Capitol Hill apartment rental - Living area, couch folds out to sleep two.
Living area, couch folds out to sleep two.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Capitol Hill Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

A 1889 Row House, in the heart of the Capitol Hill neighborhood of Washington, DC. English Basement (8ft ceilings) Sleeps 4. Awesome Cooks Kitchen. Come and stay for the best summer vacation ever!

One bedroom, one bath, beautifully furnished apartment, well appointed gourmet kitchen, gas fireplace, radiant heat floors, recessed lighting throughout, laundry room, storage, internet wifi, cable, flat screen TV. The couch folds out to a double. Portable cot and high chair stored in walk in closet for families with small ones.

The apartment has beautiful modern furnishings mixed with a few antiques and nice oriental rugs. Local artist's works are tastefully displayed throughout. The living room space opens onto the kitchen which is designed for the person who loves to cook. The bathroom is off the kitchen and living room. The bedroom is in the back of the apartment and has two very large windows with Southern light. The queen bed has 400-thread-count Egyptian cotton sheets and there is a large walk-in closet. The bathroom features a custom tiled shower with a relaxing rain shower faucet. The towels are extra thick. Off the bedroom in the back is a laundry room.

It's an easy walk to the US Capitol, Senate Office buildings, Supreme Court, Library of Congress, Folgers Shakespeare Library and Union Station. Close by are all the Smithsonian Museums on the Mall including the National Gallery of Art, Air and Space Museum, Museum of Natural History, National Archives, American Indian Museum and more.

A couple of metro stops away at Gallery Place are movies, the Shakespeare Theater Company performing at Sidney Harmon Hall and the Lansburgh Theatre, Verizon Center with basketball and hockey. H Street, Georgetown, 14th Street Corridor and Adams Morgan are all within easy access.

Keywords: Apartment, Row House, English Basement

More Details
Hide Details

My husband is an architect and I am a graphic designer. We've raise two kids on the Hill and now they are off to college. We've lived in this neighborhood for over 25 years and absolutely love it!

Monica Snellings purchased this apartment in 2004

Capitol Hill is our home. We love it and know you will too!

Capitol Hill is a wonderful neighborhood full of pocket parks and beautiful old homes. Beyond the monuments and museums there is another side to Washington. It's a wonderful family neighborhood and a vibrant community with small businesses. We love walking to Eastern Market on the weekends to get fresh fruits and veggies. Don't miss the fresh pasta! We take a stroll through the flea market visiting our favorite vendors and then sit with a good cup of coffee and watch the world go by.

I love to cook and we both love to eat! Washington has lots of restaurants with every possible ethnic variety available. H Street, NE just a few minutes away has many nice options from Asian to Ethiopian to Belgian. On 8th Street SE you will find great burgers, seafood and homemade pop tarts.

We love to walk and have recently given up our car. The public transportation options are so plentiful we just didn't need it anymore. You can go by Metro, bus, or Bikeshare. If you need a car for a few hours Zipcars are plentiful and close by. If you need a car for a day trip car rental options are plentiful at Union Station. and for those who come to DC by car there is off street parking at Union Station a 10 minute walk away.

24 Reviews of Property 404263 in Capitol Hill, Washington DC

Charm & Style with FREE WiFi, a Cook's Kitchen, near Capitol, Museums, Metro
average rating of 4.875 based on 24 reviews
business
Charm & Style with FREE WiFi, a Cook's Kitchen, near Capitol, Museums, Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404263vb
202-957-1883
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Oosterbeek, The Netherlands
5

Cosy appartment at perfect location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband, our 2 year old son and myself stayed here for a week in November. We had a great week! It's a cosy appartment, big enough for us three. It had a good kitchen en very good shower. The fireplace was really nice, since it was chilly outside. The location is the best! Close to the metro, walking distance to the Capitol and Mall, supermarket and childrens playground nearby. The area is really nice with all the brownstone houses.
We really enjoyed Washington DC and this appartment made our week very comfortable.
There was some misunderstandig about our arrival date with the maid, so we arrived in an appartment that was not cleaned yet. The next day the owner made sure the maid came and she did. The owner gave us back the clearing fee, which was a nice gesture.
We would stay here again!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charm & Style with FREE WiFi, a Cook's Kitchen, near Capitol, Museums, Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404263vb
202-957-1883
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Just Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This a very convenient place to stay, not only because it is located at a walking distance from attractions but also to the Union Station. The place was well decorated and beautiful. I loved walking to the Market and to experience the neighborhood appeal. It was very clean, and furniture and amenities were in mint conditions. Most importantly, the owner was a call away and very helpful. I highly recommend this property for your perfect Washington DC experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charm & Style with FREE WiFi, a Cook's Kitchen, near Capitol, Museums, Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404263vb
202-957-1883
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Kailua
4

First DC Visit

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The apartment is well kept and located in a nice, safe and quiet neighborhood. The bus stops (X8) are located at the apartment or if you want to walk to the metro rail at Union Station for 'far' locations, it's just a few blocks away. The Capitol (one end of the Mall) is also located in walking distance from this apartment. This was our first visit to DC and we learned that walking a lot is the biggest requirement. We missed the convenience of having a rental car because of the costly and unavailable parking situations. Mass transit is not part of our lifestyle so living this way was a drawback on our visit. Do we want to visit DC again, of course!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: It's true that walking is a part of life in DC and if you are not used to it it might seem like a bother. But we've found that the options for public transit along with cabs make getting around easy. And if you really need a car Zip Cars are easy to reserve and plentiful. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charm & Style with FREE WiFi, a Cook's Kitchen, near Capitol, Museums, Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404263vb
202-957-1883
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Felton california
5

capital Hill english basement

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Great location good amenities comfortable bed. would stay here again
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charm & Style with FREE WiFi, a Cook's Kitchen, near Capitol, Museums, Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404263vb
202-957-1883
Capitol Hill Washington DC
United States
5

Perfect for our needs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Clean, comfortable, accurately depicted, would recommend to a friend or relative!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charm & Style with FREE WiFi, a Cook's Kitchen, near Capitol, Museums, Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404263vb
202-957-1883
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Awesome Capitol Hill Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed for a week at this very well appointed apartment in Capitol Hill. We are from DC, but wanted to explore a new part of town. The apartment, while compact, has everything you need. The sofa transforms into a very comfortable bed that easily fits 2. It even came with a high chair and Smart trip cards for exploring the city. Street parking was very easy to find and we were walking distance to Union Station. The owner, Monica was not in town at the time but was easily reached by email for any issues.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charm & Style with FREE WiFi, a Cook's Kitchen, near Capitol, Museums, Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404263vb
202-957-1883
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

A DC Dandy!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Highly recommend staying at this property whether visiting DC on business, or pleasure. The location was walking distance to Union Station and local attractions and restaurants. The apartment was spacious and very clean. If you truly want to experience DC at another level, then look no further than this listing. I guarantee you will make memories that will last a life time by staying here during your visit to DC.

Thank you Monica for opening up your home to my family! Words cannot express how much we enjoyed our stay. We shall return and will be booking your listing when we do.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Chick,
So happy you had such a good visit! We would love to have you back any time. DC is very beautiful in the fall and spring. We also enjoy Christmas with all the seasonal concerts and decorations.

Best, Monica
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charm & Style with FREE WiFi, a Cook's Kitchen, near Capitol, Museums, Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404263vb
202-957-1883
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Dimmitt, Texas
5

2Texans

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Lovely renovated brownstone basement apartment with modern amenities and a fireplace for the cool, rainy evenings. Spring was beautiful and flowers spectacular. The neighborhood was friendly and convenient for transportation, sightseeing, and nice restaurants. We especially enjoyed the variety of food and grocery/beverages...Oriental, German, French, and Mexican! Owner provided loads of information for enjoyment of city and ease of sightseeing including a Smart Card which was very helpful. Just a warning to old and young...get your legs used to quite a lot of walking!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Yes, walking is required in DC. If you've got the legs, its absolutely the best way to see the city! We love walking the neighborhoods and seeing everyone's small pocket gardens up close. You also get a better sense of the history and the majesty of L'Enfants design.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charm & Style with FREE WiFi, a Cook's Kitchen, near Capitol, Museums, Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404263vb
202-957-1883
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
5

The Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We spent a marvelous week in Washington D.C. with this jewel of an apartment as our base. It is nestled in a delightful neighborhood with little restaurants and a fabulous bagel breakfast stop! Inside all our needs were met with the latest updates in appliances, bathroom amenities and much more including a bed that was so comfortable we had to set an alarm to make us get up! At the end of a busy day with lots of walking it was a joy to relax here and use the WIFI to "catch up". Far superior to any hotel the warmth of this place and its neighborhood made our vacation perfect. Our hostess was very responsive as well. You can't do better than this!
Dot & John
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charm & Style with FREE WiFi, a Cook's Kitchen, near Capitol, Museums, Metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404263vb
202-957-1883
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Wonderful vacation rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Loved this cute apartment...very well-appointed and conveniently located. Would definitely stay here again with my family!
Helpful votes: 1/1