental - Next to Shelby Park - Trails, Golfing, Frisbee Course-Only 2 Miles from Downtown
Next to Shelby Park - Trails, Golfing, Frisbee Course-Only 2 Miles from Downtown
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Nashville Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Townhome, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Be part of the local experience in this conveniently located historic Lockeland Springs neighborhood in East Nashville . Historic East Nashville has been coined by Budget Travel Magazine as Nashville’s version of New York’s East Village.Your guest home sits at the entrance of Shelby Park.

Your comfortable, artful and cozy accommodations consist of 3 bedrooms with pillow top mattresses and 1.5 bathrooms. There’s a full bathroom upstairs, a living room with a flat screen tv, 2 bedrooms, several tables to sit and enjoy your meal overlooking the park.

A visual feast awaits you downstairs. In addition to having another living room with a flat screen tv, a bedroom, ½ bath, and a washer/dryer for your convenience, the living space is turned into a gallery. Beautiful paintings, collages, and photographs adorn the walls. We are proud to promote regional artists. What makes it special is that you may purchase their work and take a little bit of Nashville back home with you.

Well behaved and friendly dogs are welcome. They can even snuggle up with you with the provided pet blankets. Shelby Park is a large 336 acres urban multi-use park along the Cumberland River featuring river views; migratory bird and other wildlife viewing opportunities; playgrounds; a fenced off-leash dog park approximately 1 block away; baseball fields; Vinny Links a 9 hole golf course is approximately ½ mile away and the 18 hole golf course is only a few blocks from your lodging ; Sevier Lake, popular for casual fishing; a Cumberland River boat launch ramp; picnic shelters; and the Shelby Park Community Center across the street which offers tennis. There’s the Shelby Bottoms Nature Center which is a great starting point for exploring more than 950 acres of Shelby Bottoms Greenway. There’s a Nashville GreenBikes station where you can “check-out” a free bike to ride on the Shelby Bottoms and other connected Greenways.

Many of Nashville’s most popular restaurants, tourist destinations, and shops are in this neighborhood. Five points is a popular destination and is only 1.25 miles away which has restaurants, café’s, galleries, pubs, shops, a grocery store, a bank, a post office and more. You can easily take a taxi or there’s a bus stop one block away. You are 1 ½ miles from Interstate 24, 2.12 miles from the LP Field Football Stadium, 2.71 miles from the Country Musical Hall of Fame, 3.29 from the Frist Center for Visual Arts and 5.42 miles from Vanderbilt University. There are many other famous venues to visit such as the Centennial Park and the Parthenon, Tootsie’s Orchid Lounge, Ryman Auditorium, Schermerhorn Symphony Center, a walk from the Shelby Street Pedestrian Bridge to Broadway. There will be a book filled with information about places to visit and a list of restaurants.

Here's just a few places in this neighborhood that gives you an idea why East Nashville is so popular and check this cool site that talks about a href='http://www.thealternateroot.com/what-s-trending/1213-top-nashville-artists-right-now' top musicians living in East Nashville /

....just to name a few close by restaurants

Silly Goose

Eastland Café

Lockeland Table

Margots

Pomodoro’s East

Marche

Rumours East

Five Points Pizza

Tenn Sixteen

Holland House

Mas Tacos

The Wild Cow

Coffee Shops/Bakery's

Sweet 16 Bakery

Barista Parlor

Ugly Mug

Portland Brew

Bongo Java

Shops

Art & Invention,Metropolis Antiques & Gift, Thrive,

1907, High Garden Tea, Moxie, Wax Nashville, Pistils & Petals, Baxter & Bailey...

There's also:

Boone & Sons, Kroger, Aldi's, Porter Road Butcher,

Turnip Truck Natural Market,Woodland Wine Merchant

Rite Aid Drugstore,Cumberland Hardware

Post Office - Woodland Street

Banks - Suntrust and Regions, Nicholson Cleaners

More Details
Hide Details

In 2010 we lost our home and most of our personal belongings to the devastating Nashville flood. It wasn’t an easy process but there’s a spark of sunshine in every situation. We lived in the backyard of our flooded inhabitable home in a 33’ trailer for over a year. It took that much time for the government to go through with their promises.

Humor, among other qualities, kept us afloat. How can you not find humor with 2 people living in a backyard in a teenie weenie trailer with 1 giant Doberman named Nookie Pookie and a bad tempered cat named Monster.

It was business as usual for my husband David who is a computer programmer. I began a blog called Sardines In The Hood. It kept me sane. One of my stories was published in The Tennessean newspaper and an online magazine Dancing Noodle picked up some of my stories. It was my first time at being professionally paid for writing. I’m a visual artist who likes to work with paper. I have done sculptures and other types of artwork that have been featured in galleries, boutiques and shows.

We both love nature. We are passionate about the environment and animals. Our flooded home overlooked the Cumberland River. We sat on our dock many nights looking at sunsets, observing migrating birds, and other creatures that made us appreciative of what we had in our life.

When we found this home it needed a lot of work. It wasn’t pretty but we had a vision. The government finally bought our flooded property so that we were able to move on and finally live in a home after 1 ½ years. We cleaned, painted, renovated and made this new home joyful. Part of the landscape was designed by people who do foodscaping. All the flowers, bushes, trees have a purpose that feeds the animals as well as humans. We hope this becomes a popular trend with everyone on this earth. We also have started a vegetable garden. We hope to have plenty of vegies to share with our guests.

We are happy.

May this home bring you happiness too.

Diane & David

Diane Sesler purchased this townhome in 2011

Peaceful ...overlooking park but close to many restaurants, galleries, shops, bakeries, pubs, and of course downtown. Our beautiful art gallery/meditation room is loved by everyone. East Nashville is home to many musicians, artists, a fantasic web of eclectic and artistic community ...check out this cool site http://www.thealternateroot.com/what-s-trending/1213-top-nashville-artists-right-now

Certified Wildlife Habitat. We provide a designed landscape which organically feeds both humans and animals. Some plants, trees & bushes were here when we purchased the property. We have tried since then to implement many new indigenous species. A perfect blend with the picturesque park which borders the property. It is the best of both world ...staying in a green property but close to downtown

49 Reviews of Property 409866 in Nashville, Tennessee

Artful Lodger on the Park: Trendy East Nashville-Overlooks Park-Next to Downtown
average rating of 4.9591837 based on 49 reviews
business
Artful Lodger on the Park: Trendy East Nashville-Overlooks Park-Next to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409866vb
+1 1-6154793572 (Will return calls within 24 hours)
Nashville Tennessee
5

Great Stay in Nashville

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
What a great vacation rental in Nashville! The owners have thought of everything to make the stay pleasant from the books/magazines throughout the home to the kitchen fully equipped with anything needed to prepare meals. The location is close to downtown and only cost $8-$9 to take a cab into the city. I highly recommend this rental!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoying your stay in Nashville and thank you for the compliments. We hope you will come and see us again :-)
business
Artful Lodger on the Park: Trendy East Nashville-Overlooks Park-Next to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409866vb
+1 1-6154793572 (Will return calls within 24 hours)
Nashville Tennessee
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This house was perfect for our family of four on our first trip to the Nashville area. The kids loved having their own rooms and plenty of space to do their own thing. We had everything we needed (even tennis rackets AND umbrellas) and loved being so close to the park as well as downtown. The owners were very attentive to our needs, and provided great recommendations for restaurants. The food from the BBQ place was terrific! We would absolutely stay here again. So happy I found it!
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you and your family had a great time. We do have great restaurants in this neighborhood and glad you were able to enjoy the bbq place. Please come back and stay with us again :-) Thank you for the compliments - we enjoyed having you as well.
Diane & David
business
Artful Lodger on the Park: Trendy East Nashville-Overlooks Park-Next to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409866vb
+1 1-6154793572 (Will return calls within 24 hours)
Nashville Tennessee
5

Perfect place to stay for a ladies getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We rented the Artful Lodger for a ladies getaway this past weekend and the house far surpassed our expectations. It was spacious, clean, well decorated, and we loved the side deck and lower level patio to hang out on! It was a quick 5 minute (very cheap) ride to the downtown area and also very close to some cute cafes and restaurants. We rented a car too which made it easy to get to the grocery store and stock up on any household items (but you are left with plenty of things to get you started!). Overall, we had a great time in Nashville and the house was met our every need - would definitely recommended staying here to anyone looking.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much and so happy that all of you enjoyed the Artful Lodger on the Park. Come back and see us again...East Nashville keeps growing with new restaurants and fun things to do. Again, thank you for the lovely compliments.
Diane & David
business
Artful Lodger on the Park: Trendy East Nashville-Overlooks Park-Next to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409866vb
+1 1-6154793572 (Will return calls within 24 hours)
Nashville Tennessee
5

Great!! Very Happy!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Excellent property...great location right next door to park and tennis courts.
Much better option than a hotel and only a $10 cab ride to downtown.
We would definitely select this property on our next visit
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed it and do come back to see us when in Nashville :-)
business
Artful Lodger on the Park: Trendy East Nashville-Overlooks Park-Next to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409866vb
+1 1-6154793572 (Will return calls within 24 hours)
Nashville Tennessee
5

Great For Families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My Wife and I booked the Artful Lodger for a long weekend trip to Nashville with our extended family. It was a first time home rental experience for most of the group so there was some nervousness regarding how the rental would work out for us. Fortunately the house and the owners were beyond expectations and everyone was extremely pleased. The house was impeccable, the owners were responsive, and the location was just right for us. Close enough to downtown to be easy to get to but far enough away to make us explore some, and the park is an amazing bonus. It was obvious that the owners purchased on the park because they truly love the environment and try to be good stewards of the earth, if you feel the same way you will be right at home at the Artful Lodger. The local neighborhood is pretty diverse and coming from a big city we found it fairly quiet. There are a lot of shops and restaurants around but they are a little scattered so a GPS or smart phone is very handy for navigation. Getting downtown by car only takes 10 minutes or about $8-$10 by cab. Best moments: Enjoying time together with coffee and snacks on the porch in the mornings before heading off to see the sights.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy that your first experience in a vrbo was a very good one. We do care very much about the environment and was pleased you noticed. In fact, we are now having another round of planting bushes and flowers. Every bush & flower has a purpose to feed birds, squirrels, hummingbirds, etc and to attract pollinators. We just put in a garden and are planning on sharing some of our goodies with guests. Love having great families such as yours and please do come back to stay with us again. Have a great week.
business
Artful Lodger on the Park: Trendy East Nashville-Overlooks Park-Next to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409866vb
+1 1-6154793572 (Will return calls within 24 hours)
Nashville Tennessee
5

What a Great Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Artful Lodger. It was spotless, very attractively decorated, and had a fantastic location. Right on Shelby Park, yet only minutes from downtown. It is also located very near the shops of East Nashville, which were an unexpected pleasant surprise for us. I suggest you try a Rebel Yelp at the "I Dream of Weenie" hotdog stand....what a delight! The girls spent hours shopping at the little shops there while the menfolk took Bella on a tour of Shelby Park.....good time had by all. And all right in our neighborhood. If you are looking for a place to stay in Nashville look no more....drop whatever you are doing and book this place... then say Hello Nashville!....and East Nashville. We really enjoyed just driving, and walking, around the neighborhood just checking out all the other cute homes nearby. We found parking at the LP Field and walking across the pedestrian bridge was a beautiful, hassle-free way to get right to the heart of downtown Nashville, the Ryman, and the Country Music Hall of Fame. We are already discussing staying at the Artful Lodger again....so much to see in the area that we barely got started in our four days.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. We enjoyed having your great family stay at The Artful Lodger...We do hope you come back and Bella is soooo beautiful. Your description in your review is wonderful. You say it better than we do on our vrbo site. I may just borrow some of your words :-) Happy New Year and do come back
business
Artful Lodger on the Park: Trendy East Nashville-Overlooks Park-Next to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409866vb
+1 1-6154793572 (Will return calls within 24 hours)
Nashville Tennessee
5

Had a very merry Christmas at the Artful Lodger

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My parents, teenage daughter, and I enjoyed 5 nights in your lovely home for the Christmas holiday. The Artful Lodger exceeded our expectations and was without a doubt the cleanest and most well stocked home I have ever rented on VRBO. We so appreciated all the extra special touches, including Christmas decorations and the gift of an autographed photo of Luke Bryan!! The location in the park was beautiful and the neighborhood quiet. We also enjoyed lunch at the Silly Goose one day, and easily found the grocery store etc based on the info provided in your binder. I visit Nashville often and will stay here again, and will recommend to others. Thank you again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: So happy you have had a wonderful Xmas and that you will be coming back :-) you were very nice guests
business
Artful Lodger on the Park: Trendy East Nashville-Overlooks Park-Next to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409866vb
+1 1-6154793572 (Will return calls within 24 hours)
Nashville Tennessee
San Antonio, Texas
5

Perfect home for relaxation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
All of the previous reviews were dead-on, however our first response upon entering the Artful Lodger was "WOW"! I guess I wasn't expecting the "and so much more" aspect that I pleasantly got. The beds were extremely comfortable, the bathroom and kitchen were well stocked and the whole home is just so inviting. We were able to find our way around East Nashville very easily, which made it quite handy when an unexpected snowfall hit on our first day. A quick trip to the grocery store and wine merchant, we were tucked in for the night - all cozy and warm. The view over the park was simply amazing and I wish I could post pictures. The two living areas provided enough room with other Nashville guests and family coming to visit. The guys were downstairs watching football, while the girls were upstairs chatting and cooking. Our family of four adults spent a week here and never once felt crowded especially since it was so cold outside we couldn't utilize the outside seating areas. So in short let me just list the "loves" - the location, the artwork, the home, the spaciousness, and the area. You can't go wrong staying here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You were perfect guests...you left the unit neat as a pin. Thank you for all the compliments and I am so happy you met my friend at the Antique store where you purchased artwork. I hope you come back and that I will meet you :-)
business
Artful Lodger on the Park: Trendy East Nashville-Overlooks Park-Next to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409866vb
+1 1-6154793572 (Will return calls within 24 hours)
Nashville Tennessee
5

Great!! Excellent Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I have been to Nashvillle many times and I am kicking myself for never staying here!! It's the perfect location, amount of space, etc... We had a girls weekend and kept saying we could not imagine being in a hotel!! Its very close to downtown so cab rides were very affordable and you did not have the worry about parking downtown. We thoroughly enjoyed the house, and loved the art gallery downstairs. One of us even found a piece we couldn't leave Nashville without! I am looking forward to a return visit soon!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you loved our home and wil be happy to have you again. Our friend Jay thanks you for purchasing his art in the gallery.
business
Artful Lodger on the Park: Trendy East Nashville-Overlooks Park-Next to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409866vb
+1 1-6154793572 (Will return calls within 24 hours)
Nashville Tennessee
West Tennessee
5

Perfect Location to Downtown Nashville

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Highly recommend the Artful Lodger. Couple of miles from Downtown and Titans stadium. Perfect location if you are there to listen to music. Diane was a wonderful host and made sure we had everything we needed. The house was clean and very comfortable. We'll definitely stay there again.
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed staying at The Artful Lodger on The Park and we welcome you to stay with us again.

Diane & David