Lacoste house rental - Looking up to the house from Cafe de France
Looking up to the house from Cafe de France
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Lacoste House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroomed house sleeps 4/5

The property is situated in the beautiful hillside village of Lacoste, some 25 miles to the east of Avignon and close to the market town of Apt. The village has a post office, tabac, baker/epicerie, 2 cafes and a good restaurant and is home to the ruined castle of the Marquis de Sade. The castle is now owned by Pierre Cardin and each summer it stages open air theatrical and musical events. The village is also home to numerous artists and writers as well as the Lacoste School of Arts. The house is accessed up a slope from the main street.It has a terrace and small garden which enjoy spectacular views across the valley to Bonnieux, ideal for relaxing, painting or writing. Of all the Luberon villages, Lacoste is arguably the most charming and tranquil and in the words of Pierre Cardin probably the most beautiful in the world.

Details for La Tour de Babel 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5, 1 Bathroom

Large 2 bedroom house suitable for up to 5 persons. Well-equipped and comfortable offering very spacious living room/dining room with glass doors leading on to terrace and garden with spectacular views over the valley.

5 Reviews of Property 9776 in Lacoste, France

Luberon Valley-large house in hillside village
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Luberon Valley-large house in hillside village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p9776
+44 (0)1434 634939
Lacoste Luberon
Chicago
5

A WONDERFUL STAY!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
We stayed here this June for a week, and had a lovely time. Lacoste is our favorite village in the Luberon mountains, and this home was a most excellent place to stay!! The living room has a fireplace and a stunning view across the valley to Bonnieux, and the lovely terrace looks over the valley as well, with fruit trees and a grape trellise. The home is nicely appointed and comfortable; big enough for a family, but perfect for a romantic getaway too. You're close to all of the famous perched villages of the Luberon, and can get a taste of real french village life. We couldn't recommend it more highly, and will surely be back!! Thanks for a wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Lacoste.Maybe we are a little biased,but it is also our favourite place in the Luberon.Still very much a working village and not too crowded.We look forward to welcoming you again.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Luberon Valley-large house in hillside village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p9776
+44 (0)1434 634939
Lacoste Luberon
Toronto, Canada
5

Wonderful view and all comforts supplied

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We had a wonderful time! The house supplied our every need and the kitchen is very well equipped . Most of all, as all guests must have said, the view is marvellous. I loved standing at the dining room window every morning - how many shades of green can there be? We did sit out on the terrace, upper or lower, almost every evening and enjoyed the wine from the wineries suggested. The area is fabulous. We took off for a different village, or two, every day, enjoyed the markets and the restaurants and just generally walking around and taking in the sights and sounds of a very interesting area. The information and suggestions were very helpful. I am so glad we took this place. We three seniors did manage the slopes, even made it up to the castle. The rooms and the beds were comfortable and the house was everything that was promised.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are really pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay.The short slope up to the house can be a little taxing but is really worthwhile to enjoy the views.Going even further up to the castle brings greater rewards,provided you do it before a few glasses of wine and not after!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luberon Valley-large house in hillside village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p9776
+44 (0)1434 634939
Lacoste Luberon
scotland
5

A truly restful retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We stayed in the Tower of Babel during the second week of April and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the village.The view from the very private terrace is really beautiful and as the weather was settled and sunny for the duration of our visit we were able to fully appreciate it dawn to dusk. The property itself did not disappoint and we found that everything we required, had been provided. The wealth of reading matter and dvds found in the living area was a very welcome addition. Access to the tower via the cobbled streets/pathways is all uphill but there are little gems, in terms of gardens and buildings, all around the village to be enjoyed as you walk. The neighbours were all really friendly and hearing animated snippets of conversations and singing on occasions, all added to the charm of the place.We hired bikes from the neighbouring village of Bonnieux and explored some of the very good roads/cycle paths in the surrounding area.There are definitely ones to suit both novices and the more experienced/adventurous riders. We found Lacoste to be a really good base from which to visit other near by villages and Apt is relatively close for supermarket shopping. We were tempted to eat out more than we'd planned with the variety of traditional meals on offer in the locality.
We were impressed by the personal service/attention provided by the owner prior to our visit and we would have no hestitation in recommending this property to a friend or relative. It was a truly restful retreat. It gave us a real taste for Provence and a desire to return!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Your kind words are much appreciated.Its obvious that the Luberon and its villages have worked their magic.Sorry about Martha's singing.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luberon Valley-large house in hillside village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p9776
+44 (0)1434 634939
Lacoste Luberon
Egham, Surrey
5

Outstanding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
The Tour de Babel is outstanding - it has a beautiful location in a pebbled-street village, perched on the edge of the Luberon with truly stunning views from every window. It was clean and well-equipped, everything you need for a self-catering holiday. It is spacious, plenty of room for four or five adults for dining and lounging.
We stayed for a fortnight in November and the house was cosy and welcoming when the weather was a bit colder. The terrace also shares the fantastic views. It was not quite the time of year for eating outside but we enjoyed sitting on the terrace, just drinking in the peace and beauty of the place in the autumn sunshine.
It was great to be able to buy basic necessities locally in the village boulangerie and tabac and Apt is an easy run for supermarkets. We were impressed by the number of things to see and do in the area without driving too far and left feeling there was more to do. The walking all round the area is very good, lots of waymarked paths and plenty of information available about them.
We all agreed that a re-visit in the summer is a must!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments.We try our best to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible.No doubt the Luberon will yield up more of its treasures and pleasures next time you visit.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Luberon Valley-large house in hillside village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p9776
+44 (0)1434 634939
Lacoste Luberon
Alexandria, VA, USA
5

Hillside Home with Spectacular Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
My husband and I stayed at this lovely home in Lacoste this past May. The house is well located in a beautiful hillside village in the Luberon Mountains. Neighbors were friendly and the town is small, but charming. The view from the terrace is spectacular. A wonderful place to relax and enjoy. We were able to make several easy trips to Bonnieux, Menerbes, Rousillon, Gourde, and then day trips to Aix-en-Provence, Arles, Avignon, St. Remy. Wonderful!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are really pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay.As you say,Lacoste is a charming village and within easy access of the many appealing towns and villages of the area.
Helpful votes: 7/7